Skip to main content

Full text of "A History of Marlboro County: With Traditions and Sketches of Numerous Families"

See other formats


This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 
to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 
publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 

We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attribution The Google "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 



at |http : //books . google . com/ 



■^ «■ 






^ 



^ 
^ 



^ ^ 



IK 

4^ 



* ^ 



.^ 



^ 4- 



•=► ^ 






-f- 



»^ 



^r 






->»f-^ 



> 

# 






'^: 



"%■ 



,-4^>' 



/ 



.V 



'-*f 



' i '\\ 


'^W-- 


vT?- 


^- 


:'^' 


'lif[ 


■'.>:, 


. ^:^ 


- ^^ 


^' 


■ jf^ 


:#; 


.-"^ 


v^ 


V. 


^ t 


-^ 


* 


^ 


^ 


' -^ 


:#r; - 


-'K 


" ;^' 


■Jif 


■■ -•#, 


:-^' 


' ^ 


---^ 


^ 


' '^' 


^ ,=r" 


I*': 


-..J* 


^ 


■ ¥■ 


'->^- 


' ** 


# 


^ 


>*-f-_ 


'v^r' 


:^- . 


>^ 


^r" 


#' 


-^-r 


> 


;,^-_ 


■^ 


• :^['- 


,.-* " 


"^ ' 


":,.^'" 


dk 


-^ 


• ^' 


¥ - 


'-^^ 


^ 


^:^ 


:^' 


"I** 


i# 


^ 


-^y 


*- ' 


^ - 


. >* 


^ 


r^-'-: 


>* 


.."^ : 


: '^" ■ 


* 


^'k 


-^ 


4^ 


sr 


-4r 




■ -f" Jk- ■ 4(t ' 3(C ' Jt w- ^ . . 

^ -ff ■^. =f >. . ;^ .^ *- > ^ ^ 

. *^ /J^^: ^'^' > ^- >- ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ 

> > >- ^ .> ,^ ^ * ^ s ■ ^ 

^ ^ '^■.■* .-^^ "^' * * .*_ ^ --^ ^ ^ 



./-■'\\k 



U^ H4A^ <£UU 



^ 






.J\A>UjL^ 



d_^Arr 



h^ / 



/f^-oL . 



A HISTORY 



OF 



MARLBORO COUNTY, 



WITH 



TRADITIONS AND SKETCHES OF 
NUMEROUS FAMILIES. 



REV. J. A. W. THOMAS. 
AUTHOR. 



A zuonderftil stream is the rii'er Time 

As it runs through the realms of tears 
With a faultless rhythm, and a musical rhyme. 
And a broader siveef and a surge sublime 
As it blends zvith the ocean of years. 

— Tennyson. 



Atlanta, Ga.: 

The Foote & Davies Company, 

Printers and Binders. 

1897. 



DEDICATION. 

To THE People of Marlboro, Who Have 

Uniformly Shown Their 

Appreciation, 

Love and Esteem for the Author. 

J. A. W. THOMAS, 

This Work is Affectionately Dedicated. 



PREFACE. 

As stated elsewhere, the author found it very difficult 
to secure material for the History of Marlboro. Years 
ago he conceived the idea of leaving such a work as a 
legacy to the people. But the slow responses to his 
request for data and facts as to family history and the vast 
amount of research necessary to finish the historical part 
caused long delay. His friends will remember, too, that 
any additional literary work was but adding to the burden 
of a life already full of study and duties, and was there- 
fore done at long intervals. So it was not strange that 
his hand was stilled before the task was completed which 
affection had prompted him to undertake. For the more 
perfect completion of the work it is to be greatly regretted 
that it has fallen to the lot of others to finish it as 
best they cpuld. To a fond son it has been a labor of 
love, though attended with many difficulties and respon- 
sibilities. He is indebted to Judge Hudson, Hon. H. H. 
Newton, Capt. T. E. Dudley and other friends for facts 
and data. Special thanks are due Capt. John R. Parker 
for the map of the county. 

It is sad to know that many who were living when the 
work was commenced, and who, in many instances, gave 
information to the author, have passed over the river. 

Many have dropped by the wayside who would have 
found pleasure in perusing these pages, for the sake of 
the author as well as for the contents. But the indulgent 
friends who tarry yet for a little while, will, it is hoped, 
pardon mistakes, omissions, and shortcomings. Much 
of this is due, not to the conscientious, loving author, but 
to the fact that his work was transmitted to the far less 
capable, but willing hands of his son, 

W. E. THOMAS. 



CONTENTS. 

Paqb. 

Introduction. 

By Judge J. H. Hudson, Bennettsville ii 

Chap. I. — Marlboro County. 

The Aboriginals — Among the Records — The Mace and 
Sword of State :. 15 

Chap. II. — First Early Settlers. 

Craven County — The Welsh Colony — Their Names — The 
David Family and Connections 20 

Chap. III. — Evans., and other Families. 

Judge J. J. Evans— Col. Tom Evans - Col. Wilds— The 
Hodges — The Irbys — The Pegues 26 

Chap. IV. — Other Early Settlers. 

The Rogers Family 32 

Chap. V. — Other Brownsville Families. 

Brown — Magee— Car loss — Mason Lee — The Coxe Family 

— Townsend 39 

Chap. VI. — Pearson Family and Others. 

Henagan, Bruce and Others —Peter S. Ney .* 46 

Chap. VII. — Industrial Affairs of the Early Settlers. 

Wild Horses and Cattle — Primitive Means of Transporta- 
tion — Military A£fairs — Some of Their Grievances 51 

Chap. VIII. — Family of Col. Kolb and Their Neighbors. 

Pouncey, Cochrane, Spears, Vining, etc 60 

Chap. IX. — Revolution Drawing Nigh. 

Causes Which Led Up to It— Grievances — Eloquent Words 
From Judge and Jury 65 

Chap. X. Several Old Families. 

Terrell -Dr. James H. Thornwell — Gillespie — Ellerbe — 
Forniss — Pledger 72 

Chap. XI. — Progress of Revolutionary Sentiment. 

Crisis Approaching — The Battle of Lexington — Troops 
Ordered from the Pee Dee— Patriotic Sentiment — Declara- 
tion of Independence — Charleston Threatened 78 



8 Contents, 

Chap. XII. — Thomas, Parker and Others. 

Major Tristram Thomas— Robert, the Grandfather— Moses 
Parker — Twenty-two Children — Joshua Ammons — Joshua 
Fletcher — Twenty-two children —Traditions — Some Scotch- 
men — Easterlings, 85 

Chap. XIII. — Progress of Revolution. 

Events of 1780 - Marlboro Troops on the March — Fall of 
Charleston — Tory Bandit — The Ayers — A Fort Armed with 
Wooden Cannon — Defeat of Gates at Camden 95 

Chap. XIV. — Traditions From Col. John Covington. 

Hebron — The Covingtons — A Long Horseback Ride — The 
Edens — Meekins . 100 

Chap. XV. — Operations on Pee Dee, 1781. 

Col. Kolb — Murder of Harry Sparks by the Tories — Death 
of Col. Kolb — William Adams — Battle of Eutaw Springs — 
Surrender of Cornwallis — Triumph of the American Cause 105 

Chap. XVI. — Bishop Gregg. 

His Wife. Miss Charlotte W. Kollock, a Marlboro Lady- 
Lawyer, then Preacher 114 

Chap. XVII. — Traditions From Alfred Parish. 

Several Families — The Fuller "Ginger Cakes." 117 

Chap. XVIII. — After the Revolution. 

Shouldering Responsibilities — Establishment of County 
Courts — Naming the Counties — Some of the First Repre- 
sentatives in the Legislature 121 

Chap. XIX. — Prominent Men After the Revolution. 

Governors Furnished by Marlboro — B. K. Henagan, John 
Lide Wilson, Robert and John Campbell Baron De Poel- 
nitz — The Introductioii of "Nut Grass" in the County . . . 128 

Chap. XX. — Members of the Legislature and Other Officers. 
Members of the Legislature from the Revolution to Date — 
Clerks of Court, Sheriffs and Ordinaries 132 

Chap. XXI. — Scottish Settlers. 

McColls McLaurins — John L. McCall 137 

Chap. XXII.- Clio. 

Joe Ivey The Father of Senator Joseph H. Hawley, of 
Connecticut - The First Merchant— Hawley ville — "Muster 
Day"— Other Early Merchants - T. C. Weatherly, John A. 
McRae. W. A. Hinshaw— The Old People Living Near- 
Robert Purnell 144 



Contents, 9 

Chap. XXIII. — Scottish Settlers (Continued). 

McRaes — McLeods— Laird McLeod*— D. McD. McLeod— 
McLucas. '. 152 

Chap. XXIV. — The "Old Court-house. " 

"Marlboro Old Court-house" — Its Location — ^The Old 
Judges and Lawyers, Chancellors, Solicitors — The' Law- 
yers of Marlboro .'..'... 159 

Chap. XXV. — Removal of Court-house to Bennettsville. 

Causes Which Led to the Removal -Act Passed Dec. 14, 
1819— First Court-house at Bennettsville Completed 1824 — 
Name Selected for the Town^-Second Court-house at 3en^ 
nettsville Built 1852— Third one 1884 ^ Its I?edication--The 
Programme . . , ..;..... 167 

Chap. XXVI, — Bennettsville. 

Its First Beginning— Named for Governor Bennett^First 
Houses — Pioneer Merchants — Earliest Citizens — Bennetts- 
ville Prior to the War — Since the War 170 

Chap. XXVII. — Brightsville. 

Named for Charles Bright E. W. Goodwin — The "Stage 
Road" — Odoms and Others — Joel Hall — Stubbs Family — 
Moores— A. C. Mclnnis -Captain Thomas W. Huckabee. . 181 

Chap. XXVIIL— Blenheim. 

Its Name — Donald Matheson — "Mineral Spring" — Sum- 
mer Residents— Some of the Old Farmers Who Lived Near 
By — 250 Bushels Corn Per Acre 190 

Chap. XXIX.— The Confederate War. 

Secession — "Grim-visaged War"- Eight Full Companies 
from Marlboro — Full Lists of Oflftcers and Men, Showing 
Promotions and Casualties 193 

Chap. XXX. — Early Ministers. 

James -Williams — Bedgegood — Pugh, etc 228 

Chap. XXXI. — Baptist Churches. 

The "Old Welsh Neck, " the Mother of Churches— Browns- 
ville, Salem, Beaverdam, Bennettsville, and Others — 
J. A. W. Thomas 232 

Chap. XXXII.— Methodist Churches. 

Beauty Spot, the Mother of Churches — Hebron, Parnassus, 
Bennettsville, Boykin, Pine Grove and others — Circuits 
and Preachers 241 



10 QnUents, 

Chkt. XXXIII, — Presbyterian Churches. 

BennettstviWe—GreaLt Pee Dec— Red Bluff— Other Presby- 
terian Churches 258 

Chak XXXIV^McColi^ 

Named for V. D. McColl— Principal Merchants— The Mc- 
Coll Manufacturing Company — Some of the Places Around 
Tatura 263 

Cmak XXXV.— Adamrville. 

Prize Farming — Fine Farmers — J. B. Breeden — Sketch of 

the Adams Family 269 

Chap. XXXVI.— Educational Matters. 

Early Interest in Education — ^The Old Academies in Ben- 
net tsville — Some of the Old Teachers — Bennettsville 
Graded School 274 

Chap. XXXVI I;-^The Colored People 279 

Chap. XXXVIII.— 1886 284 

Chap. XXXIX.— I^own to the Twentieth Century , 286 



INTRODUCTION. 

BY 
J. H. HUDSON. 

The author of this volume of local history died before 
its completion, under circumstances touching and signifi- 
cant. On Saturday August ist, 1896, he attended the an- 
nual reunion of the Confederate veterans of Marlboro at 
Tatum, where he delivered to the assembly of veterans 
and citizens a feeling and eloquent address. On the Sab- 
bath following, he preached in the forenoon at McColl, 
and in the afternoon at Tatum, with his usual fervency 
and zeal. Returning home, he ate his supper, held family 
prayers, retired to his couch, and fell calmly into that 
sleep which knows no waking. 

For several years he had devoted his leisure moments 
to writing the history of Marlboro, but before finishing it 
for the press was called to his home above. His son has 
prepared this volume for the press, and now presents it 
to the people the author loved so dearly, and to whose 
temporal and spiritual welfare he devoted a half century 
of his laborious life. 

In gathering the material for this history, he omitted 

no source of information available, but sought aid from 

all records and all classes of the community. It was the 

aim of Capt. Thomas, in writing this history, to make it so 

full in the matters of tradition and genealogy as to leave 

no room for complaint, but in spite of his zeal, industrious 

inquiry and research, he was unable to procure from some 

families, facts and data, whilst some others were unable to 

give information sought, having preserved no family 

records, and having no traditions stored up in memory. 

For any omissions in the work in this regard, the blame 
2 



12 History of Marlboro County, 

must rest where it properly belongs, and must not be cast 
upon the author, whose work was a labor of love and 
whose sole aim was to do full justice to the people of 
Marlboro, their noble ancestry, and beautiful region of 
country. He loved his native land with a patriotic devo- 
tion, and loved the people of his native county as a father 
loves his children. To the labors of Bishop Gregg, Cap- 
tain Thomas was largely indebted, and drew from the 
*' History of the Old Cheraws " much valuable material, 
pertaining to the history of Marlboro, for which he gives 
full credit to that accomplished writer. No section of 
South Carolina, distant from the sea-coast, is richer in 
Revolutionary tradition and deeds of high renown, than 
the region of the Old Cheraws on the upper Pee Dee, in the 
heart of which is Marlboro. Much of her history is for- 
ever lost, and for such as has with difficulty been rescued 
from oblivion, the residents owe a debt of gratitude to 
Gregg and Thomas, worthy sons of a proud ancestry and 
faithful laborers in the vineyard ot our Saviour. 

It is sad to know that much of the history of South 
Carolina has been entirely lost or remains unwritten 
through the indifference of her citizens. Efforts to per- 
petuate her proud record were made by Moultrie, Ram- 
say, Drayton, Johnson, Carroll and Simms, in none of 
whose histories was a full record made of the memorable 
deeds of prowess done on her soil, and least of all, of the 
valorous deeds of the men of the Pee Dee region, not be- 
cause of indifference or partiality of the writers, but solely 
from the scantiness of information furnished. This in- 
duced Bishop Gregg to write the ** History of the Old 
Cheraws", after years of assiduous labor in gathering ma- 
terial from every available source, and the same patriotic 
motive induced the Rev. J. A. W. Thomas to write this 
piece of local history of a people loyal to the State, valo- 
rous in war, law abiding, industrious and thrifty in time 
of peace. The people of Newberry owe a debt of grati- 



History of Marlboro County, 13 

tude to O'Neal and Chapman for their local histories, and 
to Gregg a like debt of gratitude is due from the people 
of upper Pee Dee, whilst to our author the citizens of Marl- 
boro should feel deeply indebted for the history of the 
people who have ever been true to themselves and their 
State in time of war, and who, in peace, by quiet industry 
and exemplary thrift have made Marlboro the garden 
spot of the State. 



CHAPTER I. 
Marlboro County. 

' ' Sit at the feet of history — through the night of years, the steps of 
virtue she shall trace and show the earlier ages. " — Bryant. 

The region of country, the history of which these pages 
is designed to treat, is called Marlboro. Marlboro County 
(first called District) was established by law, March 12, 
1785. It takes its name from John Churchill, Duke of 
Marlborough, who died in the early part of the i8th cen- 
tury. He was an able English statesman, a successful pol- 
itician and one of the very few generals, who through a life- 
time of war, never met defeat. It is situated in the northeas- 
tern corner of South Carolina, and bounded north and 
northeast by North Carolina; south and southeast by 
Marion County, and west and southwest by the Great Pee 
Dee river. In the northern part of the County there are 
three small creeks rising in the sand hills and flowing in- 
the Great Pee Dee, namely; Beaverdam, Phills and Naked. 
Crooked Creek, a considerable stream, rises in the extreme 
northeast and, flowing in a southwesterly direction empties 
into the Pee Dee river. In the southern part of the County, 
are the Three Creeks; and two others, designated by the 
name of Muddy. These various streams, with their 
smaller tributaries, afford ample drainage for the entire 
County. The area of the County is about 480 square 
miles. The surface is slightly undulating, the soil fertile, 
and largely open, and in a fine state of cultivation. Corn, 
cotton, oats, wheat, potatoes, rye, rice, tobacco, sugar cane, 
hay, melons and fruits all yield a rich and bounteous 
harvest to the intelligent labor of the husbandman. Marl- 
boro County is the pioneer county in South Carolina in 
the intensive system of agriculture. Improved methods. 



1 6 History of Marlboro County, 

implements, seed, stock, drainage and buildings are every 
where supplanting the inferior. The population is about 
25,000. The whole County is teeming with busy, indus- 
trious, prosperous people, in large degree employed in 
agricultural pursuits. But tradesmen, merchants, manu- 
facturers are all favored in their callings, while medicine, 
law, and religion are all honored in the men who repre- 
sent the learned professions. 

One hundred and seventy-five years ago, so far as can 
be ascertained a*: the present time, there was not a white 
man living in what is now Marlboro. According to the 
conclusions of Bishop Gregg, of Texas, after a research 
'which has left nothing for the discovery of writers who 
came after him, this whole Pee Dee region was held by the 
aboriginal red men, until about 1730. He supposes that 
a numerous tribe called '*Cheraws" ranged the forests 
from the Cape Fear to the Pee Dee, and from the Atlantic 
coast to the mountains; that smaller tribes occupied more 
limited bounds within this vast area; and that upon the 
middle Pee Dee region a tribe known as the "Pee Dees" had 
their favorite hunting grounds, and from these wild men 
the two Pee Dee Rivers took their names. The men yet 
live who remember to have seen the evidences of a for- 
mer population, in the mounds, the arrow-heads, pottery 
and pipes found in various localities in the valley of the 
Pee Dee. No more sad and mournful requiem can be any 
where chanted over the dead, than could be imagined by 
kindly sentiment at the disappearance of these children 
of the forest, endowed by nature with certain noble char- 
acteristics, yet always weakening and deteriorating when 
brought into contact with the "pale faces." They have in- 
variably disappeared before the tide of emigration and 
civilization, until what were once strong, numerous tribes 
have dwindled and faded, till many are extinct and the 
remnants seem doomed to perish. But however sad this 
first chapter in all the history of all parts of this country 



History of Marlboro County. ij 

may be, truth demands the record that these strange peo- 
ple were here, sole proprietors of the soil, the 'forests, 
game and waters of the land, when our ancestor first 
landed upon the shores of the new world. The marvel 
is not that they sometimes gave trouble to the whites that 
came among them, but that those troubles were not ten- 
fold more terrible and protracted than thev were. When 
they saw their forests falling before the axe, their streams 
being ponded upon their hunting grounds, the graves of 
their dead turned by the plow-share, it is not strange that 
they should look upon the newcomers as invaders of their 
rights and their homes. It is almost too late for "pity for 
the poor Indian," but not too late to bless the expiring years 
of his existence with whatever of help and comfort a gene- 
rous people can give a dying race. How long they trod 
on plains, climbed our mountains, and paddled their light 
canoes upon our waters, no man knows; but the statesman 
and Christian alike must see that if anything is done for 
he betterment of their condition, it should be done quickly. 
Hitherto, there has been a wild West, to which their steps 
could flee before the tide of the white man's enterprise: 
but now the iron horse and the lightning messages are 
running from shore to shore, and the wild hidings of the 
Indian are disappearing forever. With him it is civilization, 
Christianization, or annihilation. 

Among the musty record may be seen at the State 
House in Columbia a literary curiosity in the shape of a 
treaty or covenant made between certain* aboriginal tribes 
who once owned the wide forests of this State, and some 
of the Lord Proprietors who sought fortunes in the new 
world. It dates back to 1675, or thereabout, and des- 
cribes certain lands upon the Edisto River and its branches 
which the Indians sold to the Englishmen, conveying the 
rights and titles to the forests, the streams the lands, the 
hunting grounds; the consideration being "cloths, hatch- 
ets, beads and such like trinkets and goods." The con- 



1 8 History of Marlboro County, 

tract is signed on the one part by the purchasers, and on 
the other by the Indian settlers; the chiefs and leaders of 
the tribes, of course all making their own peculiar "marks." 
But what is especially remarkable, is the fact that several 
"women captains" signed this treaty, or at least made 
"their marks," and while the chiefs each made a 
mark peculiar to his own hand, every woman made her 
mark in the shape of a serpent, not all horizontally, but 
some perpendicularly and others diagonally across the 
page, but every one is a crooked serpentine line, some even 
giving the larger head and small neck. That the Indian 
savage allowed a dower to their women seems to be im- 
plied, but why this peculiar signature? Did it signify a 
claim to superior subtility and cunning? Did it indicate 
her peculiar power to hurt and destroy? It has long been 
a mystery and is yet. But a few years ago, while the late 
Major Leitner was the Secretary of State, he called the 
attention of Chief Morrison of the Catawba tribe to these 
ancient signs and solicited an explanation of the mystery 
and there is pinned upon the page in the handwriting of 
the Secretary, the explanation of the chief; it is in sub- 
stance as follows: The Indians have a tradition which they 
claim to be five thousand years old. That a woman from 
whom they are descended met in the forests a singular 
serpent whose antics so pleased and charmed her, that she 
was induced to break a solemn pledge to which her troth 
had been plighted, and in punishment for her crime, an 
awful curse befell her; and ever since, when an Indian 
woman would make the most solemn vow of which she is 
capable, she puts herself under the sign of the serpent, 
calling down upon herself the malediction of the perjuror, 
a punishment similar to that which befell the mother In- 
dian who was betrayed into falsehood. As Chief Morri- 
son explained it, the sign of the serpent indicates the most 
solemn oath a woman can make. You who will may 
speculate about the meaning of this singular relic of the 



History of Marlboro County, 19 

past, and find a better explanation than that given by the 
civilized chief of the remnant of a once powerful tribe. 
And alongside this there is another curiosity. The old 
mace presented to the colony, ornamented with the crown, 
its- globe, its cross — symbol of royalty. And to this day 
along with the **broad sword" of State it is borne before 
the chief magistrate of a free people as he is conducted 
to his inauguration and oath of office. It may mean noth- 
ing to us, but did mean much to the old colonists, who 
received it from the mother country. 



CHAPTER II. 
First Early Settlers. 

In the early division of the Province of South Caro- 
lina, this whole Pee Dee region seems to have been em- 
braced in what was called«Craven County; named, it is 
supposed, in honor of William, Earl of Craven, one of 
the first Lord Proprietors. Its immense area stretched 
from the Santee River to the North Carolina line, and 
from the seashore to the mountains. While some 
measures were adopted at an earlier date looking to its 
organization into parishes, and near the coast some settle- 
ments were made, yet not until about 1 7 JO, did the au- 
thorities take any active steps encouraging emigration 
to this part of the colony. About this time, however, 
several townships were marked out. One was laid off 
near the mouth of Little Pee Dee called Queensborough; 
and settlers were encouraged to occupy it, by the offer 
of "fifty acres of land to each soul that would settle and 
improve the grant." But not yet did this bring settlers, per- 
manent residents at least, to that portion of country in- 
cluded in the present limits of our county. It was not 
until 1736, or early in 1737 ^^^^ ^"7 permanent settlement 
was effected. That first settlement seems to have been so 
manifestly directed by Providence, and so fruitful in 
results, important and lasting, as to justify special notice. 

The recital must take us back to the beginning of the 
century, and to the principality of Wales. ^'Several Bap- 
tist people, pining for larger religious liberty, living in the 
counties Cairmarthen and Pembroke, in the year 1701, 
resolved to remove to America." And as one of their 
number, by name Thomas Griffith, wa^ already a minister, 
they were advised to be constituted a church emigrant. 
The names were as follows: **Thomas Griffith, Griffith 



History of Marlboro County. 21 

Nicholas, Evan Edwards, John Edwards, Elisha Thomas, 
Enoch Morgan, Richard David, James David, Elizabeth 
Griffith, Lewis Edmund, Mary John, Mary Thomas, Eliza- 
beth Griffith,Tennant David, Margaret Mathias and Ten- 
nant Morris.*' These sixteen persons met at Milford Haven 
in the month of June, 1701, and embarked on the good 
ship William and Mary» and on the 8th day of September 
following landed at Philadelphia, and first settled about 
Penepeck, but finding certain inconveniences there, "in 
1703, they took up land in New Castle County, about 
30,000 acres, and built a little house of worship." This 
Welsh Tract, as it was called, was in Pennsylvania, but by 
a change of boundary fell into Delaware. Gregg still 
further records that the first visit from this colony to the 
Pee Dee appears to have been made in 1735, or early in 
the following year; that it led to a remarkable act of 
favor on the part of the Colonial Council to induce the 
Welsh to come. That act was an order to admeasure 
and lay out for these Welsh families 173,840 acres of land 
situated and being in Craven County. 

In 1736, or early in the following year, a portion of this 
original colony from Wales, or their descendants came 
South, and at first stopped near the mouth of Catfish 
Creek, in what is now Marion County; but having much 
sickness there, they remained but a short time, and most 
of them removed about fifty miles up the Pee Dee River, 
and settled in what has ever since been called the "Welsh 
Neck;" a district embracing the lands on the east side 
of the river from the mouth of Crooked Creek to the 
Red Hill or Hunt's Bluff. Upon the bank of the river, a 
few hundred yards above the Society Hill Bridge, this 
colony of Welsh people met and organized themselves 
into a Baptist church in January, 1738, calling it Welsh 
Neck. These are the names : James James and wife, Phillip 
James and wife, Daniel Devonald and wife, Abel James and 
wife, Thomas Evans and wife, John James and wife, David 



22 History of Marlboro County. 

• 

Jones and wife, Thomas Harry and wife, Daniel Harry 
and wife, John Harry and wife, Samuel Wilds and wife, 
Samuel Evans and wife, Griffith John and wife and 
Thomas Jones and wife. But these are not all who came. 
Bishop Gregg in his '^History of the Old Cheraws" men- 
tions a number of others as coming about the same time, 
such as 'Thomas James, Griffith John, Wm. James, John 
Newberry, Wm. Evans, Jafiies Rogers, David James, Sam- 
uel Sorency, Evan Vaughan and Wm. Terrell." We are 
not to suppose that all these settled on the east side of 
the river, in what is now Marlboro. Now are we to infer 
that none others than the above mentioned came. Some 
settled on the west side of the river, and others outside 
the Neck, above and below. 

The names of Owen and Jenkin David are mentioned 
in connection with the settlement at Catfish, and it is 
quite well established that both these brothers were early 
upon Marlboro soil, here lived and died, and have had in 
all the years an extensive and respectable posterity in 
the country. Indeed, it is doubtful if any of our old 
families have so clear and satisfactory a genealogy, or 
one so ancient, as this family. The writer had access to 
an "Old Family Bible*' in which the record goes back 
through several generations in Wales, before the coming 
of Owen and Jenkin to the Pee Dee. The father of these, 
it is recorded, was John David, of Wales, and wife Ann, 
and John was the son of David and Lydia his wife; David 
was the son of Thomas, who was the son of David Bevan. 
Before coming to America. Owen married Catherine 
Vaughan of Wales, who died childless. He then married 
Dinah Underwood, who became the mother of Joshua, 
Josiah, Benjamin and Sarah. These three sons were 
soldiers in the Revolution. Joshua and Benjamin were 
both wounded, Benjamin in the head, and Joshua in the 
hand, at Eutaw Springs. Joshua married Lucy Hodge, 
daughter of Thomas Hodge, who was also a soldier in the 



History of Marlboro County. 23 

_ 

War of Independence. From this marriage came John H. 
Sarah, Joshua, Welcome, Jesse, Dinah and Betsy. John 
H. married Mary, the daughter of Shadrach Fuller, who 
becsme the mother of thirteen children. Lucy, Ann, 
James E., John O., Mary, Alex. H., Evander, Safah, 
Joshua, Charles, Elizabeth and William J. Of these, 
James E., the first son, represented his people in the State 
Senate and House of Representatives. John O. and 
Alex. H. were well-known citizens for a long time; they 
sleep in Marlboro's sacred soil, and are represented by 
sons and daughters in the County. Dr. W. J. David 
died at Dillon in 1895, Evander past 80, yet lives in North 
Carolina. 

Capt. Joshua David the second son of the first Joshua, 
was for many years a civil officer in Marlboro, as sheriff, 
clerk and ordinary. He was correct, honest, truthful; 
and no man has left more beautiful penmanship, or a 
clearer record upon the books. He ultimately married his 
cousin, Miss Susanna David, and their only son, Joshua, died 
soon after reaching manhood. Welcome, another son of 
Joshua the first, has descendants among us yet. Jesse, 
the third son of Joshua, reared a large family by his two 
marriages; first with Miss Harry, and then with Miss Web- 
ster. Joseph H., James F., and A. Judson David are sons 
of this good man, and Mrs. J. S. Liles, a daughter, while 
Mrs. Barnes and a number of others are among his grand- 
children. Josiah was the son of Josiah, who was the 
second son of Owen, previously mentioned, and has 
descendants among us, but none bearing the David name, 
except Wm. R. David and his children, who maternally 
descended from Josiah. Benjamin, the other son of Owen, 
went West many years ago. 

Jenkin David, who came from Wales with his brother 
Owen, had four sons, John, Azariah, Owen and Jenkin, 
Of this old man it is upon record that he was a soldier 
under General Wayne, in the French and Indian wars; 



24 History of Marlboro County, 



that he married Miss Rachel Rogers, daughter of 
Nicholas and Martha Rogers. Of his sons Owen and 
Jenkin nothing is known, except that they left the coun- 
try at an early period. Azariah, a faithful soldier, also 
soon disappeared. John, however, remained, was a 
soldier and non-commissioned officer, and rose to a 
lieutenant in Marion's Brigade. He was five times mar- 
ried. His first wife was Saradi Booth, became the mother of 
three children and died; his second wife, Mary Jones, lived 
but three months; his thir4 wife was Isabella Allison, and 
the 'mother of five children; his fourth wife was Sarah 
Stephens, who had two children and died. His fifth 
marriage was with Mrs. Mary Stubbs, the daughter of Wil- 
liam Bridges, and widow of John Stubbs. One daughter was 
the fruit of this last marriage. Of these eleven children, 
all except two died unmarried, and most of them when 
quite young. The two who survived were both daugh- 
ters. Mary, whose mother was Miss Allison, became the 
wife of Lemuel Pearson. A daughter of this pair, Rachel 
by name, became the wife of Meekin Townsend, and the 
mother of a large family. Her sons are R. E., C. P. and 
Walter Townsend. She died only a few years ago. 
Another daughter of Mrs. Pearson was the wife of the 
late Joel L. Easterling. An only son, William Pearson, 
who went to his reward a number of years ago, was the 
father of the late John D. Pearson, Mrs. J. F. Breeden, 
Mrs. J. L. Stubbs and Mrs. W. Bennett. 

Eliza, the other daughter of John David, was the fruit 
of the union with the widow Stubbs. Mr. David was six- 
ty-two, and Mrs. David forty-six when the babe was born 
and both lived to see her a full-grown woman, and the 
mother was for many years an inmate of the daughter's 
house after she had become the wife of Wm. D. Bridges. 
To Mrs. Bridges the Lord gave no children of her own, 
but many another's child had reason to love her and honor 
her memory. She passed to her reward, in the eightieth 
year of her life. 



History of Marlboro County, 25 

So that so far as this writer knows there is no descendant 
of Jenkin. David, the progenitor of this branch of the fam- 
ily in Marlboro, bearing the David name. All bearing the 
name are descended from Owen, and yet the descendants 
of both Owen and Jenkin are numerous. Many interest- 
ing traditions of the family must, for lack of space, be 
omitted from these pages, but in connection with the 
David family another name deserves to be mentioned. 
It has been stated that Joshua David, of revolutionary 
fame, married Lucy, a daughter of Thomas Hodge. Lon- 
den Harwell, another soldier of the Revolution, married 
her sister Mary. Both were natives of Robertson County, 
North Carolina, and after marriage removed to Marlboro. 
Londen Harwell, at the age of thirteen years, became a 
soldier of Marion's Brigade in 1777, and remained stead- 
fastly with him until peace was declared, when he returned 
home, married Mary Hodge and settled in Marlboro. 
An only son was born to them, Londen Harwell, Jr., who 
married Mary Britton, a daughter of John Britton (called 
Jacky) a soldier of Marion's, and a member of the family 
who lived in Britton's Neck. Of this marriage the only 
child was Elizabeth, who married Philip Miller from 
Frankfort on the Main. The old soldier, Londen Har- 
well, died in July 1838. Mrs. Miller, his granddaugh- 
ter, is now eighty-three years old, and the mother of 
nine children, Mary; wifeof ex-judge J. H. Hudson; Anna; 
Martha, wife of John R. McKellar; Lizzie, wife of J. B. 
Adams; Sue, wife of J. R. 'Newton; and four sons, John, 
Henry, Philip and George. John and Henry each lost a 
leg in the late war, John at Chickamauga and Henry at 
Knoxville, worthy descendants of good Whig ancestors. 
Narcissa, the oldest daughter of J. H. Hudson and the 
wife of Dr. J. L. Jordan, is the mother of Mrs. Mary West, 
who is also the mother of an infant, Annie, thus making 
the unusual record of five living generations. 



CHAPTER III. 
Evans, and Other Families. 

There is need to still linger among the old Welshmen, 
who first planted civilization and Christianity upon the 
banks of the Pee Dee. There are several names in the 
list of the first settlers, as given in a former chapter, that 
have been prominent in the history of the country, and 
exercised a large influence in guiding public affairs. 
Among these, Thomas Evans is worthy of mention. He 
had a son Thomas, who was called **01d Col. Tom" 
Evans, who lived on the road from Long Bluff to the 
Marlboro old Court-house. He was a prominent 
soldier of the Revolution, a member of the Legislature, 
and was the father of that incorruptible jurist and states- 
man, Josiah J. Evans, than whom Marlboro has had few 
sons more justly honored and revered. Judge Evans 
was born upon Marlboro soil in 1786. He was among 
the early students of the South Carolina College, gradu- 
ating in the third class in 1808. Three years later he was 
admitted to the bar; was made Commissioner in Equity 
for Cheraw District in 1812, and in the same year was 
elected a member of the House of Representatives for 
Marlboro District. After the expiration of his term of 
service he married Miss DeWitt, at Society Hill, and be- 
came from that time a citizen of Darlington, and soon had 
a large practice in his profession. In 18 16 he was elected 
to the Legislature from Darlington, and in the year fol- 
lowing was made solicitor for the judicial circuit in which 
he lived. In 1829 he was elected a circuit judge, and 
continued to preside in the courts of the State with emi- 
nent dignity, courtesy, and legal knowledge and accuracy, 
until 1852, when he was elected to the United States Sen- 



History of Marlboro County. 27 

late. If wise and pure as a judge, he was not less faithful 
and true as a Senator. Senator Hale, of New Hampshire, 
widely differing from him in political opinions, said of 
him, "that he realized to his mind more fully than any 
other man whom he had met on the floor of the Senate, 
the ideal of an old Roman Senator." His career in the 
Senate was suddenly cut short by the stroke of death on 
the 6th of May, 1858. His practice as a lawyer, his duties 
as solicitor and judge, and a large planting interest in 
Marlboro, brought him frequently among the sons and 
daughters of his old neighbors. So that we never lost 
our interest in him, and when death struck him down, 
Darlington, his adopted home, was scarcely more be- 
reaved than Marlboro. Since his death, although for a 
time none of his sons or grandsons were residents of the 
county, yet, their large planting interests within it has 
brought some of them into such constant contact with 
our people that they have felt almost like citizens, while 
in the late years several of the grandsons have become 
citizens, and one of them, Mr. W. DeWitt Evans, has 
served his constituents, first in the House of Representa- 
tives, then as Senator, and now as Railroad Commissioner. 

Judge Evans had a brother, who came to be known as 
*'Col. Tom" Evans, whose name is entitled to appear 
among the historic names of the County. Col. Evans saw 
active service in the war of 181 2, and was for some time 
in active duty as Major in Col. John Rutledge*s 3d Regi- 
ment of State troops, and upon the retirement or trans- 
fer of Col. Rutledge he was placed in command of the 
regiment. He also rendered civil service to his country, 
having served a term in the Legislature. 

The nam^ of Samuel Wilds appears among these early 
settlers. From Bishop Gregg we learn that he "had two 
sons, John and Abel. The latter was known before the 
Revolution as old Col. Wilds. His residence was on the 
east bank of the river, nearly opposite Long Bluff. John, 



28 History of Marlboro County. 

the other brother, was the father of John and Samuel. 
The latter became the distinguished Judge Wilds, a man 
of remarkable character and brilliant talents." "His 
brother, John, who died prematurely, was considered 
even more talented." Judge O'Neal, in his "Bench and 
Bar," presumes that Judge Wilds was born in Darlington, 
but Gregg, in his history, makes him a native of Marlboro. 
Nor need our honored sister Darlington grudge us this 
distinction. She did have his residence and brilliant life 
— his accomplished daughter, Mrs. R. D. W. Mclver, for 
some years, and his noble widow, who afterwards became 
Mrs. Dr. Smith — to adorn her best circles as patterns in 
all that was good. And if our Darlington cousins will 
allow it, let them be reminded that Peter Wilds, a scion 
of the same stock, transplanted from Marlboro, a flower 
that bloomed out for Darlington a precious fruitage not 
yet ceased bearing; and that Darlington has been greatly 
since honored, in giving birth to another Samuel Wilds, 
in the person of that noble, polished, valiant soldier, who 
led one of her first companies into the war between the 
States, and who rose to be the beloved Major in his regi- 
ment; and, scarred and wounded returned, to his hospitable 
home, to see his property swept away, and his country re- 
duced and impoverished; yet lived only long enough to 
prove that he had gone through the struggle, and come 
out, the same pure-minded, splendid gentleman that went 
in. Scorning anything low or wrong, and then while yet 
in his prime, like his distinguished kinsman, fell asleep 
lamented by all, and by none more than his comrades in 
arms. 

Among the first members of the old church at Welsh 
Neck were three Harry's, Thomas, Daniel and John, with 
their wives, and in a parochial election held in 1768, 
Gregg gives in the list of voters, Thomas and two David 
Harry's. It is inferred therefore that one or more 
of them lived and reared families on Marlboro ground. 



History of Marlboro Couhty, 29 

It is known that the late Mrs. Samuel Sparks was Miss 
Ann Harry, that her father died when she was a child, 
and his widow married David Mandeville; and the first 
wife of the late Jesse David, as we have seen, was a Miss 
Harry, and a sister of hers was married to Mr. Sam 
Crosland, who went to Kentucky, and these latter ladies 
were not sisters to Mrs. Sparks. It is therefore likely 
that there were more than one of these Harry's among 
the early settlers of Marlboro. The name is extinct here 
now. 

It is said that the father of Judge Evans married Miss 
Elizabeth Hodges, who was a sister of Captain George 
Hodges, of lower Marlboro. There seems to have been 
a large family of Hodges upon the Pee Dee. Few 
families gave more soldiers to the Revolution than this 
one. We have already seen that the maternal ancestor 
of the present David family in the county was of this 
name. Capt. George Hodges married Sarah, a daughter 
of George Cherry, who was a prominent citizen of Ma-^ 
rion county, then called Liberty. The writer has a dis-^ 
tinct recollection of Captain Hodges. He commanded a 
company in the same regiment in which Evans was ma- 
jor in the War of 1812. My friend. Dr. J. H. Lane, 
placed in my hands a manuscript record of courts mar- 
tial and general orders, extending from July 15 to Octo- 
ber 22, 1812, in which the names of Evans and Hodges 
frequently occur as members of these courts, and as 
otherwise connected with the affairs of the regiment, and 
in a careful reading of the entire record no mention is 
made of either that would indicate the slightest suspi- 
cion of any dereliction of duty: and of the captain, as 
well as of his company, which was partly at least of 
Marlboro men, no member is named as having been ar- 
raigned before a court martial during these three months; 
while a good many of other commands were tried, con- 
victed and sentenced; and whatever other sentence of 



30 History of Marlboro County. 

punishment was imposed by the courts, they seldom 
failed to order that the "daily grog ration" should be 
withheld. Was it that Hodges' men so loved "grog" that 
no misdemeanor was indulged in lest the precious ration 
should be withheld? or are we to infer that the behavior 
of his men was superior to others r* or was it that his dis- 
cipline and administration of affairs was*so sound, that 
there was no occasion for punishment? The testimony 
of tradition says, that while firm and strict, he was kind 
and indulgent, and commanded the respect and affection 
of his men. If his men feared his displeasure as the 
boys did, when he shook his gray locks at us for any 
misbehavior in church, good order would reign in his 
presence at least. He was spared to see a large family 
grow up to maturity. Mrs. Hodges and one of the 
young ladies returning to their home from a visit in the 
neighborhood were dashed against a tree by a frightened 
horse, and Mrs. Hodges was killed and the young lady 
injured. The "old captain," heart broken, lingered a few 
months in his sorrow and joined his companion in the 
beyond. The young men in the Brownsville community 
of this name, and Messrs. P. A. and J. L. Hodges are 
grandsons of this excellent pair, and so, likewise, was R. 
H. Hodges, who was a member of the recent Constitu- 
tional Convention, and who died while the Convention 
was in session. 

A daughter of "old Col. Tom" Evans and a sister of 
the Judge, Miss Rebecca, married Charles Irby, who was 
also a prominent member of the Brownsville community. 
About 1826 Mr. Irby was elected a member of the Legis- 
lature. The writer, though but a boy, can remember the 
sudden death of the grand, portly old man, and how the 
neighborhood was moved in sympathy with his large fam- 
ily of sons and daughters in their bereavement; and how 
they were missed in society and schools of the neighbor- 
hood, when, a few years later, the family removed to Ala- 
bama. The oldest son, John, married Miss Catharine 



History of Marlboro County, 31 

Allison, and soon after died in the prime of his young 
manhood, leaving an only child who grew to womanhood, 
and became the first wife of the late Henry Rogers, and 
mother of Thomas Irby Rogers, of Bennettsville, and 
several other sons and daughters. Mr. Irby's widow, 
after some years, became the first wife of John C. Bethea, 
of Marion, and the mother of the well-known excellent 
farmer, of the Buck Swamp region, Ed. C. Bethea. 

Another sister of Judge Evans married Christopher 
Pegues, from whom descended a numerous connection, 
and whose influence tended largely to shape affairs on the 
upper Pee Dee, in the neighborhood of Cheraw. The 
grandfather of Mr. Pegues, named Claudius, "came to Pee 
Dee about 1760, and settled on the east side of the river, 
not far below the State line; was of French descent, mar- 
ried a Miss Butler in Charleston, moved first to George- 
town, and from thence came to this region, and at once 
took an active part in the affairs of the country." His two 
sons, Claudius and William, reached manhood. The lat- 
ter married Miss Elizabeth Murphy and settled on the 
the west side of the river. His second wife was a Miss 
Gardner. He is said to have been a man of cultivated 
tastes, and a staunch Whig and suffered much from Tory 
hate and robbery. Claudius married Miss Marcia Mur- 
phy and settled on the Marlboro side of the Pee Dee. 
He, too, was a man of fine character, active in all that per- 
tained to the welfare of his country; was a captain in the 
war for independence, an ordinary for the district of Che- 
raw, more than once a representative in the Legislature, 
and a county court justice for Marlboro. This family 
has, from their first settlement in the country, been prom- 
inent in every laudable enterprise. Two sons of this 
name have been honored ministers of the South Carolina 
Conference. Randolph, noble soul, of manly bearing, 
gentle spirit, in the prime of his usefulness, was "gathered 
to his fathers." While Wesley, an older brother, with sil- 
vered locks, stood yet longer on the heights of Zion and 
warned men to repent. A number of young men bearing 
the honored name live among us, to yet reflect luster 
upon their worthy ancestry 



CHAPTER IV. 

Other Early Settlers. 

In 1743, a name jippears among the early grantees 
of land in the Welsh Neck which was destined to 
be prominent in the history of Marlboro — Nicholas 
Rogers, a Welshman. He died in 1759, but left a son 
Benjamin, who lived on the west side of the Pee 
Dee, a few miles below Cheraw — an ardent Whig, of ex- 
cellent character, and held in high esteem by his neigh- 
bors. Of his sons, mention may be made of two as prom- 
inent citizens of Marlboro. Of a third, Nicholas, we 
have heard, but know nothing. A daughter married a 
Mr. Pearson, and lived some miles above Cheraw. John 
Rogers, a son of the first Ben, married Miss Mary Griffin, 
and lived and died at what is now known as the Dr. 
McLeod place. He was a member the Legislature, 1808- 
1809. The fruit of this marriage was three sons, and as 
many daughters. The first of these daughters married 
Dr. Francis Lee, and went West. Another was the first 
wife of Gen. McQueen, who was a lawyer at Bennetts- 
ville, and a member of Congress for several terms, and 
resigned his seat when the State seceded from the Union. 
A third daughter. Miss Martha, a lady of splendid form, 
fine character, and superior intellect, became the first 
wife of Dr. Alexander McLeod, a native of North Caro- 
lina, a successful popular physician, a member of the 
Secession Convention, the father of several sons, and a 
daughter who became the wife of Capt. C. M. Weatherly. 
The sons of Mr. Rogers were John M., Benjamin and 
Robert. John was talented and popular; elected to the 
Legislature in 1828, but in the midst of his career of 
promise he was stricken in death. Robert, also, was a no- 



History of Marlboro County, 33 

ble, brilliant young man, just grown, when, by an accident- 
al shot from his own gun, he was instantly killed. Hardly 
any young man in the community was more beloved, or 
could have been more sincerely mourned. The other son, 
B. N. Rogers, married Miss McQueen, of Chesterfield. 

The good man left a family of sons and daughters to 
mourn his departure to a better state. 

Another son of the first Benjamin Rogers was Col. Ben, 
who resided in Brownsville. By his first marriage he be- 
came the father of nine daughters, and nine sons were given 
him as the fruit of a second marriage with Mrs. Wickam, 
who also had a daughter by her first marriage. This daugh- 
ter first married John C. Ellerbe, of Marion, and after his 
death she became the second wife of Dr. B. K. Henagan. 
Most fondly does the writer remember the manly form of 
Col. Ben Rogers, as the neighbor of his father and a friend 
to all the boys; universally respected, full of energy and 
push, even in his old age. He was an early sheriff of 
Marlboro, a Colonel of Militia, a State Senator, a patron 
of schools, a friend of the churches, and beloved by his 
servants. He was young in years when the struggle with 
the mother country came on, but with the ardor of youth 
and the enthusiasm of an impulsive spirit he drew his 
sword in the cause of liberty, and to his dying day his 
face beamed and his eye kindled with an ardent devotion 
to his country's weal. He was killed at last by a falling 
tree, the felling of which he was himself directing for 
plantation purposes. Noble, polite, generous, public 
spirited, grand old man, we saw him buried, and it is a 
sad, yet. precious privilege, occasionally, to visit his tomb 
at old Brownsville, where he sleeps between the bodies 
of the two women whom he loved with the tenderness 
and devotion that was the admiration of all who knew 
him in his hospitable home. 

His first born son, whom we called **Major Ben," sleeps 
in that same consecrated plat of ground. He was for 



34 V History of Marlboro County, 



awhile in command of the "Lower Battalion" of Marlboro 
militia. A man of calm, cool temperament, highly respect- 
ed by his neighbors, they induced him to stand for a seat 
in the State Legislature in 1846, and he was elected and 
served; but he would consent no more to ask his country- 
men to send him to Columbia, preferring the enjoyments 
of his own comfortable, hospitable home to the turmoil 
and excitement of political life. B. B. Rogers, courteous 
friend, successful planter, his death made a sad void in 
the community. "Where are the nine?" One only at 
this writing remains above the earth. Col. John Rogers, 
of Florence. His silken hair of snowy white proclaims 
him an old man. Like most of his brothers, he is remem- 
bered as a splendid specimen of manhood, the pride of his 
parents, the soul of politeness, the life of his circle. When 
he shall rest in the tomb the last of his generation will 
have gone. But another generation is already upon the 
scene, doing credit to the name they bear. The preselit 
Sheriff of Marlboro (1890) bearing the family name, Ben, is 
the first born of Maj. B. B. Rogers and Miss Elizabeth 
Allison, a beautiful woman, the youngest of four sisters. 
The others were Eliza, who became the second wife of 
Maj. Rogers; Catharine, who first married John Irby, and 
after his early death, became the wife of John C, 
Bethea; Caroline, who married Charles Brown, and be- 
came the mother of Mrs. T. L. Crosland. Mrs. Allison 
was Miss Betsy Whittington, and first married a Mr. Mc- 
Tier and had two sons, William and Robert, and a 
daughter, Mrs. Henry DeBerry, who, for a long time» 
lived at Parnassus. Both McTier and Allison are. extinct 
names in Marlboro. There was a young son, Tom Allison, 
whose death in his brilliant boyhood profoundly grieved 
the hearts of his comrades and kinsmen. 

The Sparks name is to be set down as one of the ear- 
liest in this region. Four brothers, Daniel, Charles, Sam- 
uel and Harry, are said to have come from Virginia to the 



History of Marlboro County, 35 

Pee Dee. Harry, a noted Whig, was killed by a band of 
Tories in the swamps of Three Creeks. Daniel, the eldest 
brother, settled at first not far from and on the east side 
from Bennettsville,but afterwards moved to Red Hill. He 
married Miss Martha Pearce, a lady of fine character, who 
lived to old age, retaining both her mental and physical 
vigor in a marked degree. Full of good works, she ulti- 
mately sank into the grave lamented by all. Three sons 
and four daughters blessed the lot of this pair. 

Samuel, who spent his four-score years and more in 
Marlboro, first married Miss Allison, and had a son, 
Charles, who died young. His second wife was Miss Ann 
Harry. Two children were born to them, the late Capt. 
A. D. Sparks, and Mrs. Keitt, whose brave husband, L. 
M. Keitt, poured out his life's blood upon the red soil of 
Virginia in the late war. 

One sister of Mr. Sparks married John Crosland of 
Marlboro. Another (Lucy) first married Alex Stubbs 
and afterwards Thomas Stubbs, and a daughter, Mrs. E. 
W. Goodwin, was the fruit of the latter union. A third 
sister married William Pouncy, as stated (elsewhere in these 
pages. Martha, the other sister, died unmarried. 

The Crosland family is another of those which dates 
back to near the middle of the last century. Edward 
Crosland, an ophan boy, of Virginia, thrown upon his 
own resources, devoloped an enterprising, adventurous 
spirit. He came to Carolina about 1760; and united him- 
self with a party of kindred spirits in the central part of 
the province, and traveled extensively in North Carolina, 
went across the mountains into Kentucky, from thence to 
the Ohio river, down that stream to the Mississippi and 
thence to New Orleans. Returning to North Carolina 
Mr. Crosland married a daughter of Samuel Snead, and 
settled near the boundary line. Subsequently he came to 
Marlboro and settled not far from Gardner's Bluff and 
reared a large family. His sons were John, Samuel, Dan- 



36 History of Marlboro County. 

iel M., Israel, David, George, Philip and Dr. William and 
several daughters. A number of his descendants are 
now numbered among the respected citizens of the Coun- 
ty, while many more have yielded to the inexorable law 
of destiny, and have gone to people other more western 
States and build up other communities towards the set- 
ting sun. 

Another name no longer found in Marlboro is entitled 
to mention, not only because of the part the family bore 
in the early history of the country, but because the blood 
has coursed in veins that have borne other names and 
made honorable records on history's page. In 1758 Thom- 
as Ayer came to Pee Dee. A native of Ireland, he spent 
some time in Virginia before coming to Carolina. It is 
said that he settled on the east side of Pee Pee river a 
little below Hunt's Bluff, set up a trading establishment 
and made money. An ardent Whig, he risked life and 
fortune in the cause of liberty. Lewis Malone, the 
father of the late Gen. L. M. Ayer, of Anderson, and of 
Mrs. Judge A. P. Aldrich, was a son of the grand old 
Irish patriot. So also was the venerable Hartwell Ayer, 
who lived at the place where J. B. Breeden recently died. 
Hartwell Ayer had a son, William, who left a family near 
Fayetteville, N. C, and three daughters, Mrs. Long of 
sainted memory, Mrs. J. B. Breeden and Mrs. Marshall; 
noble women of noble deeds, farewell! 

There were a number of other families that settled on 
the Pee Dee about the middle of the eighteenth century, 
who contributed their full quota to the civilization and 
opening up of the country, and have left their impress 
upon its welfare, but in most instances the names have 
become extinct, although in some cases the blood flows 
in their descendants of other names in Marlboro; in other 
instances the names no longer known here are honorably 
borne in adjoining counties or distant States. Bishop 
Gregg has done a good work in recording them in his 



History of Marlboro County, 37 

history. His name, among them, is worthy of enduring 
remembrance, alongside such as Murphy, Hicks, Wilson, 
Lide, Robertson, Allison, Bedgegood, Lewis, Luke and 
others as worthy of mention. Pioneers in a new land, 
they lived in troublous times, and the hardships of sub- 
duing an unbroken forest to cultivation, opening roads, 
building bridges, erecting churches and school-houses, 
and preparing the way for liberty, prosperity, education 
and religion to take root and thrive in the new world as 
it had never done in the old — is never to be forgotten by 
a grateful posterity. 



CHAPTER V. 

Other Brownsville Families. 

Since reference has frequently been made to this ancient 
community it is fit that we linger among some of the 
older names that impressed themselves upon its society. 
With the main body of Welshmen, or soon after, came 
John Brown, born near Burlington, N. J., and brought 
up near Frankfort in the neighborhood of Philadelphia. 
He came South and united with the colony about the 
Neck. H-e was ordained to the gospel ministry May 7, 
1750, and succeeded Philip James as pastor of the church 
at Welsh Neck ; but, for some reason did not continue 
long in that relation, but devoted his ministry to other 
regions, and was instrumental in organizing a church at 
Cashway Ferry, with a membership on both sides of the 
river. Either he or his son, Samuel, had settled on 
Muddy Creek and built a mill some years before the 
Revolutionary War began, and near the mill, on both sides 
of the Creek, a number of prosperous families were set- 
tled. Ardent Whigs, it soon became a stronghold of lib- 
erty, and the prominence of the Brown family about this 
time gave name to the Brownsville community. It is not 
known how many sons the old pastor had, or when he died: 
It is, however, a well-established tradition that the promi- 
nent family of this name on the west side of Pee Dee in the 
Mars Bluff and Florence region are descended from this old 
Welsh preacher; and that John and Jeremiah, grandsons 
of his, moved to Alabama and became prominent in that 
State. William, another grandson of the old pastor, and 
a son of Samuel, lived and died near the mill and in sight 
of the old church, which, after the war, was moved out to 
the present location. Mr. Brown had four sons and a 
daughter. The daughter marrried a Mr. Law, of Darling- 



History of Marlboro County. 39 

ton. The four sons were young men of excellent character. 
Samuel died unmarried. James lived but a short time af- 
ter his marriage and left no son. William Brown, one of 
my early schoolmasters, went West. Charles Brown mar- 
ried Miss Allison, and in the person of Mrs. T. L. Crosland 
and her interesting young family, alone flows the blood 
of the men whose characters and influence gave name to 
an extensive township of lower Marlboro. 

William Magee, or as the name was sometimes spelled, 
McGee, was an early settler in this portion of country. A 
daughter of his, Martha, became the wife of Rev. Evan 
Pughand a daughter by this marriage, Elizabeth by name, 
was the excellent wife of Mr. Hugh Lide, of Darlington, 
from whom a splendid family descended. Another daugh- 
ter of Mr. Magee was the mother of the late Capt. 
Hodges, of Marlboro. James, a son of Mr. Magee, lived 
at what has since been known as the Bruce place, about 
a mile below the site of the old Brownsville church, and 
there reared a large family. A son, Hartwell, moved 
into the upper part of the State. Another^ Zacheus, 
went West. The youngest daughter was the first wife of 
the writer's fatherj William Thomas. And among the 
relatives of the first family of children, who sometimes 
visited us. Rev. William Kennedy, a noted preacher of 
the S. C. Conference, is remembered. A son of his, the 
polished F. M. Kennedy, was not less distinguished at a 
later date. Mr. Magee was noted for his correct Chris- 
tian character, was a conscientious Whig, and a member 
of Marion's brigade. He came near losing his life on 
the day after Col. Kolb was killed, being on the road 
from his home to Long Bluff on a military mission to the 
Colonel when Lewis M. Ayer, whose sister Mr. Magee 
married, at the risk of his own life, and with a narrow es- 
cape, intercepted and saved. He lived to see the opening 
years of the present century, and died suddenly, sitting 
in his chair with the open Bible upon his knee. 



40 History of Marlboro County, 

The magistrate of the community and the State Senator, 
seventy years ago, was Robeson Carloss. He came from 
Virginia about 1790 and settled on the Pee Dee and mar- 
ried the beautiful and accomplished daughter of Baron 
Poelnitz, who was at the time, the young widow of Col. 
Evans, and had been the wife, first of Charles Stuart. 
The Carloss name is extinct in Marlboro, but through the 
late Mrs. Light Townsend, the blood flows in the veins of 
several of our excellent families, viz.: J. R. Townsend, 
John Irby. T. E. Dudley and F. W. Kinney. So, too, the 
name of Poelnitz is unknown among us only as it is rep- 
resented in the above good people. It is fit that another 
name should be mentioned in connection with Carloss, 
not because there was any kinship, but because 'Squire Car- 
loss exercised a large influence over Mason Lee, the great- 
est oddity of his day, and was the executor of his will, if 
not the writer of it. Lee was a bachelor of considerable 
property, owning a large plantation on the river just be- 
low Cashway Ferry. His will directed that the principal 
part of his property be given to the States of Tennessee 
and South Carolina. That if the Wiggins, his natural 
heirs at law, should contest the will, his executors should 
employ the best legal talent in the State to defend it, and 
never allow the Wiggins to have any part of it,"so long as 
wood grew or water ran." The will was contested upon 
the ground of mental imbecility, and such *4egal lights" 
as Chancellor Harper, Wm. C. Preston, Judge Evans, Col. 
Blanding and Col. J. R. Irvin exercised their great pow- 
ers on the one side or the other in the trial, a record of 
which is "in the books." The case terminated at last in the 
establishment of the will. The grave of Lee is another spot 
atthe*'old Brownsville graveyard," where memory lingers. 
It was covered over with brick made in the neighborhood 
about 1820, and fifty years ago a tree, nearly a foot in di- 
ameter, which had been killed by lightning, fell diagonally 
across the grave, displacing a few but not breaking any 



History of Marlboro County, 4 1 

bricks, and to-day those old brick lie in good shape, firm 
and strong above the dust of Mason Lee. Such were his 
singularities, and so much was said of him in my boyhood 
days that it seems to me as if I used to see him ride past the 
door on his way to Carloss' on a mule whose "ears had 
been shaved off at the skull," seated upon a saddle "hewed 
out of a hollow gum," his feet in "grapevine stirrups," a 
blanket "tied over his shoulders," with a "coon skin cap 
upon his head," and yet Lee was buried two or three years 
before I was born. The earless mules, once his, did sur- 
vive their old master for years, and their appearance 
upon the road was real. 

Let us linger yet longer among the old families of this 
ancient community. Emanuel Coxe came at an early 
day, long before the war with the mother country 
and when the conflict came, himself and several sons 
enrolled themselves on the side of liberty. Bishop 
Gregg mentions James, John, Josiah, Sgimuel and 
William. Thejtradition as received from our fellow citizen, 
Mr. James E. Coxe, names all these except Josiah, but 
mentions three others as sons of Emanuel and as having 
been soldiers of the Revolution, viz.: Ezekiel, Jesse and 
Benjamin. It may be that the name Josiah, as given by 
Gregg, is a mistake, and ought to be Jesse, or one of the 
others. It is inferred that whoever was meant by Josiah, 
means a son of this old Brownsville patriarch, because he- 
is enrolled as a member of Capt. Moses Pearson's com- 
pany, who was himself a resident of this community. 
However that may be, it is beyond question that few 
families in the Pee Dee region, numbering no more men 
has furnished a larger proportion to the cause of inde- 
pendence. Samuel Coxe, the son of Emanuel, and the 
grandfather of our friend, Jas. E., was quite noted for his 
valor and services. Crossing over Brown's mill-dam one 
night a Tory tried to shoot him, but his gun missing fire,. 
Coxe arrested and carried him a prisoner to the American, 



42 History of Marlboro County, 

camp. Mr. Coxe lived to a great age, until most of his 
comrades were gone. His neighbors on the fourth of 
July sometime in the forties, honored him with the first 
place at a barbecue. This was his last dinner, for in the 
afternoon he mounted his horse, and crossing over the 
same mill-dam, where his Tory neighbor had sought his life, 
he had nearly reached his home a mile or so beyond, 
when his horse took fright and the old patriot fell off, 
and in a few days was no more. Two of his sons, Capt. 
Moses E. and Ezra, were soldiers of the war 1812-14. The 
former never married, but was an excellent citizen, who 
lived to see yet another war of greater dimension, 
and died a few years after peace was made. Ezra 
married Miss Ann B. Bass, of Marion, and was the father 
of James E., Dr. Robt. A.j and Edwin M., noble boy who 
fought his way through many a conflict in the late war 
till he was made a prisoner, and died at Newport News 
only the day before he was to have been released from 
his captivity. 

John Coxe, another son of Emanuel, married a Miss 
Mixon and was the father of eight children. A daughter, 
Fanny, married John Hood and became the mother of a 
large family of that name yet represented in the old 
neighborhood. A son,* Eli, first married a Miss Stroud 
and raised a large family. Charles, Daniel and Hugh all 
. growing old, yet survive. His second wi-fe, Miss Ann 
Haskew, yet lives, but had no children. Eli Coxe also 
rendered faithful service in the war of 1812, in the com- 
pany of Capt. Tristram Bethea, and if he saw no blood- 
shed he retained a vivid and intelligent recollection of 
events connected with his soldier life. Honest, truthful 
and correct, he went to the grave respected and lamented 
by his neighbors. A brother of his lived just across the 
creek and raised a large family also, and left a blameless 
reputation behind him when he died. 



History of Marlboro County. 43 

William Coxe, another son of Emanuel, was perhaps 
more distinguished for his revolutionary record than either 
of his brothers because his services were more continuous. 
He was one of those patriotic "sons of liberty'* who could 
not be content at his fireside so long as the enemy trod 
the shores of the New World. If not needed in one 
place, he would get a transfer to a more active sphere. 
And yet, when the war was over no man more loved the 
sweets of peace. No more inoffensive man has lived 
upon the waters of Muddy Creek than he. He was twice 
married and was the father of twenty children. Two sons 
and nine grandsons of his had places in companies raised 
in Marlboro for Confederate service, and no one knows 
how many more from among those who had made their 
homes in other States of the South. A son-in-law, Jere-^ 
miah Coxe, a grandson of the venerable Samuel, went intO' 
the Seminole War of 1835 ^"^ ^^^^ ^^ ^^^ service away 
from his home, in the savannas of Florida. The late 
Michael Coxe, a fine workman in iron especially, and who- 
made some excellent improvements in the plow, and was 
well and favorably known in Masonic circles for a long^ 
time, was a son of this venerable patriarch and soldier 
of 1776. The Mr. James Coxe who married Miss Hubbard 
and raised a family in the Brightsville region,was a grand- 
son of old Mr. Samuel Coxe. His father's name was 
Aaron, who married a Miss Spears, aunt of Lewis and 
Harris Spears, of Hebron. There were other children who 
went West. 

The Townsend family, which has been prominent in 
Marlboro for many years may also be placed among the 
original settlers of this portion of the country. The first 
to come, so far as our information goes, was Light, who 
is put down as an active soldier of the Revolution. He is 
said to have been the father of two children, John and 
Rhoda, both of whom the writer distinctly recollects as 
among the old people, in the days of his youth. Light 



44 History of Marlboro County, 

Townsend was the only son of John who remained long in 
Marlboro. He was a man of indomitable energy, and large 
native intellect. He gathered a large fortune by his in- 
dustry and skill, and left his young family in comfortable 
circumstances. Another son of old John was long and 
favorably known as a member of the South Carolina Con- 
ference and left a family in the upper part of the State. 
The late Mrs. Kinney, mother of Capt. Frank Kinney and 
his excellent sisters, was a daughter; and the second Wife 
of Jabish N. Townsend was another. Besides these there 
were other children born to*'Uncle John and Aunt Kissy," 
as the venerable couple were familiarly called, who moved 
West. The larger portion of this numerous connection, 
however, are descended from Rhoda, through the three 
sons, Benjamin, Jabish and Samuel. The former was the 
ancestor of the young men of the name now living a few 
miles above Bennettsville. The brilliant Col. Knox Liv- 
ingston, of Bennettsville, is a grandson of Samuel Town- 
send, who lived for a long time in the very heart of the 
Brownsville community, and when an old man removed 
to Florida with a large family of sons and daughters. 
Jabish Townsend, the other son of Rhoda, married Bettie 
Spears and a numerous family came from this union. 
Meekin, the father of Judge C. P. Townsend, and others, 
was a man of keen intellect, popular manners, and great 
energy. He served his people quite acceptably as sheriff 
and died in the strength and vigor of manhood. Maj. B 
D. Townsend, so long and favorably known in Bennetts- 
ville as a merchant and patron of temperance, and after- 
wards as a citizen of Society Hill and a successful rail- 
road president, was also a son of Jabish T. Townsend. So, 
too, was Samuel J., who successfully practiced law in Ben- 
nettsville and was elected to the Legislature. Of quick 
mind and ready speech, he seemed capable of large attain- 
ments, but was cut off in the midst of his career by the 
relentless reaper. Jabish N., father of John C. and others. 



History of Marlboro Coujity, 45 

was also a son of this old man; another son went West. 
Besides these the Galloways and some of the Pearsons are 
descended from the same source. It is indeed amazing how 
many of our people, and how many others, West and 
South, may trace their lineage back to Hilson's Bay and 
to the first Light, who left but two children to bear his 
name, to the generations coming after him. 



CHAPTER VI 
Pearson Family, and Others. 

We begin this chapter with the name Pearson, which 
has been largely represented in all the years of our his-, 
tory. The first was Aaron, who came from one of the 
English settlements of Virginia in colonial times. He 
was the father of two sons, Aaron and Moses. The latter 
owned, and lived upon, what was called the "big planta- 
tion," now known as "Lowdon." He was prominent in 
Revolutionary affairs. First, as Lieutenant in Hicks* 
Regiment in 1780, and in the two following years a cap- 
tain in Benton's Regiment. After the war his name fre- 
quently appeared upon the records of the old Brownsville 
church, as well as upon those of the county courts. He 
was one of the first justices of Marlboro and seems to 
have presided over the court, and before the county was 
organized he held position and took part in judicial 
affairs in the old district of Cheraw. He is said to have 
been the father of fifteen children, eight sons and seven 
daughters. One daughter became Mrs. Haskew, another 
Mrs. Galloway, and the Johns are some way connected 
with this old family. Thonias, one of the sons, was the 
ancestor of the Messrs. Moses and Zacheus Pearson, 
Mrs. Joel Easterling, John D. Pearson and Mrs. Rachel 
Townsend are descended from another. 

Aaron, the other son of Aaron the first, was also a sol- 
dier of the Revolution. He married a Miss Spears and 
another Aaron was the fruit of this marriage. He in turn 
married Miss Ann Vining, who became the mother of 
several daughters and two sons, Thomas, who moved to 
Alabama, and the late John Pearson, of Bruten's Fork, 
who, at an advanced age, passed away only a few yeara 



History of Marlboro County, 47 

ago. It is fit that credit be given him for much informa- 
tion embodied within these pages. His health was re- 
markably preserved, and his vigor of body and mind, when 
past four-score, was a marvel. Not only did he love to 
live over in thought the scenes and enjoyments of his 
earlier years, and to tell of his experiences as a soldier of 
the war of 181 2, but he manifested a lively interest in 
passing events, and the employments of people of 
another generation. 

The Haskews mentioned in connection with the Pear- 
sons are worthy of a more special notice. Two of these 
old men are remembered. John is entitled to a place 
among the old heroes of the Revolution. His name is 
upon Marion's muster roll as "John Askew," the initial 
H omitted, and yet no difficulty was found in proving his 
claim to a pension when so many living witnesses were 
found to testify to his presence and services. Quiet, in- 
offensive old man ! At a great age he was thrown from a 
vehicle in which he was riding and received fatal injuries. 
Thomas H. Haskew is a grandson. Zacheus was the 
other brother, a younger man than John, and more suc- 
cessful in the affairs of ^his life. He was the father of 
the excellent ladies, Mrs. Donaldson and Mrs. Bruce, 
from both of whom many good young people have 
sprung. A sister of these old men married a Mr. Britton, 
a son of whom, Hugh Britton, is remembered as one of 
the fine-looking young men of Brownsville society in the 
thirties. 

In 1756 James Sweeny is supposed to have come to the 
Pee Dee. In some way the name was subsequently 
changed to Henagan. James Sweeny had a son, Barney, 
who had two sons, Darby and John. Darby was the 
father of B. K., Ephraim L. and Mrs. McCollum and 
Mrs. Lewis E. Stubbs. Dr. B. K. Henagan was not only 
prominent as a practicing physician fifty years ago, but 
as a politician also. In 1834 his people elected him to 



48 History of Marlboro County 



the State Senate and the Legislature elected him Lieuten* 
ant-Governor, and upon the death of Governor Noble, 
he was sworn in and filled out the unexpired term. He sub- 
sequently moved to Marion and was sent to the legisla- 
ture again. Dr. Henagan's first wife wasa Miss Gibson, an 
excellent lady, who became the mother of four sons and 
two daughters. One of these became the fourth wife of 
the late A. G. Johnson. The other married a Mr. Northrop. 
Only one of the splendid sons remains, Robert, who re- 
sides in the Florence neighborhood. Ephraim L. Hena- 
gan, a brother of the Governor, was in his day one of 
Marlboro's most popular men. He served a term in the 
office of sheriff and never sought position any more, but 
retired to his farm and devoted his great energies to the 
education and maintenance of his large and interesting 
family. His wife was Miss Nancy Mclnnis. Noble 
woman ! Well she filled her place. 

The first son in this family' was John W., who never 
asked a position of the people that was not given him. 
He was sheriff of the county and a member of the Legis- 
lature in 1 860-61, and in the militia had risen to a briga- 
dier's commission when the wai; between the States came 
on; and at the first organization of the Eighth Regiment 
of South Carolina Volunteers he was elected Lieutenant- 
Colonel and at the reorganization became Colonel. In 
one of the engagements in Virginia he fell into the hands 
of the enemy and, like thousands more, died a prisoner. 
True to his country, beloved by his command, respected 
by his superiors, his death was a loss to his people. 
Other members of this family live to honor the name. 

Connected with the Henagans, in the writer's memory, 
was Capt. Francis Miles, then an old man, in 1830. His 
wife, Mrs. Lucretia, was an aunt to the Henagans. This 
ancient couple had but a single child who bore the father's 
name, Francis, a gifted, modest young man capable of 
filling any position, but his great diffidence held him back. 



History of Marlboro County, 49 

When past the meridian of life he married his cousin, 
Amanda Henagan, and an only daughter resides in Ala- 
bama. 

The Bruces have been for a long time in Brownsville. 
Wright Bruce married a widow, Cooper, and two sons, 
Joseph and Caleb, were given them, both of whom have 
left families in the vicinity. The Procters, Johnsons and 
Brigmans have also been upon the ground for many years. 
At a later date came the Aliens, an excellent addition to 
the population — a mother with two sons and several 
daughters — from North Carolina. The two sons, Thomp- 
son and Joel, by the modest exhibition of real worth, soon 
took rank with the best citizens, and their sons after the.m 
still hold it. 

Thomas J. J. DuPre came about 1830, bringing a family 
of young children, whose descendants are yet upon the 
ground. Simon Emanuel long lived in the community 
conducting a mercantile business. Of all these and more 
much might be penned, but justice to other portions 
of the county demands space in these pages. The names 
of two Burkitts, Ephraim and Samuel, must close our 
sojourn around the spot where our first infant steps were 
made. These old Burkitts, humble men though they 
were, wrote their names upon an honor roll with their 
swords in the days that tried men*s souls, and, although 
the name is no more answered to in Marlboro, yet it is fit 
that it have mention here. Fifty years ago there were 
two or three families living in this old neighborhood 
bearing the name, but, like hundreds more, they have been 
swept westward by the tide of emigration, and have gone 
to people other States toward the setting sun. Let this 
chapter be closed with the record that, for the first fifty 
years of the present century, there was no place in Marl- 
boro where the educational advantages were any better, 
if so good, as in Brownsville. The old men whose names 
have been given in these sketches sought the best talent 



50 History of Marlboro County. 

to teach their children, and, for a time, young people from 
other and distant portions of the country crowded the 
academy. Peter Stuart Ney, said to have been the French 
marshal, was teaching here when Napoleon I. died on 
Helena. Here Sinclair, the first husband of Mrs. Nancy 
Cook, did faithful work. Kenneth Black, another noted 
teacher, here swayed the birch. Brown and McNab, 
young men "apt to teach," served their patrons well, and 
here it was that Donald Matheson was first introduced to 
the people of Marlboro, and introduced as an instructor 
of youth. Fair-faced, ruddy young Scotchman he 
was, but«in intelligent, cultured gentleman. The elements 
of his character were of the robust, stern, muscular kind, 
rather than of the gentle and winning. For wrong-doing, 
meanness and vice he could have no patience, but loved 
truth, justice and right. His manner, to some, appeared 
distant, stern; even cold: Still he had a heart loving, true 
and warm, ready to respond to the touch of friendship, 
the cry of distress, the call of his country, and the needs 
of his church. 



CHAPTER VII. 

Industrial Affairs of the Early Settlers. 

Coming from different parts of the earth, some for the 
sake of larger religious liberty, some for the love of adven- 
ture, and all with a desire to better their financial circum- 
stances, there was everywhere dependence upon individ- 
ual exertion as well as generous co-operation. The coun- 
try, wild and uncleared abounding in forests of splendid 
timber, affording material for building and fencing pur- 
poses, a fertile soil, especially upon the banks of the 
river, with an abundance of fish and game. There was 
much to do, and much promise of reward to industry and 
skill. Fortunes were to be made by dint of perseverance 
and toil; various industries were pursued to meet the 
necessities of the times, and the sturdy settlers were equal 
to the situation. Some of those who emigrated from 
provinces further north are said to have driven their 
domestic animals across the country to their new homes, 
where abundant pasturage was found in the lowlands 
upon which their stock could graze. Large droves of 
cattle and horses ran wild through the forests and stock 
raising was at once a profitable business. Entrapping 
wild cattle and horses was an exciting yet profitable 
sport. A large, strong pen constructed in the fork of two 
branches or creeks, into which the frightened beasts were 
driven and caught, was a simple and favorite plan. Across 
the public road leading from Bennettsville to Blenheim, 
and a mile above the latter place, there flows a branch 
called ''Horse Pen," which, according to the statement of 
the late venerable Daniel John, who was born, lived, and 
died near its confluence with the Three Creeks, got its 
name from a pen which was located at the fork and used 



52 History of Marlboro County, 

for the purpose of entrapping wild horses in those early 
days. In other portions of the country immense herds 
of cattle were kept; vast numbers of hogs were raised 
largely upon the mast that fell from the trees, and driven 
to Charleston and other markets and sold for the best 
price that could be obtained, and supplies for the family 
at home brought back. It is not surprising, if exercise 
and hardship, in the saddle, upon the road, in the woods, 
amid peril and exposure, should develop the daring, en- 
during and faithful class of men who shared the dangers 
and honors of Marion, and such as he, amid the swamps 
of the Ifce Dee and Santee in times a little farther on in 
the history of the country. It will be remembered, of 
course, that slavery was an institution of the times, and 
these early settlers sometimes bought and sold servants. 
It is told of one of these old stock men that he "gave 
seventy-seven seven-year-old steers for one woman." 

Wheat and corn, especially the latter, was soon raised 
in abundance, and many a boat laden with corn floated 
down the Pefe Dee to the towns on the coast; and bacon 
went to the markets by the same means, or was hauled 
across the country in wagons. Great rafts of timber and 
boards were floated on the same stream, so that the Pee 
Dee became a common channel of communication be- 
tween the people on the coast and those in the interior, 
long before the age of cotton and steam, many obstruc- 
tions to safe navigation being removed by private, and 
some by public enterprise. At an early period indigo 
became a profitable crop. The rich alluvial bottoms near 
the banks of the river "were especially productive. In- 
deed, the plant grew wild in the woods, and as there was 
much demand for the dye in the markets of the world, 
and the plant a natural growth of the soil, it is not strange 
that it should soon become a principal article of export to 
the mother country. Parliament encouraged its cultiva- 
tion; a bounty was allowed for the indigo raised in the 



History of Marlboro County, 53 

British American plantations, and tons of the precious 
stuff found its way to England. Fortunes were made in 
its cultivation and manufacture. And so by one means 
and another the settlements on the Pee Dee, almost from 
the beginning, were prosperous and encouraging, honest 
labor meeting a rich reward. As in the settlement of all 
new countries, difficulties and embarrassments had to be 
overcome, taking time and labor hardly appreciated by 
the residents in long-settled localities. Highways for 
travel and transportation, in a land as this was, of dense 
forests and streams, was a matter of serious concern. But 
"necessity is the mother of invention," and our.^fathers 
were equal to the exigencies of the situation. The first 
roads they opened were made just wide enough to admit 
the passage of a rough "sled,** simple in construction but 
answering the purpose when wheels were not at hand. 
Two side-pieces of oak, with the front ends turned up- 
ward to reach the horse's shoulders, fastened together at 
the lower ends about three and a half or four feet apart, 
by cross bars, securely tenanted or pinned, it was ready 
for use. Fence rails were dragged, and fuel was drawn; 
a box added, and corn could be moved to the barn. Of 
course, wheels, better conveyances, and better roads had 
to be, and were provided as soon as concert of action and 
the necessary means were to be had. And as early as 
1747 commissioners were appointed by the authorities of 
the province "to have the highways and causeways better 
attended," and the presumption is that about this time the 
"public road*' that has long been known as the "River 
Road," taking the same general course as the stream, was 
opened. Then, after a few years, a public ferry was es- 
tablished by law, crossing the river at the mouth of Cedar 
Creek, a stream flowing in from the west side just above the 
present Society Hill bridge; and roads were opened out on 
either side the river, connecting with those running down 
the country. Thus it will be seen that the public spirited 



54 History of Marlboro County. 

fathers were interested in measures contributing to the 
public welfare; and as the population increased, conven- 
iences and comforts were also enlarged, and there is evi- 
dence that social and religious progress was not neglect- 
ed. The planters had their meetings for consultation 
and social intercourse; and the old church at Welsh Neck 
had its pulpit regularly supplied by able, godly men, who 
went out after the increasing population, at points as re- 
mote as Cheraw, Cashway and elsewhere, as occasion 
offered, for preaching the Gospel. 

From an early date attention began to be given to 
military affairs; indeed, from the first, some banding to- 
gether of the people was needed for police regulations, 
and as a precaution against the raids of unfriendly In- 
dians. So that as early as 1744 we read of the 
"Craven County Regiment, George Pawley, Colonel " 
And in 1756, Philip Pledger, a citizen of Marlboro, was 
"commissioned captain in His Majesty's service,*' and six 
years later, George Hicks, another resident of Marlboro, 
was also commissioned; and it is stated by the same au- 
thority (Gregg) that in January 1748, the Craven County 
regiment consisted of twelve hundred men, and that a 
general review of militia (the first in Marlboro) took place 
at Westfields, not far from Cheraw, Oct. 11, 1759. Up to 
this time very little dissatisfaction was felt in this south- 
ern province with the parent government, except the 
want of courts of justice, that were conveniently accessi- 
ble. The people were happy in the enjoyment of each 
other's society on the few occasions when thrown togeth- 
er, and had a little world of their own where their inter- 
course was neighborly, hospitable and unrestrained. The 
influence of the sturdy, honest colony that planted itself 
upon either bank of the Pee Dee, at Welsh Neck, was the 
ruling element in society, and was felt for many miles 
around, and for many a year; and had the provincial Gover- 
nors and Councils and parent government but consulted 



History of Marlboro County. 55 

the native love of liberty and sense of justice that rests 
in the bosom of the true and brave, and fostered rather 
than repressed the desire for just and equal rights, in 
their subjects, we might have waited till now to set up for 
Independence. But the time was coming, and causes 
were beginning to operate, which in a few years more 
must lead up to open rupture. 

Prominent among those causes was the difficulty of 
having their grievances and legal wrongs redressed. Ex- 
cept the courts of justices of the peace, which only had 
jurisdiction in minor causes, there was no tribunal to which 
they could appeal nearer than Charleston. The great 
distance, with the expense and inconvenience of travel 
made it exceedingly burdensome to jurors, witnesses and 
parties to suits who had to attend Court. Consequently^ 
many a man preferred to endure the wrong rather than 
seek redress at such cost and trouble; and the evil dis- 
posed took liberties and committed crimes, with but little 
fear of punishment. As' the population increased, causes 
of complaint multiplied. The people petitioned the pro- 
vincial authorities for redress time and again, but all in 
vain. They asked for courts to be established at more 
accessible points, but no relief came in that way till a few 
years before the war began. It was not surprising, there- 
fore, that driven to extremities, the better class of citizens 
should take affairs into their own hands, and devise means, 
of their own for preserving peace and securing their just 
a,nd equitable rights. Bands or clubs of men were organ- 
ized calling themselves "Regulators." At the outset, com- 
posed as these bodies were, of conservative, prudent men, 
cautious in theexerciseof an assumed authority, the effect 
may have been good in restraining the lawless and pro- 
moting good order and justice, not abusing the powers 
they had assumed. But their action received no favor 
from the government; on the other hand, they were re- 
garded as prompted by a spirit of rebellion^ and instead 



56 History of Marlboro County. 

of listening to their complaints, and providing redress, 
the government sought- to repress these disturbances, and 
too oft employed instruments of little character — obse- 
quious tools of power, who could command no respect, 
but rather increased the irritation among the people by 
their insolence, and still further weakened their regard 
for a government represented so unworthily. But these 
contests between the Regulators and the minions of the 
government, were preparing the way for that greater con- 
test which was to end in the independence of the Colonies. 
If the actions of the Regulators displeased the govern- 
ment, no less were the Regulators exasperated by the 
coldness and indifference with which their appeals were 
treated, culminating in opposition and reprehension and 
commands from the government to disperse. No marvel 
if "horse thieves" and harborers of rogues should meet 
with more stripes and severer punishment from men, not 
only provoked by these crimes, but angered by the oppo- 
sition of the government that sought to hinder what they 
deemed an indispensable remedy. Nor is it strange that, 
under such circumstances, another and unlawful party 
should be banded in opposition to the Regulators — that 
thieves and robbers should unite to resist self-assumed 
authority, to arrest and lynch them for their crimes. Such 
a state of things could not long exist without ending in 
open rupture, and the government appears to have fore- 
seen yet greater trouble ahead if some concessions were 
not made. Therefore in 1768, by an act of the Assembly 
the *Tarish of St. David" was organized. It was to em- 
brace a vast extent of country in what was then called 
Craven county, on both sides of the Great Pee Dee river. 
Of course, this organization was in part designed to be ec- 
clesiastical, but civil as well,Church and State united. Com- 
missioners were "appointed for the building of the church 
chapel and parsonage house,'* and to otherwise inaugurate 
the affairs of St. David's church. By the same act the 



History of Marlboro County, 57 

inhabitants of the Parish were entitled to elect one mem- 
ber to the General Assembly, to open and keep in repair 
the public roads, and the **church wardens and overseers 
of the poor,'* were authorized to levy taxes to relieve the 
poor committed to their charge. And it may be stated 
that the following citizens of Marlboro had appointments 
on this first board of commissioners — Claudius Pegues, 
Philip Pledger, George Hicks, Robert Allison and Charles 
Bedingfield. This was not all the people asked for; but 
it was something gained. With a member in the General 
Assembly, chosen by their own free ballot, they indulged 
the hope that farther relief might be obtained. On the 
fourth and fifth days of October, 1768,. an election was 
held and Claudius Pegues, by a vote of 166, was unani- 
mously elected the first representative of St. David's, or 
of Upper Pee Dee in the General Assembly of South 
Carolina. He had been but about eight years in the 
country, and it is greatly to his credit that so brief a resi- 
dence among his people should have so impressed them 
with a sense of his worth as that they should commit to 
his charge interests that were so precious; and yet he is 
described as "retiring in disposition and habits," He 
must have been known to be capable, faithful, devoted to 
the public welfare, and the sacred rights of his coun- 
trymen. 

But the parochial organization was not adapted to meet 
the wants of the growing country; the people "were yet 
without a court easy of access," where justice could be 
administered. The necessity for some local tribunal was 
more and more imperative, and after the most urgent 
and persistent entreaties, a bill was passed July 27, 
1769, and signed by Governor Bull, Aug. 2d, organizing 
"circuit or district courts to be held at Orangeburg, Nine- 
ty-Six, the Cheraws, Georgetown, Beaufort and Charles- 
ton, to sit six days each, and to be held twice a year, for 
the trial of causes criminal and civil." This was a large 



58 History of Marlboro County, 

and satisfactory concession to the people, and quieted for 
a time the apprehensions of a general collision, and pro- 
moted the prosperity and peace of the country. The 
Cheraw District embraced that region included within St. 
David's Parishand what subsequently became Darlington, 
Chesterfield and Marlboro. **George Hicks, Thomas Lide, 
Jonathan Wise, Benjamin Rogers and Eli Kershaw were 
appointed commissioners to build a court-house and jail." 
This work, however, was delayed by an unfortunate con- 
troversy as to the location. Cheraw was growing as a 
place of trade; there St. David's, the State church, was 
being established; it was at the head of navigation, con- 
sidered healthy and accessible, and Cheraw very naturally 
wanted the court-house of the District of Cheraw. Long 
Bluff, on the west side o^ the river, near Society Hill, was 
a contestant. It, too, was a place of trade, near the sacred 
spot where the first ancient colony of Welsh first built 
their altars surrounded on both sides of the river by a 
thrifty, intelligent population, -nearer the center of the 
district and therefore more convenient to the great body 
of the people. Owing to this controversy, the work of 
building was hindered until August 1770, when, by an act 
of the General Assembly, the commissioners were ordered 
to build at Long Bluff. After some delay substantial 
buildings were erected, and on Monday, Nov. 16, 1772, 
the long-sought privilege of a suffering people was enjoy- 
ed of seeing a court open upon their own ground, where 
causes criminal and civil were to be settled by judges 
"learned in the law," and by "juries of their peers." The 
administration of justice was introduced by invoking the 
favor of Heaven, and the direction of Infinite wisdom. 
Rev. Nicholas Bedgegood, a man long known and honor- 
ed in Marlboro, the pastor of Welsh Neck church, preach^ 
ed what was termed a "sessions sermon," enforcing the du- 
ties and responsibilities of those in authority, as well as 
those devolving upon the subjects of law in every con- 



History of Marlboro County. 59 

dition of society, and directing the thoughts of all to a 
judgment yet to come, when the Judge of all the earth 
should fix unalterably the destiny of His creatures. 
From that day Long Bluff became the resort of lawyers 
and judges; and a center of influence and interest to an ex- 
tensive territory. Dark deeds of crime were there to meet 
due reward; and stern justice be meted out to all 
classes, and for a time, at least, became a forum for 
legal lore and contest. Justices Gordon and Murray were 
the first to preside, and Wm. Henry Mills was the first 
sheriff in Cheraw District. It is not known if there was a 
resident lawyer in the district for a number of years, but 
such men as Powell, Waties and Brevard are supposed to 
have practiced in the courts at this place. About the 
close of the war, in consideration, it is presumed, of the 
efficient services rendered the cause of liberty by Gen. 
Greene, the name of the little court-house village was 
changed to Greeneville. But the formation of three judi- 
cial districts, Darlington, Chesterfield and Marlboro, out 
of the old Cheraw district, caused, of course, the removal 
of the records and all legal business to other localities, 
and the town gradually went to decay. And the plow- 
share was ultimately driven through the streets and pub- 
lic ground, upturning the very soil on which the public 
buildings stood. The long high bluff making the western 
bank of the Pee Dee yet lifts its front to greet the rising 
sun, but no longer is the historic ground called Greeneville. 
Society Hill, a mile or two from the river, a place of con- 
siderable trade,the home of a cultivated, intelligent people, 
has long been the center of influence and resort for the 
Surrounding country. 



CHAPTER VIII. 

The Family of Col. Kolb and Some of Their Neighbors, 

In 1 75 1 the name Kolb first appeared upon the Pee 
Dee — a name which was destined to become distinguish- 
ed in after time, and ultimately to become extinct, at 
least upon the east side of the river. Several men of this 
name appear in the early records, viz. : Jacob, Henry, Mar- 
tin and Peter. Whether all brothers, or one a father and 
the others sons, does not appear. Peter married Ann, the 
eldest daughter of Rev. Philip James, first pastor of the 
Welsh Neck church. Col. Abel, who became so distin- 
guished in Revolutionary affairs, and at last sealed his de- 
votion to the cause with his blood, was a son of this mar^ 
riage. He also married a Miss James and two daughters 
were given them. Sarah was first married to Benjamin 
David, and afterwards to Philip Pledger. Ann, the other 
daughter, became the wife of Maj. James Pouncey. We 
are to hear of Col. Kolb hereafter, and must be content 
in this chapter to trace the record of Maj. Pouncey and 
the noble partner of his life. The father of Maj. Pouncey 
was named William, and died young, leaving but one 
other child, a daughter, who married Alex Peterkin. A 
brother Anthony, was a soldier of the Revolution and held 
for a time the position of quartermaster in Murphy's reg-t 
iment, and a sister of these was the mother of the late 
Daniel John. To Maj. Pouncey and his wife were given 
four sons and five daughters. William, once the sheriff 
of Marlboro, married Miss Sarah Sparks. James first 
married Mary Pledger and afterwards Mary Ferniss. John 
married Miss Armstrong and Peter Miss Adeline Hodges, 
The daughters married, Sarah to Daniel M. Crosland and 
was the honored mother of our fellow citizens, W. A. and 



History of Marlboro County. 6 1 

T. L. Crosland. Ann married Mr. Smith of North Caro- 
lina. Eliza was the first wife of Dr. Wm. Crosland. Mary 
was the wife of Dr. R. S. Thomas, and Ellen married 
C. M. Cochrane, and not long since was yet alive. The 
name Cochrane, although extinct among us, is neverthe- 
less numerously represented both in Marlboro and Marion. 
Thomas Cochrane, the first we know of him, lived on 
Crooked Creek near the site of the old Court House. His 
first wife was a Miss Council, connected in some way 
with the Pledgers. The fruit of this marriage was Robt. 
C, the father of Mrs. Simon Emanuel; Mary, the first 
wife of John Hamer, Margaret, the wife of James Bethea, 
and Rachel who married Philip Bethea. And from all 
these have sprung large families. The second wife of 
Thomas Cochrane was a Miss Griffin, whose daughter by 
a former marriage was the wife of John Rogers, and the 
issue of this second union was Louisa, who married Hen- 
ry Covington, who lived at Bennettsville in the early years 
of its history. Martha married Thomas Cargill and had a 
son who died unmarried. Mr. Cochrane's third wife was 
a widow Hunter and this marriage was crowned with the 
birth of Claudius M., mentioned above as the son-in-law 
of Maj. Pouncey. 

From the old family record, from which the above 
paragraph is taken , another extract will be here made, 
although it takes us into a locality a little more dis- 
tant from **the Neck." About 1750 Nathaniel Spears,. 
a native of England, came to Virginia. While there 
he married Lidia Wise, and soon after came to Car- 
olina and staked down upon the banks of the Three 
Creeks. Two sons and a daughter were born to this an- 
cient couple, when Mr. Spears died, and his widow mar- 
ried a Mr. Trawick. The daughter, as we have already 
recorded, married the second Aaron Pearson. One son, 
David, who is put down as a private in Benton's regiment, 
1781-82, raised a family of whom one daughter became 



62 History of Marlboro County, 

the wife of Aaron Coxe. to whom reference has already 
been made, and a son married a daughter of Robt. Coch- 
rane and went West. The other son, William, married 
Miss Nancy Breeden, and was the father of a large fam- 
ily. Among his sons two yet remain in the Hebron com- 
munity, Lewis and Harris. Alfred Parish, Daniel 
McLeod and Robert Thomas and William Lee married 
daughters, and William Spears married a Miss Bridges 
and went to Arkansas. It is alone in this Hebron family 
that the name Spears, as derived from Nathaniel, is now 
borne by living men in Marlboro. Nathaniel's other son . 
was James, who married Lidia Meekins. Four sons and five 
daughters were given this couple. One son, Meekins, 
died unmarried. Another, David, married Margaret 
McRae and died childless. James married Deborah 
Bethea, daughter of James Bethea of Marion and a grand- 
daughter of Thomas Cochrane^ To this pair ten child- 
ren were born. Andrew and Edwin, the only sons, both 
died young and left no children to bear the name. Ann 
became the wife of Thomas E. Stubbs. Margaret has 
been the partner of the writer of these lines for forty- 
seven years. Martha was the wife of Duncan Moore, 
Emily became the wife of Isaac Pipkin, and Eliza, first 
wife of E. C. Pipkin and Rebecca the first wife of Dr. W. 
J. David. The other two daughters died young. Mrs. 
Stubbs and Mrs. Thomas alone are living.* Mr. Spears 
was a man of large brain, great firmness of character, sys- 
tematic and orderly in all his movements, and Mrs. 
Spears was every way worthy of his devotion, and if their 
name has not been transmitted to their posterity, may we 
not hope that their virtues will live and bear rich harvests 
of fruit in their numerous seed. 

The daughters of James Spears, Sr., became mothers 
of large families. Two daughters and a son, Nathaniel, 
married and went West. Ann married Mathew Heustiss 

*Both died in 1895. 



History of Marlboro County, 63 

and lived for a long time where John L. McLaurin 
lived just across the creek from Bennettsville and their 
descendants are found among the Heustisses, the Stan tons 
and others with whom they have intermarried. Another 
daughter, Elizabeth, became Mrs. Jabish Townsend, as 
already stated in a previous chapter. And a third, Mary, 
married Daniel John, and has left her impress for good 
upon a large and highly respected posterity, not only in 
Marlboro, but in North Carolina and Arkansas as well. 

Before leaving the Three Creeks mention is made of the 
Vinings. The tradition, as obtained from the late John 
Pearson, whose mother was of this stock, is to the effect 
that two brothers, Jesse and Jephtha, came from either 
England or Wales about 1750; that one of them 'settled in 
Carolina and the other in Georgia, but whether it was 
Jesse or Jephtha that became the head of the Marlboro 
family our informant could not tell. Neither could the 
Georgia family, which he had visited and found perpetu- 
ating both these names and holding like traditions as to 
their origin. However this may be, the one who came 
here married a Miss Hilson, according to the tradition, 
and raised a son and two daughters whose posterity, now 
bearing other names, abound in the country. The son 
named Jesse married a Miss Pledger and had three sons — 
John, who never married; Thomas, who left a son and 
two daughters among us, and Jesse, who, with a large 
family of boys, moved to Georgia some forty years ago. 
Ann Vining became the wife of Aaron Pearson, as we have 
seen, and the mother of John Pearson, and of course is 
largely and honorably represented in the county to-day. 
The other daughter, Elizabeth, first married William Evans, 
and after his death she married Alexander Peterkin, and 
became the mother of James and Jesse, from whom the 
South Carolina family have come. James Peterkin mar- 
ried Barbara McRae. Mrs. Susan Drake at Blenheim, 
and Mrs. C. D. Easterling, of Bennettsville, are daughters 



64 History of Marlboro County, 

of this marriage. Jessie Peterkin married Sallie McRae, 
and Mrs. A. B. Henagan and Capt. J. A. Peterkin, now of 
Orangeburg, were children of this marriage. William 
Evans, the first husband of Elizabeth Vining, was the son 
of a young man of the same name who came to Welsh 
Neck direct from Wales about 1745. He had several sons 
besides this one. We have heard of Daniel, John and 
Thomas. From one of these our fellow citizen, the late 
Thos. A. Evans, of Blenheim vicinity, is descended. Wil- 
liam Evans and Bettie Vining were married in 1781 while 
the war was in progress; and for two years Bettie had 
frequently to hide their only horse in the swamps of Pee 
Dee while William was in camp. One son, "Uncle Sandy," 
as we called him was their first born and after him came 
Catharine, the grandmother of our fellow citizen, M. D. 
McLeod. Next Lucy, who married a Mr. Thomson and 
moved West. Then Elizabeth, who was long known in the 
Red Hill community as Bet$y Huggins;and then Eleanor, 
who became the second wife of William Thomas, of 
Brownsville; and the writer was the first born to this mar- 
riage. 



CHAPTER IX. 

Revolution Drawing Nigh. 

So much has been written of the causes which led to a 
rupture and separation of the colonies from the mother 
country, the story so well told, that but little space need 
be given it here. It is proper, however, that the part our 
fathers took in the quarrel and fight should be remem- 
bered by their posterity. The concessions which had 
been made to the people in the back country of South 
Carolina, as it was then called, in allowing representation 
in the provincial assembly, and allowing district courts, 
had allayed excitement, produced a good degree of satis- 
faction, promoted prosperity and induced the hope that 
yet other wrongs in the course of time would be redresed 
and larger liberties secured. But some of the other 
colonies were not so fortunate in their local governments. 
Hence, as one encroachment after another was made 
upon what all considered their just rights as citizens of 
Great Britain, these local oppressions intensified the op- 
position to anything like oppression from the parent 
government, and the common sympathy existing among 
the various colonies bound them together, so that the 
sufferings of Massachusetts or Virginia were felt in Caro- 
lina or Georgia. An insult offered these they were ready 
to resent, and long before the first blood shed upon the 
heights of Lexington fired the American heart and sum- 
moned the whole Atlantic slope to arms, there was a 
general feeling of unrest, grevious complaints and remon- 
strances throughout the country. As early as 1765 the 
passage of the memorable Stamp Act aroused the colonies 
and when it was proposed to hold a ^'congress of deputies 
from the several colonies" to protest against usurpation, 



66 History of Marlboro County. 

South Carolina was among the first outside of New Eng- 
land to respond to the proposition, and was behind no 
province in manifesting an intelligent spirit of resistance 
to every other measure of oppression which followed in 
portentous succession. And when the taxed tea was 
thrown over board in Boston Harbor the whole country 
felt the alarm. A public meeting in Boston appealed to 
the other colonies to stop importing from Britain. 
Charleston heard the summons and appealed to the peo- 
ple to assemble in that city, the seat of British authority 
in the province, on the 6th day of July, 1774. This call 
met a hearty response. The district of Cheraw was ably 
represented by Col. Powell, who, for several years, had 
been its honored member in the Provincial Assembly. A 
large committee was appointed to provide for the public 
safety, which in the fall issued a call for a "Provincial 
Congress," which convened January 11, 1775. The pro- 
ceedings of the Continental Congress were reviewed, dele- 
gates appointed to meet those from the other colonies, a 
new committee of general safety appointed, and all such 
regulations made as the exigencies of the times demand- 
ed. In this revolutionary congress Cheraw district was 
largely represented, and among the names are several 
prominent men of Marlboro. These made up the Cheraw 
delegation: Gabriel Powell, Claudius Pegues, Henry Wm. 
Harrington, Alex Mcintosh, Samuel Wise and George 
Pawley. 

But perhaps the most intelligent expression of senti- 
ment which can be had at this day of the patriotic senti- 
ments of the people of this region is found in the present- 
ments of the grand juries of the day. The population was 
sparse, and scattered over a wide territory — few public 
meetings could be held, none largely attended, but 
these juries, composed of representative men from va- 
rious sections, put upon oath, might be reasonably ex- 
pected to voice the general sentiment and feeling of the 
people. 



History of Marlboro Comity, 67 

The liberty is taken, therefore, to quote largely from 
the charge of his honor, Judge Wm. Henry Drayton, at 
Long Bluff, at the November term of court, 1774. Judge 
Drayton had but lately received his appointment. He 
was born in South Carolina in 1742, was but little past 
thirty-two, but gifted and learned, was destined to fill a 
distinguished place in the annals of his struggling coun- 
try; now upon the Bench and later in the councils of the 
Continental Congress, he adorned every position which 
he was called to fill, and when his brief life ended in 
Philadelphia, while attending the Congress of 1779, South 
Carolina grieved as a mother for her son. Let us imagine 
this splendid son of Carolina in the glow of his young 
manhood, appearing for the first time upon the bench at 
Long Bluff, addressing his countrymen upon the interests 
of the hour. After a concise statement of their general 
duties, he said: **By as much as you prefer freedom to 
slavery, by so much ought you to prefer a glorious death to 
servitude, and to hazard everything to endeavor to main- 
tain that rank which is so gloriously pre-eminent above 
all other nations, you ought to endeavor to preserve it, 
not only for its inestimable value, and from a reverence 
to our ancestry from whom we received it, but from a love 
to our children to whom we are bound by every consid- 
eration to deliver down this legacy, the most valuable 
that ever was or ever can be delivered to posterity — and 
such are the distinguishing characteristics of this legacy, 
which may God, of His infinite goodness and mercy long 
preserve to us, an(i graciously continue to our posterity. 
But without our pious and unwearied endeavors to pre- 
serve these blessings it is folly and presumption to hope 
for a continuance of them. Hence, in order to stknulate 
your exertions in favor of your civil liberties, which pro- 
tect your religious rights, instead of discoursing to you 
of the laws of other States, and comparing them to our 
own, allow me to tell you what your civil liberties are. 



68 History of Marlboro County, 



and to charge you, which I do in the most solemn man- 
ner, to hold them dearer than your lives; a lesson and 
charge at all times proper from a Judge, but particularly 
so at this crisis, when America is in one general and gen- 
ous commotion touching this truly important point. 
It is unnecessary for me to draw any other character of 
their liberties than that great line by which they are dis- 
tinguished; and happy is it for the subject that those lib- 
erties can be marked in so easy and in so distinguishing 
a manner. And this is the distinguishing character: 
Efiglish people can not be taxed, nay, they can not be bound by 
any law, unless by their consent, expressed by themselves, or 
by their representatives of their own election. This colony 
was settled by English subjects; by a people from Eng- 
land herself; a people who brought over with them, who 
planted in this colony, and who transmitted to their pos- 
terity the invaluable rights of Englishmen — rights which 
no time, no contract, no climate can diminish. Thus 
possessed of such rights, it is of the most serious concern 
that you strictly execute those regulations which have 
arisen from such a parentage, and to which you have giv- 
en the authority of laws, by having given your constitu- 
tional consent that they should operate as laws; for by 
your not executing what those laws require, you would 
weaken the force, and would show, I may almost say, a 
treasonable contempt for those constitutional rights out 
of which your laws arise, and which you ought to defend 
and support at the hazard of your lives. Hence, by all 
the ties which mankind hold most dear and sacred; your 
tenderness to your posterity; your reverence to your an- 
cestors; your love to your own interests; by the lawful 
obligations of your oath, I charge you to do your duty; 
to maintain the laws, the rights, the constitution of your 
country, even at the hazard of your lives and fortunes. 
Some courtly Judges style themselves the King's servants 
— a style which sounds harshly in my ears, inasmuch as 



History of Marlboro County, 69 

tfie being a servant implies obedience to the orders of the 
master, and such Judges might possibly think that in the 
present situation of American affairs this charge is incon- 
sistent with my duty to the King and a trusty officer 
under the constitution, when I boldly declare the law to 
the people and instruct them in their civil rights. Indeed, 
you gentlemen of the grand jury can not properly com- 
prehend your duty and your great obligation to perform 
it unless you know those civil rights from which those 
duties spring and. by knowing the value of these rights, 
thence learn your obligation to perform these duties." 

The quotation is lengthy, but it is not all the eloquence 
and patriotism which rang out in the courtroom. It is 
enough to show how the love for liberty consumed the 
judge and kindled a flame in the bosoms of the people. 
And the final presentment of the jury was a fitting response 
to the stirring words uttered by the judge. After a brief 
report of local matters the paper said: *'We present as a 
grievance of the first magnitude the right claimed by the 
British Parliament to tax us, and by their acts bind us in 
all cases whatsoever. When we reflect on our other 
grievances they all appear trifling in comparison with this; 
for if we may be taxed, imprisoned and deprived of life 
by the force of edicts to which neither we nor our constitu- 
tional representatives have ever assented, no slavery can 
be more abject than ours. We are, however, sensible that 
we have abetter security for our lives, our liberties and 
fortunes than the mere will of the Parliament of Great 
Britain; and are fully convinced that we can not be consti- 
tutionally taxed but by representatives of our own elec- 
tion or bound by any laws than those to which they have 
assented. This right of being exempted from all laws 
but those enacted with the consent of representatives of 
our own election we deem so essential to our freedom 
and so engrafted in our constitution that we are deter- 
mined to defend it at the hazard of our lives and fortunes; 



70 History of Marlboro County, 

and we earnestly request that this presentment may be 
laid before our constitutional representatives, the common 
House of Assembly of this colony, that it may be known 
how much we prize our freedom and how resolved we are 
to preserve it. We recommend that these presentments 
be published in the gazettes of the Province.*' The above 
was signed and sealed by "Alexander Mcintosh, the fore- 
man; Henry W. Harrington, Thomas Ayers,'* and seven- 
teen others. These were bold, manly sentiments, com- 
ing from plain honest men, and although largely inspired 
by the stirring address of the judge, fast coming to be an 
idol in the hearts of his people, yet these fearless words 
but voiced the sentiment of a large part of the popula- 
tion, as the proceedings of the next term of court mani- 
fested. Instead of a Drayton to fire their hearts, with 
his eloquent appeals, "to all they held dearest," at this 
term the ermine was worn by Justice Gregory. He was 
fresh from England and loyal in the highest degree, and 
possibly one of the "style," who, as Drayton tersely put it, 
regarded themselves "servants of the king." The grand 
jury made the usual presentments. They added these 
words: "We present as an enormous grievance the power 
exercised by the British parliament of taxing and making 
laws binding upon the American Colonies in all cases 
whatsoever; such power being subversive of the most 
inestimable rights of British subjects, that of being taxed 
by their own consent, given by their representatives in 
General Assembly, and that of trial by jury, both which are 
evidently inherent in every British-American, and of which 
no power on earth can legally deprive them. We, well 
knowing the importance ot these rights, in secunng to us 
our liberties, lives and estates, and conceiving it to be 
every man's indispensable duty to transmit them to his 
posterity, are fully determined to defend them at the 
hazard of our lives and fortunes." But this outspoken, 
resolute declaration, along with more of the same spirit 



History of Marlboro County, 71 

and tenor, which reflected to some extent, by implication 
at least, upon the integrity of the judge, was ordered to 
be "quashed"; yet it all came out in the public gazettes 
of the day, with the signatures of sixteen good men, such 
as Thomas Lide, foreman; Sam*l Wise, Claudius- Pegues, 
William Pouncey, Benjamin Rogers, Thomas Bingham 
and others. Few, if any, of the early declarations of rights 
were bolder than these set forth under the solemnities of 
law and under oath, by the patriotic fathers who lived 
upon the Pee Dee. May the sons and daughters in all 
time be worthy of their relationship to these "Old 
Cheraws." 



CHAPTER X. 

Several Old Families. 

Another of these first comers to the Pee Dee was Wil- 
liam Terrell, or, as the name was first spelled, Tarell. 
Bishop Gregg says of this old settler, that **he was the 
grandfather of the late Captain John Terrell, a worthy 
descendant of the old Welsh stock, and one of the best 
men of his day and generation." Captain Terrell's father 
was engaged in the public service before the Revolution, 
but did not survive that period. The Captain married 
Ann, a daughter of Major Robert Allison, a lady every 
way worthy of her excellent husband; and, as the Captain 
used to tell it, "the Lord greatly enriched them by giving 
them ten daughters," and among the Rogers, the Douglas 
and Beatties, this honored pair have a number of descen- 
dants in the county to-day, and many more in Darling- 
ton and neighboring States. Many a deed of kindness 
done by this godly pair brings blessings upon their mem- 
ory, and "though dead, they yet speak, and in example 
live." 

The late Rev. James H. Thornwell, D. D., a native of 
Marlboro, was a grandson of Samuel Terrell, a brother of 
Captain John Terrell's father. Miss Martha Terrell, the 
mother of Dr. Thornwell, first married James Thornwell, 
an obscure man, and after the birth of two sons he died. 
The widow was a woman of remarkable intellect, but, left 
in penury, she was kindly aided in the care of her charge 
by Captain Terrell, till she became the wife of Mr. 
Ananias Graham, and the mother of two sons by tha 
marriage. Young Thornwell began early to manifest a 
taste for books, and was furnished with the means of at- 
tending such schools as the country afforded by the 
efforts of his mother and Captain Terrell, until the atten- 
tion of such men as General Gillespie, of Marlboro, and 



History of Marlboro County, 73 

Mr. Robbins, of Cheraw, became so interested in his be- 
half, that he was fitted for college, and enabled to com- 
plete the course and receive his diploma, and from thence 
his career was onward and upward, until few men in the 
State have attained higher position in the field of 
thought. No son of Marlboro has perhaps been more 
gifted, and surely no money ever spent has been more 
worthily bestowed, than that contributed to educate his 
splendid mind. The whole State of South Carolina and 
the Presbyterian Church of the United States felt the 
blow when the fires of his great intellect consumed his 
feeble frame, and he fell with his armour bright in the 
zenith of his power and influence, when the troubles of 
the country seemed most to need the wisdom of his 
counsel. 

A younger brother of the doctor, Charles A., for whom 
he felt a paternal sort of interest, and whom he aided in 
educating in the South Carolina College (where he was 
for a time a professor, and then the president), was also a 
man of superior intellect. After his graduation he 
studied law, was admitted to the bar in 1842, located at 
Bennettsville, married first a daughter of Meekin Town- 
send, and directly took a prominent stand among such 
competitor as David, Dudley and McQueen, and seemed 
destined to eminence in his chosen profession. In 1852 
he was elected a member of the House of Representa- 
tives, and rjc-elected in 1854. After the birth of two 
sons Mrs. Thornwell died, and he married Miss Hood, 
and seemed to have a brilliant career before him, but 
stricken down with disease, it was but a few days and all 
was over. His only surviving son, J. H. Thornwell, lives 
in the community yet. 

In connection with the education of Dr. Thornwell a 
name was mentioned which has been long and favorably 
known among the people of Marlboro, that of General 
Gillespie. The name as it first appears upon the old 



74 History of Marlboro County, 

records is spelled Galespy. In 1743 James Galespy, a 
man of enterprise and energy, from the north of Ireland, 
made his "application to the Council for three hundred 
acres of land in the Welsh Tract,'* claiming to have six 
persons in his family. It is likely that he had been upon 
the Pee Dee for sometime before this, as tradition 
makes him the first man who ever brought a boat to 
Cheraw; a business which he seems to have followed in 
copartnership with General Gadsden, of Charleston, up 
to the time of the Revolution. He married a Miss 
Young, and had two sons, Francis and James. The 
former died young, but the latter lived to bear his full share 
in the stormy period of the Revolution; and was active 
both as a soldier and civilian. He settled on the east 
side of the river, on the place the family have ever since 
continued to live. His wife was Miss Wilds, aunt of 
Judge Wilds, a woman worthy of her husband. From 
this pair was born "Francis, Samuel and James, and two 
daughters, Sarah and Mary." Of these three brothers, 
James, or Gen. Gillespie, as he was called from the earliest 
recollection oi our oldest people, attained greatest prom- 
inence. Modest and unpretending, never pushing him- 
self forward, he was yet too generous and patriotic to re- 
sist when his countrymen called for his leadership; and 
would no more decline a place on one of the boards of 
commissioners than a seat in the Legislature of the State; 
a position to which he was three times elected by his lov- 
ing people. In Church or in State, at home or abroad, he 
was everywhere a pure-minded, consistent, good man. 
Splendid specimen of the old style Carolina gentleman. 
In ripe old age, reverses came — war, depredation, oppres- 
sion, bereavement, losses, yet patiently and calmly he 
reposed his trust in the Lord. "Mark the perfect man, 
and behold the upright, for the end of that man is peace." 
About the year 1742 another name which had been 
prominent in the affairs of the country first appeared 



History of Marlboro Coufity. 75 

among the settlers on the Pee Dee. In July of that year, 
Thomas EUerby, who came from Virginia five years earl- 
ier, obtained a grant of land on the west side of the river, 
and was soon an extensive planter, and owned many 
slaves. Another, John EUerby, settled on the east side 
of the river, but seems to have remained in the country 
but a short time. Thomas EUerby married Obedience 
Gillespie, had two sons, Thomas and William, from whom 
the extensive connection is descended. The spelling of 
the name, it is said, was changed to EUerbe, by a school- 
master to whom Thomas and William were sent soon af- 
ter their father's death. Both of these men became promi- 
nent in the affairs of the country, and were ardent Whigs. 
The family has been more numerous in Chesterfield than 
in Marlboro. But William E., a son of the William men- 
tioned above, married a Marlboro lady. Miss Ann Robin- 
son; and from that pair. Col. William T. was descended, 
than whom, for a time, no citizen of the district was held 
in higher esteem. For six years a member of the lower 
House, and four years in the State Senate; wealthy, liberal, 
successful as a planter — the people loved and honored 
him, and were grieved when in the maturity of his powers 
he was cut down. Our young fellow citizen, George Her- 
sey, is a grand-nephew of this gifted man. 

Another scion of this worthy name, John C. EUerbe, 
came from Chesterfield and captured a fair daughter of 
lower Marlboro, Maria Wickham, and took her to Marion ; 
and the excellent family of that name in Marion came 
from that union. The present Governor of South Car- 
olina, Wm. H. EUerbe, is one of the direct descendants, 
and, like his ancestor, came to lower Marlboro, and cap- 
tured one of her fair daughters for his wife. Miss Rogers, 
a sister of Hon. T. I. Rogers, of Bennettsville. In various 
quarters of the country the descendants of old Thomas 
EUerbe may be found ; and whether they take the name, 

or trace the lineage through a daughter's veins, the splen- 
6 



76 History of Marlioro County, 

did form, handsome features,high-toned generous impulses 
of the ancestors yet characterize the descendants. The 
old men, Thomas and William, were distinguished in the 
Revolution, the former commanding a company, first in 
Kolb's regiment, and afterwards in Benton's of Marion's 
brigade. So, in later times, when war demanded the 
service of the strong and brave, the descendants of these 
old heroes were not found wanting. 

William Forniss, another of the old settlers, occupied a 
fine place in the neighborhood of Dyer's Hill. He, too, 
was a zealous supporter of the cause of Independence, 
too old to be a soldier, but helping with his influence 
and means. His son, an active boy, was ready with his 
fleet steed to carry intelligence from one point to another 
in time of peril. He afterwards became known as Major 
James Forniss, and reared a large family at, or, near the 
old homestead. But all have passed away; or live in the 
West. The Major married a Miss Irby, and his daughter 
married M. L. Irby, and Miss Fannie Irby, of Bennetts- 
ville, is, so far as the writer is informed, the last of the 
Forniss blood in Marlboro. 

Mention has been made of the Brownsville branch of 
the Irby family. The first of this name was Charles, who 
came from Virginia about the middle of the last century, 
and settled in upper Marlboro, married Mehitabel Kolb, 
and became a prominent man. A son Charles lived and 
died in Brownsville. Elizabeth became the wife of Philip 
Pledger ; another daughter became Mrs. Forniss, and yet 
another Mrs. Annie Lide ; while his other son, James, mar- 
ried Miss Wright, of Marlboro, and from this pair has 
descended the present families found in the township of 
Smithville. Charles Irby of this branch of the family, 
represented his native district in the State Senate, about 
the time the war came on, and lived only a few years after 
peace was restored. He never married. Elizabeth Irby, 
a daughter of the first Charles, became the wife of Wil- 



History of Marlboro County. yy 

Ham Pledger, and the mother of the late Mrs. Joel 
Emanuel, and of Major P. W. Pledger, both of whom sleep 
at the old family cemetery on the Irby place. The latter 
left no representative behind, and the name is extinct in 
the county. But Mrs. Emanuel left a large number of 
descendants to honor her memory. 

The Pledger name first appears in the annals of Welsh 
Neck as early as 1752; when Philip Pledger came from 
Amelia County, Va., and settled in what is now Marlboro 
County. His wife was a Miss Ellis, of Virginia. He had 
two sons, Joseph and John, who, with their father, were 
active Whigs. There were also two daughters, one of 
whom married James Hicks, and the other first married a 
Mr. Fields, from whom the family of that name is de- 
scended through William Fields, who was a Major in the 
State Troops in the war of 1812. After the death of 
Fields the widow married William Terrell, father of that 
good man so long and favorably known as Capt. John 
Terrell. The Pledger name is no longer known among 
us, but in the Donaldsons, and others above mentioned, 
the honorable characteristics of the family are yet per- 
petuated among us. In this connection it is proper to 
make brief mention of the Hicks, who, for a number of 
years, were prominent people in Marlboro. In 1746 
George Hicks, a man of English descent, came to Pee 
Dee and married a daughter of Philip James, the first 
pastor of Welsh Neck, and from this pair has descended 
a numerous progeny, among them the Harringtons, 
KoUocks, Donaldsons, and perhaps others. A part of 
the plantation long known as the **McFarland Beauty 
Spot Place," and latterly the property of the late J. B. 
Breeden, was formerly occupied by the Hicks family. 
"The high old house," where Mrs. Hicks lived, and 
where Dr. Jones, one of the first practicing physicians of 
Bennettsville, got his wife, is yet remembered by the older 
people as standing not a half mile from where J. F. 
Breeden now lives. 



CHAPTER XI. 
Progress of Revolutionary Sentiment, 

If the foregoing expressions, in a previous chapter, 
from individuals and the courts, indicated a strong attach- 
ment to the principles of liberty, they evinced at the same 
time, a spirit of determination and increasing readiness 
for the approaching crisis. If among the first to boldly 
declare opposition to encroachments upon their sacred 
rights, the fathers seemed to understand and appre- 
ciate that they were assuming a position from which they 
could not recede. And yet they had not gone so far but 
that reasonable concessions from the Crown, and a show 
of just consideration to the interests of the colonies, would 
have stayed the tide of revolution and restored loyalty 
and love to the parent government. But such pacific 
measures were hoped in vain from a proud, powerful 
government. Royalty yields only to necessity, and 1775 
witnessed an effort on the part of its representatives to 
recall the people to a sense of their allegiance, by issuing 
one order and proclamation after another, asserting the 
"divine right," and exhorting to obedience, and warning 
against disloyalty. 

The Provincial Congress, a body organized to promote 
the interest of the people by counsel and remonstrance 
and petition, had adjourned to meet on June 20. But on 
the 19th of April the battle of Lexington was fought; 
and, although the battle-ground was far to the north, yet 
the tidings that American blood had been shed upon 
American soil, for American liberty, stirred the American 
heart in Carolina as surely as in Massachusetts, and the 
committee invested with such authority called the dele- 
gates together on the first day of June. One hundred and 



History of Marlboro County, 79 

seventy-two brave men responded to the call; among 
them Samuel Wise, Claudius Pegues and William Henry 
Harrington, and on the second day of the session passed 
a paper recognizing the "existence of hostilities" — de- 
claring the "causes sufficient to drive all oppressed people 
to arms** — that they would "be justified before God and 
man in resisting force by force, and solemnly engaging 
that whenever our continental or provincial councils shall 
decree it necessary, we will go forth and be ready to sac- 
rifice our lives and fortunes to secure our freedom and 
support.** It was further "resolved to raise fifteen hundred 
infantry and four hundred and fifty rangers.*' Before the 
end of the year matters had become so warlike that the 
royal governor fled from the capitol and took refuge upon 
a "man of war,^* dissolving for the last time the "common 
House of Assembly.** Before this year ended a detach- 
ment of troops was ordered from the Pee Dee, under Maj. 
Hicks, to the Congaree, but the order was countermanded 
while they were upon the march. So that war was upon 
the people before the ^end of 1775; although there were 
some who, no doubt, honestly dissented, and were sincere 
in their professions of loyalty; doubtless others were in- 
different as to the result of the struggle, provided they 
themselves could be let alone, while yet another class 
dodged the service, only to plunder and spoil. But 
thousands of the best people in the land threw the whole 
weight of their influence, property and personal services 
into the cause of the struggling colonies. 

The year destined to be noted in American history as 
"Independence Year,'* opened upon this southern land 
dark and portentous. It looked as if Charleston was to 
be assailed from the sea. Ships of war were seen upon 
the bar, and a call was made for "detachments of volun- 
teers in small parties of twenty or fifty as they could be 
collected.** Maj. Hicks and Capt. Wise, with these de- 
tachments, promptly responded. Some of the country 



8o History of Marlboro County. 

troops remained for some time, wjiile others were soon 
discharged; and this seems to have been a common rule 
of action. It could not be otherwise; there were no 
arms, no treasury, no supplies to keep an army in the 
field. It was an infant republic struggling for birth. 
When some imminent peril threatened one point, help was 
called in from neighboring regions, and as soon as the 
danger was past the body of troops went home subject to 
call. And so it was that the necessary expenses of these 
volunteers were not always paid; and may have become a 
source of irritation and a hinderance to a ready response 
to an after call. It has been said that "certain expenses 
incurred by this detachment under Maj. Hicks were not 
paid"; and it is not surprising if some of these ready pa- 
triots from the Pee Dee were a little slow to answer 
when called again. Yet it is amazing that with resources 
of all sorts so feeble, and troops so few, the war was 
maintained so long, covering, as it did, a field as wide as 
the thirteen colonies, and sometimes running over into 
Canada. It was the spirit of resistance, indomitable en- 
ergy and love for the cause they had espoused that ani- 
mated all classes, that sustained and carried them for- 
ward. Bishop Gregg, to whom the writer is so largely 
indebted for many facts bearing upon the history of these 
stirring times in Carolina and upon the Pee Dee, has 
given us an interesting correspondence between "Oliver 
Hart, pastor of the Charleston Baptist church, and Elha- 
nan Winchester, pastor of the Welsh Neck church, in be- 
half of the Baptist congregation in general," on the one 
part, and the Hon. Henry Laurens, Vice-President of the 
Province of South Carolina, on the other part; which is a 
most beautiful expression of piety, patriotism, trust in 
God and devotion to the cause of independence 'on the 
part of all concerned. The preachers said, among many 
other like things: "We hope yet to see hunted liberty sit 
regent on the throne and flourish more than ever under 



History of Marlboro Couftty. 8i 

the administration of such worthy patriots; may we not 
hope that the time is come in which our rulers may be 
men fearing God, and hating covetousness, a terror to 
evil-doers, and a praise to them that do well." In his 
reply Mr. Laurens said, "Let each man among us, whether 
in the State or in the Church, whether in public or pri- 
vate life, by example, by precept, by every becoming act, 
preserve and be ready with his life and fortune to defend 
the just cause in which God has been pleased to engage 
us. We shall, weak as we are, succeed against those who 
have assumed to themselves the power of Omnipotence, 
who trust in fleets and armies to determine the fight. We 
shall be the happy instruments of establishing liberty, civil 
and religious, in a wilderness where towns and cities shall 
grow, whose inhabitants to the latest posterity will look 
back to this happy epoch, and celebrate and bless the 
memory of this generation." Eloquent prophecy! "There 
were giants in those days." Not alone among the lead- 
ers, where circumstances place them in the front, but in 
the rank and file among the humble and unknown, were 
men and women as true, as brave, as noble and good as 
they. 

We have seen already that troops had gone from the Pee 
Dee to the neighborhood of Charleston in response to 
the call of the Governor, but it is not known whether any 
from this region were active participants in the menflor- 
able struggle of June 28th. There is evidence that 
Captain Wise, who was a Pee Dee man, was on Sullivan's 
Island, only the day before, and that Captain Harrington 
with a company of volunteers was at "Haddrell's Point," 
(now Mount Pleasant), and it is altogether probable that 
one or both of these Companies had some part in the 
memorable contest, which terminated so favorably to the 
American arms. But in the presence of Moultrie, 
Rutledge and Jasper, where artillery played the most im- 
portant part in the fight, it is not likely that half drilled 



82 History of Marlboro County. 

militia should find prominent mention, and yet from the 
correspondence of the men of Pee Dee it is clear that 
they were under fire, and endured great privations for 
some days in expectancy of the battle. And, without 
positive proof, no reason is known for saying Marlboro 
was not, represented in the fierce engagement that saved 
Charleston for a time, repulsed the foe, and gave com- 
parative repose to the whole province for a considerable 
time. 

It was only six days after the brilliant victory at Fort 
Moultrie that the Continental Congress, on July 4th, 1776, 
adopted the Declaration of Independence. South Caro- 
lina heartily approved the Act, and at a court for the 
Cheraws held in November following, the Grand Jury said 
in their presentment: "It is with the highest pleasure 
that the Grand Jury for the District df Cheraws embrace 
this first opportunity of congratulating our fellow citizens 
and xA.merican brethren on the late declaration of the 
Continental Congress, constituting the united colonies of 
North America free and independent states, and the in- 
habitants thereof totally absolved from any allegiance to 
the British Crown." It was not until the autumn of 1778 
that another court was held for the Cheraws, and that 
was the last till the war was ended. 

After their signal repulse at Moultrie the British directed 
their operations against the northern and more populous 
colonies, and the people of South Carolina enjoyed a 
season of comparative quiet. Now and then a band of 
Tories would dash across the border upon a foray of 
plunder, but even they appeared to be awed by the suc- 
cesses of the patriots in the first and only considerable 
engagement on Carolina ground. To be sure, there was 
one here and there so fired with the spirit of resistance* 
and so determined to be free, that if not needed within 
their own borders, would seek the service and march to 
the front, though far from their own hearthstones. Such 



History of Marlboro County. 83 

an one was Joshua Ammons, now with Marion in the 
swamps of Pee Dee, then in the Continental line an order- 
ly sergeant with LaFayette,or with Greene — he seemed to 
watch the progress of events and where the bullets flew 
thickest, there he was found ready to hurl death and de- 
fiance into the ranks of the foe, and, the war over, to settle 
down an humble, consistent Christian man. 

About the close of 1778 the clouds again grew thick and 
lowering. December witnessed the fall of Savannah and, 
judging from a note in the journal of Mr. Pugh, the pastor 
at Welsh Neck, and an ardent patriot, it is inferred that 
troops from the Pee Dee suffered in that catastrophe. 
On the 2ist he preached a sermon to his people for the 
youths lost at Savannah and says, "We lost many youths.*' 
At the siege of Savannah, Samuel Wise, who had risen to 
a Major's commission, a gallant son of Pee Dee, "fell 
at the post of duty" in the thickest of the fight. He left 
no son to bear his name, but his devotion to his country's 
cause entitles his name to grateful memory. South Caro- 
lina was now to become the theatre of active operations. 
General Prevost, with a large force, was marching towards 
Charleston. Again the metropolis was threatened with 
blood and carnage, and again large drafts of the militia 
were called into service. A regiment from the Pee Dee, 
under the command of Col. Mcintosh, responded to the 
call. But unexpectedly Prevost withdrew and the fall 
of Charleston was delayed for a time; and the country had 
a brief rest from the ravages of war, only as the "sons of 
liberty,"felt called to chastise some band of lawless Tories, 
who, taking advantage of the absence of the men in camp, 
would make a. dash for plunder, or to murder some noted 
Whig who had made himself obnoxious to them by his 
bold declarations or zeal for the cause of independence. 
And yet, as the year 1779 drew to a close, men felt that 
the struggle was yet before them; and that the storm was 
gathering. But the Whigs in the Pee Dee region, not less 



84 History of Marlboro County, 

than their compatriots in other portions of the State, were 
ready to make good their declarations, to "sacrifice life 
and fortune," rather than rest under the heel of British 
oppression. 



CHAPTER XII. 
Thomas Parker and Others. 

The author will be excused for a more extended notice 
of the name which he has borne for now nearly three 
score years and ten, inasmuch as the material is more 
abundant, not only in Gregg's History, but among the 
records of the family. 

In the year 1699 Tristram Thomas emigrated from Wales 
to the province of Maryland. He was the father of ten 
children, and died in 1746. His oldest son, Stephen, 
came to North Carolina about 1750. He too had a large 
family, nine sons and four daughters. Of the other sons 
of Tristram, tradition says, some remained in Maryland 
and others went into Pennsylvania and regions farther 
west. About 1759 Robert, the first son of Stephen, came 
to Marlboro with his wife, Mary Sands, of Virginia, and 
was soon followed by at least three younger brothers, 
Lewis, Philemon, and Tristram. The two first settled 
among the colony of Friends in the neighborhood of 
Pine Grove, now Adamsville. Tristram settled at what is 
now McCall's Mills, which he is said to have first built. 
He afterwards became prominent in public affairs, took 
a leading part in the Revolutionary struggle, rising to a 
Major's commission. After the war, he was well known 
as General of Militia, an honored member of the Legis- 
ture, and a leader in organizing municipal affairs in the 
infancy of Marlboro District, as it was first called. He 
was as prominent in religious affairs as in civil. He 
reared a large family, most of whom scattered, except that 
model of a Christian gentleman, and District officer, the 
late James C. Thomas, who remained and died among us at 
a ripe old age, the last of his generation. The General 
died in 1810. 



86 History of Marlboro County, 



It is said that either Lewis or Philemon, more likely 
the latter, married a Miss Breeden, and after the birth of 
a daughter, who became the second wife of Moses Parker, 
he died, and his widow married Jessie Bethea, the father 
of the late Jessie Bethea, of Adamsville. The other 
brother went to Illinois. Robert, the older brother, who 
settled near where the present town of Tatum is located, 
waa long known as a Baptist preacher. The church at 
Salem was organized under his labors, also Catfish in our 
sister county of Marion. He died in Britton's Neck, of 
that county, while upon a preaching tour in 1817, in the 
eighty-fourth year of his age. He was the father of three 
daughters and nine sons. Nathan, John S., Robert W., 
Eli, and William have their descendants in the county, 
and a daughter, the grandmother of Colonel and Tristram 
Covington, is also numerously represented among the 
good citizens of the land. We sincerely wish that all the 
old families in the country could have preserved their 
genealogical tables as well as this one has. The writer 
is the fifth from Tristram of Wales, and has upon record 
the names and dates of birth of ten children. Stephen, 
first son of Tristram, had thirteen children. Robert, his 
first son, had twelve. William, his son, counted fourteen, 
and this writer, the son of William, has numbered 
eleven. 

Upon some other lines, the multiplication has been as 
large. Other families have borne the name in this coun- 
try, and do now. We have asked them if their descent 
can go back to the first Tristram. If so, they are en- 
titled to a place among the branches of the old tree first 
planted upon American soil in 1699, as an importation 
from the "County Cairmarthen, Principality of Wales." 

About the same time that the above family reached 
Marlboro, or a little later, there seems to have come a 
number of substantial people whose ancestors from the 
British Isles had landed in Maryland and Pennsylvania, but 



History of Marlboro County, 87 

who now sought a warmer clime. Some of them came 
direct from Maryland, and others followed after a brief stay 
in Virginia and North Carolina. Their good judgment was 
shown in selecting the well-watered, finely timbered, fer- 
tile plains of Adamsville and Hebron. They at first gave 
to this choice region the designation which still cleaves to 
a portion of it, "Beauty Spot." Among these settlers 
were Moses Parker, a man of substantial worth and firm- 
ness of character, and his brother John, a reckless, dash- 
ing young fellow who threw his whole soul into the pa- 
triotic cause, and of whom the tradition said, "He'd rath- 
er shoot a Tory than a snake." Moses was a serious- 
minded Christian man, with a family dependent upon him, 
yet spent part of the time in the patriot army. He was 
twice married, his second wife being Miss Thomas, as 
mentioned above. Poor, when the first marriage was 
contracted, spending his last five shillings as a marriage 
fee, he not only made a living for his twenty-two child- 
ren, but acquired large possessions of splendid lands, 
flocks and herds, that roamed at will over the thousands 
of broad acres called his own. One of his daughters by 
the first marriage became the wife of that staunch old 
Whig, the celebrated Joshua Ammons, a man of great firm- 
ness of character and solid worth. He once, when under the 
command of the Marquis LaFayette, seeing his General 
wounded, took him in his arms and bore him to a place 
of safety. Years after, when the Marquis visited the land 
he had helped to free, the humble Ammons, with many 
others, made a tedious pilgrimage to look into the face 
of that grand old Frenchman, who, seeing his former com- 
rade and benefactor, embraced and blessed him for the 
unforgotten deed of kindness. The memory of Ammons 
is still a sacred legacy to his posterity, some of whom are 
yet among us, proud to have their descent from so true 
and brave a man, who has not only written his name 
upon the annals of his country with the warrior's sword, 



88 History of Marlboro County, 

but has also left a pure record as a follower of the Prince 
of Peace upon the pages of the "Old Church Book" at Beav- 
erdam, alongside that of his venerated father-in-law, Mo- 
ses Parker. From the twenty-two children of the patriarch 
Parker has come a numerous progeny of the excellent 
people of this ancient community. The only surviving 
son, *Mr. Philip Parker, lives near his birthplace, on land 
inherited from his father, in a vigorous old age, having 
seen his eightieth Christmas. He is yet brimming full 
of life and humor, himself a veritable patriarch, living 
joyously with the wife of his youth, who has honored him 
with sixteen children, eleven of whom are alive. From 
his lips the writer has received much valuable material, 
drawn from the stores of a wonderful memory, still fresh 
and exact, of the traditions of the past, learned from the 
old people he knew in his boyhood and earlier years. 

Mrs. Parker, like her husband, is also one of twenty-two 
children of the late Joshua Fletcher. Raiford, the father 
of Joshua, John, and Mrs. Axey Bundy, came to Marl- 
boro about 1815 and although so much later than the 
times of which these pages treat, such has been the prom- 
inence and growth of the family that it demands some 
space in these annals. 

Mr. Fletcher and wife, Sallie HoUiway, came from 
Wayne county, N. C. The first wife of Joshua was 
Miss Nancy Smith, his second a daughter of Moses 
Parker. His sons who came to manhood and reared 
families were Raiford, Thomas, John S., Nicholas, 
Joshua, William and Lewis. The daughters married 
*'Branch" Billy Adams, Robert Adams, Jephtha Adams, 
Philip Parker, Noah Gibson, Shockley Adams, J. M. Gib- 
son and Jno. L. Easterling. Mrs. Jephtha Adams and 
Mrs. Noah Gibson were twin sisters and so nearly alike in 
size and features, and dress and voice, that persons not 
altogether familiar with them found it difficult to dis- 

*Since died. 



History of Marlboro County, 89 

tinguish one from the other, and as the young maidens 
grew up they sometimes amused themselves by innocently 
playing "Who Is It ? " *'Is it Julia or Ann ?" Young Jephtha 
thought that he knew them apart, and likewise thought he 
loved Julia. Ann suspected that a courtship had begun, 
^and on one occasion, when Jephtha made his appearance 
at the old Fletcher homestead, she got the start of her 
sister, placed herself "in the way" and sure enough **Jep 
drew up beside her," and began to whisper in her ear 
the soft tones of his tender emotion. Smiling at her suc- 
cess in the discovery of the secret she fled from his pres- 
ence and sent Julia to his side, who, not long afterwards 
became Mrs. Jephtha Adams; the mischievous Ann in time 
became Mrs. Noah Gibson. With only the State line and 
a mile of intervening space between them, the twin sisters 
dwelt side by side until Mrs. Gibson went over the line 
that separates earth from heaven. 

To return to the traditions as remembered by Philip 
Parker it is said that in those dark days, when the party 
lines were strongly drawn, and "Tories preyed on Whigs, 
and Whigs chastised Tories," it came to pass that a Whig 
by the name of Reed came from camp "on leave of 
absence." His presence at home being discovered, a 
party of Tories surrounded his house, cutting off his escape 
before they were seen. The poor man climbed into the 
loft of his humble dwelling in the vain effort to conceal 
himself. "He was ordered to descend and surrender, or 
the house would be burned over his head." In his ex- 
tremity he consented to come down and surrender as a 
prisoner of war, if they would spare the house. But as he 
descended and approached the door they shot him dead. 
Tidings of the outrage rapidly spread in the neighbor- 
hood. A little band of Whigs soon collected, and, pursu- 
ing the raiders, came upon them at another home, not far 
from where the Rev. W. K. Breeden now lives. So in- 
tent were the raiders upon their work of plunder, ripping 



90 History of Marlboro County. 

the beds and filling the ticks with booty, that when their 
pursuers dashed upon them, they broke for the swamp 
of Beverly Creek, so hotly pursued by the Whigs that the 
spoil was recovered, and one of the Whigs captured a 
splendid horse which, of couse, he never returned to the 
owner. * 

The Lesters also trace their origin from Maryland, 
William, their ancestor, coming from that province about 
this time. He was the father of Thomas, Nimrod, Bright, 
and Mrs. Charles Manship. Thomas Lester was the 
grandfather of the present family in Marlboro county. 
Charles Manship, who was a wild youth until his marriage, 
became a Christian, went to school for a time, entered 
the Methodist ministry, and from him has sprung a re- 
spectable family. 

Tradition tells of a fine colony of Friends who came 
into this portion of Marlboro before the Revolutionary 
war; Ways, Mendenhall, and other sober, industrious, 
honest people who built for themselves a house of wor- 
ship at Pine Grove. But when the Revolution ended, 
and the new government reorganized, these men felt 
that slavery had become a fixture in the South — an in- 
stitution that they religiously believed a wrong, and 
that its existence among them must hamper their en- 
terprise, and possibly corrupt the religion of their pos- 
terity — they sold their lands and left in a body for what 
was then called the "Northwest Territory." The house of 
worship was used in common by Baptists and Methodists 
for a season, but eventually went into the possession of 
the latter, where there has long existed one of their most 
influential communities. The Baptists ultimately staked 
down at Beaverdam. 

Among other elements that entered into the composition 
of the population in eastern Marlboro the Scottish is 
worthy of mention. Two old men, natives of Scotland, 
are remembered by Mr. Parker, the brothers, John, and 



History of Marlboro County, 91 

James McCoy (sometimes written McKay). John lived 
at the mill on Bear Creek, just within South Carolina. 
One of his sons, Daniel, became a Baptist preacher. With 
a rich, Scotch accent, his hearers were sometimes amused 
at his quaint way of putting religious truths. Preaching 
on the evils of pride, how insinuating, and deceptive, he 
sang out, "Why, brethren, I used to think I was not proud, 
but when I came to know myself, I found out that I was 
proud because I wasrit proud." Some one is said to have 
asked him why he read out his hymns in such a ** sing- 
song sort of a tone," and he answered ** Well, you all sing 
so badly, that if I don't sing it out, it won't get sung."^ 
Good old man, he " went West " in his old age, and took 
an interesting family with him. 

The other brother lived a mile or two lower down, o» 
the hanks of the Little Pee Dee. Mr. 'Truss" Bethea 
married one of his daughters, and has left a highly re- 
spected posterity.* 

It would hardly be doing justice to the information 
received from Mr. Parker if no mention was to be made 
of some of the other neighbors of his father. 

William Leggett, who ** took up" a large territory of 
land on Beaverdam and Panther Creeks, around the site of 
McCoU, lived at what is now known as McLaurin's 
Mill, during the Revolution. He was the father of 
James, the father of Salathiel and Sherrad, from whom 
the numerous connections in this and neighboring coun- 
ties are descended. 

Isaac Pipkin came into the neighborhood from Wayne 
county, N. C. in the early years of the present century^ 
with his excellent wife, Mary Benton, and from this 
couple have descended many of the present, population 
of the community. Mrs. Lewis Parker, Mrs. William 
Lester, and Mrs. N. M. Gibson, were daughters of Squire 

*T. H. Bethea, his only surviving son, lives on the large estate left by 
his father. 

7 



92 History of Marlboro County, 

Pipkin, and the name, as borne by several young men 
among us, has descended from this one North Carolina 
Scotchman. 

Another extensive family in this portion of the 
country for a century past has been the Easterlings. 
They have a tradition that the first bearer of the 
name landed in Baltimore. When, it is not known, 
but like many others, they drifted southward, and 
May 24th, 1733, near the mouth of the Neuse river, 
in North Carolina, Henry Easterling was born. He 
was bred a Churchman, but embraced Baptist principles 
in 1760, and two years afterwards entered the ministry, 
accepting charge of the Hitchcock church in Anson 
county. His wife was Miss Ellen Bennett, who blessed 
him with ten children. About 1772 we find him in Marl- 
boro. In that year he aided in organizing the Beaver- 
dam Baptist Church, which was at first called "Beauty 
Spot" and worshipped not far from "Beauty Spot Bridge." 
Mr. Easterling was chosen the first pastor and continued 
in office for a number of years. The probability is that 
some of his family remained in Anson, and that others 
came with him to "Beauty Spot." Two of his sons, at 
least, raised families here. Shadrach, father of the late 
Capt. Henry, and Mrs. Betsy Odom; and William, for 
many years "Ordinary" of his district and the father of a 
large family of sons and daughters. His wife was Miss 
Covington, of Richmond county, North Carolina. From 
these two brothers, Shadrach and William Easterling, has 
descended a very extensive connection. While the late 
war between the States was going on two or three young 
men stationed near Charleston instituted an inquiry 
through the. papers of the day, to ascertain how many 
Easterlings were in the Confederate army. Sixty-three 
responded, tracing their descent to the old preacher, 
Henry Easterling. Twelve gallant young men of this 
name were in a single one of the eight companies raised 



History of Marlboro County, 93 

in Marlboro. Brave boys! many sleep in the soldier's 
grave, but your surviving comrades forget you not. Ye 
stood amid the pelting lead, daring to do, and to die. 
Calm be your rest. 

William Bennett, ancestor of a family of that name, 
came originally from Maryland to Anson county, N. C. 
where he was living during the revolution. He was a 
Baptist preacher, yet spent some time with the patriot 
army. He seems to have made himself especially ob- 
noxious to the Tories, who fired a volley into his dwelling 
in Anson. Whether it was the prayers or the sword of 
the old man the enemy most hated, the tradition did not 
say. He soon after made his home on Crooked Creek in 
Marlboro, about a mile above what is known as the "Burnt 
Factory," where he raised his family and where his ashes 
lie in ground still owned by his posterity. William, Jo- 
seph and Nevil, his sons, have representatives in this and 
Marion County. Eli Willis, the progenitor of that fami- 
ly also, came from Maryland, and married a daughter of 
Mr. Bennett, and from this couple Milby, Jas. B. and 
others sprang. A number of worthy young people 
promise to perpetuate the name. Sam Edwards, who 
lived for a time at the Ervin place, also married into the 
Bennett family. 

Old Mr. John Hamer, who has left a numerous family 
to inherit his name, was also descended from an old 
Marylander, William Hamer, who settled in Anson, and 
married a Miss Hicks. John found his wife in Marlboro 
in 1 791, near the old court-house. Miss Nancy Cochran. 
Daniel H., William, Thos. C, Henry C, Robert, James 
and Alfred, Mrs. Nicholls, Mrs. Caleb Curtis, Mrs. Jeph- 
tha Robinson, the second wife of Eli Thomas, Mrs. J. B. 
Willis and Mrs. Rowland, were the children of this mar- 
riage. After the death of the first Mrs.. Hamer, the old 
gentleman married a daughter of Mr. Nathan Thomas, of 
Hebron, and the late Philip M. and the Rev. Lewis M. 



94 History of Marlboro County, 

Hamer were born of that marriage. Nobody can take it 
amiss if the pen of a comrade should single out one from 
this worthy group of fifteen, and give to him special men- 
tion. It may be because of a closer intimacy and better 
knowledge of his worth, that the writer puts him down as 
among the best of men. We slept under the same blanket 
upon the naked earth, trod step by step the same tented 
field, knelt side by side at the same camp fire, and ate 
from the same dish. Under all the trying circumstances 
of life in camp, we found Philip Hamer the same noble 
man, the same true friend, and the tribute here left to his 
memory is prompted by the affectionate remembrance 
of true worth. It was with sincerest pleasure that we 
all, as a forlorn hope, cast our ballots for P. M. Hamer 
for the House of Representatives in 1876. He filled his 
place in the memorable Wallace House. He was return- 
ed, and filled other positions in the gift of his people, and 
when in 1887 they laid his body to rest beside his kindred 
dust, Marlboro buried one of her noblest sons. 



CHAPTER XIII. 

Progress of Revolution. 

If hitherto the patriots in Carolina had occasion for 
rejoicing that they had gained some victories, and gener- 
ally held their own against superior forces, the year 1780 
opened with gloomy prospects for the cause of liberty. 
The approach of great armies threatened their feeble 
defenses. Charleston was again to be besieged, and the 
Pee Dee militia were called to aid in its defense. A por- 
tion of the regiment under Lieutenant-Colonel Kolb and 
another division under Colonel Hicks, with Major Tris- 
tram Thomas, all men of Marlboro, were put upon the 
march to the scene of conflict, while another detach- 
ment under Major Benton remained upon the Pee Dee 
under arms to watch the movements of the Tories, who 
were always especially active in predatory warfare when 
any considerable portion of the available men were away 
from home. Charleston was taken after a heroic defense 
of about forty days. Tidings of the British success, and 
surrender of so many of the best men of the land, filled 
the inhabitants of the whole country with consternation 
and alarm. The approach of Wemys with his troopers, 
to reap the fruits of victory, intimidated many into an 
enforced allegiance to British rule. His progress was 
marked with blood, destruction and conflagration, and it 
is not surprising if many submitted, while others yielded 
in form, with a secret reservation to resist when oppor- 
tunity offered. Few were bold enough to answer as old 
Thomas Ayer did when urged by his neighbors to accept 
the protection tendered: ''It is not a question of property, 
but of liberty y And yet the cruelties perpetrated by the 
British and Tories inspired a spirit of resistance and 



96 History of Marlboro County. 

revenge that atoned in large measure for their partial 
temporary demoralization. Wemys did not long remain 
at Cheraw, but moved down the river to Georgetown, 
and thence to Broad river, where he was captured by 
General Sumter, and is said to have experienced unex- 
pected humane treatment from the men he had wronged. 
The men whom he plundered — whose houses he had fired, 
had the honor to treat him as a prisoner of war. 

In June of this year, 1780, Major McArthur, with his 
regiment of Highlanders, came from Camden to Cheraw 
to have a convenient correspondence with the Tories, 
and strengthen their cause, and forage upon the wealthy 
planters of the Pee Dee. For a little while he made his 
headquarters at Long Bluff. There it is said he **offered 
a reward for the capture of Thomas Ayer," a noted Whig 
of Marlboro and a terror to the Tories. He had led a 
band of daring scouts against a nest of Tories, whom he 
severely punished by hanging a number of them. Mc- 
Arthur's reward was soon won by a company of Ayer's 
Tory neighbors. They tied their captive with buckskin 
strings, which of course would stretch when wet. But 
about the time they reached Hunt's Bluff on their way 
to ** Headquarters," a terrific thunderstorm broke upon 
them. As the river was to be crossed and several miles 
traveled before reaching Long Bluff, it was decided to 
keep their prisoner guarded in an old out-house near the 
river till the next morning's dawn, and then resume their 
journey. Thinking that the prisoner was secure, some of 
the party, including the leader, went off in search of sup- 
per, leaving, as they supposed, a sufficient guard. In the 
meantime Hartwell Ayer, the brother of Thomas, got 
word of what was going on, and in the darkness of the 
night dashed up to the door of his brother's prison. In 
a rage he dispatched most of the guard, and sent Thomas 
back to his home to relieve the anxieties of his household, 
while Hartwell and his party went in pursuit of other game 



History of Marlboro County, 97 

and left bleeding and wounded two more of the party 
they had so unceremoniously cheated out of the coveted 
reward. McArthur was terribly incensed when he heard 
of the fatal miscarriage of his cherished scheme and 
crossed the river with a formidable party. Mrs. Ayer 
with two sons, Lewis Malone and Zaccheus, had barely 
time to escape to a hiding place in the swamps. Foiled 
again, the desperate McArthur burned the dwellings, 
killed the stock, sparing only a barn filled with corn, 
which he probably meant for his own horses, but which 
was hastily removed and secured for the family when the 
British left. An humble, faithful neighbor by the name 
of James Sweat (a kinsman of the family, of that name 
now living in the county), in the kindness of his heart, fed 
Mrs. Ayer and her boys for several weeks. Mr. Sweat 
afterwards became a Baptist preacher of useful life in the 
State of Georgia. Nathan Sweat, the brother of James, 
was caught about this time by some of McArthur's party 
and was held as a prisoner for some days. Discovering 
which was the fastest horse in the camp, he managed to 
mount him one day and instantly made a dash for liberty. 
The friendly swamp received him and stealthily he work- 
ed his way to his mother's door for a morsel of food, and 
as she hastily reached it to his hand she cried "Nathan, 
the enemy is upon you"; quick as thought the spurs were 
applied and again he flew, his pursuers at his heels. The 
steps lengthened between them, and McArthur was worst- 
ed again and Sweat caught no more, but "lived to fight 
again." 

But in the progress of events, it was thought needful 
to withdraw the force under McArthur to a situation less 
exposed. Reports of advancing Continentals caused the 
advanced posts like Cheraw,where McArthur had returned, 
to be drawn in. Accordingly about the last of July, pre- 
parations were completed. A portion of the troops, 
along with the sick and a number of negroes whom they 



98 History of Marlboro County, 

had captured and persuaded to leave their masters, were 
to be sent down to the river on boats to Georgetown, 
Somehow or other the Whigs in the neighborhood con- 
ceived the idea of capturing this flotilla. James Gillespie 
a man of much influence, has been awarded the praise for 
this bold idea. As he moved down the river with a few 
trusted neighbors, the patriotic citizens gathered to give 
aid. Major Tristram Thomas was given command. Hunt's 
Bluff was chosen as the point of attack. In a sudden 
bend of the river, a battery was thrown up immediately 
upon the bank. Was it armed ? Yes, with threatening 
looking cannon, but wooden, harmless guns. After awhile 
the silent garrison beheld the floating armada slowly 
descending the stream. Thomas made as formidable a 
show of his little command as he could ; some of them 
armed with pieces as harmless as the pole cannon mount- 
ed upon the bank. Yet he boldly demanded an uncon- 
ditional surrender ; and it was made, and more than a 
hundred prisoners were sent to North Carolina. Scarcely 
had the bloodless action ended before a large boat on its 
way from Georgetown to Cheraw with supplies for Mc Ar- 
thur hove in sight, as it was being pushed up the stream- 
It too, was turned over to the American army. It were 
well if all the enterprises of the American army could 
have been as successful and bloodless. But not so. 

A few days after the events just recorded General 
Gates made his appearance on the Pee Dee at and above 
Cheraw, with a considerable force, on his way to Camden. 
His presence revived the hopes of the people wonder- 
fully. He offered " pardon to all who had subscribed 
paroles imposed upon them by the hand of conquest," 
■excepting, of course, such as had turned their hand 
against the patriot cause. Hope again came to the 
■despondent. Hope, which alas, was to be tried most 
sorely by Gates' defeat at Camden and his consequent 
retreat through the country into North Carolina For a 



History of Marlboro County. 99 

time the warfare on the upper Pee Dee again became 
desultory and irregular, but of a most distressing nature. 
Nobody knew when a band of Tories would sweep down 
upon a quiet neighborhood, drive off the stock, set fire 
to the buildings and fences, and murder some well-known 
Whig. But towards the end of the year the coming of 
General Greene in the State, and to the Pee Dee, inspired 
confidence again. Although the results of the year's cam- 
paign had been, on the whole, against the cause of liberty, 
it required but a spark to set the people all ablaze with 
enthusiasm for the cause they had espoused. Their 
spirits, sometimes disheartened, but never crushed, now 
revived again. Sufferings chastened but could not extin- 
guish the love of liberty, nor could disaster quench the 
purpose to defend their rights to the bitter end. 



CHAPTER XIV. 
Traditions from Col. John Covington. 

A chapter of traditions obtained from Colonel John 
Covington two months before his death. The Colonel 
was a remarkable man, born in ** Hebron, the garden spot 
of the sacred soil of Marlboro," as he would characterize 
it, in the year i8oi . He lived a quiet, useful life among his 
own people, and when interrogated could recall the names 
and deeds of many no longer known on earth. Never 
stout and strong physically, his cheerful, hopeful spirits, his 
joyous, fun-loving temperament, gave him a young heart in 
his old age. Although looking, waiting for the call to 
join his loved ones gone before to the "shining shore,*' he 
was not averse to telling of the men and women whom he 
knew in the days of his youth as the companions of his 
sports. He was familiar with many of the traditions of 
the old people which had been handed down from parent 
to child— traditions which should be treasured by those 
now living, and in turn, handed down by them to future 
generations. The daily newspaper was in those days 
unknown and the book agent had not found his way to 
the homes of He*bron, for "Hebron" it was called in the 
Colonel's boyhood. His old uncle, Nathan Thomas^ 
"Gumfoot," as he was nicknamed from his cork bottom 
shoe made to lengthen a leg broken by a fall from his 
wagon, had, in the century past, given the beautiful sec- 
tion this name in memory of the fair inheritance given 
the patriarch Caleb in reward for his fidelity and valor. 

John, the grandfather of the Colonel, had won the af- 
fections of Elizabeth, the daughter of Rev. Robert 
Thomas, and, leaving his five brothers in Richmond coun- 
ty, North Carolina, had settled upon the north side of Lit- 



History of Marlboro County, loi 

tie Pee Dee in Robeson, North Carolina, and was building 
up a comfortable home when the revolution came on. His 
sympathy with the patriot cause soon made him an ob- 
ject of dislike to his loyalist neighbors, who stripped him 
of his means of living and left him with nothing but his fam- 
ily. Leaving his wife and babies with her friends, he 
sought his revenge in the ranks of the patriot army. When 
the war ended, he settled upon a farm beside his brother- 
in-law, Nathan Thomas, upon the plains of Hebron. His 
children were William, "Truss," Robert, Nancy, Polly and 
Thomas. The last named married Miss Sallie Cook and 
left a numerous posterity. Robert and Tristram seem 
to have died childless. Nancy married an Easterlingand 
Polly a Mr. Conner. William married 'Miss Mary Brid- 
ges, who had previously married a Mr. Connor, and was 
the mother of Ira and Nancy, who became Mrs. FredMc- 
Daniel. The children of William Covington were John, 
Henry, Tristram, Nellie, first wife of Lewis Spears, and the 
first wife of Daniel Parham, and the first wife of Wm. 
Baggett. 

All the sons of Wm. Covington, who was a man of ex- 
cellent character, were men of more than ordinary prom- 
inence in the affairs of the country. Tristram, both in his 
own conduct and in that of his sons, has commanded the 
respect and confidence of his countrymen. He and his 
oldest son, James, have held positions of trust and re- 
sponsibility in county affairs. Henry was for a long 
time successor to the Colonel in command of the Hebron 
company during "ante-bellum** times. Harris, the only 
son of Capt. Henry, arose to a captaincy in the late "war 
between the States." He was a lawyer of much prom- 
inence, and was considered one of the most brilliant young 
men in the country. His friends ran him for a seat in 
Congress after "reconstruction," and, while he received a 
large vote, he was defeated by the solid colored majority. 
Gifted though he was, he died in the prime of life, and 



102 History of Marlboro County, 



his manly form sleeps in the same cemetery where lies so 
many of Hebron's sons. 

John Bridges, the maternal grandfather of the Coving-, 
tons, came to Carolina from the province of Maryland 
sometime before the Revolution, and was soon followed 
by others of his family. 

Our friend, Col. Covington, remembered hearing Frank 
Bridges, a kinsman, relate at a dinner party that when a 
boy he had enlisted in the army. Because of his size and 
extreme youth General Marion kept him about his own 
person, sometimes as a courier and sometimes as a cook, 
and that he it was who roasted the ''historic potatoes" 
that Marion set before the British officer. The family of 
this Frank Bridges removed to Alabama in after years, 
and he is supposed to have been the ancestor of the late 
Judge Bridges, of Alabama, who married a daughter of 
David Bethea, elsewhere mentioned. John Bridges, tra- 
dition says, left his wife and children behind when he 
started south in search of a better country. When his 
eyes rested upon the beautiful, well-watered, fertile plains 
of Hebron, he concluded that "the better land" was found. 
Being a good mechanic, he went to work to build a 
house. He hired and sent a messenger back to Maryland 
for his wife and children. Mrs. B. was, however, afraid 
to make the pilgrimage with a stranger. How did she 
know that he was a "true man" and that her husband had 
sent him? She declined to undertake the journey. The 
messenger insisted that he was a "true man," and that 
Bridges had sent him. Finally the doubting wife con- 
sented that if the messenger would return to Carolina, and 
take back to her the horse that her husband had carried 
from Maryland, that she would know that her husband had 
sent him and would believe that he was a "true man" and 
willingly go with him. Back to the goodly land of Heb- 
ron the messenger came. Bridges loved his wife and 
babes and could rely on the promise. The old Maryland 



History of Marlboro County, 103 

steed was saddled, and the messenger furnished with 
another horse, and across two States he again pursued his 
way. When Mrs. Bridges saw the sleek old charger, 
token of her husband's love, her scruples gave way to her 
devotion to the man she loved, and mounting, she rode on 
horseback across two States to the husband of her youth, 
bringing her two children with her to her new southern 
home. "Heroines in that day"! Yes, and Rebeccas since 
the age of Abraham and Isaac. Don't ask me why Brid- 
ges did not go himself. His grandson did not know. 
He did say that Mollie, one of those little ones brought 
on horseback from Maryland, grew up to womanhood and 
first gave her young affections to John Stubbs, and after 
his death she became the fifth wife of John David, who 
had already several children in his house. She carried 
three more and Eliza was born in the forty-sixth year of 
her mother's life. Another daughter of Mr. Bridges, 
Elizabeth, married Lewis Stubbs, the great-grandfather of 
our fellow citizens, William, and Wyriott, and the late Al- 
bert Stubbs. Sallie, another daughter, married Jonathan 
Cottingham, from whom the Hebron family of that name 
sprang. Nancy became Mrs. Conner first and then Mrs. 
Covington, mother of the Colonel. John Bridges, son of 
William, married a sister of Jonathan Cottingham, and bar- 
gains of this sort have been so frequent among the good 
people of Hebron until it is hard to find families not re" 
lated to each other, and some of them can scarcely tell 
what kin they are to each other. 

Another old resident of this community was Richard 
Edens. He was the father of Allen, long known as a 
Methodist preacher, whose first wife was Miss Fuller, a 
sister of the Henry Fuller of ginger-cake notoriety. 
They became the ancestors of several well-known citizens 
of Marlboro in later years. Asa, Alfred, Henry, who 
went into the late war as Captain of cavalry; Allen, a 
lieutenant of the same company, and T. Nelson, Colonel 



104 History of Marlboro County. 

of militia, a member of the Legislature of the celebrated 
Wallace House. He was re-elected in 1878 and again in 
1888. After the death of his first wife, Reverend Edens 
married Mrs. Ann McDaniel, the daughter of Nathan 
Thoma^, who bore him two daughters, one of whom is the 
wife of Alex. Heustiss. 

Jonathan Meekins was an early resident of this com- 
munity. He lived and died at the forks of the road, 
where Capt. J. T. Covington, who married a grand- 
daughter of Mr. Meekins, now resides. It is quite pro- 
bable that Jonathan's parents lived somewhere in this 
section, for a sister of his married the elder James Spears, 
in 1777. Jonathan, like most of his neighbors, raised a 
large family, and possessing large tracts of land, settled 
them around him. Their farms were noted for their neat, 
beautiful buildings and fences. But amid the changes of 
time no man of the name lives now upon the inheritance, 
although the blood of old Jonathan yet tells in various 
families of other names. Philip P., of Bennettsville. 
bears the marks and some of the characteristics of his 
worthy ancestry. "A place for everything, and every- 
thing in its place." **System, order, the law of life,'* were 
prevailing influences in that home from cellar to garret. 



CHAPTER XV. 

Operations on Pee Dee, 1781. Col. Kolb. 

The presence of Gen. Greene upon the Pee Dee opposite 
Cheraw for several weeks had encouraged the spirits of 
the people, and awed the disaffected into comparative 
order. 

Col. Kolb was in favor with his countrymen and exer- 
cised a commanding influence in all the Cheraw district. 
Murphy down the river, Benton on the west side and 
Marion, from Lynch's creek to Georgetown, held in check 
the marauders and gave some security to the people. The 
stay of Greene was brief. The movements of Cornwallis 
in the upper part of the State induced Greene to move in 
the direction of Guilford court house, and the Whigs of 
the Pee Dee were again left to their own resources. The 
Tories, ever ready to seize on any advantage, now 
made frequent incursions on defenseless persons and 
property, concealing their plunder and themselves in the 
swamps. It was a hazardous service that devolved upon 
the Whigs. It is said that a band of Tories had 'a hiding 
place in the **Three Creeks" at no great distance from 
where Blenheim now stands, and, this fact becoming 
known to the Whigs, it was determined to break them up. 
The assaulting party came quietly to the edge of the 
swamp, but could see no signs of the enemy's presence. 
They had reason to believe that they were near the camp, 
but they knew not exactly its location and had no guide. 
Amongst the Whig party was a daring young man, Harry 
Sparks, who volunteered to enter the swamp alone, locate 
the enemy and report the situation to his comrades. He 
found the camp, but returned not to his friends. The 
treacherous foe had discovered and captured him. His 



io6 History of Marlboro County, 

friends became uneasy at his stay and, following his tracks, 
they soon reached the deserted camp where hung the 
lifeless body of their daring comrade. Of course the 
fleeing Tories were pursued for miles, far into North 
Carolina. One of the pursuers was wounded and two 
of the mulatto Tories were killed, and sometimes after- 
wards another of the party was caught and charged with 
aiding in the murder of Sparks. He confessed it and was 
instantly hung. This was the sort of warfare that was 
common in all this region for months and years. 

Not long after returning from his chase of the murder- 
ers of Sparks, Col. Kolb made an expedition into what is 
now Marion county. Some outrages had been perpetrated 
there— in the neighborhood ot Hulin's mill — now Moody's 
mill. Several Tories, who had made themselves especi- 
ally obnoxious were caught; some punished, some **dis- 
charged on promise of good behaviour", and two or three 
killed. Kolb returned to his home at Welsh Neck, and 
dismissed his men in the belief that things would be quiet 
for a time. 

Instead of awing those turbulent spirits into order his 
retaliatory measures awoke a terrible spirit of revenge, 
and especially against the leader of the Whigs. No 
blood but his would slake their thirst; no life but his 
atone for the lives he had taken. Suspecting that he 
would dismiss his men for a time his enemies made haste 
to perfect their plans, collect their forces and set out on 
the hunt for revenge. It was less than forty miles to the 
happy home of Col. Kolb. At a late hour of night they 
surrounded his house. Roused from slumber thus sud- 
denly, the first impulse of a brave spirit was to defend 
his property and loved ones to the last. Mrs. Kolb and 
an only daughter, who became the wife of Major Pouncey, 
and two sisters, one of whom became Mrs. Edwards, and 
was the great-grandmother of Mrs. Dr. Bonchier, lately of 
Bennettsville, and another sister who afterwards married 



History of Marlboro Coufity, 107" 

Evander Mclver, constituted the family. Two young' 
men named Evans were also present as guests of the 
family. Kolb knew his foe — that they had come for 
his life — and he was determined to resist. The house 
was strongly built, the party inside well armed, and might 
have had some hope, although an overpowering force 
surrounded them. But in the darkness the stealthy foe 
had fired the house. Resistance was useless. The ladies- 
saw the peril and entreated the Colonel to surrender him- 
self as a prisoner of war. He made the proposition, it 
was accepted, and, accompanied by his wife and her sis- 
ters and his daughter, he stepped out ready to surrender 
his sword. A traitorous shot was fired by a Tory named 
Goings and the gallant Colonel fell at his own door and 
at the feet of his loved ones a martyr to his country's 
cause. One of the young Evans was mortally wounded^ 
The dwelling was hastily plundered and the Tories quickly 
fled in the direction from whence they came, doubtless 
exulting in their successful exploit and wishing for an- 
other victim. Nor had they long to wait. On the route 
to Catfish was "Brown's Mill," about a mile above the 
present crossing at the old Rogers mill. 

Here was a military post, at least a point sometimes 
guarded. The guards were surprised, and Capt. Joseph 
Dabbs, a noted Whig, whose home was in the neighbor- 
hood of Evans' Mill, was killed, and Ned Trawick was 
wounded, but escaped. On this same eventful day, April 
28, 1 78 1, an old military prison near the residence" of 
Col. Kolb was assaulted, and several prisoners were re- 
leased. Moving down the river a'short distance, two of 
the released Bristishers entered] the home of Mrs. Wilds^ 
a widowed lady, whom they supposed had money secreted 
about her person, and violently robbed her of her coin. 
But it was destined that their ill-gotten gain should serve 
them but a few brief hours. Living in the marshes was a 
frail, old man named Willis. Nobody thought it worth? 



io8 History of Marlboro Cot4/ity. 

while to trouble him. Silent and solitary he was allowed to 
occupy the position of a neutral. Making a scanty sup- 
port upon his little patch, and upon his shoemaker's 
bench, he had nothing to tempt the cupidity of anybody, 
hispoor little money was not worth stealing. The robber 
Britons on their way from Mrs. Wilds encountered this 
singular old man. He had seen the columns of smoke 
ascending from his neighbor Kolb's house, had heard the 
firing at early dawn, had, perhaps, seen the fleeing Tories, 
and his smothered patriotism was kindled. His old long 
barreled fowling piece was taken from the rack, heavily 
charged, and as the redcoats drew nigh he pulled the 
trigger at the instant they doubled before him, and the 
two lay dead in the road. Hearing a few days later that 
Mrs. Wilds had been robbed, he called to see her, and put 
in her hand ** the package of coin, lOi guineas," the exact 
amount which the soldiers had taken. In vain did she 

nsist upon dividing the precious treasure with him whose 
needs were as great as her own. 

"Nay, nay," said the old man, "the money is yourn, it's 
reward enough for me to be lucky enough to git it back 
for ye." The tradition has not told where the ashes of 
Willis lie, some quaint oak or elm may stand at his head 
and overshadow his unknown resting place, or the swollen 
waters of the Pee Dee may long ago have ploughed a 
deep furrow through his lonely bed, and washed his de- 
caying bones away, never to be found until the voice of 
the archangel shall awake a slumbering race to life — 
but let the generous deed of the humble, solitary old man 
live in the memory of generations yet unborn. "Full 

nany a gem of purest ray serene," etc. 

In this connection Bishop Gregg gives his readers a 
thrilling narrative from the lips of the venerable Lewis 
Malone Ayer, of Barnwell. Mr. Ayer was the father of 
Mrs. Judge A. P. Aldrich, and of Gen. L. M. Ayer, a 
member of the Confederate Congress. He was quite young 



History of Marlboro County. 109 

when the events occurred which he related, but they were 
of a character to make a profound impression upon his 
mind. 

Young Ayer was on a visit with his mother at the house 
of a neighbor, close by Col. Kolb's, on the morning the 
Colonel was killed. Young Ayer had been sent out on 
a fleet horse at early dawn by his mother to carry tidings 
of the death of one of her relatives to Col. Kolb, knowing 
nothing of the tragedy at Kolb's house. Meeting old Mr. 
William Forniss, together they rode up to the burning 
building, having seen smoke and the returning horse 
tracks of the assassins. They saw the weeping wife and 
sisters with their dead, whom with their own hands 
they had dragged to a safe distance from the flames. 
But young Ayer could not tarry with those whom 
he pitied, because information had reached him that 
his brother-in-law Mr. James Magee, was that very 
day to visit Col. Kolb by appointment. Magee lived in 
the Brownsville community and must travel for a part of 
the route over the same road which the Tories would 
travel on their way to Catfish, from whence they came, 
and if they met Magee it would be the last of him. To 
get ahead of the Tories and turn Magee from the track 
was the exploit before the boy Ayer. Excited by the 
scenes before his eyes, and impelled by the desire to save 
his ffiends life, he tried the well-known mettle of his 
mare, who had done him good service of the like kind 
before. 

He had not calculated, however, that the Tories would 
stop on the road for breakfast until he was almost within 
their power, when he wheeled around and fled for dear life. 
They fired too high to reach the boy who lay close to the 
mane of the splendid mare, which they desired to cap- 
ture unhurt. Fortunalely, however, there was a cow trail 
with which Ayer was familiar, close at hand. Into this 
he dashed and cross a boggy marsh, into which his pur- 



no History of Marlboro County. 



suers plunged, but, not knowing the track as he did, they 
were soon floundering in the mud, and were glad to get 
out again on their own side. Afraid that the youth would 
dash ahead and warn the party at Brown's Mill of their 
approach, the Tories, after this incident, increased their 
speed and fortunately passed Magee's road before he en- 
tered theirs, and this excellent citizen escaped their hands, 
and lived for many years to see his (Children's children, 
and died in his old age, sitting in his chair, with the Bible 
lying open upon his knees. His ashes lie at old Browns- 
ville. The first wife of the writer's father was a daughter 
of James Magee, and died in 1820, the mother of nine 
children, all of whom have since followed her to the 
grave. 

That was a sad day to the people of Cheraw District 
when Abel Kolb fell by the hand of the foe. He was 
recognized as the leader of the patriot influence. In com- 
mand of the regiment, in the prime oi life, vigilant, 
active, daring, he commanded the respect and confidence 
of his countrymen far and near, and men were looking 
upon his fast-developing abilities with admiration and 
hope of a bright career, not only upon the field of strife, 
but in the pursuits of peace as well. Already before the 
war came on he was accumulating property and exhibit- 
ing energy, enterprise, and skill in the management of 
affairs. It is not surprising, therefore, if his loss produced 
despondency in the hearts of some, and a burning for 
revenge in others. 

About this time, or a few weeks before the death of 
Kolb, there was a skirmish of some importance at Cash- 
way Ferry. A short distance from the landing on the 
Marlboro side there stood a Baptist house of worship 
where such men as Brown and Edwards had held forth 
the Word of Life. It seems for a time to have been one 
of the posts held by Kolb or Benton, his Lieutenant-colonel 
and successor in command of the regiment. It was also 



History of Marlboro County. 1 1 1 

a convenient shelter for Tories when dodging around in 
that region. Which party held the building at the time, 
and which it was that made the assault the tradition does 
not tell. An entry in the journal of Rev. Mr. Pugh, of 
Welsh Neck, dated April 17, says: "Bad news of the 
Tories at Cashway." The writer remembers an evening's 
conversation under his mother's roof, between Col. Ben 
Rogers and Uncle Nathan Thomas, in which the affair 
was talked over. One of the old men had been a partici- 
pant in the fray, and amused the party as he told how the 
Tories "took to the swamp." 

After the war ended portions of the old "meeting 
house" were moved to "Brown's Mill" and entered into a 
like building erected there. 

The writer has heard numbers of the old people of the 
community tell how they had seen, the "bullet holes in the 
doors and shutters as long as the house stood." 

It gave way to a better building about the beginning of 
the present century. 

Near this old church site there lived a number of staunch 
Whigs. Capt. Moses Pearson, the Coxes, Burketts, and 
others who often made it hot for the Tories on Muddy 
creek. About this time a party of Tories came over from 
North Carolina into what was then called "Piney Grove 
settlement," now Adamsville, and caught a young boy 
named William Adams and demanded of him information 
as to the locality of certain treasure and persons. Adams 
knew but determined that it would be a wrong to the 
cause of the country and the safety of his friends to tell 
what the foe desired to know. They tried to frighten 
him with threats of hanging, but he would not be fright- 
ened. Finally a cord was procured, but still Adams was 
firm. Around his neck they tied it, but no disclosure 
would he make. The cord was thrown over a limb, 
and he was drawn up and choked and let down and ordered 
again to speak. Still not a word of information could 



112 History of Marlboro County, 

they extort from his lips. The second time his feet were 
drawn from the earth. Again they let him down and told 
him this was his last chance for life. Speak the word 
and life was his; refuse, and hang till dead. 

Firmly he stood. To die was better than to live under 
a burden of shame. Once more the cruel gang drew him 
up, tied the cord, and went off and left him hanging. 
Fortunately for him and for Marlboro, too, his mother 
came along in time to let him down before life was ex- 
tinct, and he lived to raise a large family of excellent 
people, and to-day a host of young and old people are 
proud to have descended from him. 

On the eighth day of September of that year was fought 
the battle of Eutaw Springs, and a portion of the Pee Dee 
militia was engaged. Capt. Claudius Pegues, of Marlboro, 
with his company, was on the ground. Joshua David, the 
ancestor of the family among us, was permanently disabled 
by a wound in the hand, and Capt. Pegues was shot in the 
leg. Here it was that Thomas Quick, an humble private in 
the ranks, seeing his officer's failing strength, though he 
still stood in the line, seized him as he was falling, bore him 
off, and with the aid of Nero, the Captain's servant, took 
him to a place of security and then begged to go back and 
get another shot at the red-coats who had shot so good a 
man as his Captain. Never will the Pegues forget the 
Quicks, and never ought they. 

On October 19, 1781, Cornwallis surrendered at York- 
town, Virginia. Charleston was slill held, but Governor 
Rutledge, feeling that the time had come for the more 
formal establishment of civil government in South Caro- 
lina, issued a call for the election ot members for Senate 
and House of Representatives. Since the capital of the 
State was yet under British power, the meeting was held at 
Jacksonborough, Colleton county. Tristram Thomas, 
Philip Pledger, William Dewitt and William Pegues were 
elected from Cheraw and took their seats in January, 1782. 



History of Marlboro County. 1 1 3 

But peace was not yet. It was not until July of that year 
that the British Parliament passed a bill to enable the 
King to consent to the independence of the colonies, and 
not until November, 1782, were the articles signed by the 
commissioners. 

In the meantime many irregularities and lawless deeds 
Were committed doubtless by both Whigs and Tories. 
Hard it was for the former to forget the insults offered 
their families and the injury done their property by their 
Tory neighbors. Hard for a Tory to feel safe in his house 
in the immediate vicinity of men he had wronged. Hard 
for men to settle to pursuits of peace and meet each other 
as friends who for a long time had been enemies in war. 
It was long after their officers had dismissed them to their 
homes, and charged them to bury past emnities and go 
home to forgive and forget. Long after the Legislature 
had proclaimed amnesty to such as would come in and 
swear* allegiance, and enjoined the observance of civil 
order, that Whig and Tory watched and feared each other 
with many heart-burnings and jealousies. Many a poor 
fellow was whipped or shot and some hung without judge 
or jury long after the last "red-coat" had gone, and no 
doubt but that many a cow, hog or horse was stolen in 
revenge for deeds of war. 

The American cause had triumphed, but loyalty died 
hard. Not until George III. said: **I was the last man in 
the Kingdom to consent to American independence, but 
now that it is granted I shall be the last man in the world 
to sanction any violation of it," could all men recognize it 
as an accomplished fact. 



CHAPTER XVI. 

Bishop Gregg. 

As has been already intimated, the writer has made 
free use of the work of the late Bishop Gregg, of Texas, 
sometimes giving his authority and at other times giving 
/facts contained in the Bishop's "History of the Old 
Cheraws," in his own language. No one at this day can 
hope to tell the story of the early settlers on the Pee Dee 
without drawing largely from this source. Kindly and 
generously Bishop Gregg has expressed his gratification 
in several communications to the author that his book 
lias been of service in this "labor of love." Although he 
was never a citizen of Marlboro, yet in his early life and 
•vigorous manhood Bishop Gregg was a near and much- 
loved neighbor; and, by his marriage with one of Marl- 
Jboro's fairest daughters, became almost a citizen and is 
justly entitled to a more extended notice than can be 
accorded to many a worthy son of the soil. His great- 
-grandfather, John Gregg, of Scottish origin, came to the 
Pee Dee in 1752, and was the father of a large family. A 
'brother, Joseph, settled lower down the river, and from 
liim came the large family in Marion and Florence coun- 
ties. From James, the first son of John, came a goodly 
:^roup; among them, David, the father of Alexander, the 
Jate Bishop of Texas, whose mother was Athalinda 
iBrocky. "Alexander was born at Society Hill, Darling- 
ton county. South Carolina, October 8, 1819. From an 
«early age he was a pupil in the St. David's Academy, of 
famous memory. At fifteen he went to Mt. Zion College 
-at Winnsboro, so celebrated for years, under the charge of 
"Wilson Hudson, Esq. In the latter part of November, 
in the year 1835, ^^ matriculated at the South Carolina 



History of Marlboro County. 1 1 5 

Colleg^e, entering the Junior class. At the reorganization 
of the college in January, 1836, under Hon. R. W. Barn- 
well as president, and embracing a curriculum with a 
more extended and thorough course of study, the young 
student being only sixteen, he was induced to enter the 
Sophomore class in order to have the advantages of a 
three years' course. He graduated in December, 1838, 
taking the first honor in a class of forty. Naturally drawn 
to the law, he applied himself to its study and entered the 
office of Robbins & Mclver in the fall of 1839 with the 
late Chancellor Inglis as a fellow student. In December, 
1840, they were both admitted to the bar. Returning to 
Cheraw, he formed a partnership with Gen. Blakeny for 
two years and after that was alone for a year." On the 
2ist of April, 1841, he was married to Miss Charlotte Wil- 
son KoUock, of Marlboro, a lady who had enjoyed the 
advantages of the highest culture and was possessed of 
unusual attractions of mind and character. This noble 
helpmeet cheerfully left her charming home in Carolina, 
and accompanied her husband to the wilds of Texas where 
duty seemed to call him. After blessing his life for nearly 
forty years with her presence and moulding influence, she 
went to her reward May 20, 1880; but not till her heart 
had been pained and chastened by the death of a precious 
son. 

The career of Mr. Gregg as a lawyer was unexpectedly 
terminated in the spring of 1844, when he felt called of 
God to another and higher course of life; the result of 
deep and serious religious convictions of earlier years. 
Now he was moved to abandon all else, and joyously 
gave himself to the ministry. Received into the Epis- 
copal church by the late Bishop Gadsden, he at once 
became a candidate for holy orders. The influence of the 
ministrations of Bishop Elliott, who was chaplain of the 
college during his student life, doubtless contributed to 
this result. In June, 1846, he was ordained deacon in St. 



ii6 History of Marlboro Comity, 

David's Church, at Cheraw, by Bishop Gadsden, and in 
January following, he was ordained to the priesthood, 
and became the rector of St. David's, in which office he 
continued thirteen years, not only beloved by his own 
church, but honored and admired by Christians of every 
name. 

In May, 1859, he was elected by the convention of that 
diocese Bishop of Texas, and, under the circumstances, 
felt it his duty to accept the call as the work of his life, 
although sundering many tender relations. His diocese 
then, and till 1874, embraced the entire State, which now 
for the first time had a bishop of its own. In October. 
1859, he was consecrated to his office in Richmond, Va., 
where the general convention of his church was then in 
session, and as soon as practicable, removed his family to 
Austin, which was to be their future home. In 1857, 
while yet a clergyman in South Carolina, Mr. Gregg was 
elected a trustee of the University of the South, located 
at Sewanee, Tenn. As Bishop of Texas, he was continued 
a trustee, and after the death of Bishop Green, of Missis- 
sippi, the Chancellor of the University, Bishop Gregg was 
elected to that office in 1887. The published writings of 
the Bishop consists of sermons. Episcopal charges, and 
the History of the Old Cheraws, which appeared in 1867. 
The circumstances which led to the work are given in the 
introduction. Every available source of information, it 
is believed, was examined, and, happily, much valuable 
matter preserved, thus escaping the ravages and losses 
which would inevitably have followed during the war 
between the States. This notice of Bishop Gregg is long, 
but every word is due. No man has done so much — none 
can do more to preserve the traditions and history of this 
portion of the State. Bishop Gregg has died since this 
chapter was prepared. He died at Sewanee, Tenn., a few 
years ago. 



CHAPTER XVII. 

A Chapter of Traditions and Recollections of 
Mr. Alfred Parish. 

Mr. Parish* is one upon whose head rests the frosts of 
four-score winters, and yet he is a man of remarkable 
vigor, both of body and mind, a man too, who for this 
long period has maintained amongst his neighbors the 
standing of one of solid worth. No man can call his 
word into question or impeach his honesty, he being a 
lover of good order, and scorning everything tricky or 
mean. 

He has been three times married, and is the father of 
thirteen children, ten of whom are living. His first wife 
was the daughter of William Spears, who was the mother 
of John, Joel and Henry Parish, noted for their successful 
farming in the Clio and Red Bluff regions. His second 
wife was Miss Mary McDaniel, and his third wife was Ellen, 
a daughter of Daniel Parkham. His parents, Noel Parish 
and Willie Lawrence, came to Marlboro from Gran- 
ville county, N. C, in the early part of the present cen- 
tury, and lived first at what is now known as the Ervin 
place, two miles from Bennettsville. This ancient cou- 
ple had five daughters who became mothers to several 
Marlboro families. One of them, Nancy, married Conner 
Cottingham, from whom sprang Andrew, Elkana and 
David. Mary married William Bolton, a kinsman of 
Capt. Frank Bolton, who has so efficiently filled the 
office of County Treasurer and County Commissioner, 
and was a gallant soldier in the late war, where he lost 
an arm. Lucy Parish married Mr. Bristow, the father of 
the well-known family of that name, which has given to 

♦Since died. 



1 1 8 History of Marlboro County, 



Marlfxiro two Sheriffs and a clerk of long standing, and 
which is still an extensive family' in the country-. 

A daughter of Mr. Bristow married Mr. Webster, the 
grandfather of William, Robert and George. Four 
brothers of Mr. Parish, Milton, Willey, Caleb and David, 
moved to Alabama many years ago. When Mr. Parish 
rcmemfiers the country first, Toler McDaniel lived on the 
road leading from Beauty Spot to Cheraw. Near him 
was Mrs. Parham with four sons, Avery, James, Lemuel 
and Wesley, and near the Beauty Spot Fork was Joseph 
McDaniel. On Carter Branch was Col. W. G. Feagan, 
and there his body rests. He was the son of the old 
schoolmaster, Neddy Feagan, who is said to have taught 
three generations of young ideas under the old regime of 
"birch and brawn." There are a number of worthy peo- 
ple in the county who are descended from this old school- 
master, and many an old land-paper bears the lines made 
by W. G. F^eagan, "District Surveyor," 

On the hill on the east side of the creek, on the road 
from Bennettsville to Hebron, lived Jonathan Cotting- 
ham, a brother to Conner, already mentioned, and the 
father of a large family. In his house, and cared for by 
him, was an old man, his father, Charles, whose body was 
the first interred in the Cottingham graveyard on the 
west side of the creek. The late Charles Cottingham, 
the son of Jonathan, an honest man and good citizen, was 
the father of most of those bearing the name in Marlboro. 
James, the "old singing-master," and for many years 
Major of the Lower Battalion of the 30th Regiment of 
Militia, moved to North Carolina and was kille by Fed- 
eral soldiers— a helpless old man, but has descendants in 
Marlboro county. 

When Mr. Parish first recollects the Hebron com- 
munity, the old men William Bridges, William Coving- 
ton, Nathan Thomas and Jonathan Meekins, were living 
in quiet contentment upon their little farms — with abun- 



History of Marlboro County, 1 19 



dant pasturage in the forest and meadows, fish in the 
streams and ponds, deer and wild turkeys in the woods. 
Now, immense fields of cotton and grain occupy the at- 
tention, and reward the industry of a dense population 
of thrifty people. Mr. Parish thinks that the Conners came 
from Maryland. He remembers a widow Conner who 
had a daugher, Nancy, that married William Spears, father 
of Lewis and Harris. After Conner's death the widow 
married John Breeden, who had a son, Lindsay, by a 
former marriage, and who was the father of our fellow 
citizens; Wm. K., James B., Peter L., Joseph L., Thomas, 
Andrew, and John L., deceased. After the marriage of 
the widow Conner and the widower Breeden, a son, the 
late Major Aaron Breeden, was born. Few families have 
attained to more prominence and thrift in business cir- 
cles than this one, the progenitor of which is remembered 
by Mr. Parish as he lived in Adamsville. Nor has he for- 
gotten how, in his boyhood days, he beheld and tasted 
the sweet cider as it flowed from the press of old Mr. 
Breeden, an attraction to the boys of the neighborhood. 
Upon one of the tributaries of "Three Creeks" in the 
Beauty Spot section was Fuller's old mill, gone to decay 
before Mr. Parish's time. But he remembered Henry, 
the husband of "Aunt Betsy," the maker of the historic 
"Fuller Cakes," which every old man can remember in 
his boyhood, as sold from her "cart "on the courtyard 
and muster-field. Nor has Marlboro ever seen any " gin- 
ger cake" since, that has equaled "Aunt Betsy's," has 
been the verdict of the people for years. 

Near the old mill lived Shadrach Fuller, from whom 
Mrs. Crawford Easterling is descended! A sister married 
John H. David, the father of Dr. W. J. David, and an- 
other sister married James Stubbs, from whom D. C. 
Odom sprang. The mother of Shadrach and his sisters 
was an aunt of Mr. Parish. She was Miss Lucy Parish 
before she married. 



120 History of Marlboro County, 

The McDaniel family seems to have been a numerous 
one, and to have intermarried with some of their neigh- 
bors already mentioned. We find them in different places, 
about a hundred years ago. In Beauty Spot were Thomas, 
Joseph, and Mrs. James Cook, mother of the Bennettsville 
family, from whom descended Mrs. Rachel Thomas and 
John B. In Hebron was George, with several sons, Wil- 
iam, Fred, and Thomas McDaniel. Some of the Brights- 
ville Stubbs claim a maternal descent from this name. 
Mr. Parish is connected with one, if not two branches 
of the family, and if all have sprung from the same origi- 
nal stock, it must have been one of the first upon the 
ground. • 

There was one tradition our friend was not averse to 
telling. That two of his father's brothers were soldiers 
in the patriot army while the family had their home in 
North Carolina. Who shall blame him if he is "proud 
of that fact ? " 

One other name was remembered by Mr. Parish as con- 
tributing a full share toward the peopling and civilization 
of the country, Mr. John Murdock, living near the 
Beauty Spot church. He had several sons, John, Andrew, 
James, David and Alexander. Several wereprominent men, 
but the name is now extinct. A number of good people 
amongst us descended from the noble old Scotchman who 
sought to train his children for honor and piety. The old 
homeisyet occupied by his descendants, children of Capt. 
Mclntyre. 



CHAPTER XVIII. 
After the Revolution. 

With the close of the protracted and arduous struggle 
through which the country had passed, and the return of 
peace ; came many responsibilities. The material devel- 
opment of the State, the establishment of schools, the 
payment of debts, the creation of a currency, and the 
enforcement of order and law, everything in short, essen- 
tial to the prosperity of a new government, demanded 
attention. The halls of justice long closed were to be 
reopened ; a nation just born was to take its initial steps 
in self-government, and not license, and lawlessness. The 
State Legislature was called to meet in January, 1783. 
Major Tristram Thomas was elected Senator for Cheraw 
District, and Lemuel Benton, Thomas Powe, William 
Pegues, William Strother, William DeWitt, and Claudius 
Pegues, members of the House of Representatives. At 
that session Claudius Pegues was elected Ordinary for 
the District, and William DeWitt, Sheriff. Both of these 
offices at that time were especially important. Many 
deaths had occurred, many estates were unsettled, and 
there was great need for prudence and skill in the men 
who were called to these responsible positions, and it was 
greatly to the credit of these gentlemen to be counted 
worthy to fill those places, and that they were not found 
wanting. 

The first general court after peace was declared was 
held at Long Bluff in November, Judge Grimke pre- 
siding. The Judge had but lately received his commis- 
sion. He was a student in England when the war broke 
out, but hurried to his native shore and threw him- 
self into the struggle upon the side of liberty. He sat 



122 History of Marlboro County. 

upon the bench and saw before him in the courtroom and 
the **jury box" the forms of men, who, like himself, had 
passed through the hardships and dangers of the field 
while their property was exposed to the depredations of 
the Tories, and could yet rise above emotions of resent- 
ment and hatred. He counseled his countrymen no longer 
to brand their people with this appellation, but to seek 
for things that make for peace. For thirty-six years he 
lived to enforce and expound justice and law. Judging 
from the anecdotes that Judge O'Neal records of him in 
his "Bench and Bar," we should say of him, **A terror to 
evil-doers," and a "Spur to plodding lawyers." 

In the Edgefield court, 1815, the sessions docket was 
exceedingly heavy. The "solicitor, Mr. Starke, presented 
forty bills of indictment for every grade of offense from 
assault and battery to murder. Thirty-nine were found 
"true bills." Many convictions followed. One of the Edge- 
field rowdies of the day, looking on at the arraignment and 
conviction of so many, swore it 'was no place for him to 
be,' for said he, 'Starke holds and Grimke skins.' " No 
doubt the wise words of this Judge, addressed to a Grand 
Jury composed of such men as George Hicks, Morgan 
Brown, Moses Pearson, Philip Pledger, Thomas Ellerbe, 
and others of like spirit, had much effect in restoring 
peace and order; in encouraging the people in self-reliance, 
industry and respect of law. It also encouraged the im- 
provement of public highways and river navigation. It 
was at this term of court that the Grand Jury recom- 
mended the opening of a road from Long Bluff to Barnes s 
bridge, or Gum Swamp, where it was to meet another 
from Cross Creek, now Fayettville, in North Carolina, the 
road upon which Bennettsville is located 

It was during the session of 1785 that an Act passed the 
Legislature, establishing inferior courts of justice, like 
the County Courts of some neighboring States. By this 
Act the District of Cheraw was divided into three Coun- 



History of Marlboro County, 1 25 

ties, Darlington, Chesterfield, and Marlboro, the latter 
embracing the territory on the eastern side of the Great 
Pee Dee, and which is included in the County of to-day. 
By this Act justices were to be appointed, with power to 
build court-houses, lay taxes for this purpose, hold 
quarterly sessions, have jurisdiction in causes at "commoD 
law," when the debt was "liquidated by bond, or note of 
hand, or where the damages did not exceed fifty pounds/" 
and in minor criminal cases, with the right of appeal to 
the higher courts. The first Board of Justices appointed 
for Marlboro consisted of the following : Claudius 
Pegues, George Hicks, Morgan Brown, Tristram Thomas^ 
Claudius Pegues, Jr., Moses Pearson and Thomas Evans. 
The position was one of trust, demanding wisdom and in- 
tegrity. As "gold is purified in the fire," the ordeal through 
which these men had passed had proven their character 
before their fellow citizens. They seemed to have organ- 
ized at once, and tradition has it that they met for a time 
at Gardner's Bluff, or near there, but the permanent loca- 
tion selected was nearer to Crooked Creek, near by what 
is now Evans' Mill. Gen. Thomas's conveyance of the 
ground to the above-named Commissioners is upon 
record. The building erected was of wood, two stories 
high — capacious and substantial, but the locality proved 
unhealthy. The court-house was found to be inconven- 
iently located, and in 1819 steps were taken to change the 
seat of justice to a more central and healthy spot. So, in 
1824, a new court-house was finished at Bennnettsville^ 
the present site. 

It is not to be understood that the Circuit courts were 
abandoned when the County courts were established. 
The court for Cheraw District of the Northern Circuit 
seems yet to have been regularly held, but this dual sys- 
tem does not appear to have been satisfactory, and a 
change in the system was thought to be necessary. So 
that, at the session of Legislature, 1799, a bill was passed for 



124 History of Marlboro Coutity. 



"instituting^ District courts in the several Counties of the 
State." The Counties were, therefore, called Districts 
until 1868, when the Convention of reconstruction restored 
tl^e old title. 

Let us turn back to the natal day in 1785 when the 
three divisions formed in Cheraw District had to be named. 
One of them, Darlington, took the name of a gallant col- 
onel who distinguished himself in the War of Independ- 
ence. Chesterfield honored the old English Earl whose 
name has long been the synonym of dignity and grace. 
Our own division went across the water also in search of 
a name, and fixed on England's grand old soldier, who 
never knew defeat in the battles of a lifd-time, and honored 
the Duke of Marlborough by taking his heroic name. Be- 
fore passing entirely from the County court period of our 
history, it may be well to mention other men who sat 
upon the bench of justices. In March, 1786, we find Wil- 
liam Thomas, Thomas Lide, and William Easterling. The 
latter is recognized as the ancestor of the Adamsville 
branch of the family bearing that name. He was after- 
wards made Ordinary and served until his death in honor- 
able old age. 

Mr. Lide ("Colonel," he was called) is said to have 
been a man of high character, the grandfather of Governor 
John Lide Wilson, and the father of five sons; John, 
Thomas, Charles M., Robert and James; also a daughter 
who first became Mrs. Twitty and afterwards Mrs. Burn. 
Charles Motte Lide, one of the sons, was considered one 
of the most remarkable men of his day. Educated, intel- 
lectual, a gifted orator, few men could so sway the emo- 
tions of an audience; but strangely erratic, and of feeble 
health and irregular habits, he sank into an early grave. 
The Colonel and Justice was a pious man, a prominent 
Baptist, and died greatly lamented, soon after his ap- 
pointment to a justiceship in Marlboro. In 1787 William 
Thomas came from Maryland and settled a few miles 



History of Marlboro County, 125 

above Cheraw, on the east side of the river, married a 
Miss Little, who had some property, to which he largely 
added. One son, William L., was given to this pair. He 
married a Miss Benton, who had two sons, Alexander, 
who died unmarried, and William L., who married Jane 
McQueen, and died childless. His widow afterwards be- 
came the wife of Col. John Campbell, the Congressman, 
and passed calmly away within the last few months. 
Thus it is seen that this branch of the Thomas family is 
extinct. 

In 1789 Drury Robertson was made a justice. It is said 
that this gentleman came to Marlboro after the war. If 
so he must have been a man of marked influence, for he 
became prominent in the affairs of the country at once, 
having been elected to the Legislature the year before he 
was made a Justice. There is a tradition that he had a 
command in the revolutionary army, and this may have 
helped him to positions where there were so many worthy 
competitors. 

Major Robertson made property, and secured a splendid 
body of land upon both sides of Naked Creek, and built 
a mill or two upon that stream. He was the maternal 
grandfather of that noble son of Marlboro, Col. William 
T. Ellerbe. Samuel Brown, a member of the Brownsville 
family, and George Cherry, another citizen of Lower 
Marlboro, and Benjamin Hicks, also were members of this 
County Court Commission, before it was finally abolished 
in 1799. It is proper in this connection to place upon 
record the names of the men who were elected from 
Marlboro, to the State Legislature, bearing in mind that 
until 1790 they were chosen to represent Cheraw District, 
or St. David's Parish, rather than the separate counties. 
In 1786 William Thomas was elected Senator, and Calvin 
Spencer, Robert Baxter, Morgan Brown, Andrew Hunter, 
Lemuel Benton, and William Strother, Representatives 
Most of the latter resided on the western side of the river, 



126 History of Marlboro County, 

which was altogether fair, since the eastern side had the 
Senator. In 1788 the same members appear. On May 
1 2th, of that year, a convention assembled for the ratifica- 
tion of the Federal Constitution. The delegates from the 
Cheraw District were Lemuel Benton, Tristram Thomas, 
William DeWitt, Calvin Spencer, S. Taylor, R. Brownfield, 
and Benj. Hicks. This delegation voted for the ratifica- 
tion. In November of that year Morgan Brown was 
elected Senator, and Robert Ellison, Charles Evans, 
Thomas Evans, Robert Brownfield, Drury Robertson, and 
Henry Cannon, Representatives. It was the Legislature 
of which these were members that issued a call for a 
State Constitutional Convention, which met in Columbia 
in May, 1790. For St. David's Parish the following dele- 
gates were sent : Calvin Spencer, Benj. Hicks, Lem 
Benton, Robert Ellison, Charles Evans, Morgan Brown and 
Rev. Evan Pugh. This Convention adopted a Constitution 
June 3d, which gave the three counties of Cheraw Dis- 
trict, two Representatives each, and two Senators for the 
three. At the next election Morgan Brown and Robert 
Allison were chosen Senators, and Thomas Evans, and 
John Jones James were Representatives from Marlboro. 
In 1792, Robert Allison, whose term of service had ex- 
pired, was re-elected Senator, and John J.James and Benj. 
Hicks Representatives from Marlboro. In 1794 Marlboro 
elected as Representatives J. J. James and Drury Robert- 
son, and in 1796, they were re-elected, with William and 
Tristram Thomas as Senators. In 1798, William Whit- 
field took the place of Mr. James, and John Mclver that 
of General Thomas in the Senate. In 1800, Drury 
Robertson was succeed by David Stewart in the House, 
and Alex Mcintosh took the place of William Thomas. 
The organization of the militia seems to have received 
the attention of the Legislature at an early period. In 
the returns of 1 787-1788 the Cheraw regiment, Col. Ben- 
ton commanding, is put down at one thousand men, and 



History of Marlboro County, 127 

in 1789 a cavalry company was organized at Cheraw with 
Samuel Taylor as captain, Holden Wade and Benny 
Hicks, lieutenants, and forty privates. By 1794 the 
militia of the State had so increased that the Cheraw regi- 
ment had grown into a brigade of three regiments, the 
Thirty-seventh or Marlboro, under Col. Thomas Evans. 
Col. Benton, who, for long years, had been deservedly 
popular, faithful and true upon the field of war, foremost 
as a statesman, a leader in every enterprise looking to the 
country's welfare, was now in Congress as the first repre- 
sentative of the Pee Dee district. He naturally enough 
aspired to, and expected to be made a brigadier. But 
Maj. Thomas was also an idol with his people; faithful, 
true and capable wherever the voice of his country, or 
duty to his Saviour called him, and he it was whom his 
countrymen preferred as the commander of the brigade. 
The sensibilities ot the soldier were touched when one 
that had fought at his side, and since served as a subordi- 
nate, should be promoted above him. Benton promptly 
resigned his commission as Colonel of the Cheraw regi- 
ment, and Capt. Spencer was elected in his place. In 
1800 the Cheraw brigade numbered 2,224 men, and the 
total population of the district is set down at 18,015, an 
increase of nearly 8,000 since 1792, when the total was 
10,706. Of this latter number 3,288 were colored, and in 
1800 the slaves were 4,877. For Marlboro, in 1800, the white 
population was 3,880, and the colored 1,393, nearly three 
to one in favor of the whites. Now, we are largely out- 
numbered by the sable faces. Has it been that the white 
people have emigrated and left their servants behind? or 
has it been that the natural increase of the colored race 
has so largely exceeded the white? 



CHAPTER XIX. 
Prominent Men After the Revolution. 

So far as this writer now remembers, in all her history 
Marlboro has furnished the State but two governors. One 
of these has already been named in these pages; Dr. B. 
K. Henagan, who filled out the unexpired term of Gov. 
Noble, who died in office. The other was John Lide 
Wilson. This man was born in Marlboro, a few miles 
from Cheraw, in 1784. After his school days were over 
he was admitted to the bar in 1807 and settled down to 
his practice in Georgetown. In the next year he was 
elected a member of the House of Representatives, and 
subsequently filled a seat in the State Senate. In 1822 
he was made president of the Senate, and, before the ses- 
sion was ended, was elected governor. Judge O'Neal, in 
his "Bench and Bar,'* gives an estimate of his character, 
and says: "His intellect was a fine one; his speeches, 
political and legal, were always compiled with wonderful 
arrangement and care, and his voice and manner were 
fine and graceful. If he had cultivated the great talents 
with which God had endowed him, he must have been 
among the greatest men of South Carolina." He died in 
Charleston in 1849 ^^^ was buried there with military 
honors. • * 

It is fit that mention be made of James R. Ervin, a 
young man when he came to Marlboro as a lawyer in 1809, 
having been born in Marion county in 1788. He soon 
rose to popular favor, and was soon elected a member of 
the House of Representatives, a position he held until he 
moved to Marion. But upon his return to Marlboro he 
was elected to the Senate. Subsequently he went to 
Cheraw, and the Chesterfield people made him their 



History of Marlboro County, 1 29 

Senator. Few men have lived in Marlboro of a more 
handsome and commanding physique — tall, well propor- 
tioned, a countenance beaming with intelligence and 
humor, with captivating, easy manners and charming con- 
versational powers, he was the center and life of every 
circle. As an orator, cool, fearless, ready and forcible, he 
seemed born to lead; and had he not relied too much upon 
his natural gifts, but given himself more to application, 
he might have climbed to any height in public favor and 
position. Among the grand men of a past generation, 
who swayed popular gatherings in the stirring times of 
nullification in the Pee Dee section, the writer can remem- 
ber none, who in his boyhood's fancy, towered above Col. 
Ervin. He had a son, Major E. P. Ervin, who settled at 
Bennettsville as a lawyer, went to the Legislature, was 
commissioner in equity, married a daughter of Mr. John 
McCollum and left a family of several sons and daughters. 
Soon after the Revolutionary War was ended Robert 
Campbell came to the Pee Dee and settled near Hunt's 
Bluff in Marlboro. He had been a British officer, had 
large wealth, married Miss Blair and soon became a 
money-making, prosperous planter. He was careful in 
the education and culture of his children, Robert B., 
James, John and Maria. The daughter, Maria, married 
David G. Coit, and was the mother of Major J. C. Coit, 
of Cheraw, and others. Her second husband was Major 
James McQueen. It is said that when the War of 1812 
came on between Great Britain and the United States, 
the elder Capt. Campbell earnestly urged his first born, 
Robt. B., to accept a commission in the British army 
which he offered to procure for him. But the son indig- 
nantly refused what to him appeared a traitorous tempta- 
tion. Young Campbell was gifted, of courteous, courtly 
manners, splendid form and features, and soon rose into 
prominence. He married into the Lee family, of Virgi- 
nia, and was elected a member of Congress. Subse- 



130 History of Marlboro County, 

quently he sold his splendid plantation (what is now 
Drake's Mill and Lowden plantation), and went to Ala- 
bama, and filled a mission to Havana, and afterwards to 
England. 

• Col. John Campbell, after his literary course, studied 
law, it is thought at Litchfield, Conn., was admitted to 
the bar in 1822, but seems not to have practiced long, if 
at all. He married Mrs. Jane Thomas, the widow of W. 
L. Thomas. She was Miss McQueen before marriage, a 
most amiable, excellent woman, who died at a great age 
only a few years ago. Col. Campbell was first elected to 
the Twenty-first Congress, which met in 1829. In 1837 he 
appeared again as a member of the Twenty-fifth and was 
three times elected after this. He died universally lament- 
ed soon after his last election. He was a man of great pol- 
ish, graceful manner, amiable spirit, refined, modest and 
yet fearless; one of the most fascinating, fluent speakers 
of his day, capable of charming all circles in society, the 
favorite alike of all classes of his people. The Messrs. 
Campbell, of Blenheim, and James P., of Bennettsville, are 
descended from the first Robert, but not by the first mar- 
riage. 

Soon after the war for independence there came to the 
lower part of Marlboro a man, who, if not distinguished 
for great intellectual force, was yet notable on several 
accounts. Baron De Poelnitz. It was claimed that the 
same lofty spirit that impelled his more distinguished 
•countrymen, Kosciusko and Pulaski, to come from Poland 
here, moved Poelnitz. He purchased a large body of 
land on the river, below Three Creeks, and, bringing his 
effects up the Pee Dee from Georgetown by boat, built a 
store-house, and thought to establish a town, and to this 
•day the place is called ''Ragtown." Tradition has it that 
he brought numerous seeds from the old world to sow in 
the virgin soil of the new; and among the rest the intro- 
duction of "nut grass" is charged to his account. It used 



History of Marlboro County, 131 

to be told that when the old man came to die, he charged 
his friends that when they thought him dead they must, 
before burying him, apply heated irons to his feet, and see 
sure signs of decay; then place his body in a strong double 
case, bury it upon a certain sand-ridge in "Ragtown,"and 
"plant an oak at his head, that the dust of his body enter- 
ing into the growing tree might not be found at the gen- 
eral resurrection." The writer remembers a tree pointed 
out as the majestic sentinel, keeping watch and guard 
over the dust of the Baron. Whatever the singularities 
of this old Baron (and, perhaps, the only one Marlboro 
has ever had to live and die upon her soil), he seems to 
have accumulated property, and reared a cultured family. 
A son, Julius, as remembered, married a daughter of Col. 
Rogers, and when their children were nearly all grown, 
went with them to Alabama. A bachelor brother to 
Julius, odd, simple-minded old man, whom the young 
people used to love to tease, clung to Julius as the vine 
to its prop. The name is no longer known in the county. 
A daughter of the Baron, a beautiful accomplished 
woman, first married a Mr. Stewart, and after his death 
became the wife of Robeson Carloss. Mr. Carloss was a 
prominent useful man in his day, who came from Vir- 
ginia; lived and raised a family in the Brownsville com- 
munity; was long known as a justice of the peace. The 
name is extinct on the Pee Dee. 



CHAPTER XX. 
Members of the Legislature and Other Officers. 

The journals of the State Senate and also of the House 
of Representatives have been carefully searched, with the 
desire to obtain a correct list of the men who have repre- 
sented Marlboro in the Legislature from the Revolution- 
ary War to the year 1890 ; and it is thought that the fol- 
lowing meets the requirement. It is to be remembered 
that before, and for some years after the formation of the 
three counties, Chesterfield, Darlington and Marlboro, 
out of the territory comprising the "Old Cheraw District,'* 
the members were elected as from the old district, or "St. 
David's Parish," and even after the Representatives be- 
gan to be chosen from the counties separately, for a 
number of years, till about 1805, the three counties (or 
districts as they were called) continued to be a single 
senatorial district. Therefore, it will be observed that in 
a few instances, men residing outside of Marlboro are 
put down as representing it in the Senate ; but as at 
almost every election one or more Marlboro men were 
returned along with others from the other counties to the 
House, only such as appeared from Marlboro are en- 
rolled in the list of the lower House : 



Tristram Thomas. 1802-03 

William DeWitt. 1804-05 

William Thomas. 1806-09 

Morgan Brown. 1 810-13 

Morgan Brown. 1814-17 

Robert Ellison. 1818-21 

f Thomas Powe, 1822-25 

Tristram Thomas. 1826-29 

I7Q6-07 i Willie™ Thomas, 1830-33 

790-97 -j Tristram Thomas. 1834-37 

1798-99 ri^^^TS??^"""^'' ^838-41 

'^ ^^ \ John Mclver. 1842-45 

^Q^ i Alexander Mcintosh, 1846-49 

1000-01 •{ T I- ■»«■ T O 

\ John Mclver. 1850-57 



1783 
1784-85 
1786-87 
1788-89 
1790-91 
1792-93 

1794-95 



Thomas Powe, 
Benjamin Rogers. 
Hugh Lide. 
William Whitfield. 
Thomas Evans. 
Robeson Carloss. 
Robert B. Campbell. 
James R. Ervin. 
Robert B. Campbell. 
Barnabas K. Henagan. 
Daniel C. Murdock. 
James E. David. 
William T. Ellerbe. 
C. W. Dudley. 



History of Marlboro County. 



133 



1858-61 Charles Irby. 

1862-65 Wm. D. Johnson. 

1865-67 T. C. Weatherly. 

1868-76 H. J. Maxwell. 



1876-89 C. S. McCall. 
1890-94 W. D. Evans. 
1894- H. M. Stackhouse. 



REPRESENTATIVES. 



1783 
1784-87 

1788-89 ■ 



I790-9I-J 
1792-93 I 
1794-95 ] 
1796-97 I 
1798-99 I 

1800-01 -j 
1802-03 
1804-05 ] 
I §06-07 
1808-09 ] 



1810-11 \ 

1812-13 I 

1814-15 

1816-17] 

1818-19 
1820-23 

1824-25 I 
1826-27 \ 
1828-29 -j 
1830-31 I 



1832-33 ] 

1834-35 
1836-37 
1838-39 

1840-41 \ 



Claudius Pegues. 
Morgan Brown. 
Drury Robertson, 
Robert Allison. 
Thomas Evans. 
John J. Jones. 
John J. Jones, 
Benjamin Hicks. 
J. J. Jones, 
Drury Robertson. 
Drury Robertson, 
J. J. Jones. 
William Whitfield, 
D. Robertson. 
David Stuart, 
Tristram Thomas. 
William Easterling. 
William Whitfield, 
Robert Allison. 
Tristram Thomas. 
Thomas Evans, 
John Rogers. 
James R. Ervin, 
Tristram Thomas. 
T. Thomas, 
Josiah J. Evans. 
William Whitfield. 
J. A. Evans, 
Geo. R. Whitfield. 
James Gillespie. 
James Gillespie, 
G. R. Whitfield, 
T. J. Williams. 
Thos. J. Williams, 
Chas. Lide. 
John Murdock, 
John M. Rogers. 
C. J. Lide, 
John Murdock. 
John Murdock, 
Chas. J. Lide. 
Wm. T. Ellerbe. 
C. W. Dudley. 
James E. David. 
C. W. Dudley, 
W. T. Ellerbe. 



1842-43 
1844-45 
1846-47 
1848-49 
1850-51 
1852-53 
1854-56 
1856-57 
1858-59 
1860-61 

1862-63 

1864-65 
1866-67 

1868-69 
1870-71 
1872-73 

1874-75 
1876-77 
1878-79 
1880-81 
1882-83 
1884-85 
1886-87 
1888-89 



W. J. Cook, 
E. P. Ervin. 

E. P. Ervin. 
W. T. Ellerbe. 

J. W. Harrington, 

B. B. Rogers. 

J. W. Harrington,- 
W. J. Cook. 
T. C. Weatherly, 
Chas. A. Thornwell, 
Chas. A. Thornwell, 
T. C. Weatherly. 

C. A. Thornwell, 
Chas. Irby. 

A. G. Johnson, 
P. B. McLaurin. 
C. P. Townsend, 
J. H. Hudson. 
W. J. Cook, 
J. W. Henagan, 

C. P. Townsend, 
T. C. Weatherly. 
S. J. Townsend, 
Harris Covington. 
James Jones, 

J. G. Grant. 
T. P. Stubbs, 

D. P. McLaurin. 
J. W. Thomas, 
Sam'l Jackson. 
Jacob Allman, 
T. C. Weatherly, 
P. M. Hamer, 
T. N. Edens. 

1*. M. Hamer, 
T. N. Edens. 
H. H. Newton, 
J. R. Parker, 
J. B. McLaurin, 
Knox Livingston. 
Simeon Gibson, 

F. W. Kinney. 
J no. N. Drake, 
W. D. Evans. 
T. N. Edens, 
W. D. Evans. 



134 History of Marlboro County. 

o j H. M. Stackhouse, i C. P. Townsend, 

1090-92 ^ j^^ ^ McLaurin. 1894-96-^ J. P. Bunch, 

( H. M. Stackhouse, ( J. F. McLaurin, 

1892-94 -j Jas. T. Covington, ( J. F. McLaurin, 

( Dan C. Ro'per, 1896- X Knox Livingston, . 

( T. I. Rogers. 

It is interesting to observe that of these seventy men 
whom the people have honored with their suffrages, ten 
have rendered service in both branches of the Legislature. 
One of them, B; K. Henagan, practiced medicine. Mr. 
McCall has been a successful merchant, having at the 
same time an extensive farming interest, which was also 
true of Dr. Henagan. Fifteen of the seventy were law- 
yers, three of whom were elevated to the bench. Several 
of them devoted much attention to their farms. But tak- 
ing these from the list there are left fifty-two farmers; a 
little more than three- fourths of the whole; and some of 
those who served longest were of this class. One of them 
was six times elected; another five times. Four were four 
times, and four others three times; while only one law- 
yer has been able to carry his election the fourth time, and 
two others reached a third term. So that if Marlboro is 
and has always been an agricultural county, so has it been 
in all the years of its history a government of farmers, and 
yet in most of the members of the bar that have represent- 
ed her interests in the councils of the State, she has hon- 
ored herself in honoring them. Time was, indeed, when 
the voters of Marlboro scarce thought to inquire into the 
profession or calling in life, of the man that sought their 
suffrages. Is he worthy f Is he capable? No doubt mis- 
takes were made, but it was not when a lawyer was in the 
Senate that "poor Marlboro'* rang in the corridors of the 
capitol. That people is in danger, that allows one class 
to array itself against another. Just as in the world 
of nature, we need variety, and can only have the 
grandest perfection of beauty and utility; so in social, polit- 
ical and industrial affairs we need various classes, industries 



History of Marlboro County. 



135 



and callings to give strength, order and success to the 
whole. As the old men of seventy years ago looked 
upon the manly form of Gillespie or Robert B. Campbell, 
and heard their stirring words, they may have felt, these 
are the men to move senates, sway juries, and impress 
judges; or, as they met the polite, modest youthful Evans, 
or laughed over the anecdotes and pleasantries of Ervin, 
they hardly thought or cared to remember that these were 
young lawyers, destined to impress themselves upon their 
country; or later on, when Ellerbe and David met upon 
the stump, who cared whether he voted for the farmer or 
the lawyer? Both commanded the respect of his friends 
for what he was^ in himself, and few men cared as to his 
calling, so he honored himself in its pursuit. 

The following is thought to be a full and correct list of 
the Sheriffs, Clerks and Ordinaries who have held office 
in Marlboro»from the Revolution to date: 



SHERIFFS OF MARLBORO. 



CLERKS OF COURT. 



Time 

of 

Service. 

1 John Andrews 1785 i 

2 James Moore 1786 2 

3 William Pledger 1792 3 

4 Thomas Evans 1804 4 

5 Benjamin Rogers 1808 5 

6 William Bristow 1812 6 

7 Chas. S. Strother 1816 7 

8 Joshua David 1820 8 

9 Wm. Pouncy 1824 9 

10 Geo. Bristow 1828 10 

11 E. L. Henagan 1832 11 

12 M. Townsend -....1838 12 

13 Geo. Bristow 1842 13 

14 T. C. Weatherly 1846 14 

15 B. F. McGilvray 1850 15 

16 Jno. W. Henagan 1854 16 

17 B. F. McGilvray 1858 17 

18 J. L. Breeden 1862 18 

19 A. E. Bristow 1866 

20 J. L. Easterling 1870 19 



Time 

of 

Service. 

John Wilson 1785 

JoelWinfield 1787 

William Fields 1788 

Drury Robertson 1789 

Joel Winfield 1790 

Jno. Winfield 1804 

John Thomas 1808 

John A. Evans 1812 

James Gillespie,/ro tern i8i6 

Morgan J. Brown 1816 

Wm. Bristow 1820 

Wm. Pledger, pro tem.iS2^ 

Joshua David 1824 

James C. Thomas 1828 

Geo. Bristow 1832 

Robt. D. Thomas 1838 

Robt. D. Thomas 1842 

Peter McCall 1846 

Held office till his death 1871 
T. W. Allen, 1871 to. . .1876 



1 36 History of Marlboro County. 

SHERIFFS OF MARLBORO. CLERKS OF COURT. 

Time Time 

of of' 

Service. Service. 

21 J. H. Jones 1874 20 C. M. Weatherly 1876 

22 A. H. Knight 1875101876 to 1892 

23 G.W.Waddill appointed. 1876 21 Jas. A. Drake, 1892 to. .1896 

24 W. P. Emanuel 1876 

Died 1879 

25 B. A. Rogers appointed. 1879 

25 B. A. Rogers elected 1880 

to 1892 

26 J. B. Green elected 1892 to 1896 

Ordinaries of Marlboro. 

Joel Winfield, clerk, served as ordinary till 1803. 

William Easterling served from 1803 till his death, 1835. 

Lewis E. Stubbs elected in 1835. 

Joshua David elected in . 

A. N. Bristow elected in , served till his death 1867. 

In 1868 a new constitution was adopted and the office 
of Ordinary was abolished, and the office of Probate 
Judge instituted. Jeremiah Grant was elected first to the 
office in 1868 and served till 1872. 

J. Wesley Smith elected 1872, served till 1876. 

Knox Livingston elected 1876, served till 1878. 

C. T. Munnerlyn elected 1878, but did not qualify. 

Milton McLaurin, appointed, served till 1880. 

Milton McLaurin elected 1880, served till 1882. 

Milton McLaurin elected 1882, resigned 1884. 

W. E. Thomas appointed 1884. 

W. E. Thomas elected in 1884, served till 1886. 

T. L Rogers elected in 1886, served till 1888. 

Milton McLaurin elected in 1888, still serving, 1896. 



CHAPTER XXI. 

Scottish Settlers. McColls and McLaurins. 

After the battle of Culloden, which occurred in 1746, 
many Scottish families emigrated to America. The two 
Carolinas were fortunate in having some of these valuable 
people to make their homes within their borders. 

Among those ranked as rebels in that conflict several 
came to the Pee Dee who were destined to distinction in 
after time ; of those the Mclvers and Mclntoshs are 
worthy of mention. It is likely also that about the same 
time the McLeans, McLaurins, McRaes, McColls and 
others who happened to be on the losing side, crossed the 
waters, in search of liberty and peace ; and settled in the 
country between the Cape Fear and Pee Dee. But the 
ancestors of the names at the head of this chapter seem to 
have come at a later date, soon after the Revolutionary War. 
The writer is largely indebted to his old friend, Mr. John 
L. McCall, for valuable information. Mr. McCoU,* now 
seveaty-eight, is still vigorous and strong, in body and 
mind, intelligent, thoughtful, accurate, and greatly inter- 
ested in having the traditions of the old families pre- 
served, has "himself been an active participant in the 
affairs of the country. He was born in Marion, came to 
Marlboro a boy of twelve, spent the prime of his life in 
farming and mercantile pursuits, mostly at Clio, and in 
its vicinity. He was elected Tax Collector for Marlboro 
in 1862, and assisted Messrs. McRae and Weatherly in 
the same service in earlier years. His wife was a daughter 
of Mr. Archie Sinclair, who came from Islyjin Scotland, 
and a highly respectable family of sons and daughters 

* Since dead. 



13^ History of Marlboro County, 

honor the training of the excellent couple. Among them 
are Mrs. H. H. Newton, T. D. and C. S. McCall of Ben- 
nettsville. 

When volunteers were called for to go to the Seminole 
War in 1835, Mr. McCall was serving an apprenticeship in a 
tailor's establishment, but at once enlisted in the company 
of Capt. Elmore, of Columbia. He remembers how his 
youthful mind was impressed with the wealth, liberality 
and patriotism of the elder Wade Hampton, who offered 
to furnish twenty horses if the company could be mounted 
and go as cavalry. That brief service fully satisfied the 
martial ambition of the young aspirant for fame, and made 
him content to follow ever after the pursuits of peace. 
May his last days be as calm as the setting sun, and all 
that bear his name rise up to bless his memory. 

John, the father of the above, came from Appin Scot- 
land in 1 791, being then in his fourteenth year. With 
him were several relatives, and they first found shelter 
under the hospitable roof of a kinsman, David McCall, 
who had come over earlier, and was living at what has 
long been known as the Daniel Graham place, near the 
North Carolina State line. John McCoU lived at what 
was then called Mt. Washington, now Tatum. Subse- 
quently did business at Marlboro Old Court House. He 
married a Miss Curry, had but one son, besides our friend, 
to grow to manhood, and he was killed by a horse. 

An uncle named Daniel, died in this country. Hugh G. 
McColl is also remembered as a native Scotchman, who 
came over about the same time with the others, was re- 
lated to them, and settled on Little Pee Dee and is repre- 
sented in this country yet in the descendants of John C. 
and Nancy McColl. The old people were fond of talking 
of "Big Solomon," who married a daughter of " David the 
first.'* Tradition represents him as a school teacher, a "man 
of learning." He was the father of "Long Hugh," who 
^'s remembered as a soldier of the War of 181 2, the father 



History of Marlboro County. 139 

of David, Solomon, John and Christian. This second 
David is the father of D. D. McCoU of Bennettsville 
'* Big Solomon" was also the father of Peter McColl, who 
for twenty-five years was the Clerk of the Court for Marl- 
boro and died in office in 1871. He also conducted before 
'he war the first branch bank ever established in this 
county, being part of the Bank of Cheraw. The neatness 
of pensmanship of the Clerk's office during his occupancy 
is a monument to his memory. 

Another, Hugh, called ^'Steady Hugh," came about the 
same time with the others, from whom is descended Mrs. 
Effie McLaurin, mother of the excellent young men, John 
F., Hugh L., Luther and W. B. McLaurin, sons of Capt. 
L. L. McLaurin. D. D. McColl is also a grandson of this 
"Steady Hugh," on his mother's side. Another Solomon, 
called "Little Solomon," of about the same age as Big 
Solomon, was the father of Hugh D., better known as a 
deaf mute, who also has representatives in the county. 
The old people will remember that John "Gurly " was a 
brother to Hugh D., wha married a Miss Cameron, and 
from whom was descended John, Hugh and Malcom Mc- 
Coll, citizens of the Judson community. "Stumpy" 
Duncan was the father of that excellent old man Lock B. 
McCall, who, when near four-score years, was drowned in 
Beaver Dam Creek, near his residence, while bathing. 
He was honest, inoffensive and kind of heart. He, too, 
was a soldier of the Seminole War, a private in the com- 
pany of Capt. Williamson in Harllee's Battalion. A 
brother of his named John has left descendants behind 
him. 

Major John McColl, a brother of "Stumpy" Duncan, 

who commanded the Lower Battalion in the Marlboro 

Regiment for a time, was a man of excellent character, 

pleasing manners, and was the father of those worthy men 

of the Judson neighborhood. Lock and Joseph McColl. 

It is told of the Major that (like a good many other 
10 



140 History of MarUboro County, 

militia officers in olden time) he did not enjoy an extensive 
knowledge of "tactics," and that on one occasion, when 
his battalion was on review, he gave a command which 
either was awkwardly given or not understood, and the 
left wing doubled upon itself in much confusion. The 
Major was quite a short, small man, but was well mounted 
upon a charger richly caparisoned. Seeing that the 
left flank was in a tangle, he endeavored to put spurs 
to his horse, but his heels only reached the lower part of 
the saddle skirts, but by dint of coaxing and spurring he 
galloped down the broken lines and cried out in his 
broad Scotch, "What the dickens got you into sich a hick- 
elty-pickelty ? Git ye straight again." 

Mr. John A. McColl, exemplary man, splendid, useful 
citizen, who only a few years ago sank into the grave, full 
of years, and full of the praises and affections of his 
countrymen, especially of Hebron and Clio, where he 
lived so long and lived so well, is said to have sprung 
from a branch of the family that settled upon Mountain 
Creek, and his relationship to, the foregoing was not so 
close. John A. McColl's grandparents, John and Marga- 
ret McColl, and their children, came from Scotland to 
America in 1775. They landed at Wilmington and settled 
near Mountain Creek, in Richmond County, North Caro- 
lina. His maternal grandparents, John and Mary Cameron, 
and their children, came from Scotland to America in the 
ship Mary Ann, and likewise settled at Mountain Creek, 
North Carolina. Dougald McColl, his father, married 
Jeannette Cameron and came to Marlboro about 1819. 
John A. had two brothers, Daniel, who died in Louisiana, 
on the Red River, an overseer, and Hugh, who was younger. 
John A. was the father of nine children. Four pnly are 
now alive, Wellington, Alex, Mrs. Lewis Spears and Miss 
Nancy McColl. 

But our friend from whom so much of this information 
was obtained mentioned two other families of McColls 



History of Marlboro Cou7ity. 141 

of Marlboro, whom he claims as of the same stock with 
those above named. One of. these, in the childhood of the 
writer, lived in the Brownsville community, a venerable 
Scotch lady, we all honored as "Granny McCoU." A maid- 
en daughter. Miss Katy, and a son, James, lived with her,, 
and close by lived another son, David R., who was the 
father of that substantial and highly respected gentleman 
now living a few miles below Society Hill, my old school- 
mate, Mr. John S. McCoU. The other family lived for 
many years upon the 'Three Creeks," five miles below 
Bennettsville, but, so far as the writer knows, no member 
of it bearing the name is left in Marlboro. But the well- 
known and much- respected late A. C. Mclnnis married 
Miss Flora, a handsome granddaughter of the old man 

McColl, a native of Scotland, who lived and died 

about half a mile from what was long known as ''McColl's 
Cross Roads." S. J. Mclnnis is the first born of this in- 
teresting couple of pure Caledonian blood. By the way, 
the intermarriage of Scot with Scot has been especially 
characteristic of the McCoUs. Attached to the old "clan,**" 
proud of their pure blood, they have married and inter- 
married until they are all kin, more or less. Some of 
them spell the name with an A, others retain the O,. 
but nearly, if not quite all of the name in Marlboro, in. 
one line or another, may trace their origin back to Appin. 
The McLaurins^of Marlboro, if not quite 39 numerous,, 
have, nevertheless, occupied a conspicuous place among 
its best citizens. They, also, as far as can be ascertained, 
came to this country soon after the War of Independence 
and settled on the Little Pee Dee, some on one side, 
some on the other, so it has been in all these years that 
both in Richmond and Robeson Coijnties in North Car- 
olina, and in Marion and Marlboro in South Carolina, 
men have lived who have contributed their full share to 
the prosperity and enterprise of the country. The older 
people in the eastern part of the State fondly remember 



142 History of Marlboro County, 

three brothers of excellent character, Daniel C, John L. 
and ** Little Hugh " McLaurin, all of whom have left 
large and respectable families. Daniel C, who lived 
where the late J. W. Roper resided, kind-hearted, hos- 
pitable, and ever ready to serve his country in any posi- 
tion with conscientious fidelity, we all mourn his death as 
the loss of a valuable citizen. John L. McLaurin, who 
lived where his son, the late John B., lived, was not less 
useful, less loved, and perhaps more enterprising and suc- 
cessful. He, too, like his brother, served his people 
quite acceptably upon the district boards. A son of his, 
P. B. McLaurin, was returned to the Legislature before 
the war, and another son, John B., has been elected once 
since. The third brother, Hugh, spent most of his life in 
North Carolina, a few miles from Laurinburg, but his 
sons have several of them been for a longer or shorter 
period citizens of Marlboro. L. B., Jack, Duncan and 
the late Jas. R. were sons of this old man. He and his 
brothers were sons of a native of Scotland. His name was 
Laughlin, and his wife was a Miss McCoU, a sister of one 
of the John McColls mentioned on a previous page. So 
that it is not alone of late that the young McLaurins and 
McColls fell in love with each other. 

Another honored old man of this name, John McLaurin, 
who came over in 1784, married a Miss McNair, of Rich- 
mond, N. Q, and was the grandfather of Capt. Lock 
and John J. McLaurin* ; the former a man of uncommon 
energy and push, of fine mind, good judgment, and 
modest worth ; John J. one of the best of men, a universal 
favorite as a young man, as an old one, cheerful, kind- 
hearted, venerated and loved. The Captain's wife was 
Miss Effie McColl, ind John J. married a daughter of 
Daniel C. McLaurin. " Hurricane Daniel," another 
McLaurin of this stock, strayed off to Sumter County, 

* Both dead. 



History of Marlboro Coimty. 143 

and his large and respectable connections are among the 
best in our sister county. 

Daniel, the head of this latter branch of the family, 
came to America when his son John was about twenty 
years old and settled at first near Campbellton, now 
Fayetteville, N. C. After a few years spent in boating on 
Cape Fear, the old patriarch came to Marlboro and 
established himself near where his grandson, John J., now 
lives. And the impression seems to be that Laughlin, 
the ancestor of the three brothers, Hugh, Daniel C, and 
John L., came about 1791 and settled at Red Bluff. In 
all the years since, the descendants of these old Scotch- 
men have clung to the' grounds where their fathers first 
felled the forests and built their altars — quiet, unob- 
trusive people, yet valuable members of society they 
have always been. 



CHAPTER XXII. 
Clio. 

This village, situated in the eastern portion of the 
county, has from the first been favored with a large de- 
gree of the Scottish element. It is true that it was at first 
settled by old Mr. Joe Ivey. It is said that the old man 
left one of the Carolinas in search of a better land, to- 
wards the setting sun; that he went as far as the Chatta- 
hoochee, then, as it seemed to IVey, the outer border of 
civilization, a beautiful stream flowing amid a wild and 
howling wilderness, with wild and savage Indians upon 
either bank — he became disgusted and turned his horse's 
head towards the rising sun, and returned to the spot 
where Clio now stands, there pitched his tent, and pur- 
chased a home in the virgin forest, with no intention or 
desire that a town should ever rise upon the plain. Tra- 
dition has it, that in the process of time, when at **Ivy's 
Cross Roads," as it was called, stores, shops, houses and 
dwellings began to rise around him, the old man ex- 
plained his change of base by saying, "When they begun 
to build lead houses, glass shetters, and calico chimbleys 
it was time for Joe Ivy to git away.*' But Joe Ivy was 
a good, honest man, who was ready to aid his fellow 
man, and whom his neighbors all respected. His two 
sons, Gadi and Levi, both lived to be highly respected 
citizens, and have left families to honor their memory. 
Gadi, especially, lived to a great age, and died at Clio, 
only a few years ago, the oldest man in the community. 

The father of Senator Joseph Hawley, of Connecticut, 
was the first merchant to open a store at the **Cross Roads. " 
It had already become a sort of center in the community, 
where the militia met for drill; and "muster-day" had be- 



History of Marlboro County. 145 

come a day of trade. Not only was Henry Fuller on 
hand with cakes, but sometimes a "covered wagon" with 
something for the thirsty militiamen to drink, besides an 
assortment of flour, bacon, tobacco, and leather, and 
sometimes the candidates would be there, and speeches 
be made, a shooting-match would come off, maybe a 
horse-race or two would be run, a ring be described, a 
bully would step in and challenge the crowd for a fight 
and at long intervals somebody would "get hurt." The 
women in the neighborhood dreaded the "muster-day," 
and the boy who got the chance of going to muster to 
see the fun, counted himself a "lucky chap." Mr. Haw- 
ley, with genuine Yankee instinct, saw that it was a good 
place for money-making, and he bought a "little spot" of 
ground and "put up a store." A good farming country 
all around; honest, unsuspecting farmers, making good 
crops, liked the advantage of a home market, and traded 
with the shrewd Yankee, and he made money. It was 
not long before others began to think that the "Cross 
Roads" was a **good stand, and Hawleysville a money- 
making place." William Rogers, another Northern man, 
came and set up a store, soon won the affections of a Miss 
McCollum, and they were married. Rogers became pop- 
ular, not only as a merchant, but as a public-spirited good 
man. He soon associated with himself John B. McDan- 
iel, an excellent young man, born and raised in the com- 
munity, who soon added to the strength of the firm by 
his marriage to a daughter of Mr. Eli Thomas; then they 
brought in as a salesman a polished young man, D. J. Mc- 
Donald, quite an addition to the moral and social tone of 
the place. Mr. McDonald was respected as a partner, and 
the business increased. But, greatly to the regret of the 
community, Rogers sold out and went to Bishopville, in 
Sumter County, where he did well, and reared a fine fam- 
ily. A son of his is at present quite a prominent and 
useful.member of the South Carolina Conference. Not 



146 History of Marlboro Cou7ity, 

long after Mr. McDaniel sold out to John A. McRae, 
and went to Arkansas, where, after conducting a large 
and successful business, he died a few years ago. He 
was one of those men whose capacity, manners and 
spirit bring them into prominence in any community, 
and his removal from it was deemed a calamity. 

T. C. Weatherly, so prominent in Marlboro affairs, and 
for so long one of its most popular citizens, began his busi- 
ness career at Clio as a salesman with Mr. McDaniel, but 
soon formed a partnership with Mr. J. L. McColl, which 
continued until he was elected Sheriff of Marlboro, when 
he sold out to Mr. McColl and moved to Bennettsville, in 
the vicinity of which place he lived till his death. He 
served the people in the State Legislature for several 
terms. A man of quick mind, ready action, public spirit, 
good judgment and generous impulses, he exercised a 
large influence. He died at Glenn Springs a number of 
years ago, where he had gone for the benefit of his health, 
and his body brought home and laid in the Methodist 
church yard in Bennettsville. 

The Edens family have for many years been prominent 
in th^ affairs of Clio. Rev. Allen Edens, who reared a 
large family of sons and daughters, several of them settl- 
ing in the neighborhood, and Col. T. N. Edens, not only 
running a farm nearby, but for a time at the head of a 
mercantile firm. William M. Bristow, W. C. Medlin, and 
others, for a brief time, sold goods here before the war. 
Soon after the war there came among the Clio people a 
young man of handsome appearance, quiet manners, but 
fine sense and business talent, first in the humble capacity 
of a *'North Carolina wagoner," dealing mainly in tobacco. 
Somehow young Hinshaw won the heart and hand of the 
beautiful daughter of Mr. W. M. Bristow, and soon the 
youthful pair made Clio their home. From that day be- 
gan a new era in the prosperity and growth of the place; 
lumber and flour mills run by steam and presently a foun- 



History of Marlboro County, 147 

dry and extensive shops went up; many operatives were 
needed and came; houses were erected, and the place put 
on a real town-like appearance. When the staid old town 
of Cheraw came upon the stage and made such a flattering 
bid for Capt. Hinshaw*s services in a foundry at that 
place that his attachment to the little town he had done 
so much to enlarge and beautify had to yield, and with 
him went a number of good people to help build up a 
new Cheraw. With the Sternbergers, Calhouns, Wopdleys, 
Ropers, Welches and the entrance of a railroad, the town 
has rapidly increased in population and volume of busi- 
ness. The Medlins, Stantons, and those mentioned 
above, with others, will not allow the grass to grow in her 
streets or her just proportion of trade to pass into other 
channels; but, with enterprise and energy, are opening up 
new streets and constantly adding to and enlarging the 
town. Commodious church buildings invite the people to 
worship, Methodist and Baptist; a good school building, 
occupied by first-class teachers; a Masonic hall, hotel, 
workshops and mill, are all in place and room being made 
for others, while all around the town in every direction 
are thrifty, successful farmers vying with each other and 
with others elsewhere in skill and profit. 

In going out among the fields around the town, we 
may find, now and then, what was once an impoverished, 
worn-out old field, where the owner was scarcely able to 
make a scanty support, now yielding abundant returns to 
skilled labor; and the low-roofed cottages of the fathers 
have disappeared and tasteful, comfortable dwellings, 
neatly furnished, have taken their places. The writer 
calls to mind a visit to the old Methodist church that 
used to stand a mile or two below the town, and must beg 
to mention a few of the humble but good men who were 
there. And first of all, he would write the name of the 
preacher, Dougald McPherson. His presence in some of 
our modern pulpits would be akin to the effect produced 



148 History of Marlboro County. 

of introducing into one of our fashionable congregations 
some of those old sisters we read of in Hebrews, "arrayed 
in sheep skins and goat skins." Mr. McPherson was a 
diminutive person, slightly stooped, dressed in homespun 
clothes, a blue cotton handkerchief tied closely around his 
bald head, with a few stray white hairs peeping out be- 
hind his ears, minus his eyebrows, with pale, but benevo- 
lent face, a feeble, cracked voice, with scarcely ever the 
slightest gesture. And yet his neighbors and other in- 
telligent people would sit upon the rough, backlesss 
benches and listen to that old man preach on a cold win- 
try day, in an open house, for an hour or more. His 
language was chaste, his thoughts intelligent, his doctrine 
evangelical, it is true, but not that held the people. It 
was the character of the man ; his humble, consistent, 
truthful, honest life, this was the preaching that won his 
countrymen, and gave him a welcome and hearing 
wherever he went. Precious old man, when of a great 
age he sent two noble boys to the war never to return. 
On Gettysburg's bloody heights, on the same day, from 
the same volley, they both ^ot their discharge, united in 

life, in death not divided. Mr. Ammons married 

a daughter of Mr. McPherson, and works the old farm* 
but lives in a better house than that which sheltered so 
long the quiet, pious old couple who lived in the field. It 
is said that Angus McPherson, who came from Scotland, 
was the father of Dougald. 

About half a mile below the old meeting house lived 
old Mr. Robert Purnell. His wife was a daughter of 
Jonathan Meekins. Mr. Purnell was a fine specimen of 
physical manhood, well proportioned, ruddy face, gray 
locks, weighing, perhaps, two hundred pounds, he would 
naturally attract the attention of a stranger. His daugh- 
ters, who married the Messrs. Allen and T. N. Edens,and 
a fine-looking young son, who died in early life, are fav- 
orably remembered. 



History of Marlboro County, 149 

A mile or more below, at the Cross Roads, lived Simon 
Smith and wife, an aged pair, with a single daughter. 
The daughter afterwards married Charles T. McRae, while 
an older daughter was already Mrs. Henry Covington. A 
son, John, had long since married a Miss Weatherly and 
had gone to Alabama; and William R.. a scholarly, intel- 
lectual man, was, for a time, a member of the South Caro- 
lina Conference, but had recently married and located 
and for sometime taught school at Parnassus. Another 
old man remembered as being at that old church now 
nearly fifty years ago, was James Quick, the ancestor of 
the worthy family of that name who now live a few miles 
above Clio. It is doubtful if any man of that day, moving 
in the same sphere in that community, exercised a wider 
influence; an influence which has told for good upon his 
posterity from that day to this. 

Still another is remembered, old Mr. Matthew Drig- 
gers. He, too, has left a large connection behind him. 
A younger man than those mentioned above was Wright 
Wilson, who afterwards became a Methodist preacher, 
and has a son in the ministry now. Daniel Dunbar is 
also remembered as living near Clio at the time. He was 
as the father of the late J. C. Dunbar. 

May we not linger yet around this little town to make 
mention of the Calhouns and others? Would that our 
space permitted a more extended notice. Within less 
than two miles Mr. Alexander Calhoun has lived to rear 
a family and yet lingers upon the shores of time, a pure- 
minded, consistent Christian gentleman. Of pure Scottish 
descent, honest, truthful, always modest and retiring, yet 
commanding the sincere respect of his neighbors, he is 
among the oldest men in the community. His brothers, 
John and Dougald, have gone before him to the tomb, but 
have left their impress upon sons and daughters they have 
left behind as valuable members of society. Perhaps no 
man was longer seen around Clio than John Cork. Humble 



1 50 History of Marlboro County, 

and unpretending, ready to take the road on errands for 
the merchants, or to enter the shops of the mechanics or 
the fields of the farmers; wherever he could make himself 
useful, even to old age, he still trod the streets of Clio, till 
he died the oldest citizen of the town. 

The Stantons, too, have a record in this community 
older than the town. Handy and Thomas both have left 
large families of useful citizens and excellent farmers. 
On the one side of Clio, and now, perhaps, within the 
limits of the town, may be seen the snowy locks of John, 
a son of Handy, and the partner of his life** pilgrimage, 
Sarah Heustiss. Denied, in the providence of Heaven, 
children of their own, yet seldom without the children of 
other people, to care for, and to love. Their reward is in 
Heaven, their record on high. W. Godfrey Stanton, 
another son of Handy, who married a daughter of Major 
Aaron Breeden, has long lived near the little town, and 
sometimes within it, is growing to be an old citizen; bu 
has sons and daughters to remember him when gone to 
his long home. On the other side of the town there is 
Peter and Evander, sons of Thomas Stanton, both with 
silver locks, but not as old as they look. The former in 
his bachelor loneliness; the other with a flock around him 
to honor his memory when gone. Good men both; may 
they yet be spared the reaper's sickle for many days. 
Others of this name and family are as worthy of mention 
but we hurry on to mention other families. Recollection 
next brings up the gray head of Mr. James Woodley,who 
died several years ago. He married the daughter of Jona- 
than Cottingham, who has been mentioned in another 
chapter. Wr. Woodley lived in Hebron township, but on 
the Clio side. He was a man of integrity and industry, 
and taught it to his sons, John C. and Jonathan. John C, 
his oldest son, married Miss Mary John, and near the 
village of Clio they have reared a fine family, sons and 
daughters of character and worth, who know how to ap- 



History of Marlboro County, 1 5 1 

preciate the advantages that have come from a father's 
energy and thrift, a mother's prudence and piety. Mr. 
Woodley died a few years ago. Jonathan, living between 
his own father and Col. Covington, the father of his wife, 
could hardly be excused, if he had failed to make of 
himself a comfortable home, and of himself a useful, 
worthy citizen of the County. 



CHAPTER XXIII. 
Scottish Settlers. — Continued. 

About the beginning of the struggle between the Col- 
onies and the mother country there left the Isle of Skye, 
(as tradition says) an old man with nine sons. Whether 
Ian McRae foresaw the strife, and wished to be a wit- 
ness and participant, or whether he thought the king 
would soon quiet the little "family fray," does not ap- 
pear. But the six months voyage upon the deep buried 
old Ian, amid the seaweeds ; but from the nine ruddy boys 
who landed upon the North Carolina coast there has 
come, it is supposed most, if not all, of the name in Marl- 
boro, and many in Marion and the adjacent counties in 
North Carolina. " A little silver cup of peculiar shape," 
with an inscription in Gaelic, with the name **Ian," is yet 
sacredly preserved as a relic of one of the progenitors of 
the family. One of the nine brothers, Christopher, lived 
and reared a large family of sons and daughters, where 
Mr. Charles Crosland now resides. 

John L. Alexander and Colon, Mrs. Sallie Weatherly, 
Polly McRae, Katie Battle, Barbara Peterkin and Chris- 
tian Bristoware remembered among them, several of whom 
have many representatives in the country to-day. 

Another brother of the nine was that good old 
man, Roderic, who settled in the woods, opposite where 
Mr. James Wright now lives. It is said that when he 
first "pitched his tent" there the country was so wild and 
sparsely settled that he "had to build a strong house of 
heavy logs for his sheep, and fasten it securely to keep 
them from destruction by the wolves." Of this old man's 
family, John D., and Duncan D., who was a popular Tax 
Collector, are remembered with the sisters, Mrs. Alford, 



History of Marlboro Coufity, 153 

_ « 

• 

the mother of our fellow citizen, Jacob, and his sisters, 
Mrs. W. C. McLeod, Mrs. John Meekins, Mrs. Hugh Mc- 
Lucas, Mrs. Margaret Spears, and the first Mrs. Jessie 
Peterkin, all of them ladies of fine character who have 
left their impress upon their children, or others placed 
under their care. 

Another of the nine was a grandfather of the brothers, 
Alex, and Murdoch, of the Red Bluff community — men 
well known for their worth and honorable position in 
society. Still another was the father of the late John T. 
McRae, who lived just across the line in Marion, a few 
miles below Donohoe. He was the father of Mrs. Philip 
McRae, Mrs. Duncan Carmichael, and has descendants 
among us to honor his memory. A daughter. Miss Katie, 
leaves with those that surround her interesting traditions 
of the family. Among these it is told that in the ab- 
sence of Christopher, named previously, who was the 
grandfather of our late fellow citizen, Jno. A. McRae, 
"A band of Tories was seen approaching the house, and 
Mrs. McRae, with an infant three weeks old, seized her 
baby, and with young Roderic, but fourteen years old, 
ran off and spent the night in the woods." Another 
story is that as a band came stealthily to the McRae 
house, they were too near for the inmates to flee, or to 
conceal their valuables. "But one of the women placed 
the silver spoons in her dress bosom, and conscrous that 
she was observed, seized a hank of thread and stuffed 
that in after the spoons, and when the intruders demand- 
ed what she had thus hidden away, she drew out the 
yarn, and hurled it into the face of one them, saying *I 
think you might allow a poor woman to keep her own 
thread,' and the Tory threw it back, saying 'You are so 
smart you may keep it.' The beds were ripped open and 
the feathers scattered in the search for treasure. The 
excellent Mrs. M. C. McLeod remembers some of those 
spoons. Mrs. McLucas and Mrs. Spears each inherited 



1 54 History of Marlboro County, 

a spoon, and she thinks that Mrs. Bristow and Mrs. Sallie 
Peterkin have one each." 

Another of the original nine brothers died a young man 
at the house of Roderic. Where the others settled is 
not known, but it is very clear that other McRaes came 
early to this region of the country. Upon the banks of 
Three Creeks there lived and died one named James Mc- 
Rae, whose wife, an excellent lady, was also a McRae, aunt 
to General McQueen. Mrs. Thompson now lives at the old 
place where Duncan, Philip, James, Colon, Jno.R. Katy, and 
Mrs. Murchison, if no more,were reared to maturity. A mile 
or two distant lived another old Scotchman, Charles Mc- 
Rae, generally called **Squire," a local Methodist preach- 
er. The older people may remember him as an old man 
nearly if not quite as old as Roderic. Our excellent 
fellow citizen, Hugh McCollum, is a grandson of this old 
man. His sons, Farquar and Charles T., have their rep- 
resentatives also in the country. What was the relation- 
ship between these, or to the large family, it is not known. 
But like other Scottish people, they seem to have brought 
their native prejudices with them to the New World. If 
a marriageable young woman could be found in their own 
or some kindred clan, who was not too close kin, she was 
preferred to a stranger in whose veins might flow the 
blood of foe or alien; and hence from the earliest day of 
their landing upon American soil, they have married and 
intermarried until almost every McRae is kin to every 
other McRae. Yet many another name has been enam- 
ored with the charms of Scottish daughters, and managed 
by art and solemn promises to win them to other names 
and homes, where yet they have never failed to leave 
their own Scottish characteristics. 

It was a fortunate thing for these pages that a love af- 
fair brought together a granddaughter of Roderic McRae 
and a young scion of a **Laird McLeod of Skye"; and 
thus traditions of the two families have been united and 



History of Marlboro County, 155 

treasured in one intelligent mind and retentive memory. 
And from the pen of Mrs. M. C. McLeod there has been 
culled much of this chapter. She is the loved and hon- 
ored widow of Major D. M. D. McLeod, who fell upon 
the bloody field of Gettysburg, the idol of his regiment. 

The Isle of Skye used to be under the control of three 
"Lairds." One of these was a McLeod. 

For a time the McLeods and McDonalds lived side by 
side as loving as brothers, but it came to pass that a Mc- 
Donald married a Lady McLeod, and afterwards deserted 
her, a feud arose, war was waged, blood was shed, the 
McDonalds were worsted and fled to a cave for security. 
The McLeods built a fire at the cave's mouth, and smok- 
ed their enemies to peace, or to death, rather. A son of 
one of these Laird McLeods married a lady of noble 
birth. Miss Jane Hunter, and sailed with a brother Alex, 
his wife and three children, for the ports of America. 
This Lady Jane Hunter, before her marriage, was some 
time at Court. She had two brothers, eminent physi- 
cians, who took up an unfinished work of Harvey's on 
blood circulation, and prepared a work which made a 
sensation in the medical world. One of these brothers 
is said to have been appointed ship's surgeon under 
Commodore Anson, on a voyage around the world, and 
while upon this cruise the specimens and curiosities col- 
lected became a nucleus of a splendid museum bearing 
his name in Glasgow, his native city. While upon this 
voyage, the vessel touched upon the North Carolina 
coast, and a party went as far as Anson County, which, it 
is claimed, received its name in honor of the Commodore. 

The McLeod who married Lady Hunter was an ad- 
venturer, had a vessel and was called a Commodore. Some 
years before the Revolutionary War he brought his wife 
and three children to Wilmington, North Carolina, and 
while absent on a cruise about 1775, or 1776, his wife died. 

This sad intelligence reached the Commodore when off 
11 



1 56 History of Marlboro County, 

St. Helena and so overwhelmed him with grief that he 
soon died; whereupon the sorrowing brother, Alex, went 
to Scotland and induced two maiden sisters, Betsy and 
Isabella, to come over and take charge of the three chil- 
dren, John, Daniel and Isabella. Sometime after the war 
the aunt, Isabella, and the three young people came to the 
neighborhood of Hunt's Bluff, in Marlboro. John, the 
elder brother, set up a store, and soon died of feven 
Daniel married Miss Catharine Evans and reared a large 
family; John, William, Daniel and Donald McDiarmid 
were the sons that attained manhood's estate. When the 
latter was born a Scottish bachelor friend of the family 
asked to give the child his name, Donald McDiarmid. 
The parents consented, and when a few years later he 
made his will be bequeathed a fund to be used in giving 
the boy a "collegiate education." So it came to pass that 
D. M. D. McLeod was graduated at the South Carolina 
College, taught school for a while, loved and married 
Margaret C. Alford; went to the war in command of a 
company, became Major, and fell greatly lamented at 
Gettysburg. 

Mr. McDiarmid sleeps in the graveyard at Old Salem. 
The daughters of Daniel McLeod were the following: 
Betsy, who married Rev. Wm. R. Smith; Mary, who be- 
came the wife of Col. James R. Bethea, of Marion; Isa- 
bella, who married Daniel Horn, of Cheraw, and subse- 
quently moved to Georgia; and Ellen, who married a Mr. 
Mcintosh, of Georgia. Sisters and brothers all, except 
an old friend, Daniel, have passed away. Many pleasant 
memories crowd the mind of the writer as he pens these 
lines — memories of Uncle McLeod, Aunt Katie and 
Aunt Isabella, who had changed her name to Bodiford, 
who, now in old age, crippled and infirm, had found a 
home in the house of her brother. Whatever the religion 
of the McLeods in Scotland they were Methodist here. 
Prayer and praise ascended from the family altar, and if 



History of Marlboro County, 157 

"Uncle McLeod was absent, Aunt Isabella led in the 
prayer." They had built a little log house in the woods 
nbtfarfrom where Berry Alford now lives, and called it 
"McLeod's Meeting House.'* -^ They had preaching there 
and a little society which ultimately united with Mossy 
Bay and formed. Parnassus. The writer remembers to 
have attended service there more than a half a century 
ago, when the McLeods did most of the singing, and 
Charles McRae the preaching. On one occasion, when 
visiting the McLeod boys, other boys of the neighborhood 
joined us on Saturday afternoon, and somehow we got in- 
to the old ^'meeting house." One of the boys found a 
window shutter that yielded to his ingenuity and swung 
open when eight or ten chaps found themselves inside. 
Some fellow transformed himself into "Uncle Charley 
McRae," entered the pulpit and began a senseless ha- 
rangue which he called preaching. The rest of us, seated 
around the altar, encouraged him with "amens," clapping 
of hands, and an occasional "hallelujah," when suddenly 
the door opened and the portly form of Uncle McLeod 
stepped inside. The reader can imagine how quickly the 
congregation dispersed without "the benediction." The 
writer was not so swfft in action and was fairly caught 
and began to weep in earnest, but the laughter of the old 
man soon reassured him, and we two closed up the house 
and returned to the dwelling. It was late before some of 
the boys reported at home. 

The McLucases have been a long time in the country. 
Two brothers, Daniel and John, came with their young 
families from Scotland. We have no information further 
as to Daniel. But John has left an excellent family be- 
hind him. Two sons, John and Hugh, are both well re- 
membered as good citizens. Hugh married a daughter 
of that grand old Scotchman, Roderick McRae, who 
furnished so many wives to the Marlboro men, who have 
left so salutary an influence upon others than their own 



158 History of Marlboro County, 

children. John D. McLucas, of Marion, and Roderick, of 
McColl section, of Marlboro, are sons of this worthy pair, 
and several daughters of fine character are perpetuating 
the virtues of their descent. 



CHAPTER XXIV. 

The Old Court House. 

Oh the 25th of March, 1785, an Act was passed by the 
General Assembly ot South Carolina creating several 
judicial districts out of the territory of Old Cheraw, in- 
cluding Chesterfield, Liberty (now Marion) and Marlboro. 
Claudius Pegues, Geo. Hicks, Morgan Brown, Tristram 
Thomas, Claudius Pegues, Jr., Moses Pearson and Thomas 
Evans, by the same Act, were appointed to select a site 
and superintend the erection of a courthouse and jail. 
The spot chosen was on the north bank of Crooked Creek, 
about six miles west from Bennettsville, near what has 
been known as Evans' Mill.* The deed from Gen. Tris- 
tram Thomas, conveying the ground to the commissioners 
above named, is upon record in the Clerk's office. The 
house erected was a two-story wooden building, convenient 
in its arrangement, and ample in size for that day. Scarcely 
any signs of that "old court-house," and the few buildings 
that arose around it, can now be seen. But the influence 
of the men to whom the administration of justice was en- 
trusted and upon whom the formation of society and pub- 
lic opinion devolved, lives on, and is felt to-day in all this 
surrounding country. For the first fourteen years of 
our judicial history, law was administered by County 
Courts; and the commissioners to build the court-house 

*Mr. Aaron Sweat, who is quite an old man, and who is ^f the same 
family as the Revolutionary patriot mentioned in a previous chapter, 
says that Mr. Jesse Pearce, on one occasion, showed him a site that was 
first selected for the court-house. It was to hav^ been quite near to the 
Gardner's Bluff road and not far from the present cross-roads leading 
from Bennettsville to Gardner's Bluff and from Evans' Mill to Cheraw. 
But the site was finally chosen lower down the river and nearer to Evans' 
Mill. 



1 62 History of Marlboro Coutity. 

were the judges in the first of these courts, and a number 
of them are represented in some of our most respectable 
families. Old Judge Moses Pearson's great-grandson, 
Hon. C. P. Townsend, the senior member of theBennetts- 
ville bar, with credit, to himself presided in the courts of 
the State for several years. 

The first Circuit Court held in Marlboro was in the 
year 1800, Judge Wm. Johnson presiding. This distin- 
guished jurist was elevated to the Supreme Bench of the 
United States by President Jefferson in 1804. After him 
such men as Grimke, Waties, Bay, Brevard, Nott, Colcock, 
and Trezevant held court at the **old court-house." 
The commission and order of Gov. Drayton requiring the 
holding of the Court are recorded in one of the old 
journals in the Clerk's office, presumably- because he, 
Johnson, was sworn in and held his first Court at Marl- 
boro "old court-house." Here, too, such men as Falconer, 
Witherspoon, Wilds, the Ervins, Robbins, and J. J. Evans 
**practiced law." And sin^ce Evans has been mentioned, 
who was afterwards made a Circuit Judge and frequently 
presided in our courts, it is well to name some of the men 
who have sat upon the bench and are remembered by th6 
writer. J. J. Evans, that grand old Roman, must be men- 
tioned first. His people sent him to the Legislature in 
181 2 before he was twenty-six years old. Before they 
could vote for him again he removed to Darlington, and 
in 1 8 16 was elected to the Legislature from that District. 
In 1829 he was made a circuit Judge, and in 1850 elected 
to the United States Senate Marlboro never lost her in- 
terest in him, never forgot that he was her own son. And 
when in 1858 he calmly folded his honors about him and 
fell asleep, such political opponents as Wilson, of Massa- 
chusetts, and Hale, of New Hampshire, vied with each 
other in weaving garlands for his tomb. Marlboro felt 
the bereavement not less than Darlington, his adopted 
home. The humorous, witty Richard Gantt is remem* 



History of Marlboro County, 163 

bered, who used to pour forth such eloquence and pathos 
in passing sentence upon criminals as to move the most 
hardened. Then for thirty-two years the frail forcn of 
John S. Richardson was seen upon the bench. When he 
was seventy a proposition was made in the Legislature to 
remove him from office "on account of his bodily and 
mental infirmities," but when he was permitted to speak 
for himself he utterly demolished the opposition and "all 
further proceedings were discharged." Daniel Elliott 
Huger, full six feet high, manly, erect and "firm as gran- 
ite," the people were always glad for him to preside. 
Baylis J. Earle, the able, pure, "just judge," was several 
times on the bench here. Judge O'Neal, who could stand 
nowhere but in the front rank in statesmanship, agri- 
culture, education, religion not less than as a jurist, he stood 
among the leaders. Andrew Pickens Butler is remem- 
bered on account of his florid face, his snowy locks, his 
peculiar dancing eyes, his martial bearing, his uncontroll- 
able love of fun, which would sometimes convulse the 
court-room. In 1846 he was elected to the United States 
Senate, and for two years hctnbred the position, and died 
lamented by the whole country. After these came such 
me^n as Glover, Withers, Whitner, and Munro. It is a 
bright array and they have left shining footprints upon 
the path now trodden by their successors. 

After Equity Courts began to be held in Marlboro the 
bench was graced by the learned William Harper, David 
Johnson, afterwards Governor of the State; Job Johnson/ 
the dignified, truthful Francis Wardlaw Dunkin, G. W. 
Dargan, James J. Caldwell, the clear-headed John A. Inglis, 
Chancellor Carroll and our own W. D. Johnson. 

The members of the bar who have illustrated and ex- 
pounded the principles of law in the courts of Marlboro 
make an array of talent of which any people might be 
proud. Reference can only be made to such as have been 
known and heard. And of these one must be mentioned 



164 History of Marlboro County, 

who was distinguished more in the councils of the nation 
than at the bar, Col. John Campbell, who succeeded his 
hardly less notable brother, Gen. Robert B., in the United 
States Congress in 1836, and where he continued in service 
to the end of his life in 1844. Polished, amiable, modest 
and yet fearless, he was one of the most fascinating speakers 
Marlboro has ever reared. In our, boyhood we knew 
James R. Ervin, of whom it was said "few men were more 
talented than he." With the settlement of Bennettsville 
three gifted young men arose as lights in the profession, 
James E. David, the friend of the people; Col. C. W. 
Dudley, the astute and successful lawyer, both of whom 
represented the county in both houses of the General 
Assembly; and Gen. John McQueen, for a dozen years a 
member of Congress; and then later on by a few years, 
three other sons scarcely less brilliant — Chas. A. Thorn- 
well, Samuel J. Townsend and Harris Covington, all of 
whom were in the Legislature for longer or shorter periods. 
And then the promising brothers, Daniel White, and 
Neill D. Johnson, and P. B. McLaurin, all of whom laid 
down their lives for the "lost cause." Besides all these 
our courts have been visited by gentlemen from neighbor- 
ing counties, who have shed light and knowledge upon 
questions of law and justice; while Withers and Hanna, 
and the Mclvers, father and son, were a terror to evil 
doers in the office of Circuit Solicitor. W. W. Sellers and 
J. M. Johnson, of Marion, and G. W. Dargan, of Darling- 
ton, have each as solicitor, visited our court from time to 
time; and Marlboro has been honored in having D. D. 
McCoU and H. H. Newton in the Solicitorship. 

It may not be inappropriate to mention the names of 
members of the Bennettsville bar who are yet alive and 
shedding luster on their profession. W. D. Johnson, for 
a number of years prior to the war, sat on the bench as 
Judge in Chancery; and was also Senator. He was ad- 
mitted to practice law in 1846, and, though approaching 



History of Marlboro County, 165 

eighty years of age, is still in the active practice of 
his profession. He removed to Marion a few years after 
the war, but we have never given up our claim on him. 
He owns extensive and valuable plantations in the county, 
and annually makes a visit to his old home. His partner 
in law, at Marion, J. M. Johnson, lived for some years in 
the county of Marlboro, first as a successful school 
teacher, and then as an attorney at law, so that the Ben- 
nettsville bar can justly claim them both. Ten years af- 
ter W. D. Johnson, C. P. Townsend was admitted to the 
bar. Both before and siflce the war he has represented 
the County in the Legislature. For a number of years 
he filled the office of Commissioner in Equity for the 
County and after the war was elevated to the bench and 
filled the place with honor to himself and to the entire 
satisfaction of the bar and people. As a lawyer in crimi- 
nal cases or civil suits he stands well to the front. His 
former partner, John L. McLaurin, the son of P. B. Mc- 
Laurin, mentioned above, seems to have been born for 
luck. In a very few years after his admission to the bar 
he was elected to the State Legislature, and the Attorney- 
General having been elevated to a seat on the Supreme 
Bench, he was appointed Attorney-General; soon there- 
after the Congressman for this District, Gen. E. T. Stack- 
house, having died, McLaurin succeeded him, and has 
been in Congress ever since. He resigned his seat 
in Congress to accept the appointment of United States 
Senator to succeed Senator Earle. He is a fine 
stump speaker, a shrewd politician, and very popular 
with the people. H. H. Newton served one or more 
terms as Solicitor for the Fourth Judicial Circuit. 
Was a member of the Legislature, and was instrumental 
in having passed the stock law, for which he was at first 
roundly abused, l^ut abuse has long since been turned in- 
to thanks, and now the people appreciate the fact that he 
did them a service. D. D. McColl has been a successful 



1 66 History of Marlboro County, 

lawyer. He was Solicitor for one or more terms, and 
criminals were justly afraid of him. He has retired from 
the active practice of law and devotes his time to the in- 
terests of the Bank of Marlboro, of which he is the Presi- 
dent. T. E. Dudley was admitted to law in 1858 and 
has always been considered a conscientious, painstaking 
la^vyer, careful apd exact in his work, and has held a fair 
share of practice at the Bennettsville bar. He represen- 
ted the county in the late Constitutional Convention. 
J. H. Hudson, a native of Chester, came to Bennettsville 
in 1853, fresh from the South Carolina College, to take 
charge of the Male Academy. He taught four years* 
studied law and was admitted to practice in 1857, and in 
1858 was elected to the Legislature. He entered the 
Confederate service as a private and rose to the rank of 
Lieutenant-colonel of the Twenty-Sixth Regiment South 
Carolina Volunteers. He was Circuit Judge of the Fourth 
Judicial Circuit for four terms, from 14th February, 1878, 
to 14th February, 1894, and has resumed practice in the 
courts again. Knox Livingston, a native of Florida, 
came to Bennettsville in May, 1870, and in that year he 
and H. H. Newton were admitted to the bar, formed a 
co-partnership with J. H. Hudson and soon came to the 
front as successful lawyers. Each has represented the 
County in the Legislature with marked ability. Other 
younger men are fast coming to the front as successful 
practitioners, such as Bouchier, Caston, Rogers (who rep- 
resented the county in the Constitutional Convention of 
1895), H. H. Covington and T. M. Hamer. 



CHAPTER XXV. 

The Removal of the Court-house to Bennettsville. 

Two causes led to this event: the increase of popula- 
tion in the central and eastern portion of the District, and 
' the unhealthfulness of the "old court-house" locality, on 
account of the nearness of the Pee Dee swamps. Accord- 
ingly, on December 14th, 1819, an Act was passed by the 
Legislature directing that **a new court-house and jail be 
immediately erected." Nathan B. Thomas, Gen. Gillespie, 
Drury Robertson, W. G. Feagan, James Forniss, James R. 
Ervin and William Brown were appointed commissioners 
to contract for and supervise the building. The site 
was selected and John S. Thomas deeded to the authori- 
ties three acres of ground since called the "public square." 
The deed was executed and recorded April 4, 1820. 
But delays occurred in the erection of the court-house so 
that when the great storm of 1822 swept over the country 
the brick walls were approaching completion, but not 
finished, and the torrents of rain and the force of the 
wind caused one of the walls to crack from the top to bottom 
and from that day there were thoughtful men who doubted 
the security of the building, which was imposing in ap- 
pearance and convenient in arrrangement. There were 
people who called it a "man trap," a "dead fall," and were 
afraid to enter it with a crowd. Hence its brief life, of 
less than thirty years, for it was not till the beginning of 
1824 that it was finished and received, and in 1851 it was 
torn down. Portions of the "old court-house" near the 
river and other buildings were removed to the new site. 
Our fathers began to think "perhaps there will be a village 
here some of these days," and "it would be well to give 
the place a name"; and as the Governor of the State at 



1 68 History of Marlboro County, 

that time was named Bennett, in honor of him they began 
to call the place Bennettsville. If the thought had once 
entered their minds that a town would grow up around 
the courthouse, to be governed by a Mayor and Alder- 
men, with a half dozen churches, fine schools, several 
dozen stores, great brick blocks and iron horses drawing 
men and goods to it, upon an iron road, and hauling 
thousands of cotton bales, weighing five hundred pounds 
to the bale, and bringing in turn thousands of tons of fer- 
tilizers to enrich the soil, they would have given the infant 
town a mote pretentious name. As Monroe was presi- 
dent at the time they might have named it "Monroe." 
Or if the district of which it was to be the capital must be 
called after the grand old English Duke and soldier, who 
never felt the sensation of defeat in a whole lifetime of 
war, they might have concluded, "we will call the place 
Marlboro"; and that would have been proper, especially 
could they have looked forward sixty years, and seen the 
whole country for miles around, so like a town that you 
can hardly get out of sight of farm buildings and resi- 
dences, many of them looking more like a town than ever 
the "old court-house" and its surroundings did in its palm- 
iest days. 

But it is time that something be said of the unique 
structure that was replaced by the present handsome build- 
ing. On the 19th of December, 1849, the Legislature 
appropriated "eight thousand dollars to build a new 
court-house for Marlboro." M. Townsend, Dr. William 
Crosland, James Spears and others of like character, had 
entrusted to them the superintendence of the enterprise. 
Neil McNeil was the contractor, and after some delays, 
it was completed and accepted about the beginning of the 
year 1852. The first court held in it was in March of that 
year. The people generally, and the courts, were never 
satisfied with its accommodations and arrangements, and 
when some years ago, a portion of the plastering and cor- 



History of Marlboro County, 169 

-i 

nicing fell off, it was not difficult to have it condemned 
as unsafe, and to institute proceedings to build a new one. 
An act was passed authorizing the measure, and the 
County Commissioners, P. M. Hamer, J. H. David, and 
Tristram Covington took charge of the enterprise. The 
contract was given to Jacob S. Allen, of North Carolina, 
and in the year 1885 ^^^ present building was completed, 
being the fourth one in a century, and it is devoutly 
hoped that the men who shall administer law and justice 
within its walls in the future years, shall never fall below 
their predecessors in truth, honesty and uprightness. 

On the 27th of March, A. D., 1884, the cornerstone of 
the present handsome and commodious new court-house 
was laid with due ceremony, and in the spring of 1885 
the building was completed and occupied. At a special 
term of the Court of Common Pleas begun to be holden 
on the 4th day of May, 1885, Judge J. H. Hudson, presid- 
ing, the imposing structure was dedicated. The cere- 
mony was arranged by the Marlboro bar, and was the 
first of the kind of which we have knowledge. It was 
unique, original, appropriate, and impressive. The pro- 
gramme was as follows: The proceedings were opened 
with prayer by Rev. T. J. Clyde, of the Methodist Church 
followed by the opening address by Rev. J. A. W. 
Thomas, of the Baptist Church, at the close of which he 
delivered to the Court the Holy Bible with a solemn 
charge as to its use. The presiding Judge received the 
Book and responded to the address. Ex-Judge C. P. 
Tcwnsend, the senior member of the Bar, on behalf of 
his brethren, next addressed the Court, and closed by de- 
livering to the Court a pair of scales symbolical of the 
"Scales of Justice," The presiding Judge, receiving the 
scales, responded. Next H. H. Newton, Esq., Solicitor of 
the Fourth Judicial Circuit, addressed the Court, and 
closed by delivering to the Judge a copy of the General 
Statutes, on receiving which the Judge responded, and 



170 History of Marlboro County, 



delivered to the Clerk of Court, C. M. Weatherly, the 
keys of the building, which had been in a few appropriate 
remarks delivered to him by J. F. Bolton, Chairman of 
the Board of County Commissioners. The closing prayer 
was then delivered by Rev. W. B. Corbett, of the Presby- 
terian Church, and the immense audience of ladies and 
gentlemen dispersed. Their attention had been held un- 
interruptedly from the opening to the closing of the im- 
pressive exercises, a full record of which may be found in 
the Journal of Common Pleas, beginning on page 448 of 
the volume of 1878 to 1886. The record is valuable, and 
will be interesting to posterity. 



CHAPTER XXVI. 
Bennettsville. 

On December 14, 1819, an act was passed by the Legisla- 
ture of South Carolina, Robeson Carlos and James Gil- 
lespie representing Marlboro, authorizing the erection of 
a "new brick court-house and jail." The court-house at 
that time was situated a mile or so from Pee Dee River, 
and not many miles from the mouth of Crooked Creek; but 
on account of the unheaithfulness of the place and its in- 
accessibility, it was thought best to move nearer to the cen- 
ter of the district; and hence the present site was selected 
by a State engineer and is said to be very nearly the exact 
geographical center of the county. The place chosen was 
"upon the great road leading from Society Hill to Fayette- 
ville in or near an old apple orchard on the land of John 
S. Thomas." Three acres of land for the court-house and 
jail and public square was accordingly deeded by John S. 
Thomas, and the deed was recorded by Wm. Bristow, 
clerk, April 4, 1820. John S. Thomas lived on the road 
already mentioned and not more than fifty yards from 
where the Presbyterian church now stands. He is the 
maternal great-grandfather of Messrs. L. D., C. T., and 
John Hamer, at Tatum. James Cook, the grandfather of 
Misses Olivia and Sallie Cook, and Mrs. J. L. Breeden, and 
Mrs. Jno. S. Moore was a near neighbor to Thomas, and 
principally upon land that belonged to them, Bennettsville 
stands to-day. 

Bennettsville was named in honor of the Governor of 
the State. Governor Bennett was Governor at the time 
of the passage of the act authorizing the removal of the 
court-house and doubtless signed the bill. -No one knew 
him, but that made no difference, for men in high places 
at that day were not only respectable, but respected. 



1/2 History of Marlboro Cou7ity, 

There was some delay in the completion of the court- 
house and it was not finished till' 1824. People at that 
time did not understand the modern process of "booming 
new towns," and the town did not grow rapidly. It was 
before the day of railroads and electricity. Atlanta and 
Chicago had not been thought of, and the first settlers in 
Bennettsville doubtless thought it best to go slow. The 
nearest saw-mill was Vining's, now McDaniel's, and a road 
had to be opened before they could get there; so that 
material for building purposes was scarce and hard to get- 
Circular saws and steam power had not then found a lodg- 
ment in the unbroken forests of virgin pine. One or more 
of the first houses were built of material brought from the 
"old court-house." The Peter McColl house that was 
burnt a few years ago was built by Alex. R. Brown, largely 
from material brought from there. Also the house so 
long known as the Marlboro Hotel, but popularly called 
the "Buck Horn," from the pair of large antlers nailed for 
a long time in the front piazza. 

Among the first settlers may be mentioned Wm. Mun- 
nerlyn, Joseph D. Massey and Amos A. Galpin. Galpin 
had a store about where Grace's barber shop stands. 
Munnerlyn, who was a stepson of John S. Thomas, had a 
store on the corner now occupied by R. L. Kirkwood. 
He began on a very small scale, but, by close and judicious 
attention to business, soon became one of thie two leading 
merchants. He built a large store on the corner now 
occupied by J. M. Jackson; another where C» M. Weath- 
erly is now doing business, and still another on the corner 
below the post-office. He was associated in business with 
his half-brother, Horace B. Thomas, and might have been 
a very wealthy man, but the seductive andofttimes treach- 
erous cotton business finally swamped him. He was the 
father of the late Chas. T. Munnerlyn, who was favorably 
known here, but moved to Alabama and died a few years 
ago. Joseph D. Massey had a store on the corner where the 



History of Marlboro County, 173 

Rowe Bros, are now doing business. Massey came origi- 
nally from Lancaster, but did not make money. He, in 
in common with all the storekeepers at that day, sold 
liquor. 

As far back as 1826, besides the names already men- 
tioned, the male population of Bennettsville consisted of 
Dr. Edward W. Jones, Dr. Wm. Crosland, John McCol- 
lum, George Dudley, William Dudley, Horace B.Thomas, 
Alex. R. Brown. Gen. John McQueen settled in Ben- 
nettsville in 1827, and built a law office on the corner now 
occupied by C. S. McCall's mammoth store. Dr. Jones 
built the house and lived where Douglas Jennings now lives. 
He removed to Mississippi in 1834. Dr. Crosland, the father 
of William, Charles, George, Edward and Throop, had an 
office about where the building owned by James E. Coxe 
now stands on Depot street. He built him a bachelor's 
hall where J. J. Rowe lived, now occupied by Strauss' 
livery stable, in which he and Mr. Wm. Dudley lived until 
the Doctor married and settled atthe place since occupied 
by the family. He enjoyed a very lucrative practice and 
made money. 

John McCollum's store stood on the west side of the Pub- 
lic Square, where the post-office now stands. Originally it 
had a piazza the whole length of the front of the build- 
ing. Indeed, all of the stores then had them, and benches 
thereon for the customers to sit upon after coming in from 
a ride or walk, and after having taken a drink — one or more. 
His dwelling house stood where Capt. P. L. Breeden now 
lives. He was an upright, good citizen, and commanded 
the universal respect of the people. Capt. Joshua David 
built a house on the east side of the Public Square on the 
corner. He doubtless lived in it awhile, for he filled the 
office of Sheriff and Clerk, and for a number of years was 
Ordinary for the District. The house was afterwards 
known as the Tavern, and kept for years by Philip Miller. 

The bakery and candy shop stood immediately on the 
12 



174 History of Marlboro County, 

corner, and the hotel was a little further back. On the 
block where the bank now stands, but on the corner, and 
quite near to the street, the Masons erected the Marlboro 
Hotel, removing it from the old court-house, it being the 
first house erected in Bennettsville. It had, no doubt, 
been greatly improved and enlarged since those days, but 
like most of the old landmarks, it came to be an eyesore 
to the fastidious tastes of the modern Bennettsvillian, and 
was removed some years ago, and quite recently has been 
entirely demolished and a handsome new hotel built on 
the spot. 

One of the early settlers, Harvey J. Baldwin, a North- 
erner, built a house on the lot formerly occupied by 
S. J. Townsend, but now owned by Mrs. Adams, and 
known far and wide as the Adams House. Another. Dr. 
Benjamin by name, owned the lot and partly completed 
a house on the lot now owned by H. W. Carroll. He 
sold out to Wm. Munnerlyn and went to Marion. Amos 
Galpin, who has already been mentioned, bought land 
from John S. Thomas lying on both sides of the street 
leading towards Cheraw. The east side of the street, the 
block next the Public Square, he sold to Henry Covington, 
who in turn sold to Horace Thomas. The west side 
was purchased from Galpin by Robeson A. Carloss, 
who sold to Gen. McQueen, and Col. C. W. Dudley. The 
house now occupied by F. M. Emanuel was built by Rev. 
Thomas Cook, who once merchandised in Bennettsville, 
on the corner below where the post-office now stands. 

This sketch of the first settlers, their homes and places 
of business, shows that the little town began gradually to 
assume shape and to make its mark upon the geography of 
the country. Town lots were laid off, and it is fair to 
presume that James Cook and John S. Thomas felt them- 
selves in great luck that the town decided to stake down 
at their very doors, and perhaps spread out all around 
them. The line dividing their land ran perhaps between 



History of Marlboro County, 173 

Judge Hudson's law office and the Adams House to the 
run of the creek* and south towards the Crosland resi- 
dence. One of the first lots purchased was the Marlboro 
Hotel lot, which was purchased by Mrs. Dudley, the 
grandmother of T. E. Dudley. It is perfectly safe to say 
that not one of the original purchasers are alive to-day. 
It would be interesting and instructive to note the changes 
that have taken place in the ownership of the land lying 
around the Public Square. It would be a revelation to 
be able to note changes that have taken place in the 
market value of the land contiguous to the Square since 
1826 and up to date. 

The land lying to the west of John S. Thomas was 
owned by Hartwell Ayer, the father of the late Mrs. J. B. 
Breeden. The dividing line between Thomas and Ayer 
was about the gully just west of T. E. Dudley's residence. 
Col. C. W. Dudley purchased two tracts of land from Mr. 
Ayer, one of seventy acres on the south side of the Socie- 
ty Hill road, and another of one hundred and nine acres 
to the north of the same road. When the new court- 
house was being erected, from 1819 to 1824, the land upon 
which East Bennettsville now stands was doubtless owned 
by Nathan B. Thomas, the grandfather of the late H: P. 
Johnson. He was one of the commissioners appointed to 
supervise the erection of the court-house, and perhaps 
made the brick for the building. 

We have told of the first early years of the history of 
Bennettsville and something of the early settlers of the 
town. Those early settlers may have been disappointed 
at the slow growth of the young town. A few stayed 
awhile and then moved on to seek their fortunes else- 
where; others remained to aid in the development and 
growth of the town. At the beginning of the war, say 
thirty-five years from its birth, Bennettsville was still 
quite a small place. A few houses were scattered irregu- 
larly along the Main street from where Knox Livingston 



176 History of Marlboro County. 

lives down to where T. M. Bolton's residence now stands. 
Col. Dudley lived still farther on. A little off from the 
Main street and looking south, could be seen Mrs. Long's 
and Mr. Alexander Southerland's and the Taylor place; a 
little further on and looking east was the Presbyterian 
church, the J. J. Rowe place and Dr. Crosland's, and yet 
still further eastward was the Methodist parsonage; Judge 
Hudson's house, and last of all Col. W. J. Cook's, who was 
living at his father's place, which was there before Ben- 
nettsville was founded. This Cook residence is the oldest 
dwelling in Bennettsville or vicinity. Not long after the 
Revolution it was erected by William Hodge, a brother- 
in-law of Loudon Harwell; afterwards he sold the place to 
James Cook and moved West. Those mentioned, with the 
residences along the Main street, made up a village 
of about thirty residences, besides three churches, Meth- 
odist, Baptist and Presbyterian; two lodges. Masonic and 
Temperance; about six stores lying around the Square, 
several offices and one or more blacksmith and wood 
shops. The middle-aged people will be able to call to 
mind Townsend & Douglas, C. S. & M. L Henagan, John 
McCoUum, and Wm. Murchison as the principal mer- 
chants. W. D. Johnson, S. J. Townsend, J. H. Hudson, 
C. P. Townsend and T. E, Dudley were the attorneys. 
Alexander Southerland was the postmaster and druggist. 
J. J. Rowe, the shoemaker; Robt. W. Little, the tailor. 
J. B. and J. T. Jennings, W. J. David and Wm. D. Wallace 
did the medical practice for the town and community. 
Bennettsville then had no barber or undertaker. The 
men must have known how to shave themselves, and if 
anybody happened to die the coffin was made of pine- 
boards at the shop. The town boasted of two good 
schools, a male and female academy, under the manage- 
ment of first-class teachers. 

Then came the war, when merchants, lawyers, teachers 
and doctors gave up their business and volunteered in 



History of Marlboro County, 177 

defense of their country and a principle they held dear. 
The farmers left their homes and firesides in the care of 
their wives and servants, and, side by side with the pro- 
fessional man, bravely battled for a cause they thought 
was just. A few old men and the women, children and 
servants were left in charge of the town. The war closed, 
and brave men came home. Alas ! many returned not, 
to face demoralization, desolation and poverty. They 
courageously took up the burden of life again, and with 
no capital save brains and pluck, began the battle against 
poverty; and the battle has been successful. To-day Ben- 
nettsville bears no resemblance to the town of thirty 
years ago. She has lengthened her cords and spread out 
east, south and west; new streets have been opened, houses 
built, and either east or west Bennettsville has more in- 
habitants now than the whole town had in 1866. What 
changes have taken place in thirty years! There are six 
houses in the center of the town that have not changed 
location or in appearance since 1866. The jail. Masonic 
Hall. Presbyterian church, and the dwellings of Throop 
Crosland, Douglas Jennings and J. G. W. Cobb have the 
same appearance as they did thirty years ago. The dwell- 
ings of F. M. Emanuel, A. E. Bristow, the Cook residence 
and the C. W. Dudley place have not changed. Every- 
thing else is new or has been so changed and remodeled 
as to look new. Where dilapidated stores, shops and 
small offices stood around the public square, handsome 
brick stores and elegant blocks of brick buildings now 
stand. Handsome residences now thickly dot the ground 
upon which crops of cotton and corn were cultivated. 
Besides the erection of handsome stores and beautiful 
residences, other and marked improvements have been 
made. The merchants no longer haul freight to and from 
Society Hill and Gardner's Bluff. Bennettsville is now 
in communication with the outside world. Two railway 
lines offer transportation for freight and passage north 



178 History of Marlboro County, 

and south. Cotton is sold to the local buyer, who ships 
it by rail, and pays for it with a check on the Bank of 
Marlboro. Fine graded schools, for both white and col- 
ored children, having good buildings and a full corps of 
experienced teachers, are in full blast, and may be said to 
be the pride of the town. Good churches, good schools, 
good stores and dwellings, and good people make a good 
town; and Bennettsville, having all these good things, is a 
good town. In Bennettsville fortunes have been made 
and successes won. What has been hiay be, and those 
who are toiling for success in their calling must toil on 
hoping and working for success. 

Since the close of the war in April, 1865, the town of 
Bennettsville, which was partly burned by Sherman's 
soldiers, has enjoyed a steady growth. The leading mer- 
chants have been James B. Breeden, Wm. Murchison, 
John D. Murchison, Capt. P. L. Breeden, C. S. McCall, 
A. J. Rowe, J. N. Weatherly, C. M. Weatherly, J. M. Jack- 
son, Rowe Bros., Simon Strauss, H. W. Carroll and R. Lee 
Kirkwood. Others are doing business on a smaller scale. 
All above named have succeeded and most of them re- 
markably well. Perhaps in no town of its size in South 
Carolina have so many substantial fortunes, in the space 
of thirty years, been accumulated by merchants as in Ben- 
nettsville; and this not by speculation, but by straight- 
forward methods. In the forefront of those who have 
amassed property in this lineof business are J. B. Breeden, 
Wm. Murchison, John D. Murchison, who died, leaving 
large estates, and Capt. P. L. Breeden and C. S. McCall, 
still living. The first has retired from mercantile life and 
devotes himself to planting on a large scale, whilst Mc- 
Call still successfully conducts a large mercantile as well 
as large planting business with marked success in both. 
He is the largest holder of real estate in the town. It is 
a noteworthy fact that all these successful men were farm- 
ers' sons and began life with little or no capital. They 



History of Marlboro County. 179 

have been the architects of their own fortunes. The same 
may be said, of D D. McCoU, president of the Bank of 
Marlboro, who, though not a merchant, has, by strict at- 
tention to business, professional and financial, kept apace 
with the foremost of them in the accumulation of wealth. 
With much satisfaction it is to be remarked that the places 
of these veterans in mercantile and financial affairs will be 
taken by worthy young men who are making headway in 
business, and will maintain the steady and wholesome 
growth of the town. 

Some few family names of the original first settlers of 
Bennettsville are yet to be found in the town or immedi- 
ate vicinity. Joel Emanuel, the grandfather of the 
Messrs. W. P., P. C. and Joel Emanuel and P. A. Hodges 
lived first at the "old court-house," and when Bennetts- 
ville was founded, moved to the new county seat and for 
a number of years lived in the town and was engaged in 
the mercantile business, and afterwards lived on his farm 
north of the town, where he died a number of years ago. 
He was the brother of Simon Emanuel, of Brownsville, 
who was the father of Mrs. A. E. Bristow. The grand- 
parents of T. E. Dudley also lived at the *'old court- 
house,*' and followed on after the new court-house. Mrs. 
Dudley was the first person to undertake the hotel busi- 
ness in Bennettsville. Samuel Sparks lived at the "old 
court-house," but never resided in Bennettsville. He was 
the father of the late Capt. Alex D. Sparks, whose widow 
lives near Blenheim. Mrs. Keitt, the daughter of Samuel 
Sparks, married Lawrence M. Keitt, who represented the 
State in the provisional Confederate Congress which 
met at Montgomery, Alabama, February 4th, 1861. 

The names now found in Bennettsville that were here 
at, or very soon after the town was founded, are the Eman- 
uels named, the Dudleys, Croslands, Bristows, Cooks and 
Mrs. Miller. There may be others or descendants of oth- 
ers, but they are not remembered, except in the descend- 



i8o History of Marlboro County, 

ants of Hartwell Ayer, in the children of the late John 
HarroU, and the descendants of Nathan B. Thomas, in 
H. P. Johnson and children, and Hope Newton, Jr. 

In the preparation of this chapter the writer had access 
to a file of old papers kindly furnished him by Editor S. 
A. Brown,containinga "History of Bennettsville," written 
by the late Col. C. W. Dudley when he was the editor of 
the paper. 



CHAPTER XXVII. 
Brightsville. 

Brightsville, one of the upper townships in Marlboro, 
takes its name from Chas. Bright, who was the maternal 
grandfather of the late E. W. Goodwin. Mr. Bright emi- 
grated to this county from Granville County, North Car- 
olina, in the year 1796. "It is thought he was a Revolu- 
tionary soldier. He was filled with the true spirit of 
patriotism and ardent love of country which characteriz- 
ed the men of his day." Mr. Bright was married when 
he came to Marlboro, having a wife and five children. 
He first settled on Crooked Creek, near Bruton's Fork 
Church, then lived awhile on the stage road, near where 
Jackson Stubbs now lives, and in 1827 moved to what is 
now known as Goodwin's Mill. He purchased the mill and 
a large body of land from Drury Robertson in 1808. He 
was a man of indomitable energy. When he reached the 
place now bearing his name he had little or no money. 
When he died in 1830, at the advanced age of seventy 
years, he was the owner of thousands of acres of land and 
more than fifty slaves. Samuel Goodwin, the father of 
E. W. Goodwin, married the daughter of Chas. Bright. 
E. W. Goodwin, like his grandfather, was a man of great 
energy and perseverance. In addition to his mill and 
large farming interests, he successfully conducted a large 
mercantile business, arid amassed a considerable fortune 
He died a few years ago lamented, respected and loved 
by all who knew him. He represented the county in the 
Secession Convention. 

Seventy years ago people did not board a train at their 
doors and travel at the rate of forty miles per hour. Rail- 
road travel was then unknown and unthought of. Trans- 



1 82 History of Marlboro Couiity, 

portation from place to place was by means of stage coaches 
drawn by horses. The stage line from New Orleans to 
New York used to pass through this county, and the road 
from Cheraw to Laurel Hill, by Goodwin's Mill, was a 
part of the route. About fifty years ago some railroads 
had been built, but a gap from Camden, South Carolina, 
to Warsaw, North Carolina, had still to be traveled by 
stage; and thus it is seen that the **stage road" had some 
importance attached to it at that day, and doubtless 
Charles Bright thought himself lucky in making a pur- 
chase of land lying alongside the "stage road." The 
stage road was established here about 1822, having been 
moved from the road running through Adamsville. 

Soon after the Revolutionary War two Odom brothers 
came to Marlboro from Virginia, James and Sion. The 
former settled on the place where a grandson, H. K- 
Odom, now lives, and was the father of a large family. 
The descendants of this old man are found in various 
parts of the county, while a goodly number yet remain 
in the old neighborhood. James, Theophilus, William, 
Daniel, Abram, Godfrey, Tristram and John, were the 
sons of the first James, all of whom (Tristram being the 
last, who died in 1896) have gone to the grave. Chloe, 
the daughter of James, married Tandy Vance and moved 
to Missouri; Nancy married Isham Turner, lived first in 
North Carolina and moved thence to Missouri; Betsy 
married Allen Wicker, lived first in North Carolina and 
moved to Marlboro; Jennie first married a man named 
Smith, and then married Barnabas Wallace, and became 
the mother of Stephen Wallace, Col. John W., Dr. Mur- 
ray C, Evander and William. Her daughters, Matilda 
and Mary, married B. F. and James Parrott, in Darlington; 
Lizzie married Peter Bowyer; Miranda, Duncan Barentine, 
and Martha married Cornelius D. Newton. All the Wal- 
lace name above mentioned are dead except William, who 
lives in Camden. 



History of Marlboro County. 183 

Sion Odom settled near the stage road, not far from 
where Durant Odom, a grandson, now lives. From him 
is descended a numerous progeny through Philip, Sion 
and Sam, as well as others of other names. Many of the 
respected citizens of the Brightsville and Smithville town- 
ships have in their veins the blood of one or the other of 
these old patriarchs. Another of the name who also 
came from Virginia, after he was discharged from service 
in the patriot army, seems to have settled first in Marion 
County and if he did not come himself to Marlboro, his, 
sons, it is said, did come; and one of these married Miss 
Dorcas Stubbs and left a daughter, who became the first 
wife of the late S. J. Strickland. 

Another prominent member of these pioneer settlers in 
Brightsville was Herbert Smith, the father of Dr. T. C. 
Smith, Frank Smith; Miss Betsy Smith, Mrs. Ann Adams 
and Mrs. S. J. Adams, of Bennettsville. He first settled 
on the stage road near where D. D. Stubbs now lives. 
He was born in 1790, lived at that place only a few years, 
when he exchanged places with Handy Stanton and 
moved to the old Telegraph Road, where he resided for 
sixty-five years. He died in 1883 at the advanced age of 93. 

Joel Hall was born in Chesterfield County, South Caro- 
lina, in 1807. His father moved from Chesterfield in his 
latter years, and settled just across the State line not more 
than two miles from the home of Joel Hall. On Decem- 
ber 1, 1833, he married Esther Steen. They had seven chil- 
dren, all are now dead except three sons. His wife died in 
1874, and his son, John, was killed the same year by 
lightning. Mr. Hall died only a year or two ago, approach- 
ing 90 years of age. In the year 1836, as told by Mr. Hall, 
a wagoner from the up-country brought a case of small- 
pox into that section and died at Bennie Quick's, and 
was buried near by. The sign of his lonely grave, a few 
years ago, was yet visible. He was nursed principally by 
Herbert and William Smith and William Hall, the father 



1 84 History of Marlboro County, 

of Joel Hall. **The awful disease spread rapidly in the 
Sand Hills ; there were some sixty-five cases, but, strange to 
say, not more than five or six deaths." Mr. Hall could 
remember when not more than four or five bales of cot- 
ton were made in that entire Sand Hill country: now a 
public gin turns out four or five hundred bales annually. 
As a rule the people did not work much in his young days. 
What a change from the old to the new! 

Among the first settlers in the Brightsville section may 
be mentioned Barney Wallace, who lived and reared a 
large family on Crooked Creek, near where T. P. Stubbs 
now lives. Thomas Harrington settled and lived one mile 
north of Boykin Church, where his son Goodwin lives. 
Younger Newton, the grandfather of Ira Newton, lived 
on the same plantation now owned by Ira. John Stubbs, 
the father of Jackson, Alexander and the late John W., 
lived where Gus O'Tuall now lives, the home of A. J. 
Stanton, the old Tax Collector of Marlboro County. 

Bishop Gregg, in his"History of the Old Cheraws,*' men- 
tions the name of John Stubbs, and says of him "that in 
November, 1753, he took up a grant of land on Catfiish 
Creek in Marion, and was doubtless the ancestor of the 
large connection of that name in Marlboro." John had a 
brother named William, for Mr. William F. Stubbs, of An- 
son County, North Carolina, who is now entering his 92d 
year, says: "My grandfather informed me that his father, 
John or William, came from England before the Revolu- 
tionary War and settled in Marlboro County," and further 
says, "He was a small man, a weaver by trade, and mar- 
ried Miss Rebecca Conner, a very large lady, who became 
the mother of five sons; Lewis, James, Thomas, William, 
John and doubtless also Peter. Of these, Lewis, the first 
mentioned, settled where Mrs. Mastin Stubbs now lives, 
and was the father of Rev. Campbell Stubbs, John J. and 
Lewis E.; James settled where B. I. Liles now lives and 
was the father of John, David, Alexander and Silas. 



History of Marlboro County. 185 

Jackson and the late John W. were the sons of this John 
and grandsons of James. The daughters of James were 
Elizabeth, who married Holden Liles, and became the 
mother of Jas. S., B. I. and Joseph R. Liles; and Mrs. Pear- 
son, Mrs, John M. Miller, and Celia, who married George 
Bristow, the father of Capt. A. E. Bristow, of Bennetts- 
ville; Thomas, the third brother above mentioned, settled 
where the late Wm. Webster lived. His sons were Benja- 
min, Thomas, and John. Of his daughters, Lucy married 
E. W. Goodwin, as elsewhere stated; Rebecca married 
Peter Hubbard and moved to Mississippi; Feribe married 
Wm. Hubbard. William, the fourth brother, settled on 
what has been known as the Brazier place, on the Cheraw 
road. His sons were James (called **Big Jim"), Peter and 
William F. This William F. Stubbs, already mentioned 
as being 92 years of age, says **his mother moved to Marl- 
boro County in 1823, and that he was present at the first 
term of court that was held at Bennettsville, the spring 
term of 1824." He was then 19 years of age. He left the 
county and moved to his present home, McFarland, 
North Carolina, in 1855. ^'^ grandfather was a Revolu- 
tionary patriot. 

It is proper to follow the Stubbs family with a sketch 
of the Moore family; for they are descendants on the 
mother's side, from them. Benjamin Moore, Sr., son of 
James and Drucilla Moore, was born in Richmond County, 
North Carolina, in 1769. He was orphaned at an early 
age, and came to Marlboro in his early manhood. 
His wife was P'rancis Stubbs, the daughter of Wm. Stubbs 
and Elizabeth Hubbard. In the year 1816 he purchased 
the farm upon which J. Alexander W. Moore lives, paying 
$1.94 per acre, which he thought was a high price for the 
land. It was bought of Major Drury Robertson, who 
owned a territory of land reaching from Goodwin's Mill 
to Pipkin's Mill. The Major valued the land princi- 
pally on account of the virgin timber, which was then 



i86 History of Marlboro County, 

found in unbroken profusion, and perhaps inserted a tim- 
ber reservation clause in some of the deeds. The grand- 
sons of Benjamin Moore, Sr., value the land because from 
it they produce a bale of cotton per acre and provision 
crops in like proportion. 

Benjamin Moore, Sr., died in 1846 and left a large family 
of sons and daughters. Rebecca Moore, his daughter, 
married Rev. Pleasant Brazier and moved to Alabama 
before the late war. Drucilla married Wm. Odom and 
settled in Tennessee; Nancy Moore married Abram Odom; 
Catharine was the wife of Theophilus Odom ; Mary 
Moore married Wm. Eastefling and settled in Mis- 
sissippi, and Parmilia Moore was the wife of the late 
Stephen Wallace, father of Thos. G. and Barney Wallace. 

William Moore, the eldest son of Benjamin, married 
Mary Adams and settled in Adamsville. The sons of 
William Moore were Thomas B., John R., B. F., and W. 
A.; Mrs. Davis an only daughter, who, after Rev. Mr. 
Davis death, married Capt. E. L. Pearce. James Moore 
first married Widow Jones, a daughter of the late Henry 
Easterling, and after her death married Sarah, daughter 
of Samuel Bethea, of Marion County. James Moore, of 
Latta, is the fruit of that marriage. Alfred Y. Moore 
married Mary A. Jones, daughter of Rev. John Jones. 
His second wife was Elizabeth, the daughter of Philip 
Odom. Mr. Moore yet lives and is an active man, con- 
sidering he carries the weight of four-score years. Benja- 
min Moore married Mintie Easterling, and A. W. Moore, 
lately deceased, was the son by this marriage. His second 
wife was Elizabeth Pearson, daughter of the late John 
Pearson, who is the mother of the Messrs. B. E., P. B. 
and Carey Moore, and who, after the death of Mr. 
Moore married Willis Turlington. Duncan W. Moore, 
youngest son of Benjamin Moore, Sr., was born No- 
vember 25, 1819. He married Martha Spears, the daughter 
of James Spears and Deborah Bethea. The four sons. 



History of Marlboro County, 187 

M. A. J., J. D., C. F., and J. Alex., live at or near by 
the spot where their father was born and died, and where 
their grandfather lived and died. Mrs. Frank B. Gibson, 
of Gibson, North Carolina, and Mrs. E. W. Goodwin, Jr., are 
daughters of Duncan W. Moore. He was a man of large 
frame and large heart, and was known far and near as an 
industrious, successful farmer. Wherever known the 
Moores are noted as careful, thrifty, money- making farm- 
ers, and honest, law-abiding citizens. 

North of the "old stage road" and two miles from 
Goodwin's Mills, lived A. C. Mclnnis. He was born on 
the Isle of Jura, Scotland, in 1816. His father, Angus, 
came to America in 1820; Mr. Mclnnis was then only 
four years old, but his recollection of the voyage across 
the water and the landing on the friendly shores of 
the New World was perfect and fresh. They intended 
landing at New York, but adverse winds drove them 
further north and the landing was made on the coast of 
Canada. The sail vessels of that day could not success- 
fully buffet the winds and waves, as do the monster iron 
steamers of the present, and the voyage was long and 
tedious. Mr. Mclnnis had been taught to *'believe that 
Satan was black, which he firmly believed." When the 
vessel anchored and the health officer came aboard, he 
brought his servant, a negro man, with him Mr. Mclnnis 
and a crowd of boys were upon the deck, and when 
they saw the negro coming on deck they thought he 
was the devil sure enough, and all hands incontinently 
cleared the deck and fled below. Mr. Mclnnis* parents 
settled in Cumberland County, North Carolina, and he 
came to Marlboro in 1833 and located at Parnassus, re- 
maining there six years in business with Meekin Town- 
send, the father of Judge C. P. Townsend, for whom he 
cherished the most tender feelings of friendship and grati- 
tude. He then moved to Bennettsville, where he lived 
eighteen years, engaged in the carriage-making business. 



1 88 History, of Marlboro County. 

As already told in a previous chapter, he married Miss 
Flora McCall in 1844. S. J., James A., and Archie, now 
in Mississippi, were of this marriage. After leaving Ben- 
nettsville he lived near "the burnt factory,'* and in 1866 
removed to Brightsville. Mr. Mclnnis was trial justice 
for a number of years, and, with the exception of a few 
years, .had been a magistrate since 1852 and hence he 
was entitled to be called "Squire" Mclnnis. He was an 
honorable, intelligent Christian gentleman. 

We have been writing about Brightsville and some of 
the Brightsville families, but we will step across the "old 
stage road," and enter Adamsville township, and not quite 
a mile south from Boykin Church is where the late Capt. 
Thomas W. Huckabee lived and died. He died only a 
very few years ago, having reached four-score years. He 
died where his father settled soon after the Revolutionary 
War, having never lived anywhere else. . He was the son 
of Thomas Huckabee, who was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tionary War, and served under General Francis Marion. 
His father was a Virginian by birth, and married Nancy 
McCall, a native of Scotland, she having come to Ameri- 
ca in 1790, at the age of eighteen. Captain Huckabee 
was born in 181 1, and had a brother, Allen, who moved 
West in 1854 and died in Arkansas in 1881. Captain 
Huckabee was a soldier in the Florida War against the 
unfriendly Seminole Indians. He served under General 
W. W, Harllee and Captain James W. Blakeny. He as- 
sisted in the erection of Fort Harllee, and was away from 
home several months. They were disbanded April, 1837. 
He arrived at home in May, having walked all the way 
from Charleston. During the first year of the war between 
the States he was elected Captain of the "Home Guards* 
and thus obtained the title of Captain. 

He was undemonstrative and quiet, yet true as steel. 
He never sought public notoriety, but might have filled 
any position acceptably. He taught school for quite a 



History of Marlboro County. 189 



number of years, and spared not the rod to the injury of 
the student. 

Capt. Huckabee first married Penelope Pate, youngest 
sister of Willis Pate, of Clio. Only one child was born to 
this marriage, who is the wife of Mr. Tally Huckabee. 
His second wife was Mrs. Fannie Covington, who was the 
widow of Noah Covington. A son, Thomas, and two 
daughters, all grown, are the fruit of this marriage. 

A file of papers furnished by J. P. Gibson made it pos- 
sible for tTie writer to complete this chapter. 



13 



CHAPTER XXVIIL. 
Blenheim. 

On August 13, 1704, the celebrated battle of Blenheim 
was won by the Duke of Marlborough. This signal de- 
feat proved fatal to the plans of Louis XIV. of France^ 
for the French and Bavarian army was almost annihilated 
in the battle. The Duke of Marlborough, the hero of a 
hundred battles, was rewarded by his King for the suc- 
cessful issue of the struggle. The manor and honor of 
Woodstock were conferred on him by the King, and the 
Queen ordered that a palace should there be built, to be 
called Blenheim, and there to-day in Blenheim Castle 
resides the young Duke of Marlborough, who a year or 
so ago, came to this country and persuaded (?) an Amer- 
ican girl to return with him and act in the capacity of 
Lady Marlborough. 

Blenheim, a little town lying seven miles south from 
Bennettsville, was named in honor of the battle of Blen- 
heim, or more properly speaking of the castle of Blenheim. 
The late Donald Matheson saw the propriety of so 
naming it, and suggested the name. He doubtless often 
wondered why the county seat of Marlboro should have 
been called Bennettsville, instead of Blenheim, and when 
the opportunity arose for having a Blenheim in Marlboro,, 
he gladly embraced it. Mr. Matheson was born in Alla- 
dale, Ross-shire, Scotland, July 19, 18 10, and landed in 
this country at Charleston, November 29, 1825. He re- 
mained there two years or more, spent a year in Sumter,, 
went from there to Marion, and from Marion came to 
Marlboro. For a while he taught school, both in the 
Brownsville and Parnassus neighborhoods; and for a few 
years was employed as a salesman by the Messrs.^Town- 



History of Marlboro County, 191 

send near Parnassus, and afterwards by John McCollum 
at Bennettsville. He married Miss Margaret McLeod, 
and settled first in Brownsville, but in a few years moved 
to the place of his late residence near Blenheim. His 
death occurred a few years ago. He was an intelligent, 
cultured gentleman, and good blood coursed in his veins. 

For fifty years or more there has been a settlement at 
Blenheim. Several wealthy planters who owned planta- 
tions near the river, built summer houses at Mineral 
Spring, or Spring Hill (called by both names), where 
they resided during the summer months. It being unheal- 
thy on the river in the summer, they annually moved out 
to the Spring for the double purpose of finding a healthy 
locality and good cold water. Gen. John McQueen, Dr. 
Alexander McLeod, Samuel Sparks, and B. N. Rogers,, 
with their families, during the summer months, together 
with the people Kvin^g near by, made quite a pleasant,, 
intelligent little community in the years long gone by.. 
The old people who formed that ante-bellum settlement 
have all passed away, but their descendants and others^ 
have come upon the ground, opened streets, built houses,, 
and now have the town of Blenheim upon the maps. 
The Mineral Spring, the pride of the town, was discovered 
by James Spears, Sr., in the year 1781. 

A. J. Matheson, the merchant prince of the town, is at 
son of Donald Matheson mentioned above. 

By indomitable energy and close attention to busi- 
ness, he has, while yet comparatively a young man, 
amassed quite a snug fortune. He is the largest owner 
of real estate in the county, and plants a larger num- 
ber of acres in cotton, and makes more bales than 
any man in the county. He also devotes a large share 
of his time and attention to mercantile pursuits, and has 
been more largely instrumental in building up the town 
of Blenheim than any other person. He was the pioneer 
merchant of the place, and perhaps **builded better than. 



192 History of Marlboro County, 



he knew," when he established the first store there at the 
Cross-roads. 

The late F. B. Rogers shrewdly suspected that Blen- 
heim would by a great point for trade, and built a store 
on another corner of the cross, and bought the farm of 
Geo. Dudley lying adjacent, as well as quite a number of 
other farms in the community. Blenheim is a city of par- 
sonages, three being located there, so that preachers 
sometimes know how to appreciate a good thing when 
they see it. 

Forty years ago, living in the locality of Blenheim, and 
on both sides of the creek, were a class of honest, honor- 
able, intelligent and industrious men, who did not cringe 
and beg the world for a living, but by hard and well-di- 
rected licks made their own living. The McRaes, Jack 
and Philip; James Spears, and Light Townsend, the father 
of John R., Mrs. T. E. Dudley, Mrs. John Irby, and Mrs. 
W. F. Kinney, knew how to make money by farming. 
Major Drake, on some of his broad acres, may have given 
his son, Z. J. Drake, valuable lessons in making corn, 
which he used to advantage in his successful race against 
the world a few years ago. The Major may not have 
thought it possible to make 250 bushels per acre, but he 
doubtless made enough to keep his mules, sheep, hogs 
and negroes all fat, and a surplus to sell besides. Daniel 
John taught his sons the possibilities of the Marlboro 
soil, and they yet know how to make big crops of big po- 
tatoes, heavy corn and heavy hogs, and plenty of cotton 
as a surplus crop. 



CHAPTER XXIX. 
The Confederate War. 

South Carolina seceded from the union of States by- 
unanimous vote of a convention held in Charleston, De- 
cember 20, i860. It is too late to discuss the issues 
involved or to recount the various causes which led up to 
such action on the part of the State. It is sufficient to say 
that heated and partisan discussions in Congress, having 
a strong sectional flavor, on States* rights and constitu- 
tional limitations, aggravated and intensified by the slav- 
ery agitation, if not the cause, had much to do with bring- 
ing it to pass. Marlboro was represented in that Secession 
Convention by Wm. D. Johnson, Dr. A. McLeod and ¥., 
W. Goodwin, whose* actions, with very few exceptions, 
were endorsed by the people. 

Early in the year 1861 the whole Southland was astir 
with preparation for the inevitable. One thought filled 
every mind "from rosy morn till dewy eve"; that thought 
was ever present. The peaceful slumber of the night was 
disturbed by dreams of that waking thought. That thought 
was dark, grim-visaged war. Volunteer companies were 
formed of the flower and strength of the land. From hill- 
top and valley, from mountain to the sea, men of all classes 
were enlisting and tendering their services to the State. 
Our people thought themselves right and fought with as 
true valor and as pure patriotism as men ever did. The 
men of Marlboro did their duty nobly in the contest. 
Before the war Marlboro had an organized regiment of 
militia of eight small companies, and a voting population 
of twelve or thirteen hundred, and yet furnished to the 
Confederate army eight full companies, not including the 
reseryes. After the lapse of more than a quarter of a cen- 



194 History of Marlboro County, 

tury, the survivors of the war are known from other men 
of like age by the empty sleeve or artificial limb or faded 
cheek, and not by their abandoned habits and dissipation, 
for they have not been less law abiding or more turbulent 
or violent than others in like circumstances of trial, nor 
have they been outstripped in the struggle for material 
prosperity. It is not the smouldering embers of the flame 
which so raged in every bosom and made good soldiers of 
the men who fought that has sometimes given the pref- 
erence in civil affairs to the scarred veteran, but because 
the warrior bore himself as a man upon the field, andxame 
out of the strife unharmed, and with steady aim in peace 
as in war, has stood for the right, and shown himself 
worthy of the confidence and suffrages of his fellows. 
Whether the fighting qualities of the soldiers Marlboro 
furnished to the ranks will bear a favorable comparison 
with other troops, it may not be proper here to say; but 
that their morals, industry, integrity, attention to busi- 
ness and honorable success in life's struggle since the 
war, can bear the test of comparison with other classes, 
can truthfully be said. The country has honored them, 
kind Providence has smiled upon them, their business has 
prospered, their plans have succeeded and to-day they 
could walk arm in arm over the battlefields with the men 
they fought, and breathe no curse and harbor no dis- 
loyalty. Let not the character and deeds of those who 
fought the battles and endured the hardships of the war, 
be misunderstood by the generations yet to come. Let 
it be remembered that it was a pure devotion to their 
country's call that caused them to buckle their armor on 
and take the field. Their convictions of duty were as 
honest as were those of our Revolutionary sires, and they 
braved danger and death for their country's sake. They 
died daring to stand against tremendous odds, because in 
their heart of hearts they felt that duty called them there. 
Let the children and children's childen of the Confederate 



History of Marlboro County. 195 

1 

soldiers of Marlboro remember that their sires fought and 
died for a principle they held dear. Let not the poets, 
orators, and authors of the land of the victors, in record- 
ing the glories of the victors, forget to do justice to the 
vanquished. Let them not make the impression upon 
our posterity that our fathers made a traitorous and dis- 
honorable assault upon the principles of free government, 
virtue and right. 

The following pages will give the names of the officers 
and privates who went from Marlboro to the Confederate 
War. Through the kindness of officers and men who 
wore the gray we are enabled to publish a full list of all 
the commands that went to the field of strife from Marl- 
boro. A number of men have come into the county from 
other States whose names will not appear, but who hon- 
orably did their duty in other commands from other States. 

Special thanks are due T. E. Dudley, B. A. Rogers, A. 
E. Bristow, C. D. Easterling, John A. Calhoun, P. L. 
Breeden, T. F. McRae, C. S. McCall, Mrs. Sparks and 
others. 

Company **G," 8th Regiment, South Carolina Volun- 
teers. Entered Service in April, 1861. 

Captain, John W. Harrington. Retired May, 1862. 
Wounded Manassas. Died 1884. 

1st Lieutenant, Chas. P. Townsend. Elected captain May, 
1862. Wounded Malvern Hill. Alive. 

2d Lieutenant, John R. Parker. Elected ist lieutenant 
May, 1862. Wounded Fredericksburg, Knoxville, Get- 
tysburg. Captain at close of war. AJive. 

2d Brevet, C. M. Weatherly. Elected adjutant May, 
1862. Wounded at Sharpsburg, Berry ville, Knoxville. 
Alive. 

1st Sergeant, T. E. Dudley. Sergeant-major, November, 
1861. Promoted Captain, October, 1862. Alive. 

2d Sergeant, Isaac B, Lester. Died Chancellorsville, 
April, 1862, 



196 History of Marlboro County. 



3d Sergeant, Jno. T. Murdoch. Sergeant-major May,. 
1862. Discharged. Died April, 1865. 

4th Sergeant, Leggett Odom. Died Richmond, Septem- 
ber, 1 86 1. 

5th Sergeant, Wm. A. Crosland. Discharged May, 1862. 
Alive. 

1st Corporal, Thos. Easterling. Wounded Savage Sta- 
tion. Died 1878. 

2d Corporal, Henry E. Townsend. Died Richmond 1862. 

3d Corporal, Jno. R. Cook. Wounded at Williamsburg. 
Alive. 

4th Corporal, R. J. Tatum. Appointed wagon master 1862. 
Alive. 

5th Corporal, O. H. Gillespie. Transferred to Medical 
Corps. Died 1882. 

6th Corporal, Hugh J. Douglas. Elected 2d Lieutenant. 
Killed at Cedar Run. 

Privates. 

1 Adams, Elijah, appointed color-sergeant, killed Get- 
tysburg. 

2 Adams, Harris, appointed second lieutenant, killed 
Gettysburg. 

3 Adams, John Tyler, wounded Williamsburg, died 1871. 

4 Andrews, Stephen D., discharged 1861, died 1871. 

5 Bristow, Chesley D., assigned to quartermaster de- 
partment; living. 

6 Bristow, Edmund D., discharged April, 1862. 

7 Bullard, Henry, living. 

8 Bundy, Wm., discharged 1864. 

9 Butler, Wm., died 1863. 

10 Butler, Elijah, died 1886. 

11 Campbell, J., lost sight of. 

12 Caulk, Daniel, transferred to cavalry 1862; dead. 

13 Cook, Thomas, A. M., wounded Manassas; died 1876, 

14 Coward, Louis M., transferred to 4th Cavalry; died in 
hospital 1862. 

15 Crosland, Samuel, died Lynchburg 1861. 

16 Connor, Robt. T. D., transferred to 4th Cavalry; died 
in hospital 1862. 

17 Cooper^ Wm. C, died since war. 

18 Cooper, Vernon H., wounded Fredericksburg; died 
Richmond. 



History of Marlboro County. igy 

19 David, Ephraim C, wounded Gettysburg; living. 

20 David, Robt. J., wounded Fredericksburg; died at 
Richmond. 

21 David, Joseph H., wounded Chattanooga; liviitg. 

22 David, Aiken L., living in Alabama. 

23 Dudley, James, promoted second lieutenant 1864;: 
drowned 1868. 

24 Driggers. Jesse, killed. 

25 Driggers, Jesse G., living. 

26 Easterling, Alfred R., died Richmond 1862. 

27 Easterling, Robt. C, transferred to 6th Regiment 
South Carolina Volunteers 1862; alive. 

28 Easterling, Josiah K., killed at Gettysburg 1863. 

29 Easterling, Wm. T., living. 

30 Easterling, Elijah, wounded Gettysburg, Wilderness,. 
Deep Bottom; alive. 

31 Edens, Thos. W., discharged i86i;died 1895. 

32 Emanuel, Chas. L., transferred 1862; dead. 

33 Fletcher, Joshua D., wounded Fredericksburg, trans- 
ferred to cavalry; alive. 

34 Gibson, Wm. L., died Richmond 1861. 

35 Gillespie, Samuel, discharged i86i; died at home. 

36 Grant, Jno. S., died 1872. 

37 Graham, Henry C, died 1862. 

38 Harvel, John, wounded Gettysburg, Fredericksburg; 
killed Chickamauga. 

39 Henagan, Jas. M., appointed quartermaster 1862;- 
alive in Alabama. 

40 Heyward, Isham, transferred to 21st Regiment South. 
Carolina Volunteers and killed. 

41 Hinson, John B., appointed sergeant-major 1863,. 
wounded Sharpsburg and Fredericksburg; alive. 

42 Hinson, Philip H., transferred 1863, wounded Chicka- 
mauga and Atlanta. 

43 Hambrick, Amos, survived the war; lost sight of. 

44 Huckabee, John J., wounded Fredericksburg; alive 

45 Irby, Wm. W., wounded Williamsburg; alive. 

46 Jones, James H., died 1895. 

47 Jackson, James A. L., wounded at Fredericksburg; 
died 1884. 

48 Jackson, Enos, wounded Savage Station; died 1864.- 

49 Johnson, Neill D., died in Virginia 1862. 



igS History of Marlboro County, 

50 Johnson, Hugh T., transferred to cavalry 1862; lost to 
sight. 

51 Johnson, Daniel, died 1861. 

52 Lavinger, Geo. W., wounded Gettysburg; living. 

53 Long, Henry A., transferred to 4th Cavalry, wounded 
Manassas; dead. 

54 Liles, Joseph R., discharged; alive. 

55 Lavinger, Daniel, discharged. 

56 Miller, John M., appointed ist sergeant, lost leg 
Chickamauga; alive. 

56 Miller, Henry, wounded Knoxville, lost leg; dead. 

58 Munnerlyn, Chas. T., elected lieutenant 1862, wound- 
ed Fredericksburg; dead. 

59 McCollum, Jno. H., appointed 2d sergeant 1863, ist 
sergeant 1864; alive. 

60 Mcintosh, Nicholas H., discharged 1861; dead. 

61 Mcintosh, Alex., wounded Malvern Hill; killed Get- 
tysburg. 

62 McQueen, John^ wounded Gettysburg; living. 

63 Mclnnis, Simeon J., wounded Cold Harbor; alive. 

64 McKenzie, Alex., living. 

66 Odom, Josiah, transferred to 6th Regiment South 
Carolina Volunteers; dead. 

66 Odom, Sion W., transferred to 24th Regiment South 
Carolina Volunteers; dead. 

67 Odom, Philip W., transferred to 24th Regiment South 
Carolina Volunteers; dead. 

68 Parker, Harrison, died 1868. 

69 Prince, Jno. T., wounded Fredericksburg; living. 

70 Potter, Solomon, transferred to cavalry; lost sight of. 

71 Privatt, Evander, wounded Malvern Hill; killed 
Chickamauga. 

72 Pearson, Robt. C, died 1863. 

73 Roscoe, John, living. 

74 Roscoe, Geo. W., living. 

75 Rowe, Joseph H., transferred to 24th South Carolina 
Volunteers; killed. 

76 Rountree, Moses, alive. 

J^ Skipper, Josiah, lost to sight. 

78 Sneed, Israel, wounded Maryland Heights; living. 

79 Stanton, Noah, transferred to 24th Regiment South 
Carolina Volunteers; killed Franklin. 

v8o Stanton, John A., killed Petersburg 1864. 



History of Marlboro County, 199 

:8i Stanton, Milton, transferred to 24th Regiment, living. 

-82 Southerland, Thos. A., transferred to medical depart- 
ment; dead. 

-83 Thomas, Carey J., discharged 1861; alive. 

84 Thomas, Joseph M., wounded twice at Petersburg; 
living. 

-35 Thomas, Robt. D., died 1882. 

86 Thornwell, Chas. A., killed at Deep Bottom. 

-87 Williams, David, wounded Williamsburg; alive. 

88 Wright, Daniel G., died Richmond 1863. 

89 Wright, Ellerbe, died Lynchburg 1863. 

90 Wright, Geo. W., living. 

91 Webster, Henry D., wounded Knoxville; alive. 

92 Webster, Thos. M., alive. 

93 Webster, Chas. T., wounded Petersburg; alive. 

94 Webster, Hartwell, wounded Maryland Heights; died 
1863. 

Killed in battle, 13; died during war, 22; wounded, 37; dis- 
charged, 11; transferred, 17; retired. 3; died since 
war, 17; lost sight of, 6; living 49. 

Company "K," 8th Regiment, South Carolina Volun- 
teers. Entered the Service in April, 1861. 

John W. Henagan, major 8th Regiment, promoted colonel; 

killed in battle. 
D. M. D. McLeod, captain, promoted major 8th Regiment 

May, 1862, wounded Gettysburg; died, July, 1863. 
Frank Manning, captain, promoted from 2d sergeant to 

lieutenant 1861; captain 1862, wounded and lost an 

arm Maryland Heights; alive. 
B. A. Rogers, captain ; promoted from ranks to lieutenant, 

1862; captain, 1864; wounded Gettysburg and Deep 

Bottom; alive. 
F. Sarius McQueen, ist lieutenant; promoted to captain 

in regular service in 1861; dead. 
John D. McLucas, ist lieutenant, promoted from ranks to 

lieutenant 1862; alive. 
George R. Hearsey, 2d lieutenant; resigned June, 1861; 

dead, 
^m. T. Rogers, 2d lieutenant; promoted lieutenant May, 

1862; wounded at Gettysburg and Fredericksburg; 

dead. 



2CX) History of Marlboro County, 



John A. Peterkin, 3d lieutenant, died of disease in Vir- 
ginia. 
Jas. M. Alford, 3d lieutenant; promoted lieutenant 1861; 

resigned 1861; dead. 
John J. McQuage, ist sergeant; promoted regimental 

color-bearer 1861; alive. 
John W. Smith, ist sergeant; detached service Winder 

hospital; alive. 
M. M. Alford, ist sergeant; wounded Knoxville, captured 

and died in prison. 
Hugh B. McCall, ist sergeant; wounded at Maryland 

Heights, captured and died. 
Eli Willis, 1st sergeant; severely wounded Cold Harbor; 

alive. 
Frank McRae, sergeant, wounded Cedar Mountain; died 

in Virginia. 
Hugh McLucas, 2d sergeant; wounded Gettysburg, 1863^ 

and died. 
Cameron McKinnon, 2d sergeant; living. 
John Gunter, 3d sergeant; wounded Knoxville; alive. 
John C. Calhoun, 3d sergeant; dead. 
Lauchlin A. McLaurin, 4th sergeant; died since ^yar. 
Crawford McCall,ist corporal ;killed Gettysburg July, 1863. 
Nathan T. Alford, 2d corporal; wounded Wilderness; 

alive. 
Daniel Hargrove, 3d corporal; wounded Gettysburg 1863; 

living. 
Joseph D. Bruce, 4th corporal; living. 

Privates. 

1 Allen, Elmore, discharged 1861; living. 

2 Barrington, Harris, discharged i86i;died since war* 

3 Bruce, Thomas, dead. 

4 Beverly, W. R , discharged 1861; dead. 

5 Cottingham, Chas, died at home 1861. 

6 Crowley, Robt. C, discharged 1862; dead. 

7 Cope, Thomas, discharged I862; living. 

8 Covington, Eli T., joined company 1865; living. 

9 Curtin, , dead. 

10 Clark, Joseph, dead. 

11 Crowley, Wm., substitute for C. M. McRae; dead. 

12 Covington, Jas. T., discharged 1861; living. 



History of Marlboro County. 201 



13 Drake, Ancil, died Warrenton, Virginia, during war. 

14 Davis, Columbus, died in prison, Camp Chase. 

15 Driggers, Robt. S., discharged in 1861; dead. 

16 DuPree, Thos. J., discharged 1861; dead. 

17 English. Wm., died disease, Culpeper, Virginia. 

18 Edens, Joseph, living. . 

19 Edens, Thos. H., killed Bean Station, Virginia. 

20 Emanuel, James M., dead. 

21 Easterling, Lewis R., joined company 1865; living. 
•22 Easterling, David, joined company, 1865; living. 

23 Freeman, L. D., substituted for Thos. Bruce. 

24 Freeman, Benj., discharged, 1862; dead. 

25 Fletcher, W. R., living. 

26 Guzzard, John W., died Rome, Georgia, 1863. 

27 Graham, E., died Culpeper, Virginia, 1863. 

28 Grooms, E., died Culpeper, Virginia, 1861. 

29 Hargroves, James, transferred to quartermaster de- 
partment 1861; dead. 

30 Harril, Tristram, wounded Chattanooga; living. 

31 Haitchcock, Thos., wounded Chattanooga; dead. 

32 Hays, J. J., captured Gettysburg; living. 

33 Hays, Robt. W., living. 

34 Haskew, John W., wounded Gettysburg; dead. 

35 Huckabe, John, captured; living. 

36 Hodge, T. C, living. 

37 Ivy, H. W., discharged 1862; living. 

38 Ivy, Levi, wounded Malvern Hill; living. 

39 Jones, John C, discharged, 1861; dead. 

40 Jones, Martin, lost arm first Manassas; discharged; 
dead. 

41 Jacobs, Robt., substitute T. Edens; dead. 

42 Jackson, John C, died in prison. Camp Chase. 

43 Jacobs, J. Frost, living. 

44 John. Daniel C, transferred to cavalry; living. 

45 Kirby, H. 

46 McCall, Cameron, died Warrenton, Virginia. 

47 McCall, Alex., wounded Sharpsburg; living. 

48 McRae, A. D., died in 1862. 

49 McRae, John D., discharged 1862; dead. 

50 McRae, Jno. C, wounded Maryland Heights; died of 
disease, Virginia. 

51 McDaniel, Jas. R., died disease, Knoxville. 

52 McLucas, Archie, died at home, 1863. 



202 History of Marlbonf Cvunty, 

53 McLaurin, John F., living. 

54 McLeod, Murdock, discharged i86i; dead. 

55 McPherson, Malcom, killed Gettysburg, 1863. 

56 McPherson, Angus, killed Gettysburg 1863. 

57 Matheson, Hugh, died in 1861. 

58 Manship, John, joined company 1864, died 1864. 

59 Rogers, Frank A., living. 

60 Rascoe, Daniel, died Virginia 1861. 

62 Smith, W. D. 

63 Stubbs, Lucius, died Richmond, Virginia, 1861; bodyr 
buried Bcnnettsville Baptist church. 

64 Sport, George, discharged 1861. 

65 Sarris, A. L., died Gordonsville, Virginia. 

66 Stanton, A. A., substitute Levi Ivy; dead. 

67 Webster, W. R., wounded Seven Pines, Virginia; dead. 

68 Williams, Lazarus, wounded first Manassas; discharge 
ed 1 861; living. 

69 Woodlcy, Alex., died disease, Culpeper, Virginia. 

70 Weatherly, A. W., wounded Malvern Hill; living. 
Killed in battle, 7; wounded, 22; captured, 6; died in^ 

prison, 3; discharged, 14; unknown, 3; died of disease 
in war, 21; dead, 29; alive, 33.' 

Company "G," 23D Regiment South Carolina Volun- 
teers. 

Captain, R. C. Emanuel, died since war. 

1st Lieutenant, Elisha C. Pipkin, died during war. 

2d Lieutenant, A. L. McRae, elected captain at reor- 
ganization; killed Manassas. 

3d Lieutenant, Preston Drake, died since war. 

1st Sere^eant, Salathiel Leggett, elected 1st lieutenant at 
reorganization; dead. 

2d Sergeant, Wm. W. Covington, elected 3d Lieutenant 
at reorganization; promoted captain; died since war. 

3d* Lieutenant, D. S. John, lost leg at Second Manassas; 
died 1893. 

4th Sergeant, Silas Spears, elected 3d lieutenant 1862; 
wounded Jackson, Mississippi; died. 

5th Sergeant, Moses P. Galloway, elected 3d lieutenant 
1863; died 1894. 

1st Corporal, T. M.J. Summerford; died since war. 



History of Marlboro County, 203' 

2d Corporal, T. W. Alien: killed at battle of the Rappa- 
hannock. 

3d Corporal, John A. Calhoun, elected 2d lieutenant 
1863; wounded South Mountain and Fort Steadman;; 
alive. 

4th Corporal, James Taylor; killed Second Mannassas. 

Privates. 

1 Ammons, Silas, lost leg at Second Mannassas; still 
living. 

2 Bristow, E. H., alive. 

3 Bruce, T. R,, transferred to 8th Regiment South 
Carolina Volunteers. 

4 Boan, B. F., still living. 

5 Brigman, B. F., still living. 

6 Bristow, J. M., transferred; still living. 

7 Breeden, R. J., survived the war, but murdered si nee ». 

8 Bethea, P. W., alive. 

9 Brigman, Frank, alive. 

ID Brigman, Madison, still living. 

11 Carribo, Henry, killed at Petersburg. 

12 Cottingham, Jonathan, transferred; still living. 

13 Carter, W. J., transferred; alive. 

14 Cope, Elijah, transferred; alive. 

15 Calder, Boswell, alive. 

16 Calder, W. J., transferred; still living. 

17 Calder, Arthur, alive. 

18 Cole, James, died since war. 

19 Cox, M. C, died since war. 

20 Cox, Ely, died during war. 

21 Cox, W. E., wounded in foot near Goldsboro, North 
Carolina; alive. 

22 Cox, Elvin, died since war. 

23 Cox, C. A., wounded in shoulder at Rappahannock. 

24 Carlisle, T. F., wounded at Fort Sumter and Peters- 
burg; alive. 

25 Cully, C. W., transferred; died since war. 

26 Crowly, W., killed Second Mannassas. 

27 Clark, , wounded Petersburg; still living. 

28 Clark, Daniel, alive. 

29 Clark, Elsey, killed Second Manassas. 

30 Calhoun, A. L., still living. 



204 History of Marlboro County, 

31 Calhoun, J. C, killed Petersburg. 

32 Calhoun, H. H., still living. 

33 Covington, J, A., killed Petersburg, Virginia. 

34 Dew, H. C, still living. 

35 Driggers, J. H., still living. 

36 DuPre, T. J., died since war. 

37 Dunford, John, died at Richmond, Virginia. 

38 Driggers, Alex., discharged; died since war. 

39 Emanuel, Columbus, died since war. 
.40 Emanuel, Frank, died since war. 

41 Earl, Jesse, lost. 

42 English, James, died since war. 

43 English, John, transferred and died since war. 

44 English, Chas., still alive. 

45 Freeman, Lorenzo, killed Second Manassas. 

46 Graham, J. J., wounded Rappahannock, transferred; 
alive. 

47 Graham, Windsor, transferred; died since war. 

48 Gray, William, alive. 

49 Gray, Robt., wounded Kinston and Petersburg; alive. 

50 Gray, Calvin, dead. 

51 Garner, Wm., transferred; alive. 

52 Gilbert, Robt., alive. 

53 Galloway, Jos. S., wounded Petersburg; alive. 

-54 Galloway, W. A., wounded Jackson, Mississippi; 
alive. 

55 Galloway, Jno. C, wounded Petersburg; alive. 

56 Heustiss, James, discharged, over age. 

57 Heustiss, A. J., discharged, under age; alive. 

58 Hood, John, died during war. 

59 Hood, Wellington, killed Second Manassas. 

60 Hood, Wiley, alive. 

61 Hubbard, S. G., wounded Second Manassas; still 
living. 

62 Hubbard, E. G., died in Mississippi during war, of 
fever. 

63 Hersey, G. R , transferred; died since war. 

64 Haithcock, R. F., wounded Petersburg; alive. 

65 Haithcock, R., discharged; died since war. 

66 Haithcock, Samuel, wounded Fort Steadman; alive. 

67 Hamer, Daniel H., alive. 

68 Ivy, H. M., killed Second Manassas. 

69 Jackson, Abner, died since war. 



History of Marlboro County, 205 

70 Jackson, John, transferred; died since war. 

71 Johnson, W. D., lost sight of. 

72 Jackson, A. W., wounded, transferred; alive. 

73 Jackson, Wm., died since war. 

74 Lochlier, John, died in hospital in North Carolina. 

75 Meekins, P. J., wounded Petersburg; alive. 

76 Munford, Wm., transferred; alive. 

T] Moody, Geo., transferred; died since war. 

78 McLaurin, J. B., elected 2d lieutenant at reorganiza- 
tion, resigned; dead. 

79 McLaurin, D. McQ., died during war. 

80 McLaurin, N. D., alive. 

81 McLaurin, Geo., alive. 

82 McLaurin, J. J., died in 1892. 

83 McLaurin, H. L., wounded Petersburg; alive. 

84 McLaurin, D. W., wounded Petersburg; alive. 

85 McLaurin, Hugh, died Jackson, Mississippi. 

86 McEachern, Niell, alive. 

'^'j McEachern, John, died Richmond, Virginia. 

88 McKenzie, R. H., killed South Mountain, Maryland. 

89 McRae, John T., transferred; killed. 

90 McRae, Chas., alive. 

91 McCoU, Silas, wounded Jackson, Mississippi; alive. 

92 McColl, Duncan, transferred; alive. 

93 McColl, Jno. S., wounded Second Manassas, disabled, 

94 McAlister, John, transferred; alive. 

95 McAlister, Chas., transferred; alive. 

96 McColl, Daniel, died Jackson, Mississippi, of fever. 

97 McGilvray, B. P., killed Five Forks, Virginia. 

98 Napier, Joel E., wounded Petersburg; still living. 

99 Parish, Henry, still living. 

GO Parham, Henry, transferred; alive. 

01 Poison, Alex, wounded and died. 

02 Poison, David, alive. 

03 Proctor, Frederick, alive. 

04 Proctor, Aaron, killed Petersburg. 

05 Parham, Robt., alive. 

06 Quick, Alfred, died since war. 

07 Quick, Giles, died since war. 

08 Quick, Philip, died Savannah, Georgia, fever. 

09 Quipk, Daniel, died at home of fever. 

ID Quick, Jas. H., wounded Five Forks; alive, 
II Quick, Henry, killed Second Manassas, 
J4 



206 



History of Marlboro County. 



12 Quick, Pleasant, killed Petersburg, Virginia. 

13 Quick, E. B., alive. 

14 Quick, A. W., alive. 

15 Rae, A. P., transferred to North Carolina Regiment; 
dead. 

16 Rascoe, Wm., transferred; died since war. 

17 Spears, Harris N., alive. 

18 Spears, Wm., alive. 

19 Seals, James, wounded P'ive Forks; died since war. 

20 Stubbs, Jas., wounded Petersburg; alive. 

21 Stubbs, John, killed Antietam, Maryland. 

22 Stubbs, Joel, died during war. 

23 Sawyer, Levi, killed Second Manassas. 

24 Stergis, John, lost an arm at Second Manassas. 

25 Stergis, Joseph, discharged. 

26 Sawyer, Joel, alive. • 

27 Stanton, W. G., alive. 

28 Stanton, W. H., died since war. 

29 Stanton, J. H., killed Five Forks, Virginia. 

30 Stanton, Peter, alive. 

31 Steed, W. H., wounded Petersburg; alive. 

32 Stogner, John, wounded Jackson, Mississippi; alive 

33 Stogner, Wm., wounded Five Forks, Virginia; alive. 

34 Sports, John, discharged; bad health. 

35 Sports, W. B., died during war. 

36 Thomas, Philip, alive. 

37 Wallace, Washington, wounded Second Manassas; 
died since war. 

38 Wilkins, J. T., transferred; died since war. 

39 Wiloughby, J. P., transferred; died since war. 

40 Wiggins, Ham, died during war. 

41 Webb, David, died since war. 

42 Webb, Alex., wounded Petersburg; died since war. 

43 Weatherly, E. A., transferred; still living. 

44 Warden, Eli, lost. 

45 Welch, Richard, transferred; died since war. 

46 Sinclair, D. C, transferred, died since war. 

47 McCoU, W. M., alive. 

Killed in battle, 19; wounded, 33; died during war, 17; 
transferred, 26; discharged, 6; lost, 3; died since war, 
40; alive, 72. 



History of Marlboro County. io^ 



Muster Roll Company "D," 26th Regiment South 
Carolina Volunteers. 

Commissioned and Non-Commissioned Officers. 

A. D. Smith, Colonel. 

J. H. Hudson, Lt. Colonel. 

Smith, A. D., captain; elected colonel 26th Regiment, 
1862; wounded Petersburg; died at home. 

Davis, Washington W., ist lieutenant; promoted captain 
1862; killed Clay's Farm, Virginia. 

Wallace, John W., 2d lieutenant; promoted ist lieuten- 
ant 1862; dead. 

Davis, James M., 3d lieutenant; promoted 2d lieutenant 
1862; died at home. 

Bristow,*Alexander E., ist sergeant; promoted 3d and 2d 
lieutenant 1862; captain 1864; alive. 

Hall, Alexander, 2d sergeant; elected 3d lieutenant 1863; 
alive. 

Hammond, Haynes L., 3d sergeant; transferred to North 
Carolina Regiment; killed Wilderness. 

Quick* Robert, 4th sergeant; promoted ist sergeant 1864; 
killed Petersburg, 1864. 

Quick, Thomas, P., 5th sergeant; killed Petersburg 1864. 

Parker, Peter, ist corporal; promoted sergeant 1862; died 
at home. 

Brigman, J. Curtis, 2d corporal; alive. 

Hayes, James M., 3d corporal; alive. 

Roller, John, 4th corporal; killed Secessionville, 1862. 

Brigman, Eli, 5th corporal; killed Petersburg, 1864. 

Covington, Harris, 2d lieutenant 1861; promoted 1st lieu- 
tenant, 1864; captain, 1865; died 1876. 

Malone, John C, elected ist sergeant 1862; transferred; 
living. 

Parham, Alex. K., elected ist sergeant 1863; alive. 

Emanuel, Frank W., elected sergeant-major 1862; ordi- 
nance sergeant 1861; died in Texas. 

Privates. 

1 Bittle, James, H., killed Petersburg 1864. 

2 Bolton, Britton, died at home. 

3 Brigman, Henry. 



2oS History of Marlboro County. 

4 Brigman, Moses. 

5 Brigman, William, killed at Petersburg, 1864. 

6 Brigman, Henry. 

7 Brigman, Jacob C. 

8 Barrington, Goodwin, living. 

9 Barrington, Sion R., living. 
ID Barrington, Ebby W., living. 

11 Barrington, Alex. H., living. 

12 Bealancua, Augustus. 

13 Calder, Henry, transferred to 8th Regiment. 

14 Calder, Stamford. 

15 Calder, Daniel, died at home. 

16 Covington, Henry, killed Petersburg 1864. 

17 Clayton, John, died at home of disease. 

18 Cole, William. 

19 Chavis, Eliab, alive. 

20 Chavis, James, alive. 

21 Chavis, Bytha J., died at home. 

22 Chavis, Willis J., living. 

23 Chavis, John, died June, 1862, at Charleston. 

24 Chavis, Nelson, living. 

25 Chavis, Eli, living. 

26 Chavis, Calvin, living. 

27 Chavis, Levi, killed Clay^s Farm, near Petersburg, 1864. 

28 Chavis, William, killed near Petersburg, 1864. 

29 Chavis, Bithel, died at home on furlough, 1864. 

30 Chavis, Alfred, killed August 1864, near Petersburg 

31 Clark, William. 

32 Davis, Younger, died of disease at Secessionville. 

33 Dawkins, Elisha A., killed near Petersburg 1864. 

34 Driggers, Thomas, killed Secessionville, June, 1862 

35 Driggers, Eli, wounded Clay's Farm, Virginia, 1864; 
alive. 

,36 Driggers, Gage; alive. 

37 Driggers, Peter, alive. 

38 English, Alex., wounded Jackson, Mississippi. 

39 English, Eli, alive. 

40 English, Welcome, killed Petersburg 1864. 

41 Fletcher, John S., severely wounded Petersburg, 
1864; alive. 

42 Griggs, Henry, transferred to Coit's Battery 1864. 

43 Gilbert, Simeon. 

44 Gibson, Eli,wounded Burgiss Mill,Virginia, 1865 ; alive. 



History of Marlboro Coutity. 26g 

45 Gibson, Frank B., wounded near Appomatox, Vir- 
ginia, day Lee*s surrender, April 9th, 1865; alive. 

46 Gibson, John, killed near Petersburg 1864. 

47 Grooms, Evander, killed near Petersburg, 1864. 

48 Grant, James T., alive. 

49 Guinn, Anderson, alive. 

50 Hammond, Stephen, transferred to North Carolina 
Regiment 1864. 

51 Hatcher, Abner, wounded Petersburg 1864; alive 

52 Hatcher, Aaron, died at home 1864. 

53 Hall, William, alive. 

54 Jacobs, Curtis J., alive. 

55 Jacobs, Archie, died Petersburg, Virginia. 

56 Jones, William. 

57 Jones, James H., died 1895. 

58 Jacobs, Samuel, alive. 

59 Laviner, Hiram. 

60 Laviner, Harris, living. 

61 Liles, James S., wounded Petersburg 1864; alive. 

62 McGee, Wesley M. 

63 Mumford, James, killed at Petersburg, Virginia. 

64 Morris, Campbell, died since war. 

65 McGee, Henry. 

66 Mahoney, Thomas, discharged. 

67 Oxendine, Manny, alive. 

68 Oxendine, Leonard, C, promoted on field, 1864, to 
sergeant; alive. 

69 Odom, Alexander, alive. 

70 Odom, Noah, transferred to 4th South Carolina Cav- 
alry; alive. 

71 Parks, Alex, died Charleston, 1863. 

72 Parker, Andrews. 

73 Parham, William, died Church Flats, South Carolina. 

74 Perkins, Miles, died in hospital. 

75 Perkins, Wm. 

76 Prevatt, Evander, died in hospital. 

77 Powell, Wm. R., alive. 

78 Quick, Aaron T., alive. 

79 Quick, Robt. W., died at home. 

80 Quick, Evander, alive. 

81 Quick, Stephen, wounded Petersburg and Appo- 
matox; dead. 

82 Quick, Ebby, wounded Petersburg 1864; alive. 



^10 History of Marlboro Cduniy. 

83 Quick, Wyatt, died at home 1863. 

84 Quick, Chas. D., alive. 

85 Quick, Madison, alive. 

86 Roller, Henry T. 

87 Roller, Benjamin, alive. 

88 Roller, John, killed Secessionville, South Carolina. 

89 Rainwaters, Samuel. 

90 Rogers, Pinckney, alive. 

91 Smith, Stephen. 
02 Scott, Benjamin. 

93 Sweat, Benjamin, killed 1862. 

94 Sweat, Leonard, killed Petersburg 1864. 

95 Sweat John, died Secessionville 1862. 

96 Steen, Morgan. 

97 Strickland, Henry, died Petersburg 1864. 

98 Smith, James, discharged. 

99 Sweat, William, wounded Jackson, Mississippi; alive. 

100 Stanton, John, killed Petersburg 1864. 

101 Townsend, Walter S.; alive. 

102 Turner, Aaron, alive. 

103 Watson, Coleman, died at home. 

104 Wilkinson, Gorman, died Charleston. 

105 Williams, Chas. 

Killed in battle 22; died during war, 21; died since war, 
6; alive, 47; wounded, 10: unknown, 23. 

On December 25, 1861, Company **F," 21st Regiment, 
S. C. v., was formally accepted and enrolled for service 
by the State authorities. On January 6, 1862, orders 
were received to report at Charleston, but later orders 
sent the company first to Georgetown, S. C. 

Mustek Roll Company "F," 2Ist Regiment, South 
Carolina Volunteers. 

1 Captain, J. A. W. Thomas; twice wounded; died 
August 2, 1896. 

2 1st lieutenant, W. L. Leggett; resigned; died 1892. 

3 1st lieutenant, N. A. Easterling; wounded; died in 
prison. 

4 2d lieutenant, R. E. Townsend; alive (1896). 



History of Marlboro County. 21 1 

5 3d lieutenant, W. D. Cook; wounded and died in 
prison. 

6 1st sergeant, J. R. Moore; wounded and died in 
prison. 

7 2d sergeant, A. B. Easterling; wounded and after- 
wards killed at Cold Harbor. 

8 3d sergeant, W. H. Adams; wounded, captured and 
yet alive. 

9 4th sergeant, E. J. Feagan; killed at Cold Harbor. 

10 1st corporal, H. T. Quick; wounded and died at 
Cold Harbor. 

11 2d corporal, A. W. Moore; captured till close of war; 
died 1897. 

12 3d corporal, J. M. Gibson; killed near Petersburg. 

13 4th corporal, T. C. Lester; prisoner at close of war; 
alive. 

14 3d corporal, D. M. Sinclair; killed near Petersburg. 

15 3d corporal, W. B. Odom; wounded; captured; alive. 

16 2d corporal, D. D. Weaton; prisoner when war closed; 
alive. 

17 Adams, Joshua, wounded; alive. 

18 Adams, J. R., killed at Cold Harbor. 

19 Adams, W. L., died in hospital 

20 Anderson, J. G., (corp.) killed at Petersburg. 

21 Anderson, W. T., died in hospital. 

22 Barrington, P. L., died in Charleston in camp. 

23 Barrington, W., died in hospital. 

24 Barrington, Philip, killed at Petersburg. 

25 Bennett, F., captured; released at close of war; alive. 

26 Bennett, Thos., captured; released at close of war; 
alive. 

27 Bowen, C, wounded; alive. 

28 Bowen, F. C, killed at Drury's Bluff. 

29 Bristow, D. M., wounded; captured; died in prison. 
3Q Bristow, R. W., mortally wounded at Fort Fisher; 

died. 

31 Bristow, W. J., killed by accident. 

32 Brigman, Geo., discharged; alive. 

33 Bundy, G. W., captured at Fort Fisher; died in prison. 

34 Butler, Elijah, discharged; died 1886. 

35 Butler, Wm., died in hospital. 

36 Butler, W., discharged, under age; alive, 

37 Calder, J. D., died in hospital. 



212 History of Marlboro County, 

38 Calder, Stanford, discharged; died October 27. 1891. 

39 Clarke, Archie, died in hospital. 

40 Clark, Jno. C, discharged; died 1886. 

41 Coward, J. H., transferred. 

42 Covington, A. B., discharged; alive. 

43 Covington, A. D., captured; released at close of war; 
alive. 

44 Cottingham, F., wounded at Walthall and died. 

45 Creech, David, captured at Fort Fisher; died in prison. 

46 Cummings, Elijah, captured and returned; alive. 

47 Currie. N. R., captured at Fort Fisher; died in prison. 

48 David, Dr. W. J., transferred to i8th Regiment; sur- 
geon; died 1895. 

49 Dial, Jacob, captured at Fort Fisher; died in prison. 

50 Dunn, Thomas, killed at Petersburg. 

51 Dunn, Wm., died at home on sick leave. 

52 Easterling, A. J., died on sick leave. • 

53 Easterling, G. W., captured and returned; died 1878. 

54 Easterling, H. R., died on sick leave. 

55 Easterling, Jesse A., 4th sergeant; killed on Morris 
Island, July 10, 1863. 

56 Easterling, Joel A., died at Georgetown, 1862. 

57 Easterling, Jno. L.,.died since war. 

58 Easterling, Jno. A., died in hospital. 

59 Easterling, Jas. T., discharged; since died. 

60 Easterling, W. L., served short time; alive. 

61 Easterling, W. T., captured at Fort Fisher; released; 
alive. . 

62 Fletcher, Thos., discharged; alive. 

63 Fields, Silas, alive. 

64 Gibson, A. H., killed at Drury's Bluff, 1864. 

65 Gay, P. W., captured at Fort Fisher; died in prison. 

66 Grice, E. G., died 1896. 

67 Guinn, Geo., alive. 

68 Hamer, A. C., wounded at Petersburg; died in hands 
of enemy. 

69 Hamer, C. H., captured at Fort Fisher; died in 
prison. 

70 Hamer, E. C, discharged; died 1891. 

71 Hamer, J. C, captured; died in prison. 

72 Hamer, P. M., ist sergeant; discharged; died May 
1885. 

73 Hamer, R. H., 4th corporal; discharged; alive, 



History of Marlboro County, 213 

74 Hamer, T. C, died on sick leave. 

75 Haywood, Anderson, discharged; died 1892. 

76 Haywood, Isham, killed on Morris Island. 
^y Haywood, Wm., died in hospital. 

78 Heustiss, G. W., wounded and died at Fort Fisher. 

79 Howard, John, alive. 

80 Hudson, J H., transferred to 26th regiment, lieuten- 
ant-colonel; alive. 

81 Herndon, David, alive. 

82 Jacobs, B. L., died in hospital. 

83 Jacobs, Snowden, captured and released at close of 
war. 

84 Johnson, W. D., discharged; furnished substitute; 
alive. 

85 Leggett, A. J., captured; released at close of war; 
since died. 

86 Lochlin, ^., alive. 

87 Locklier, Alex., died in hospital. 

88 Manship, A., killed at Petersburg. 

89 McKaskill, N. C, 2d sergeant; killed at Petersburg, 
1864. 

90 McCall, J. N., discharged; furnished substitute; alive. 

91 McDaniel, I. W., wounded twice; died 1887. 

92 McKenzie, J. C, alive. 

93 McQuage, J. R. 

94 Mclntyre, J. T:, sergeant-nnajor; wounded; captured 
at Fort Fisher; died. 

95 Moore, B. J., captured on Morris Island; died in 
prison. 

96 Nelson, Ervin, captured; died in prison. 

97 Newton, J. C, killed in battle of Drury's Bluff. 

98 Odom, D. A., alive. 

99 Odom, Henry, killed in battle at Petersburg. 
100 Odom, J. E., died in hospital at Georgetown. 

lOi Odom S. D., wounded; absent on sick leave at sur- 
render; alive. 

102 Odom, J. E., wounded severely; died January 1885. 

103 Owens, Jno., captured; died in prison. 

104 Pate A. D., wounded at Fort Fisher and died. 

105 Pate, Willis, discharged; died 1888. 

106 Peel, Eli F., at surrender; alive. 

107 Peel, Thos., wounded; alive. 

108 Poison, W., died at Georgetown 1862. 
15 



214 History of Marlboro County. 

109 Powers, Ervin, wounded; alive. 

no Quick, Angus, captured at Fisher; died in prison. 

111 Quick, Henry, killed in battle. 

112 Quick, Jno. B., wounded at Fisher; died. 

113 Rascoe, Alex, captured; returned at close of war; 
alive. 

114 Rascoe, Wm., died in hospital. 

115 Scott, Wash, alive. 

116 Smith, C, captured, returned close of war; alive. 

117 Spears, J. A., killed at Petersburg 1864. 

118 Steen, A., captured at Fisher; died in prison. 

119 Stogner, Tom, died in hospital. 

120 Stogner, Wm., died at home on sick leave. 

121 Stephens, J. E., captured at Fisher, died in prison. 

122 Stephens, Reuben, died in hospital. 

123 Stubbs, A. A., discharged; died 1893. 

124 Stubbs, D. D. (4th Corporal), capturedand returned; 
alive. 

125 Stubbs, C. E., wounded; at surrender; alive. 

126 Stubbs, J. B., captured and returned; alive. 

127 Stubbs, M. W., wounded mortally; died Petersburg 
1864. 

128 Stubbs, S. F., captured at Fisher; died in prison. 

129 Stubbs, T. E., discharged; died since war. 

130 Stubbs, T. P., discharged; alive. 

131 Tart, W. J., died Georgetown. 

132 Terrell, W. T., killed near Petersburg 1864. 

133 Thomas, Joe, died in hospital. 

134 Turnage, Luke, captured and returned close war; dead. 

135 Usher, M., killed Walthall Junction 1864. 

136 Wallace, T. G., transferred to cavalry; alive. 

137 Waters, Reuben, killed at Petersburg 1864. 

138 Weatherford, Jas., died at home on sick leave 1864. 

139 Williams, Henry, captured; returned close of war; 
alive. 

140 Williams, Jno., captured and returned; alive. 

141 Williams, Sam, transferred. 

142 Willis, Allen, killed at Petersburg. 

143 Wise, W. W., wounded severely; alive. 

144 Woodle, Ransom, severely wounded; since died. 



History of Marlboro County, 215 

Recapitulation. 

Killed in battle, 31; died in hospital of wounds, 5; died 
in hospital and at home on sick leave, 20; died in prison, 
18; accidentally killed, i. Total killed 75. 

Captured and kept in prison till close of war, 23; dis- 
charged for cause, 16; transferred to other commands, 7; 
wounded and continued to serve, 33. Taking out the 
discharged and transferred and there were 121 men, rank 
and file. 131 captures and casualties, of the whole number 
enlisted now living 57, and unknown as to whereabouts, 
12. Total number enlisted, 144. 

Company "B," 24th South Carolina Regiment Infantry 

Was organized in the summer of 1861 for State service. 
In December the company was received into the service, 
and assigned to duty at Charleston, South Carolina. 
In June, 1862, the company was mustered into the Con- 
federate service and assigned to the Army of Tennessee 
May 6th, i86i. 

Commissioned and Non-Commissioned Officers. 

J. Edwin Spears, captain; resigned May, 1863; died at 

home 1865. 
R. Johnson, ist lieutenant; promoted captain 1863; '^st 

arm 1863; resigned 1863; died 1884. 
Wm. Griffin, 2d lieutenant; resigned 1862; died at home. 
C. D. Easterling, 3d lieutenant; promoted 2d lieutenant 

1862; 1st lieutenant in 1863; captain 1863; alive. 
J. D. Reese, ist sergeant; died 1862. 
F. P. Tatum, 2d sergeant; promoted ist sergeant 1862; 

1st lieutenant 1863; alive. 
W. J. Green, 3d sergeant; promoted 3d lieutenant 1863; 

killed in battle 1863. 
T. B. Moore, 4th sergeant; promoted 2d lieutenant 1863; 

died 1873. 
J. L. Barrow, 5th sergeant; captured 1863; alive. 
J. C. Mallonie, ist corporal, transferred to 26th Regiment 

South Carolina Volunteers. 



2i6 History of Marlboro Coufity, 

J. L. Stubbs, 3d corporal; promoted 2d sergeant 1863; 
alive. 

J. P. Hinson, 2d corporal; promoted 1st sergeant 1863. 

W. S. Townsend, 4th sergeant; transferred to 26th Regi- 
ment. 

Privates. 

1 Ammons, Allen, dead. 

2 Ammons, Alpheus, alive. 

3 Ammons, Thos., still living. 

4 Arnett, Benj., discharged 1863. 

5 Brigman, L., died 1875. 

6 Bristow, T. C, alive. 

7 Bennett, G. W., still living. 

8 Bass, Richard, alive. 

9 Bowyer, T. M., transferred 1862; dead. 

10 Bethea, A. J., detailed as hospital steward; dead. 

11 Bethea, T. T., killed Franklin 1864. 

12 Beverly, Robert, promoted corporal 1863; killed 1863. 

13 Barrentine, G. 

14 Bennett, J. J., camp cook. 

15 Calder, H., killed Atlanta 1864. 

16 Cope, John, died in hospital, 1864. 

17 Cope, E., still living. 

18 Calder, R., transferred to Sharpshooters' Regiment 
1862. 

19 Chavis, J., died at home 1868. 

20 Chavis, Wm., discharged 1862. 

21 Chavis, Geo., died in hospital 1862. 

22 Caulk, James, died in hospital 1862. 

23 Caulk, J. C. 

24 Crawford, W. H. 

25 Crawford, H. B. 

26 Crawford, G. G. 

27 Covington, H., transferred to 26th Regiment; died 
1876. 

2S Day, Wm., killed battle Chickamauga 1863. 

29 Dunn, Alexander, died in camp 1863. 

30 Driggers. M. C, died at home 1878. 

31 Driggers, Whit, dead. 

32 Driggers, C. O. 

33 Driggers, , died at home 1862. 

34 Kllen, W. B., died at home. 



History of Marlboro Coufity. 2 1 7 

35 Easterling, W. B., promoted sergeant 1863; lost right 
arm Franklin 1864. 

36 Easterling, J. T., color-sergeant; killed Franklin, 
Tenn., 1864. 

37 Easterling, J. N., prisoner 1863. 

38 Easterling, W. L., alive. 

39 Fields, P., died at home 1863. 

40 Fletcher, N., died in camp 1862. 

41 Green, J. B., promoted 3d lieutenant 1863; alive. 

42 Green, Geo., died 1865. 

43 Griffin, John, died 1863. 

44 Gaddy, J. W. 

45 Gaddy, Wm., transferred 1862. 

46 Hinson, H. P., alive. 

47 Hinson, E. D., died 1863. 

48 Hodges, R., alive. 

49 Hodges, J. H., died in hospital 1863. 

50 Hall, James. 

51 Haithcock R., died in hospital 1863. 

52 Hubbard, Martin, lost thumb in battle. 

53 Jacobs, Asbury. 

54 Jones, J. A., color-sergeant; killed Franklin, 1864. 

55 Johnson, J., corporal; killed 1863. 

56 Jones, W. W., died at home. 

57 Jacobs, J. P., camp cook. 

58 Lewis, W. S., appointed sergeant 1863; died 1896. 

59 Liles, S. H., corporal; killed 1863 Kennesaw Mountain. 

60 McRae, W. J., captured 1863; died at home. 

61 Miller, H., transferred to 8th Regiment; lost leg; dead. 

62 McCollum, H., still living. 

63 Meekins, W. E., corporal; killed 1863. 

64 Meekins, P. P., still living. 

65 Meekins, Oscar, killed Jonesboro, Georgia 1863. 

66 McQuaig H., company courier; alive. 

67 Medlin, John, discharged 1862. 

68 Medlin, Jas., discharged 1862. 

69 Medlin, Jonathan, discharged 1862. 

70 Norton, Elias. 

71 Norton, Samuel, killed Franklin, 1864. 

72 Norton, Jas., died 1862. 

73 Odom, S. W., killed Chickamauga 1863. 

74 Odom, H. E., killed Jackson 1863. 

75 Odom, J. G., died in hospital, 1863. 



2i8 History of Marlboro County, 

76 Odom, D. A., transferred to sharpshooters 1862 
^^ Odom, L. 

78 Odom, P. E. 

79 Peel, Freeman, captured, 1864; died 1881. 

80 Parham A., alive. 

81 Parham, Samuel, killed Peachtree creek, 1863. 

82 Parker, Wm., killed Peachtree creek 1863. 

83 Quick M., alive. 

84 Quick, A. 

85 Quick, James, died at home. 

86 Rowe, W. D., died 1896. 

87 Rowe, J. H., died in hospital. 1861. 

88 Rascoe, H., died in hospital 1862. 

89 Stubbs, Thos. 

90 Stubbs, Daniel, wounded and discharged 1863 

91 Sanders, J., died in camp 1863. 

92 Sweat, Jas., died 1869. 

93 Sweat, J. W., died at home. 

94 Sweat, Simeon, killed 1863. 

95 Sweat, Harris, discharged 1863 

96 Stanton, N., killed at Franklin, Tennessee, 1864. 

97 Stanton, E. G., wounded and discharged 1863. 

98 Stanton, M., killed Franklin 1864. 

99 Sweat, Sam, died from wounds 1863. 
100 Thompson, T. J., discharged 1862. 
loi Trawick, Peter, killed Franklin, 1864. 

102 Turner, L., died at home. 

103 Turner, Jas. 

104 Turner, D. 

105 Turner, Jack, died 1895. 

106 Usher, Chas. died at home 1863. 

107 Wallace, J. B., in Texas; alive. 

108 Willoughby, R., discharged 1862. 

109 Williams, Thos., died 1864. 
no Williams, L. 

111 Williams, Joseph, died in hospital 1863. 

112 Wright, Daniel, died 1862. 

113 Woodley, Jonathan, alive. 

114 Woodle, E., wounded 1863. 

115 Woodle, Hinson, killed in battle 1863. 

116 Waters. J. 

Killed in battle, 20; died during war, 23; wounded, 10 
died at home, 22; captured, 5. 



History of Marlboro County, 219 

Company *'E/' 4th South Carolina Cavalry, 

Was originally organized in Marlboro County in the latter 
part of the year 1861. The Company left Marlboro for 
Georgetown, South Carolina, January 22, 1862, and in the 
spring of 1864 were transferred to Virginia and became a 
part of Butler's Brigade of Hampton's Division. The 
following is a list of the officers and privates: 

Captains. 

Wm. P. Emanuel, elected Major May 1862; captured 
Trevilian Station, Virginia, 1864; died about 1879. 

Henry Edens, promoted captain from 3d lieutenant 
1862; honorably discharged 1863; died since war. 

Peter L. Breeden, promoted from ist lieutenant 1863; 
wounded Haw's Shf)p 1864. 

1ST Lieutenants. 

B. F. McGilvray, transferred 1862; killed Petersburg, 
Virginia. 

P. L. Breeden, promoted from 2d lieutenant 1861. 

Allen Edens, promoted from 2d lieutenant 1863; died 
at home. 

2D Lieutenants. 

P. L. Breeden, elected at organization. 

Allen Edens, promoted from 2d sergeant 1862. 

J. N. Weatherly, promoted from 3d lieutenant 1863; 
wounded at Lee's Mill 1864; died March 3, 1893. 

3D Lieutenants. 
Sion H. Alford, elected at organization; dead. 
Wm. M. Bristow, elected 1862; resigned 1863; died at 
home. 

Henry A. Long, promoted 1863; died at home 1864. 

1ST Sergeants. 

John J. Herndon, elected at organization; furnished 
substitute in 1862; dead. 



220 History of Marlboro County. 



Nevil Bennett, elected 1862; honorably discharged. 

Henry A. Long, elected 1862. 

Nicholas P. Bone, elected 1863; died since war. 

2D Sergeants. 

Allen Edens, elected 1863. 
Jonathan Adams, chosen 1862. 

3D Sergeant. 

John S. McColl, died since war. 

4TH Sergeai^s. 

C. A. Weatherly. 

James C. McRae, ist corporal; wounded Haw's Shop. 
John Parish, 2d corporal. 
Joseph Newton, 3d corporal. 

Robt. T. Weatherly, 4th corporal; died at Pocotaligo, 
South Carolina 1863. , 

Wm. Benjamin Smith, sth corporal; died since war. 

Privates. 

1 Adams, Andrew J., died since war. 

2 Adams, Peter L., died Camp Waccamaw 1862. 

3 Anderson, George, lost sight of. 

4 Bone, Nicholas P., elected sergeant; dead. 

5 Bone, Leonard D. 

6 Bass, Wade, H., wounded Trevilian Station, Virginia. 

7 Breeden, John L., killed in 1864. 

8 Brigman, Wm., killed at home 1864. 

9 Brigman, John, transferred to 26th Regiment South 
Carolina Volunteers. 

10 Brigman, Alex. 

11 Brigman, Evander, transferred to 26th Regiment. 

12 Britt, James. 

13 Britt, Thos. P., dead. 

14 Bundy, Wm., dead. 

15 Byrd, Levi. 

16 Calder, Peter, lost foot at Haw's Shop; dead. 

17 Cope, Daniel, captured at Haw's Shop; died in Savan- 
nah. 



History of Marlboro County, 221 

18 Cottingham, Thos., alive. 

19 Cottingham, Ucal, wounded Trevilian, died in hospital. 

20 Coward, Lewis, went West after war. 

21 Cork, James, died since war. 

22 Cork, John. 

23 Driggers, Aaron T., dead. 

24 Driggers, Abner, died since war. 

25 Driggers, Philip, killed Lee's Mill 1864. 

26 Durre, Thomas J., transferred, from 8th Regiment 

to company **E*'; wounded; died since war. 

27 Earl, Elijah. 

28 Easterling, Henry. 

29 Edens, Thos. W., died 1895. 

30 Emanuel, Chas. L., dead. 

31 Evans, C. D. 

32 Eraser, John, killed Haw's Shop 1864. 

33 Freeman, Benj., killed Haw's Shop, May 28, 1864. 

34 Freeman, James, wounded at Reaves' Station; died 
since war. 

35 Gibson, Thos., captured Trevilian; died since war. 

36 Grant, Barnabas, captured Trevilian; died Elmira, 
New York. 

37 Grooms, Evander, transferred to 26th Regiment 
South Carolina Volunteers. 

38 Hall, Wm., transferred to company "D," 26th Regi- 
ment. 

39 Haithcock, Wm. 

40 Jackson, Chas., dead. 

41 Jackson, Joseph, captured Trevilian Station; died 
Elmira, New York. 

42 Jackson, Laban M. 

43 Jacobs, Bethel, dead. 

44 Jacobs, David. 

45 Jacobs, Samuel, transferred to company **D," 26th 
Regiment. 

46 Jones, John, killed Haw's Shop, May 28, 1864. 

47 Lide, William. 

48 McLaurin, Alex L., dead. 

49 McLaurin, D. P., transferred to company **A," 23d 
Regiment South Carolina Volunteers. 

56 McLaurin. Jas. W., captured Stoney Creek, Virginia; 

died 1894. 
51 McLaurin, Lauchlin A., dead. 
16 



222 History of Marlboro^ County, 

52 McLaurin, Loch B. 

53 Mclnnis, James. 

54 Mclnnis, John. 

55 McCrimmon, John A. 
66 McColl, John S., dead. 

57 McColl, Samuel S., dead. 

58 McColl, Hugh S., captured Trevilian; died in prison. 

59 Morris. Thos. J. 

60 Marshall, John. 

61 Murdock, John T., dead. 

62 Mulligan, James. 

63 McRae, Angus, died Pocotaligo, South Carolina. 

64 McRae, Daniel C, dead. 

65 McRae, John D., dead. 

66 McRae. James A., dead. 

67 McRae, James. 

68 McRae, J. Calvin. 

69 Newton, Cornelius D. 

70 Newton, Hope Hull, severely wounded, Haw's Shop, 
May 28, 1864. 

71 Newton, Joseph. 

72 Newton, Richard D., died Wilson, N. C. 1864. 

73 Newton, Peyton V., died 1896. 

74 Newton, Thos. B. 

75 Odom, Evander W., severely wounded Burgess' Mill 
1864. 

76 Odom, Noah. 
T"] Odom, Daniel J. 

78 Odom, H. King. 

79 Odom, Jas. Thomas; killed Trevilian Station 1864. 

80 Odom, John, killed , Haw's Shop, 1864. 

81 Odom, Nehemiah. 

82 Odom, Robt. H., died since war. 

83 Odom, Thos. Q. 

84 O'Nails, James. 

85 Parker, Andrew, dead. 

86 Parker, Elijah, wounded. 
^y Parker, Harrison, dead. 

88 Powers, Ellison, dead. 

89 Parrott, James. 

90 Prevatt, Angus, wounded Haw's Shop; died since war. 

91 Prevatt, James. 

92 Pope, Bennett J., wounded Haw's Shop; died since war. 



History of Marlboro County. 223 

93 Proctor, Thos. A., died since war. 

94 Quick, Leggett. 

95 Rainwaters, Joshua, died in prison. 

96 Rogers, Wm. 

97 Roper, Caswell, wounded Lee's Mill, Va.; died since 
war. 

98 Sanders, Moses P., dead. 

99 Sawyer, John H. 

100 Sellers, Bryant J., died McPhersonville, S. C, August 

13, 1863. 
lOi Smith, Herbert, captured Trevilian; died in prison. 

102 Smith, Joseph R. 

103 Stackhouse, H. Milton. 

104 Stackhouse, Robt. Boyd, died since war from wound 
received at Haw's Shop. 

105 Stackhouse, John, captured and died Elmira, N. Y. 

106 Stuckey, Ben N. 

107 Stubbs, Thos. A., dead. 

108 Sweat, Henry, died since war. 

109 Sweat, Saml., dead, 
no Sweat, Sandford, dead. 

111 Sweat, Wm. K , dead. 

112 Thomas, James, died Camp Marion, S. C, 1862. 

113 Thomas, Nathan S., dead. 

114 Weatherly, Isaac, dead. 

115 West, William, wounded Haw's Shop; died since, war. 

116 Young, Jackson, lost sight of. 

Where not marked "dead," supposed to be alive. 
Wounded, 16; killed in battle, 8*, captured, 9; difed 
during war, 29; died since war, 39; alive, 55. 

Muster Roll of Company "I," 20th Regiment, South 
Carolina Volunteers. 

1 A. D. Sparks, Capt. 9 John Manning, 5th Serg't 

2 James A. Peterkin, ist 10 — Ware, Corp'l. 
Lieut. II — Strickland, Corp'l. 

3 F. W. Kinney, 2d Lieut. 12 — Rowe, Corp'l. 

4 J. F. Bolton, 3d Lieut. 13 Elmore Allen, Corp'l. 

5 — Hodges, 1st Serg't. i Allen, J. 

6 — Emanuel, 2d Serg't. 2 Barton, J. 

7 — Walsh, 3d Serg't. 3 Barry, D. F. 

8 — Covington, 4th Serg't. 4 Bristow, J. W. 



224 



History of Marlboro County. 



5 Brigman, J. A. 

6 Clark, B. 

7 Cope, J. F. 

8 Coxe, R. A. 

9 Crabb, H, S. 

10 Crowley. Robert. 

11 David, J. 

12 Doty, A. 

13 Driggers. J. H. 

14 Fowler. W. D. 

15 FinJayson, A. E. 

16 Frasier, Chas. 

17 Frasier, Sam. 

18 Graham, J. J. 

19 Grice, J. D. 

20 Hinds, J. D. 

21 Hodges, T. C. 

22 Ivey, W. H. 

23 Kennedy, J. E. 

24 Manning, E. 

25 Manning, J. 

26 Miles, G. W. 

27 Moody, G.W. 

28 McCoU, L. H. 

29 McCaskill, R. 

30 McDaniel, J. R. 
3i.McDaniel, W. H. 

32 McLeod, M. 

33 McLeod, J. C. 

34 McLeod, B. F. 

35 McRae, J. 

36 Parham, J. H. 



37 Parham, H. 

38 Parish, Joel. 

39 Parker, Sam. 

40 Poison, Chas. 

41 Poison, Wm. 

42 Quick, A. W. 

43 Poison, Jerry. 

44 Rascoe, Wm. 

45 Smith, H. 

46 Spencer, T. D. 

47 Stanton, J. 

48 Tomlinson, Jas. 

49 Turner, John. 

50 Wallace, S. 

51 Wallace, W.T. 

52 Thomlinson, L. 

53 Wallace, Thos. G. 

54 Weatherly. 

55 Webster, J. 

56 Webster, Jas. 

57 Wiloughby, R. 

58 Williams, S. V. 

59 McLean. 

60 Lipscomb. 

61 Timmons. 

62 Thomas. 

63 Lowe. 

64 King. 

65 Linder. 

66 Watson, Sam. 

67 Watson. 

68 Cowan. 



A list of Marlboro men who enlisted in Captain James 
A. Peterkin's cavalry company, but when the company 
was disbanded, they united with the Hampton Legion. 



Co. "C." 

1 Alford, J. M., dead. 

2 Bullard, Charles. 

3 Bullard, Geo. W. 

4 Calder, Wm. 

5 Calder, Robt. 



Co. "H." 

1 Crosland, T. L., alive. 

2 Crosland, Chas., alive. 

3 Coxe, Edwin, died 

prison. 

4 Hamer, P. M., died. 



in 



History of Marlboro County. 225 

Co,"C." Co. "H." 

6 Calder, Arthur. 5 Heustiss, A. J., alive. 

7 Calder, Stanford, alive. 6 John, P. M., alive. 

8 Fletcher, J. D. 7 John, D. C, alive. 

9 Fletcher, John K., alive. 8 John, J. T , alive. 

10 McLaurin, J. F., alive. 9 Spears J. E., died 1865. 

11 McColl, C. S., alive. 10 Quick, James. 

12 Calhoun, D. A. 

13 Sinclair, Daniel C. 

14 Willoughby, J. P. 

15 Sanders, Moses. 

Roll of Company **D," 30 Regiment, South Carolina 
State Troops. Junior Reserves. ' 

Captain. 
Z. J. Drake. 

Lieutenants. 
E. H. Kirkwood, ist lieutenant, dead. 
J. T. Rogers, 2d lieutenant. ; 

T. F. McRae, 3d lieutenant. 

Sergeants. ' " 

R. S. McLucas. , ' 

Houston Manning, dead. ' 
G. W. Ervin. 
Joseph H. Gooch, dead. 

Corporals. 

I. P. Gibson. 

J. W. Welch. 

John Lewis. 

: "Allen Woodle. 

J. N. Ediens. 

"Commissary. . . ■ 

H. L. Edens, died near Raleigh, North Carolina-. 

Privates. 
Adams, T. M. . ' 

Adams, J. B. 

Barentine, J. M, dead. / • ./ 

Breederi, J. F. - • . 

Crosland, W. .E. ." 

Carlisle, J. A. '■' > ': 



226 



History of Marlboro County. 



Clark, Jesse, died near Charleston, South Carolina. 
Chavis, Murray. 
David, Wm. R. 
Hodges, John L. 
Manning, Holland. 
Matheson, A. J. 
McPherson, Arch. 
McRae, William. 
Newton, C. Dudley, dead. 
Newton, Smith. 
Newton, B. J. 
Pegues, J. K., dead. 
Parham, Malcom. 
Powers, J. F. 
Quick, J. W. 
Quick, Welcome. 
Quick, J. F. 
Rogers, C. B. 
Stubbs, L. D. 
Sweat, Ellis. 
Sturgis, Milton. 
Taylor, John. 
Guinn, Thomas. 

Rev. Mr. Ogborne, Chaplain of Regiment, died at Fayette- 
ville. 

A careful recapitulation shows as follows: 





c 
— « 


c 


o; 

U 


TJ 


TJ 




nlist- 

offi- 

men. 




■^5 


TJ ^ 


en ^ 


1^ 


4^ 




(U ..-O 






5 




3 

a 


c 



V 

< 


Total 
ment 
cers ar 


Co. "G," i8th Regt. 


13 


22 


17 


— 


37 


4Q 


109 


Co. "K," 8th Regt. 


7 


27 


29 


6 


22 


3.3 


95 


Co. "G," 23d Regt. 


IQ 


17 


40 


— 


^^ 


72 


160 


Co. "D," 26th Regt. 


22 


21 


6 


— 


10 


'47 


125 


Co. "F," 2ist Regt. 


31 


44 


17 


23 


33 


S7 


144 


Co. "B," 24th Regt. 


20 


23 


22 


S 


10 


4S 


132 


Co. "E," 4th Cavl. 


8 


2Q 


3Q 


9 


16 


S^ 


142 


Co. "I," . . . 


— 








— 




93 


Totals . . 


120 


183 


170 


43 


161 


358 


1000 



History of Marlboro Coutiiy. 227 

The figures above show that 12 per cent, of the whole 
number of men enlisted in all the commands were killed 
in battle; 18 per cent, died during the war; 17 per cent, 
have died since the war; 16 per cent, were wounded, and 
about one-third of the number yet survive. Valuable assist- 
ance has been kindly and freely rendered by the officers 
and men in the preparation of the foregoing rolls, for 
which thanks are due and hereby given. 



CHAPTER XXX. 

Early Ministers. 

Since the first permanent settlers that we know of were 
largely religious men, and organized a church on Mari- 
boro's soil as early as 1738, it is proper that some notice 
be made of the men who led their worship, and gave 
direction to thought which resulted in the formation of 
character. It is altogether likely that some of the early 
pastors of the Old Welsh Neck church lived on the west 
side of the Pee Dee and were never citizens of Marlboro. . 
The people were settled on both sides, up and down the 
river, and rejoiced, whether residents on one side or the 
other, for many years, to meet upon its eastern bank to 
worship God. The preachers lived upon their plantations; 
whether on the one side or the other; to the flock it mat- 
tered not. The river could be crossed in their little flat- 
boats and canoes, and neighborhood and religious inter- 
course be enjoyed. The first pastor of this church was 
Philip James, and in a "Historical Sketch," by the late 
pastor of the present Welsh Neck, Rev. John Stout, it is 
recorded that lineal descendants of that man are found in 
the present membership. Mr. James was born near Pen- 
nepeck, Pennsylvania, in 1701 and was ordained pastor 
over this church in 1743 by Messrs. Chandler and Sim- 
mons. He died in 1753. Rev. John Brown, of whom 
mention has been made in a previous chapter, was the 
successor of Mr. James, but did not continue long 
with the church, but gave his ministry to a field nearer 
to his home in the region of Cashway. Mr. Brown was 
the first Moderator of the Charleston Association, which 
was formed in 1751, and is the second oldest Baptist Asso- 
ciation in America. Joshua Edwards was the next pastor. 



History of Marlboro County. 229 

a native Welshman. He was baptized at Welsh Tract in 
Pennsylvania and ordained at Welsh Neck. Mr. Ed- 
wards "was a man of ardent piety and great purity of 
character," lived to be fourscore and left a numerous 
posterity; and from him have descended many good peo- 
ple in our neighboring counties. Rev. Robt. Williams 
was the fourth pastor of this old church. He was born, 
it is said, in Northampton, North Carolina, in 1717, came 
early to Pee Dee, and entered the ministry in 1752 and died 
in 1788. In a sermon occasioned by his death, Rev. Mr. Pugh 
said of him: "He was kind to the poor, and remarkably so 
to the afflicted ; a man of excellent natural endowments, and 
a minister who preached the Gospel to the edification and 
comfort of souls, as many have testified to me; and to 
crown all, a sincere Christian." He was the grandfather 
of GeheraL David R. Williams, a member of Congress and 
Goverhor of the State. He, too, is represented in several 
of the best families in the country at the present day. 

After Williams came Nicholas Bedgegood, an English- 
man by birth, described as a classical scholar and a man 
of go6d understanding. He married a Miss Murphy, and 
Nicholas Bedgegood, of Marlboro, was the only child of 
this marriage, and in the death of the latter the riame 
becaihe extinct in this region of country. Mr. Bedgegood 
todlc charge of the church in 1759, and held it till 1765; 
and for two years he pre^iched in the vicinity of Charles- 
ton: Returning to Welsh Neck in 1767, he again resunied 
the care of the church and continued in office till his 
death in 1773 or 1774. • •' 

During the absence of Mr. Bedgegood in Charleston 
the church was supplied by a young man who had but 
just entered the ministry, but who was destined, to ex:ert 
a powerful influence upon the after historyof his coutitry 
and the cause of religion. Rev. Evan Pugh was born in 
Pennsylvania, educated a Quaker, came in early 
life to North Carolina, became a Baptist; studied 



230 History of Marlboro County. 

theology, became a minister, and married a Marlboro 
lady, Miss Martha Magee. A daughter of this union 
married Mr. Hugh Lide, of Darlington, and from this 
pair has sprung a splendid family. The two Baptist 
pastors of Charleston (1890) R. W. Lide and Dr. E. C. 
Dargan, are grandsons. Mr. Pugh was an ardent sup- 
porter of the American cause during the Revolution, and 
was ready with his means, his voice, his pen, to encourage 
and help the struggling cause. When independence and 
peace came his fellow citizens elected him a member of 
the Convention that formed the State constitution under 
which we lived till the days of reconstruction. A man of 
genuine piety, sound judgment and cheerful disposition, 
after a ministry of forty years he sank into the tomb la- 
niented by all. 

After the death of Mr. Pugh, Rev. Elhanan Winchester 
was in charge three or four years, but, embracing what the 
church considered erroneous beliefs, he was promptly 
discharged and Rev. Edmund Botsford was elected in his 
stead, who, from 1779 until 1796, was the pastor of this 
church. Temporarily, during the troublous times, he had 
to flee for safety from the enemy, and his place was sup- 
plied by Rev. Joshua Lewis, who was a Marlboro man. 
Mr. Lewis has been described to the writer as a large, 
portly man, an Englishman by birth, and lived at what 
has been known as ''the Spring Hill place" on the Cheraw 
road a mile or so above Easterling's Mills. A popular 
man and good preacher, ready to go anywhere, among 
the rich or poor, to relieve distress^. A venerable colored 
man related an incident that greatly impressed his 
own youthful, untutored mind. The gin-house of his 
neighbor, Mr. Bedgegood, caught fire, and Lewis was 
soon upon the ground, and as the old man told it, *'Mr. 
Lewis worked and toiled and hollered and sweat as hard 
as any nigger dar, and when the trouble wuz all over, he 
called us all in the big house piazzer, and kneeled down 



History of Marlboro County, 23 1 



and prayed/* He preached at Cheraw and Saw Mill. His 
last sermon was at the latter place. On the next Sunday 
he was to preach at Cheraw, but sent a message to his 
people that he was too sick to attend, and before night he 
was dead. His grave, may be seen at "Old Saw Mill" 
church to this day, near where the pulpit stood in which 
he had so often preached the glad tidings to his neigh- 
bors. He died about 1812 and left no children. 



CHAPTER XXXI. 
Churches— Baptist. 

t 

It has been shown in a previous chapter that the Co- 
lonial Council of the Province of Carolina, in order to in- 
duce the Welsh to settle in the Province, admeasured and 
had laid off a large body of land for the Welsh settlers. 
In 1736 or 1737 a colony of Welsh settled along the east 
bank of the Pee Dee from the mouth of Crooked Creek 
and extending several miles down the river. These early 
Welsh settlers first planted Baptist principles upon Marl- 
boro soil. In January, 1738, they met and organized 
themselves into a Baptist church, calling it Welsh Neck. 
The spot where the church stood is just to the right of 
v/here the public road leadingfrom Bennettsville to Society 
Hill approaches the banks of the Pee Dee River. It is 
now covered by majestic trees and a thick undergrowth 
hides the ground. Here repose the ashes of most of the 
original colony, with many of their descendants. A monu- 
ment marks the resting place of Col. Kolb, a Revolution- 
ary patriot and officer, who was slain by Tories in the 
porch of his mansion a few hundred yards from where 
the ancient house of prayer then stood. It might be 
interesting to take our stand at Long Bluff, the site of the 
old church, and gather up the legends and traditions of 
the times forty years after its organization, when wolves 
and hyenas in human form stealthily crept around the 
homes of the settlers to carry away their stock and prop- 
erty and shoot them in the arms of their loved ones. 
How, even then, a Pugh, a Williams, a Brown preached the 
Word while the brethren watched for the approach of 
armed forces that lurked around. None of these things 
broke the spirits or damped the zeal of these early Bap- 
tists. 



History of Marlboro County . 233 

This ancient church sent out several colonies organized 
upoa the principles of the mother body. Brownsville, 
Avhich was first called Cashway and situated nearer to and 
lower down the river than where it now stands, was an off- 
shoot from the old Welsh Neck. It was organized into a 
church in 1789. "Old Brownsville church" stood a mile 
or two east from where the present church now stands. 
So that the present house of worship, which was built in 
1858 or 1859, by H. G. Lucas, is the third one, all occu- 
pying different locations, but in the same community. 
In 1872 Brownsville church dismissed a number of her 
members to constitute the Mineral Spring church, which 
was formally dedicated June 30th, 1872. 

Beaverdam (now McColl) was formed into a church in 
the year 1771 by Henry Easterling at or near what is 
known as Beauty Spot Bridge, and was called Beauty 
Spot. From there they moved to Pine Grove, where they 
worshipped in common with other denominations in a 
house built by the Quakers or Society of Friends, who 
left the house unoccupied and to be used as a place of 
worship. It ultimately fell into the hands of the Metho- 
dists and the little handful of Baptists worshipped for a 
while at '*Parker's Machine," two miles above, near what 
is known as Mason's Cross-roads. From there they 
moved to the old site on Beaverdam Creek, near McColl, 
and built a small framehouse which was standing as far 
back as 1840. Soon after or about that time a better 
building was erected, which was destroyed by the Federal 
army in 1865. Some years after the war, another and 
better building took the place of the one destroyed by 
the army, and in 1891 it was removed without injury from 
its old site and located in the town of McColl and re-dedi- 
cated June 2 1st of that year. 

Clio is mainly an offshoot from Beavercjam. It was 
organized in 1873 or 1874 with members drawn largely 
from Beaverdam. 



234 History of Matlboro County. 

The Baptist church at Tatum was organized a few years 
ago with members almost exclusively from Beaverdam. 
Tatum church was dedicated April 3d, 1892. 

Salem Baptist church was constituted in part at least of 
members from the **old Welsh Neck/' in 1793. Robert 
Thomas, the grandfather of J. A. W. Thomas, was instru- 
mental in founding the church. He lived in the Beauty 
Spot region and was long and favorably known as a Bap- 
tist preacher engaged in the holy calling before the 
Revolutionary War began. He used to travel, generally 
on horseback, extensively in the Pee Dee region in evan- 
gelistic work, and at last died in i8i7,while away from home 
on one of these preaching tours, at the advanced age 
of 84. From its organization in 1793 to near the time of 
his death, he ministered to the church at Salem. A new 
house of worship was built in 1880. 

The Bennettsville Baptist church traces her lineage 
back to the "old Welsh Neck"; but did not spring direct- 
ly from it, but from Cheraw. Cheraw was dismissed from 
Welsh Neck and organized in 1782. "A part of the niem- 
bership of Cheraw Hill church, desiring to become an 
independent church, were regularly dismissed" and con- 
stituted a church called the Saw Mill Baptist church in 
December 1820. Saw Mill, now a colored church, is in the 
immediate neighborhood of T. E. Dudley's Mill. When 
constituted, steps had just been taken looking toward the 
removal of the court-house to Bennettsville. At that 
time the population was more dense along the river than 
elsewhere; the only means of transportation for farm pro- 
duce was by flatboats down the river to Charleston and 
Georgetown or by wagons to Fayetteville. It was not 
strange therefore that the church should be located in 
that community. The court-house was removed to its 
present location, and thither the tide of population Was 
moving, and in the course of some years the church wisely 
determined to remove its location to the county-seat. In 



History of Marlboro Cottnty, 235 



September, 1 832, this entry was made upon the minute book : 
**The church met at new meeting-house in Bennettsville 
Sermon by our pastor, C. Stubbs. Brethren present: C. 
Stubbs, Thomas Stubbs, Jno. Thomas, M. Heustiss, L. 
Harwell, W. Pearce, A. Lamb, J. Goodson, K. N. Bristow, 
J. O. David, E. David, E. Curtis and Jno. Terrel." It is 
not known when the pastorate of Rev. C. Stubbs first 
began. He was in charge in 1829, before the removal to 
Bennettsville; and here he continued, with but a short 
interval, until 1837. "He was a man of great energy and 
decision of character; a prudent counselor, and consider- 
ing his early education, a good preacher. His ministry 
here and elsewhere was successful, for he preached more 
or less at all the churches in Marlboro." He was a pru- 
dent man of business, and left a valuable estate to his 
heirs. He died September, 1844, lamented by his breth- 
ren. Mrs. B. A. Capel, and Messrs. W. H. and W. J. 
Stubbs are his grandchildren. 

In October, 1837, ^" event occurred which weakened the 
pecuniary and numerical strength of the church. It was 
the organization of an independent church at Bruton's 
Fork. A new house was built at Bruton's Fork in 1878. 

In 1839 Rev. W. Q. Beattie was called to the pastorate of 
the Bennettsville church and continued in that relation for 
fifteen years. He was an educated man, was born in the 
North, came South, married and settled in the county, here 
worked for his master and here died. The symmetry of 
his character and the love of his heart were both beautiful; 
yea, as beautiful as his snowy head and benignant smile. 
In 1851 the steeple was built and other improvements 
added to the church; and again in 1858 side galleries, new 
seats and other improvements. In 1881^ a baptistry was 
built, the pulpit moved to the opposite end of the house, 
seats changed, and the church otherwise improved. 

In 1888 a parsonage was purchased. The church was 
enabled to make the purchase mainly on account of a be- 



236 History of Marlboro County, 

t . — ~"~ 

quest left the church by R. Q. Beattie, a son of Rev. W. 
Q. Beattie. He willed ten per cent, of his estate to the 
church, which amounted to nearly eight hundred dollars, 
and thus the church came into the possession of a par- 
sonage. 

The church building was erected on a lot of land deeded 
for that purpose by Wm. Munnerlyn, and was first occu- 
pied in September, 1832. And now, just sixty-four years 
from that date, and in the same month, the foundation has 
been laid and the work progressing rapidly towards the 
erection of a new brick building, which, when completed 
and furnished, will cost ten thousand dollars. The gen- 
erations preceding us built churches for us to worship in 
and it is right that we should build for the generations yet 
to come. 

A Baptist church, called Hickory Grove, was organized 
October 4, 1890, in the northeast section of the county. 

A fond son will be excused for making prominent men- 
tion of his father in connection with the Baptist churches 
of Marlboro. The life of J. A. W. Thomas was so inter- 
twined and interwoven with the life of the churches that a 
sketch of the Baptist churches would necessarily be in- 
complete without prominent mention being made of him. 
The best years of his long life were given to the churches; 
for them he lived; for them he died. Through summer's 
burning heat or winter's chilling blast, year in and year 
out, for forty-seven years he regularly met his appoint- 
ments. Sickness a few times prevented, but inclement 
weather was not considered by him a good reason for not 
meeting an appointment to preach. He reasoned thus, 
"A few may go and I dislike to disappoint even a few." 

J. A. W. Thomas, the son of William Thomas and 
Eleanor Evans, was born December 31st, 1822, in the 
Brownsville section of Marlboro County. His father died 
when he was less than thirteen years old, and being the 
eldest of five childen, the care and support of the family 



History of Marlboro County, 237 

devolved in large measure upon him. His opportunities 
for obtaining an education were therefore limited. He, 
however, did attend irregularly the neighborhood schools 
and when eighteen went for a part of a year to Wake Forest 
College, North Carolina, and the balance of the same year 
he attended school under Rev. W. R. Smith, a Methodist 
preacher who taught at Parnassus. Two years after his 
father's death the family left the Brownsville neighbor- 
hood and moved to what is now called the Alford place, 
in the immediate locality of old Pee Dee church. At the 
age of fifteen he united with the Brownsville Baptist 
church and was baptized by Rev. Campbell Stubbs. A 
few months after, uniting with the church, he was elected 
church clerk. In January 1845 ^^ changed his member- 
ship from Brownsville church to Salem, and on the same 
day was elected church clerk. He also for several years 
served the Salem church as deacon, taking his turn in 
leading the prayer-meetings and Sunday-school. In 
August, 1848, license to preach the Gospel was granted 
him by the Salem church. On Sunday night, September 
lOth, 1848, his first sermon was' preached in the Bennetts- 
ville church from John, 9:35. *'The Salem church, two 
months after voting the license to preach, asked him to 
preach for them twice a month; a call came from Browns- 
ville to preach there once a month, and New Providence 
church in Darlington County, thirty miles distant, asked 
for the other Sunday." So, from the first, the young 
preacher, as he was called, had as much as he could do. 
On the memorable snowy Sunday April, 15, 1849, J- A. 
W. Thomas was ordained to the full work of the gospel 
ministry in the Salem church, and from that day forward 
devoted his time to the active work of the gospel minis 
try. His work has been done in his native county, ex* 
cepting short periods of service done in counties adjoin- 
ing Marlboro. It may not be inappropriate to give a 

summary of the churches he has served and length of 
17 



238 History of Marlboro County. 

time he served them. His ministerial work began first 
with the Salem church, and then very soon after or about 
the same time with the Brownsville church. He began 
to serve these two churches in 1848, after he was liscensed 
to preach, and before his ordination, and preached con- 
tinuously at Salem till 1862. After an absence of three 
and a half years in the army he resumed the pastorate of 
Salem in 1867 and continued to serve the church till 1885, 
making thirty-one years in all. Beginning in 1848, he 
preached three years at Brownsville; and generally his 
work there was in connection with Rev. Joel Allen, 
who was the pastor of the church. For one year, begin- 
ning in 1848, he went thirty miles from his home to New 
Providence in Darlington county, and while there would 
sometime preach at Hartsville, being perhaps the first to 
preach a Baptist sermon at that place. In the autumn of 
the year 1849 his services at Bennettsville began and con- 
tinued without a break (except during the war) till 1882, 
making thirty years service with the Bennettsville church. 
His work for several years at first was in connection with 
Rev. W. Q. Beattie, who was pastor of the church. He 
preached thirty-one years, more or less continuously 
at Bruton's Fork church, beginning there in 1852. Be- 
ginning in i366 he preached at Cheraw for three years 
giving them one Sunday in the month. Before the war 
he preached for several years in the Sand Hills, in the 
afternoon, going from Bennettsville once a month. 

In 185 1 he began his work with the Beaverdam church 
(now McCoU), and there his last days' work on earth was 
done. It is likely that he preached more sermons to the 
congregation of Beaverdam than to any other. His services 
there extended through a period of thirty-six years. Dur- 
ing the war, and for two years succeeding, he did not 
preach at Beaverdam. For two years the Dargans, father 
and son, were the pastors of that church, and for two oth- 
er years, R. Ford was the pastor. But during all of the 



History of Marlboro County, 239 

other years, since and including 1851, up to the day of 
his death, August 2, 1896, J. A. W. Thomas ministered ta 
them in spiritual things. His last sermon there was from 
the text found in i Samuel, 30:24. In the afternoon 
of the same day he preached his last sermon to the 
church at Tatum, from John 12: 19. Tatum is a new 
church, which he was instrumental in founding, and ta 
which he preached till his death, about seven years,, 
preaching for about two years in the academy and the 
Presbyterian church, till the Tatum Baptist church was 
built. 

He served the church at Gibson station in North Caro- 
lina for about nine years. For about eight years he 
preached at Mason's Cross-roads once a month in the af- 
ternoon. Before the war he went in the afternoon of 
one Sunday in every month to the Judson church in Ma- 
rion for several years. Since the war he preached at Cat-^ 
fish church, in Marion County, for two years. The Clia 
church he served for five years; and the church at Min- 
eral Springs for perhaps ten or twelve— some of the time 
in connection with other ministers. Other Baptist 
preachers have been in the county and have had charge 
of and acceptably ministered to different churches for long- 
er or shorter periods. The Aliens, father and son, of 
Marion County, Ford, Battle, Pratt, Jordan and Easter- 
ling; but J. A. W. Thomas, through a long life, lived for 
the churches, and worked for them, and with them and 
was instrumental in the organization of several, and the 
building and rebuilding of several more. In addition to 
his work with and for the churches, since the year 1865, 
he married two hundred and fourteen couples; and from 
the beginning of the year 1881 to August, 1896, he attended 
two hundred and fifteen funerals. 

In the course of forty-eight (48) years in the ministry 
he preached about 6,195 times, an average of one hundred 
and twenty-nine sermons per year for each of the forty- 



240 History of Marlboro County, 

eight years; and an average of two and a half times for 
every Sunday in the forty-eight years. He preached on 
texts taken from every book in the Bible, including both 
the Old and New Testaments ; the Psalms furnished the 
largest number of texts, four hundred and eleven; while 
the books of Ruth and Obadiah only furnished one each. 
Five books furnished over two hundred each, six books 
more than one hundred each, and eight books more than 
fifty texts each, while twenty- seven books furnished ten 
and less than fifty each. He always wrote his sermons 
out in full, and estimated that his "written manuscripts 
would make seventy volumes of four hundred pages 
each." He prepared and wrote in full more new sermons 
during the last years of his life than ever before. His 
library has never been extensive, and his theology was 
drawn largely from the Bible. He went into the Confed- 
erate army from a sense of duty, and fought for a princi- 
ple that he thought was right; but was thankful that he 
was better known in the army as a preacher than as a 
soldier. He preached constantly and on one occasion 
baptized about forty in the surf on Sullivan's Island. 



CHAPTER XXXII. 
Methodist Churches. 

A sketch of the Methodist churches of Marlboro prop- 
erly begins with the Beauty Spot church, the mother of 
Methodist churches. The first house of worship was built 
there in 1783 on land given by Turbet Cottingham. It 
was *'built of logs, covered with long boards held in place 
by weight poles, and the seats were split pine logs." That 
primitive church may have been inconvenient and uncom- 
fortable, but the day of small things should never be de- 
spised. The zeal and devotion there displayed by those 
early Methodists has perhaps been an inspiration to those 
coming after them: at all events, zeal and devotion to 
their church and religion have characterized the Methodists 
of Marlboro, and to-day they are stronger numerically 
than all the other denominations combined. They have 
twenty-two active churches, and all well located and act- 
ively at work. 

The first itinerant preachers who visited Beauty Spot 
were Jeremiah Mastin and Hope Hull in the year 1783. 
They at first preached in the private houses of the neigh- 
borhood till the church was finished. The first Quarterly 
Conference held at Beauty Spot was on 23d February, 
1788. Bishop Asbury presided and preached from Isaiah 
36: 1-6. 

In 18 10 the congregation at Beauty Spot erected their 
second church. It was a neat frame building. During 
that year the first camp-meeting was held at Beauty Spot 
and the last one held there was in 1842. Robert Purnell, 
the first local preacher in Marlboro, was one of the early 
members of Beauty Spot church. He preached in the 
county for fifty years, and died in 1830. The name is 



242 History of Marlboro County, 

now extinct in the county, but his descendants are here. 

The third church was built in 1839. It was 60x45. ^^^^ 
and cost more than $i,ioc. It was a large, roomy church 
for that day and was used by the congregation forty-four 
years. It was erected by John McCall, of Darlington, 
under the supervision of Rev. Thomas Cook, Eli Thomas 
and Thos. S. Covington. In 1883, when the fourth church 
was built, a new site was selected on the same foad, but 
two miles further east. When it was built the old church 
was sold at public outcry, and purchased by a gentleman 
who has not removed it, and there it stands to-day on the 
sacred spot of ground where repose the ashes of those 
who in the years gone by worshipped within its walls. 
The present house of worship was completed and dedi- 
cated June 17th, 1883. Rev. T. J. Clyde preached the 
sermon and Rev. Lewis M. Hamer delivered an historical 
address. The cost of the building was $2,000. It was 
erected by Mr. Bounds, under the direction and care of 
P. M. Hamer, Crawford Easterling, David Easterling and 
L. D. Hamer. 

Among some of the local preachers who have from time 
to time preached at Beauty Spot may be mentioned A. 
H. Adams, Wm. K. Breeden, Thomas Cook, Allen Edens, 
John Jones, Chas. Manship, Cornelius Newton, Richard 
Welch and Wright Wilson. Some of the prominent male 
members were Eli Thomas, Robert Bolton, Jas. H. Bol- 
ton, John H. Hamer, Thomas Cook, W. J. Cook, and John 
Murdoch. 

Hebron. 

Hebron Methodist church is located in the center of 
one of the garden spots of the county. The farms lying 
adjacent to the church are very fertile and are cultivated 
with great care and system. Highly respectable, indus- 
trious and intelligent people live on the farms and justly 
pdde themselvvs on being able to make an entire success 



Hisiory of Marlboro County, 243 

of farming. The church is about six miles southeast from 
Bennettsville and was built in the year 1848. Its original 
membership went out from Beauty Spot, the mother 
church. The Hebron Academy building stands near the 
church, and hard by is the cemetery, noted far and near 
as being the neatest and best cared for cemetery in this 
whole region of country. A few years ago, 1879, a hand- 
some new church was erected. 

About 1760 Ivy's church (now Clio) was situated near 
what is now Dunbar. It was afterwards moved to a point 
one mile below the town of Clio, and there they worshiped 
until 1885, when a church was built in Clio. They have 
had five churches. One was burned in 1866 by the incen- 
diary's torch. 

Parnassus. 

In the years prior to 1835 the Methodists in the Par- 
nassus community worshiped at Mossy Bay. The loca- 
tion of the old church is yet well-known on account of the 
graveyard. The dust of our forefathers buried there has 
long since mingled with the mother earth. There they 
worshipped; there they lie buried, and from thence their 
bodies will arise on the great resurrection morn. The 
site of the old church is in the immediate neighborhood 
of J. R. Townsend's residence. In that day there was also 
a Methodist church called **McLeod's church," located 
near where Berry Alford lived. It was on the Mc- 
Leod land, and was doubtless built by or through the in- 
strumentality of Donald McLeod, grand-father of Mrs. 
W. Z. Donaldson and D. McD. McLeod. During the 
year 1835 a church was built at Parnassus; the member- 
ship of Mossy Bay and "McLeod's" churches united and 
made the new organization. The church was built by 
John Sinclair, and the dedicatory sermon was preached 
by Rev. Nicholas Ware, a local preacher who lived in the 
Brownsville neighborhood and preached in the lower 



244 History of Marlboro County, 

section of the county. Our forefathers worshipped at both 
of the old churches, and then our parents and grandpar- 
ents attended the Parnassus church. Some of the prom- 
inent members and attendants at Parnassus in the long 
ago were Thomas Barnett, James Galloway, John L. Mc- 
Rae, Thomas Kinney, Daniel John, James Spears and W. 
R. Smith. The last named was a Methodist preacher and 
lived in the neighborhood of the church and frequently 
preached. The present church building was erected by 
Mr. H. G. Lucas just prior to the late war. It is well lo- 
cated, in a thickly populated community and has a large 
membership of substantial, pious and devout people. 

Zion church, located a few miles west from Parnassus, 
near John C. Townsend's, has been organized and built 
since the war, and belongs to the Blenheim Circuit. 

Bennettsville Church. 

On the 2ist of June, 1834, Col. Wm. J. Cook conveyed 
one and a half acres of land to Thomas Cook, John L. 
McRae, Wm. Dudley, John McCollum, Alexander J. Mil- 
ler, Jas. C. Thomas and Alexander R. Brown, as trustees 
for the Bennettsville Methodist church. The deed was 
not recorded till 1846. It is fair to presume that the 
church was built within a year or two after the conveyance 
was made. The town of Bennettsville had even then be- 
gun to show signs of growth and life, and the Methodists 
residing in town up to that time had held their member- 
ship at Beauty Spot. The members residing in Bennetts- 
ville doubtless experienced some diflficulty in reaching 
their place of worship, and influenced by the belief that 
Bennettsville would some day grow to be a town of some 
size and importance, wisely determined to build a church 
in the young town . The Baptist congregation had just two 
years previously built a new house, and this might have pro- 
voked them to good works. Let the causes influencing them 
be what they may, just ten years from the completion and 



History of Marlboro County, 245 

occupancy of the new court-house they took steps towards 
the building of the/Zr^/ Methodist church . It seems strange 
that the people of Bennettsville should have waited eight or 
ten years after the completion of the court-house before a 
church was built in the town. The Baptists living in the 
town at that time worshiped at Saw Mill and had just 
built a new church there in 1820; so it was natural that 
they should wait awhile and be well convinced that Ben- 
nettsville was to be a reality before beginning another 
new house. But the Methodists needed a new house at 
Beauty Spot when the town was founded, for in 1839 they 
erected a new building at Beauty Spot. 

The first church, built more than sixty years ago, was a 
plain square building without steeple, portico or other 
architectural adornments. It was covered on four sides, 
forming a quadrangular roof, ending in a sharp point at 
the apex. Two doors opened from the street and led you 
directly into the body of the church. The house was 
never painted and the bell was swung to a frame platform 
outside the church. The singing was done by the 
congregation without the aid of an organ or cornet. Major 
Townsend or Judge Hudson, with the aid of a silver tun- 
ing fork, could be relied on to "raise the tune." In the 
"amen corner" of the church devoted to males (for males 
and females each occupied their own portion of the church ) 
sat Col. Wm. J. Cook, Dr. Crosland, Wm. Dudley, John 
McCollum, James C. .Thomas and Rev. Thomas Cook. 
In the opposite corner sat Mrs. Fannie Easterling, Mrs. 
Sarah Cook, Mrs. Jas. C. Thomas, Mrs. Little and Mrs. 
Rowe. They have all gone to their reward. 

About 1 87 1 the present building was erected on the site 
occupied by the old church. It was made a station in 
1883 and has been served byT. E. Wannamaker, J. L. 
Stokes, J. W. Daniel, W. S. VVightman, E. O. Watson and 
now (1897) is again under the care of Rev. J. L. Stokes. 



246 History of Marlboro County, 



BOYKIN. 

A preaching place was established about one hundred 
years ago at Boykin; about the same time a school was 
established there and was taught by Lemuel Boykin, from 
whom the place took its name. 

A fine spring of freestone water near the church doubt- 
less influenced the establishment of this educational and 
religious center. The spring has been flowing through 
all these years without cessation or diminution, yielding 
from one hundred to two hundred gallons per hour of as 
pure water as any in the country. It is not definitely 
known when the first schoolhouse or church was built. 
The earliest recollection of some of the oldest people in- 
dicates a small log schoolhouse in which Barnabas Wal- 
lace, afterwards a prominent planter in the vicinity, 
taught. Many years before the war, a good framed school 
building was erected, principally through the efforts of 
Rev. Cornelius Newton, who lived about three miles 
southeast of the place and always took a lively interest 
in its educational affairs. About 1845 o** before, Robert 
Fairly taught school for a number ot years at this place. 
He was a famous teacher, and much loved by scholars 
and patrons. He came from the Scotch settlement of 
Richmond county, North Carolina. James Stewart also 
taught here. He was a Scotchman and bachelor and 
famous for his wit and peculiarities of disposition. Alex- 
ander J. Stanton also taught there many years. He was 
a man of positive disposition and wielded the ''rod" with 
a master hand. He was Tax-collector for two terms 
and died several years ago, leaving a large and interesting 
family. Thomas W. Huckabee, who has been mentioned 
elsewhere, taught there from about 1850 to 1855. And 
various other men have occupied the teacher's chair in 
that school, which has done its work in training the best 
citizens this county has known. 



History of Marlboro Cdunty, 247 

There were three church buildings erected there from 
the beginning; the first was built of hewn logs dove-tailed 
at the corners; the second was a frame building about 
30x40 feet, and it stood, as did the first, on the south side 
of the road. This building was erected about 1830. It 
had the usual high pulpit, and benches made from heavy 
plank with a six-inch board about high enough to strike 
the shoulder blades for a back. The last church, which 
now stands there, was built in 1859 or i860 by H. G. Lu- 
cas, who built several of the churches in the county and 
died a few years ago at Parnassus, and was followed just 
two days after by his wife. This church is 40x60 feet, 
and is one the best church edifices in the county. It has 
sheltered one of the largest memberships in this section 
of country. Barnabas Wallace, Samuel Odom, Sr.; 
Younger Newton, David C. Newton, Tobias Calder, John 
W. Stubbs, Thomas Barrentine, Needham Ryal and oth- • 
ers had their membership here in the generation before 
the last. Of the last generation were such names as 
James M. Gibson, Noah Gibson, Robertson Adams, 
Jephtha Adams, Ebenezer W. Goodwin, Giles Newton, 
Anderson Newton, William Peel. The last named could 
neither read nor write at the age of nineteen years, when 
he married, but began to study, learned to read and write 
and has read the New Testament through one hundred 
and fifty-eight times, word for word, since 1844. 

James W. Gibson and Noah Gibson were brothers and 
together with William, Eli,Ziba, Nelson M. and the Rev. 
Thomas Gibson were the sons of Nathaniel Gibson. They 
were all reared near the North Carolina line, and were 
strong men, physically, intellectually and morally, and 
have made their impress upon the communities in which 
they have lived. The Rev. Thomas Gibson, who lived 
over the line in North Carolina a few miles, was a surveyor 
and a local minister of fine reputation. His labors in and 
around Boykin church were abundant, and "none named 



248 History of Marlboro County. 

him but to praise." He was a sweet, spiritual, Christian 
gentleman. All these brothers are dead except Eli, who is 
seventy-two years of age and has been a member of the 
Methodist church for fifty years, and Nelson M., of Mc- 
Coll, who has reached his three-score and ten and calmly 
awaits the summons to go up higher. He has been a 
close personal friend of the author of this history for fifty 
years, and has been frequently called "his Methodist 
deacon at Beaverdam." The Gibson family is of English 
extraction. Noah was, very successful as a merchant, and 
by his skill in business and his industry amassed a large 
fortune. He was the father of Francis B. Gibson, who is 
his worthy successor in the mercantile business at Gibson^ 
North Carolina. Noah left several sons and daughters, 
all of whom occupy prominent positions, in church and 
society. James M. Gibson lived within about half a mile 
of Boykin. church. He reared a large family and always 
took a prominent part in church and school matters. 
These and other prominent laymen among the Odoms 
and Quicks and other families were reared under the in- 
fluence of Boykin church, nearly all having crossed 
over the river prior to this record. Most of them left 
families and descendants who are worthily sustaining their 
record for piety and good citizenship. 

The traveling preachers who served this church were 
those who were from time to time assigned to the Bennetts- 
ville Circuit, and their names are given elsewhere in this 
volume. Cornelius Newton, Henry Covington, Aaron Tur- 
ner, James Turner and James Odom were local preachers 
who. were members here and did their faithful work here 
and in other parts of Marlboro, and even across the North 
Carolina line. Cornelius Newton married the daughter 
of Rev. Robt. Purnell, who is elsewhere named as the 
pioneer local preacher of the Beauty Spot section. Cor- 
nelius Newton was born 25th December, 1797; was a son 
of Younger Newton and grandson of Giles Newton, Sr.^ 



History of Marlboro County, 249 

who came to this county from Henrico County, Virginia, 
in the latter part of the last century, and was the great pro- 
genitor of all the Newton family in this country, which 
has grown to great proportions and intermarried with the 
Adams, Gibsons, Fletchers, etc., till its relations number 
in the hundreds, perhaps. Cornelius Newton is the only 
one of the local preachers whose complete history we have 
been able to get. He was married, as stated, to a daughter 
(Dorcas) of Robt. Purnell on 31st December, 1818, and 
joined the church in the summer of 1820, and embraced 
religion in October, 182 1, appointed class leader in 1822 
and licensed to exhort in 1830; licensed to preach in 1834; 
ordained Deacon in 1838; and was recommended for El- 
ders' Orders in 1842. He reared a large and interesting 
family, many of whom still survive; among them Cor- 
nelius D. Newton, Joseph Newton and Hope Hull New- 
ton. He was a successful planter and a faithful soldier 
of the cross, and after **having served his own generation, 
by the will of God fell on sleep*' in the summer of 1878. 
Among those who labored in this vicinity in later years 
as local preachers were Wm. K. Breeden, who lived in 
the Smyrna section, and Andrew Adams, who still survives 
and was born and reared in the vicinity of Boykin church. 
Who can tell how much the local preacher has had to do 
with the successful growth of Methodism in this and other 
sections? 

Boykin, sixty years ago or more, was a famous camp- 
meeting place, and during these annual summer convo- 
cations, ministers, local and itinerant, went from other 
sections of country and heartily engaged in the services. 
Time and space both forbid telling more of the history of 
this church and community. A chosen people; a chosen 
land, and the deepest spiritual influences from time imme- 
morial are enough to evolve a superior type of Christian 
civilization, just such as has long been and doubtless will 
continue to be in the vicinity of Boykin church. 



250 History of Marlboro County, 

Ebenezer. 

About 1856 or 1857 Rev. P. E. Bishop, the pastor of 
the Bennettsville Presbyterian church, appreciating the 
fact that a section a few miles south from Bennettsville 
was comparatively destitute of Gospel privileges, deter- 
mined to carry the Gospel to that community. He was 
assisted in his efforts by Rev. Paul F. Kistler and Rev. J. 
A. W. Thomas, and a union church was built. It was 
called Pine Plains and services held alternately by the 
three preachers named. The Methodist faith largely pre- 
dominated in the community and Rev. P. F. Kistler was 
doubtless the first preacher to preach a sermon to the 
congregation which formed the Ebenezer M. E. Church. 
His first sermon was preached beneath the spreading 
branches of a large oak tree, near the spot where the 
church now stands. About the year 1858 the first church 
was built, and the dedicatory sermon preached by him. 
Rev. Mr. Kistler yet lingers on the shores of time, and 
resides at Bamberg, S. C. He married a sister of Dr. 
J. T. Jennings, of Bennnettsville. The membership 
came from Beauty Spot and Hebron. About 1892 the 
old church was sold to Mr. R. M. Edens and a new house 
built on the site of the old one. The Ebenezer church 
belongs to the Blenheim Circuit. 

Bethel. 

Bethel M. E. church was built in 1875 or 1876, during 
the pastorate of Rev. J. M. Carlisle. He gave it the name 
and told the people how to pronounce it, and im- 
pressed upon the people the fact that the accent 
should be placed on the last syllable, and that a hyphen 
should be placed between the two. Bethel is really old 
Level Green with a changed name and location. Level 
Green church stood where George M. Webster now re- 
sides. The land (one acre) upon which it stood was, 
upon the 28th day of August 1844, deeded to John Jones, 



History of MarUwro County. 251 

Philip Barrentine, James Moon, H. H. Williams, Benjamin 
Moon as trustees, by Ananias Graham and wife. The 
church was therefore built about 1845, ^"^ ^^^ menabcr- 
ship went from Beauty Spot, the mother of Methodist 
churches, and from Bennettsville, which had been built a 
few years before. From son^e cause Level Green 
languished, and perhaps died, but its successor, Bethel, is 
destined to be a strong church. It is in a thickly settled 
community of prosperous young farmers who will be able 
and willing to give it their support. 

Breeden*s Chapel. 

Not many years ago Mr. Joel Hall and others built a 
brush arbor, and invited the Rev. Wm. K. Breeden to 
preach for them. He preached for sometime under the 
arbor, but Mr. Hall, not being satisfied, determined in his 
old age to have a church near him; he canvassed the 
country for subscriptions and donations, was successful, 
and to-day there stands on the hill, just in front of his 
late residence, a large, beautiful church bearing the ap- 
propriate name of Breeden's Chapel, and long may it 
stand among the lonely pines, a monument to the efforts 
of Mr. Hall, and of the piety. Christian character, and 
Godly labors of the man whose name it bears. The 
church was built in 1887. They have both gone to their 
reward; Mr. Hall several years ago, and Mr. Breeden in 
1896. From the time Mr. Breeden entered the ministry 
in the early sixties to the time of his death, his life was 
full of useful work. 

Bethlehem. 

The history of Bethlehem M. E. church, in the extreme 
southern part of the county, is similar to that of other 
churches. They began with a log house. The date of 
organization is not known; but it is well known that our 
fathers attended a camp-meeting held there in their youth. 



252 History of Marlboro County. 

and that would make Bethlehem one of the old churches. 
They have had at least three houses of worship. The 
present house was built by H. G. Lucas about 1858 or 1859. 

Smyrna. 

Smyrna was first located a few hundred yards from 
where it now stands, and quite near to J. F. Breeden's 
place, formerly the Wm. Pearson place. A house was 
built where the church now stands, about 1846 or 1848 for 
a gentleman, not now a youth, remembers attending service 
there the 15th of April, 1849, '*the day of the big snow" 
in April. His recollection is that the church was new 
and had but recently been completed. The present 
church was built by Samuel Sparks in 1884. Mr. Sparks, 
while building it, fell from a scaffold, and was quite badly 
hurt. 

Pine Grove. 

It is safe to say that Pine Grove has been a place. of 
worship for more than a century. The Quakers first 
worshipped there, but, as has been already told, on account 
of slavery they moved to the Northwest and the other 
denominations used their house. Rev. Cornelius Newton 
remembered attending a revival meeting held jointly by 
the Baptists and Methodists early in the present century 
at what is now Pine Grove church. During the progress 
of the meeting a "young man, riding in a gig, came up to 
the meeting ground, alighted and made his way into the 
congregation near the altar, and paid very respectful at- 
tention to the services then in progress. After the close 
of the services, his acquaintance was sought, and it was 
ascertained that he was a Baptist minister (Rev. W. Q. 
Beattie) who had just finished his education and journeyed 
South to preach the Gospel. He was invited to preach at 
the next service, and he charmed the whole congregation 
with his graceful speech and melting words, and many 
were the shouts that were raised as he eloquently por- 



History of Marlboro County. 253 

trayed the glories of salvation, and when he would have 
ceased, cries of *go on,* 'go on,' spontaneously arose 
from the congregation." 

It has not been ascertained when the present church 
or the ones preceding it were built. In 1871 and a 
few years succeeding, a camp-meeting was held at Pine 
Grove — the last held in the county but perhaps not the 
first held at Pine Grove. 

A good school has for many years been kept up at Pine 
Grove. The Academy is just across the road opposite 
to the church, both being in a beautiful grove of majestic 
oaks. Under such men as Robert Johnson, J. Monroe 
Johnson, Hope Newton, Hamilton, Craven and others, 
along with the unanimous hearty support of the patrons, 
educational as well as religious interests have been main- 
tained at Pine Grove. 

There are a number of other Methodist churches in 
Marlboro, but the difficulty of obtaining information, and 
the lack of space, will preclude a more extended notice 
than a mere mention of their names. Antioch, Hickory 
Grove, Shiloh, New Hope, Beulah, Manning's Chapel, 
Pleasant Hill, Oak Grove, and McColl. 

In the preparation of the foregoing chapter invaluable 
assistance has been kindly rendered by Rev. L. M. Hamer, 
Rev. J. L. Stokes, H. H. Newton and others. 

Circuits and Preachers. 

The circuit embracing the churches of Marlboro was 

first called Pee Dee. It embraced territory lying North 

at least as far as Rockingham, and presumably extended 

down the Pee Dee river, perhaps to its mouth. The name 

was changed from Pee Dee to Rockingham Circuit in 

1832, and a parsonage established at Rockingham. At 

the close of the year 1845 ^^e circuit was reduced in size 

and the name changed to Bennettsville. A parsonage 

was built in Bennettsville, and H. H. Durant was the first 
18 



254 History of Marlboro County. 

preacher to occupy it in 1846. At that time Bennettsville 
Circuit doubtless embraced all the churches located in 
Marlboro. Now the same territory is covered by five 
circuits and one station; named as follows: Bennettsville 
Station, and Bennettsville, Brightsville, North Marlboro^ 
Blenheim and Clio Circuits. Bennettsville was made a 
station in December 1883. The pastors have been T E. 
Wannamaker, 1884; J- L. Stokes, 1885-6; J. W. DanieU 
1887-90; W. S. Wightman, 1891-2; E. O. Watson, 1893-95; 
J. L. Stokes, 1896, and now serving. The parsonage 
originally stood on the same street and and just south 
from Judge Hudson's, on the lot now belonging to Mrs. 
Barnes. It was sold and another built on the opposite 
side of the same street. In a few years it was disposed 
of, and a handsome two-story structure erected in East 
Bennettsville. 

Bennettsville Circuit is now composed of four churches^ 
Pine Grove, McColl, Beauty Spot and Smyrna. The 
parsonage is located at McColl. 

Brightsville Circuit was set apart from Bennettsville 
Circuit in 1849, ^"^ ^s composed of Boykin, Bethel, Anti- 
och and Breeden's Chapel. The parsonage is near Gibson 
Station, North Carolina. This Circuit has been served 
by G. M. Boyd, R. W. Barber, P. A. Murray and B. M. 
Grier. 

The churches in North Marlboro Circuit are New 
Hope, Oak Grove, Ebenezer, Shiloh and Pleasant Hill. 

Clio Circuit was first known as South Marlboro, and was 
a part of the Bennettsville Circuit till 1874. The churches 
now composing it are Clio, Bethlehem, Beulah, and Man- 
ning's Chapel. The parsonage is at Clio. The preachers 
who have had charge are J. T. Kilgo, G. T. Harmon, J. 
C. Bissell, G. M. Boyd, D. D. Dantzler, F. Auld, R. A. 
Child, John Owen and J. B. Traywick. 

Blenheim Circuit was a part of the Clio Circuit until 
the close of the year 1887. The churches forming it are 



History of Marlboro County, 255 

Hebron, Parnassus, Ebenezer and Zion. G. M. Boyd, 
W. H. Kirton, J. A. Porter, J. W. Ariail, L. F. Beaty, T. 
G. Herbert, Sr., and P. B. Wells are the preachers who 
have been in charge. The parsonage is located at Blen- 
heim. 

The following list gives the names and date of service 
of the preachers who have had charge of the Bennetts- 
ville Circuit since the year 182 1 and up to date. 

1821 John Boswell and Tradewell. 

1822 Jeremiah Norman and Morgan C. Turrentine. 

1823 John Boswell and Malcom McPherson. 

1824 Nicholas Ware and Elias Sinclair. 

1825 Elias Sinclair. 

1826 J. L. Jerry and J. Hartley. 

1827 Joseph Moon and W. T. Smith. 

1828 Groover, W. M. Wightman and Culver-^ 

house. 

1829 John H.Robeson, Humbert and Wm. Mur- 

rah. 

1830 Noah Lany, Samuel W. Capers and John McColl. 

183 1 Wm. King, Jackey M. Bradley and Boseman. 

1832 Wm. King, Allen and Wm. Whitby. 

1833 Joel W. Townsend and John L. Smith. 

1834 John Watts and J. W. Welbourn. 

1835 Allen McCorquodale and A. W. Walker. 

1836 John H. Roberson and Thos. Sumter DanieL 

1837 John H. Roberson and John McMackin. 

1838 Chas. S. Walker and Paul A. M. Williams. 

1839 Theophilus Huggins and Wm. C. Clark. 

1840 Wm. T. Harrison and Wm. A. McSwain. 

1841 Abe) Hoyle and Miles Pucket. 

1842 Ira L. Potter and A. Richardson. 

1843 Jacob B. Anthony and John W. Vandiver. 

1844 Lark O'Neal. 

1845 M- Robbins and Robt. J. Limehouse. 

1846 Henry H. Durant. 



2s6 History of Marlboro County, 

. » - 

1847 Marcus A. McKibben. 

1848 Dennis J. Simmons. 

1849 James W. Wightman. 

1850 John A. Porter. 

1851 Jackey M. Bradley. 

1852 John H. Zimmerman. 

1853 Robert P. Franks. 

1854 Lewis M. Little. 

185s Lewis M. Little and John W. Crider. 

1856 Henry M. Mood and John W. Crider. 

1857 Henry M. Mood and J. E. W. Fripp. 

1858 Paul F. Kistlerand J. M. Cline. 

1859 Paul F. Kistler and E. F. Thwing. 
i860 R. R. Pegues and A. H. Harmon. 

1861 R. R. Pegues and Allston. 

1862 Tracy R. Walsh and J. B. Campbell. 

1863 Tracy R. Walsh and R. R. Pegues. 

1864 J. A. Porter and M. C. Davis. 

1865 J. A. Porter and M. C. Davis. 

1866 T. R. Walsh and A. McCorquodale. 

1867 T. R. Walsh and R. R. Pegues. 

1868 M. L. Banks. 
1869-1870 Claudus H. Prichard. 

1871 John A. Porter. 

1872 J. A. Porter and J. F. England. 

1873 John A. Mood and L. M. Hamer. 

1874 John A. Mood and Dove Tiller. 

1875 J^hn M. Carlisle and J. L. Stokes. 

1876 John M. Carlisle and D. G. Dantzler, 

1877 Thomas Mitchell and Thomas E. Gilbert. 

1878 Thomas Mitchell and J. W. Tarbox. 

1879 T. Mitchell and F. Hauser. 

1880 J. W. Murray and Graham. 

r88i J. W. Murray and P. B. Murray. 

1882 J. W. Murray and J. E. Beard. 

1883 Thomas J. Clyde and John C. Kilgo 



History of Marlboro County. 257 



1884 Thomas J. Clyde and J. A. Harmon. 

1885 Thomas J. Clyde and E. G. Price. 

1886 Thomas J. Clyde and E. O. Watson. 

1887 James C. Stoll and John A. Rice. 

1888 James C. Stoll. 

1889 George M. Boyd. 

1890 W. H. Kirton. 
1891-1894 W. S. Martin. 

1 895- 1 896 J. S. Beaseley. 



CHAPTER XXXIII. 

Presbyterian Churches. 

Great Pee Dee Presbyterian church, now located at 
Blenheim, is considered the parent church of the Bennetts- 
ville Presbyterian church. The old church yet stands 
five miles from Bennettsville on the public road leading 
from Bennettsville to Blenheim. The Great Pee Dee 
church, being inconvenient for the worshippers living at 
Bennettsville, in 1852 measures were adopted looking 
towards the erection of a building in Bennettsville. A 
lot measuring one acre, fronting Marion street, was pur- 
chased of Hartwell Ayer, for $150.00, and the deed taken 
in the name of L. B. Prince and George Dudley, on Octo- 
ber 5, 1852. Subscriptions were made by the members 
in Marlboro, Cheraw, and by others friendly to the ob- 
ject. Messrs. W. D. Johnson, Chas. A. Thornwell, Neil 
McNeil, Geo. Dudley and J. Beatty Jennings acted as a 
building committee. Messrs. Jones and Lee, architects 
of Charleston, S. C, furnished the plan, and the work 
was let to D. A. Boyd, of Virginia, the lowest bidder, at 
$2,800.00 On May 12, 1855, the church was dedicated. 
Rev. Jno. C. Coit conducted the service, being assisted 
by Rev. A. D. Campbell. The Bennettsville church was 
placed under the jurisdiction of the Harmony Presbytery 
of the South Carolina Synod. Through a petition pre- 
sented by Alexander Southerland and others, and by 
order of Presbytery a committee composed of G. C. 
Gregg, J. A. Wallace and A. D. Campbell was appointed 
to organize the church on the ist of December, 1855. 
Dr. James H. Thornwell was present and aided in the 
service. W. D. Johnson and J. Beatty Jennings were elected 
ruling elders and obligated by Dr. Thornwell. Rev. 



History of Marlboro County. 259 



A. D. Campbell acted. for a few months as stated supply, 
and a call having been accepted by Rev. Pierpont E. 
Bishop, on 19th of April, 1856, he was installed as pastor. 
Rev. P. E. Bishop served the church acceptably and 
faithfully till March 5th, 1859, when in the vigor and 
prime of manhood, and in the zenith of his usefulness he 
was taken away by pneumonia. His ashes now repose in 
the churchyard by the side of his wife. 

On November loth, i860. Rev. Charlton W. Wilson was 
installed pastor of the church. He died at Petersburg, 
Va., June 4th, 1864, a chaplain in the Confederate army 
In 1870, Rev. E. H. Buist was stated supply; and in the 
early part of 1871 Rev. Joseph Evans became stated sup- 
ply for the church. On the 21st of November, 1874, Rev. 
D. S. McAlister was installed pastor, and continued in 
that relation till December 6, 1881, when he resigned the 
charge of the church. April 2, 1882, Rev. W. B. Corbett 
became stated supply, and continued till his death, April, 
1894. 

From May 12th, 1855, 156 members have been enrolled, 
including the organization and those admitted on exami- 
nation and by letter. Baptism has been administered to 
forty-nine adults and infants. There are fifty-two mem- 
bers in good standing, enrolled and living, of which num- 
ber thirty-four per cent have been added during the first 
six months of 1896. 

Samuel E. Bishop and W. Beatty Jennings have gone 
out as ministers of the Gospel from this church. 

About the year 1832 Archibald McQueen, a Presbyterian 
preacher residing in North Carolina, came to this county 
at stated times and preached dt what was known as the 
"Old Club House.** It stood not far distant from Drake*s 
Mill, which then belonged to the Campbells. What the 
**Club House'* was originally erected for we are not ad- 
vised, but the presumption is that there was a **race track" 
in the vicinity. At all events Gen. Robert B. Campbell, 



26o History of Marlboro County. 

who owned the land upon which the **Club House" stood, 
was not averse to having services held there on Sundays, 
and for a time the arrangement continued.' But from 
some cause, not now known, services were afterwards 
held near where Hill's store was, in the vicinity of Zion 
church. But about the year 1834 the great Pee Dee church 
was built, and the membership to whom Mr. McQueen had 
been preaching was organized into a church. Mr. Mc- 
Queen was the first pastor. D. G. Coit, who married Miss 
Maria Campbell, was ruling elder. The Campbell fam- 
ilies, McQueens, B. N. Rogers, McLeods, Sparks, Drakes 
and Mathesons have been members and supporters of the 
church. About 1855 the Bennettsville Presbyterian church 
was organized and the strength of Great Pee Dee weak- 
ened by the removal of quite a number to Bennettsville, 
prominent among whom were W. D. Johnson, Alexander 
Southerland and Dr. J. B. Jennings. The names of some 
of the preachers who have supplied the pulpit of Great 
Pee Dee church for longer or shorter periods are Revs. 
Archibald McQueen, P. E. Bishop, C. W. Wilson, A. D. 
Campbell, Martin Brearley, Cousar, McAlister and Rich- 
ards. About 1882 a new Presbyterian church was built at 
Ble^jheim and the old Pee Dee church sold to the colored 
people. 

The Presbyterian church at Tatum Wc^s organized in the 
Academy building June 15th, J890, and for about a year 
they worshipped in the Academy. In the spring of 1891 
the church was completed and dedicated. Rev. H. G. 
Hill, D. D., officiating in the services. It was the first 
church built in the town and is out of debt. Rev. W. B. 
Corbett was the pastor from its organization till his death 
in 1894. For the last two years the pulpit has been sup- 
plied by Revs. Brearley, Gillespie and Arrowwood. 
Red Bluff. 

Early in, the present century there was a Presbyterian 
church at Red Bluff. It has been shown elsewhere in 



History of Marlboro County, 261 

these pages that a good many Scotch people came to this 
county soon after the Revolution, and settled mainly in 
the eastern portion of the county along the Little Pee 
Dee River; and, having brought the Presbyterian faith 
along with them, they would naturally soon want a church 
of that faith to worship in. The first church was situ- 
ated on the bank of the stream at Red Bluff. It is well 
authenticated that it stood there as far back as 1817, and 
might have been built some years previous to that date. 
The old building was not torn down till about i860. For 
a good many years before that (perhaps twenty or more) 
the congregation had not worshipped there, but had moved 
their membership to Smyrna, a church in Robeson County 
only a few miles distant. Near the site of the old church 
is the burying ground, where the Scotch people of that 
community have been interred, and McLaurins and others 
have been carried there from other communities to find 
their last resting place. 

The second church, bearing the name of Red Bluff, oc- 
cupied a site two miles or more west from the old one, 
and was built about 1857 or 1859. The land upon which 
it stood was conveyed by Solomon L. McColl for that 
purpose, and when no longer used as the site for the 
church, was to revert back to his heirs. It was a new or- 
ganization, the members of the old church, as already 
mentioned, having gone to Smyrna. It was organized 
and built, perhaps, through the instrumentality of Rev. 
P. E. Bishop, who for several years previously had been 
pastor of the Bennettsville church. The land upon which 
the church stood is now owned by D. D. McColl, of Ben- 
nettsville, who recently deeded a spot of ground near by 
for a burial ground. 

Soon after the founding of the town of McColl (about 
1886) it was determined to constitute a church at that 
place. It was accordingly done, and the membership of 
the new organization was made made up largely of mem- 



262 History of Marlboro County. 

bers of the Red Bluff church. From members originally 
forming Red Bluff, McCoU and Tatum Presbyterian 
churches have both been organized. 

Within the last few years a new Presbyterian church has 
been built at Dunbar, a station on the Latta & Clio branch 
of the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad. 

Capt. T. E. Dudley, Dr. J. C. McKenzie and others have 
given assistance much appreciated in the preparation of 
this chapter. 



CHAPTER XXXIV. 

McCOLL. 

The prosperous and thriving town of McColl is situated 
on the eastern border of Marlboro County, only one and a 
half miles from the North Carolina line, and about ten 
miles from Bennettsville. It lies between Beaverdam and 
Panther Creeks, and is immediately upon the C. F. & Y. V. 
R. R. Eleven years ago, in 1884, the people in that com- 
munity had no idea that a town of such considerable pro- 
portions would grow up in their midst so soon, but about 
that time the railroad was being built from Fayetteville in 
the direction of Bennettsville, and T. B. Gibson and J. F. 
McLaurin, in order to induce them to locate a depot at 
this point, offered to build a depot and subscribe to the 
stock of the company. They were ably assisted in their 
efforts by others in the community. In 1884, therefore, 
the depot was built, which was the first house erected in 
the town. Mr. Gibson had some time previously 
exchanged places with his brother, 1. P. Gibson, and fhe 
railroad passed across the lower end of his tract, and a site 
for the depot was selected and located on his land, 
and so the town of McColl had its beginning. It was 
named in honor of D. D. McColl, of Bennettsville, who 
during the time of building and for a while afterwards, 
was the president of the S. C. Pacific Ry., the South 
Carolina division of the C. F. & Y. V. R. R. A little less 
than a dozen years ago, where Mr. Gibson was grow- 
ing fine corn and cotton, to-day stands the growing 
and prosperous, plucky and pushing town of McColl. In 
proportion to its size and age, the town of McColl has, 
perhaps, more strikingly handsome and well-appointed 
houses than any town in the State. "One is struck with 



264 History of Marlboro County, 

the fact at McColl that the proper start was made in 
most things/' This is particularly true of the churches 
and schools. Three comfortable and commodious 
churches, Methodist, Presbyterian and Baptist, adorn the 
town ; while "the McColl High School was organized about 
the time the town was founded and has grown up with 
the town." The school building is large, well built and 
comfortable, and is under the supervision and control of 
Prof. Craven. Nothing in the community commands a 
greater share of the interest of the citizens than the 
McColl High School. 

The town of McColl is lucky in having a number of 
men of fine business capacity who do thoroughly and 
well what they undertake. Mr. Frank P. Tatum, a na- 
tive of North Carolina, is one of the leaders in enterprises 
calculated to help the town. He located in Marlboro 
about 1867, and is now a farmer, merchant, cotton-buyer, 
liveryman, and president of the McColl Manufacturing 
Co. He runs a farm of eighteen plows, and conducts a 
very large and successful mercantile business. T. B. Gib- 
son, his son-in-law, was born not very many years ago, 
within a few hundred yards of the business center of the 
town; and though comparatively a young man, has a ma- 
ture business headset firmly on his shoulders. He is one 
of the leading successful merchants of the place. Mr. P. 
Mangum came from Chesterfield to Marlboro a number 
of years ago, and lived a few miles north of McColl, but 
judiciously decided to make McColl his home. He man- 
ufactured the brick from which his handsome and im- 
posing residence was built. Mr. Arch K. Odom is 
his partner in the mercantile business. Mr. J. F. Mc- 
Laurin was born in the immediate neighborhood of Mc- 
Coll, and is a son of the late Capt. Loch McLaurin. He 
represented the county in the Legislature during the last 
term, and has been re-elected for the term of 1897-98. 
.Mr. McLaurin has been merchandising about eight years. 



History of Marlboro Coufity. 265 



and is doing business in a handsome two-story brick 
store, built of brick manufactured at his yards. A. W. 
Morrison & Co. may be ranked among the leading busi- 
ness establishments of the town. Mr. Jeff D. Morrison 
is the junior member of the firm. Among the other bus- 
iness houses in McCoU may be mentioned J. E. Willis, 
Luther McLaurin, Lane & Bristow, W. M. Gibson, Lester 
Sisters, J. I. Vick, J. F. Stubbs, and W. T. Smith. 

One of the chief reasons, and perhaps the principal 
one, why McColl has grown so rapidly and prospered so 
well, is the fact that magnificent farming lands, rarely 
equaled for productiveness and fertility, stretch out on 
every hand, and this, with the further important consid- 
eration that the people who own those lands work them 
judiciously, intelligently and industriously. Bounteous 
harvests, as a natural consequence of well-ordered and in- 
telligent labor, bring prosperity and content. Thrift, 
prosperity, fine management, and a proper regard to com- 
fort and convenience, are all shown in the **fine orchards, 
splendid stock," magnificent cotton and corn fields, num- 
erous and large out-buildings, and handsome, convenient 
and well-arranged dwelling-houses. Farming in the 
McColl neighborhood means a bounteous and generous 
.home support, and a handsome surplus for sale, and con- 
sequently but few of the farmers trade on time. The 
merchants therefore handle cash, instead of bad accounts, 
and hence they prosper. Marlboro lands, Marlboro 
methods, and McColl farmers make success and pros- 
perity sure for the town of McColl. The Gibsons, Mc- 
Laurins, Fletchers, Willises, Tatums, Parkers, farm to 
some purpose and profit. 

The McColl Manufacturing Company, located in the 
town of McColl, the only cotton mill in Marlboro, is 
owned and managed almost entirely by citizens of 
Marlboro. It is spinning Marlboro cotton into a fine 
grade of yarn at the rate of fifty bales a day, **In 



266 History of Marlboro County, 



the springy of 1892 the first wing of the mafn building was 
completed, and the machinery put in motion. The main 
building is now a brick structure 88 by 303 feet, with 
opening and lapper room 50 by 80 feet, packing room 40 
by 40 feet, and machine shops 30 by 50 feet " It is run 
by a Corliss engine of 250 horse-power, having three large 
boilers of 100 horse- power each. The finest English and 
American machinery was purchased. It is supplied with 
all the latest and most improved devices for insuring 
safety against fire, and illuminated throughout by elec- 
tricity. Three hundred operatives are employed, 
who live in comfortable cottages, erected on land 
belonging to the mill. The mill runs day and night, and 
a ready market is found for the entire product of the mill. 
Mr. F. P. Tatumis thePresidentof the mill, and T. B. Gib- 
son its Secretary and Treasurer, who, together with D. D. 
McColl,C. S. McCoU, E. Strudwick, W. W. Goodman, Eli 
Willis, T. H. Bethea, and A. W. Morrison are the directors, 
whose work have accomplished such satisfactorily results. 
^'Messrs. F. P. Tatum and T. B. Gibson, and a few other 
citizens of McColl are the men who hesitated not to 
navigate this large undertaking to its present successful 
condition. It took pluck, ability and money more than 
once to overcome the obstacles, but one of the best man- 
aged and most successful mills in South Carolina to-day 
tells the story of the fight and victory." The court-house 
town no longer dominates the whole county, or absorbs 
all its business. Towns grow up at the railroad stations, 
and at the site of a cotton mill, and by reason of their 
churches and schools, and by reason of their more inti- 
mate connection and association with the surrounding 
community, are becoming centers of influence and trade, 
and are able and willing to enter into business competi- 
tion with the county seat, though often larger and more 
pretentious. 
While the McColl Manufacturing Company is the 



History of Marlboro County, 267 

only cotton mill in Marlboro to-day, yet two others 
have been built. The first cotton mill built in Marlboro 
was at the "Burnt Factory/' lately the property of Mr. 
Aaron Manship. It was built by a joint stock company 
composed of Col. Williams, of Society Hill; John Taylor, 
of Cheraw; John McQueen and William T. Ellerbe, of 
Marlboro, in the year 1836. In 1840 Meekin Townsend, 
father of R. E., C. P. and Walter, acquired an interest in 
the "factory," as it was called, and about 1845 he purchas- 
ed it. It was burned in 1852, and the same year Mr. 
Townsend died. Another cotton mill was erected a few 
years after the war, at what has been known as Medlin's 
Spring (property now owned by Rev. Mr. Kirton) by a 
man named Cameron, but the mill was burnt about the 
time of its completion. It is hoped that other mills will 
be erected and operated in the county, for where the 
staple is grown there it should be manufactured; and the 
pluck of the McColl people ought to be a stimulus to 
others to do as they have done. 

It has been mentioned elsewhere in these pages that 
William Leggett, the grandfather of James S. Leggett, of 
Clio, lived about the time of the Revolutionary War at or 
near what is now McLaurin's Mill, and owned land lying 
between Beaverdam and Panther Creeks. It would be in- 
teresting if we could show how much of the land lying 
south of the town of McColl he owned, and to whom he 
sold, and the changes that have taken place in the owner- 
ship of the land since his time. The land lying south of 
the town, and now in the possession of John F. McLaurin 
was once owned by Robert Hamer and conveyed by him 
to Bennett R. Jackson and from him to the late Captain 
Lock McLaurin, the father of John F. Esquire Pipkin, 
the father of Mrs. N. M. Gibson, owned several hundred 
acres of land, a part of which land Mr. N. M. Gibson pur- 
chased at the partition sale of the estate of Esquire Pip- 
kin and the central and northern portion of the town is 



268 History of Marlboro County. 

located upon that land. Lying north and east from the 
lands formerly owned by Esquire Pipkin and extending 
to and even beyond the Adamsville road, covering several 
square miles and several thousand acres of land, Moses 
Parker, the grandfather of Capt. John R. Parker, claimed 
as his own. Capt. Parker now lives on lands set off as 
dower to his grandmother, and has no intention of trans- 
ferring his possessions to other hands. Mr. F. P. Tatum 
purchased his plantation lying just east from McColl from 
the late Isaac Pipkin, and while Mr. Pipkin might have 
sometimes regretted the sale, it is safe to say that Mr. 
Tatum has not regretted the purchase. Lying west from 
McColl are the beautiful plantations of H. L. B. McColl, 
T. H. Bethea, W. P. Lester, and then the plantation of 
R. J. Tatum. Then you come to the thriving town 
of Tatum, so named from Richard J. Tatum, who a num- 
ber of years ago came from North Carolina and made his 
home in Marlboro. He married the daughter of the late 
Jesse Bethea, of Adamsville, and settled where he now 
resides. The town grew up at his very door; the depot 
and most of the town being on Hamer lands. There are 
two handiSome churches, a large, roomy school building, 
a half dozen store houses and quite a number of com- 
fortable residences. Fine farms lie all around the town, 
and Mr. Tatum, the Easterlings, Hamers and Manships 
know how to work them. Two doctors, McKenzie and 
Reese, attend to the sick when there is any sickness to 
attend. They do not need a lawyer, because they all be- 
have themselves and pay their debts. 

The "write-up" of McColl by J. E. Norment of the 
News and Courier has been freely used in preparing this 
chapter. 



CHAPTER XXXV. 

Adamsville. 

Adamsville township is not so named because all the 
people li\/ing within its bounds are named Adams, but a 
goodly number do bear that name, and most of those 
bearing the names of Newton, Fletcher and Gibson are 
related to the Adams family either by blood or marriage; 
so that it is not inappropriate that the township should 
take its name from the Adams family. The township lies 
in the northeastern portion of the county and in every 
respect is a favored land. The farmers in no section of 
Marlboro excel those of Adamsville in successful, careful, 
remunerative farming. Nowhere are more comfortable 
dwellings and neater out-buildings seen than in Adams- 
ville. A large proportion of the land is under cultivation 
and hence you can often have in sight several different 
farms, the handsome dwellings, well-kept out-buildings, 
and fruit-laden orchards indicating thrift and prosperity. 
By painstaking methods and the intensive system of cul- 
ture, the farmers of Adamsville have made themselves 
equal, if not superior to any other section of the county, 
in successful, remunerative, **all-round farming.'* Mr. 
John C. Fletcher, one of the young farmers of Adamsville, 
has. just been awarded a prize of one hundred dollars by 
the News and Courier for the best "all-round farming" 
in the State of South Carolina for the year 1896, where 
the contestants were allowed to produce "anything and 
everything that can be grown or raised on a farm and 
consumed on a farm or sold for profit." The purpose of 
the contest, as explained by the News and Courier, "was 
to prove that diversified and all-round farming pays in 
South Carolina; to exhibit the proof, and give public 
Id . 



270 History of Marlboro County, 

recognition to the farmer who makes the best showing." 
It is quite complimentary to Adamsville, and especially 
so to John C. Fletcher, to carry off the prize where all the 
farmers of the State might have been contestants. It is 
to be hoped that his success in "diversified, all-round 
farming," may be an incentive to others to adopt the same 
method pursued by him, and thus bring prosperity to 
themselves and to the county. 

The plantation now owned by B. F. Moore, when pur- 
chased by his father, had been "run down" by slipshod 
methods of farming till it produced only a few "nubbins" 
per acre; and Wm. Moore was doubtless warned by his 
friends that starvation would be his certain fate if he 
undertook to make a living on the place. He not only made 
a living, but prospered, and "Ben Frank" is to-day mak- 
ing as piuch cotton and fine corn per acre, as any of his 
neighbors, and constantly bringing his land up to a higher 
degree of cultivation. Capt. Breeden's father, Lindsay 
Breeden, "in his day was considered 2^ good farmer." But 
it is, perhaps, safe to isay, that Capt. Breeden on the same 
land cultivated by his father, makes ten bales of cotton 
where his father produced one; and other crops doubtless 
in the same proportion. For a continuous stretch of four 
miles or more along the Bennettsville and Adamsville 
road the land is owned by the Breeden family. Sheriff 
Green's plantation is included, but he married a Breeden. 
On plantations embraced in that stretch Andrew and 
Wm. K. Breeden lived and died. Their plantations were 
admirably and judiciously worked by them, and now by 
their sons after them. Capt. Breeden, J. L. Breeden and 
T. J. Breeden, while not residing in Adamsville, are par- 
tial to Adamsville dirt. The late James B. Breeden was 
a native of Adamsville. No man perhaps who has lived 
in the county has had a more abiding faith in Marlboro 
land than he. He continually bought land, but seldom 
sold it. When he purchased a plantation he immediately 



History of Marlboro County. 271 

built comfortable tenant houses, stocked it with mules 
and began to farm it at a profit. While he was successful 
as a merchant, yet he had practically retired from active 
mercantile pursuits, and at his death, March 3d, 1891, was 
devoting his fine talent to farming on a very large scale. 
And he made it pay, for, according to his own valuation, 
his estate was worth one* hundred and seventy-five thou- 
sand dollars. He was among the first farmers, if 
not the very first, to try the lavish use of fer- 
tilizers under crops. It must have paid him or he 
would have discontinued it. Chief among the many 
plantations which he owned when he died was the beauti- 
ful "Beauty Spot" plantation in Adamsville, a large part 
of which is now owned by his nephew, J. Frank Breeden, 
who knows as well how to work it as did his Uncle, James B. 

But there are other fine plantations in Adamsville be- 
sides those named. The lack of time and space will for- 
bid the mention of others. The truth is they are nearly 
all fine and well worked, and the owners drive sleek, fat 
horses, plow fine mules, kill fat hogs, and have barns filled 
with home-raised corn. 

This chapter would not be complete without a sketch 
of the Adams family. Jonathan Adams, the first of the 
name to place his feet upon Marlboro soil, came from 
Ireland prior to the Revolutionary War, and was of 

Scotch-Irish descent. He married Miss Mary and 

lived not far from the "burnt factory," a few miles above 
Bennettsville. He fought through the Revolutionary 
War as a Whig, and after the struggle had ended, and 
when within two days' march of home, sickened and died. 
He left three sons, William, Shockley and John, to per- 
petuate the name, and a daughter, Divinity. 

William Adams was married four times. His wives 
were Mary Marine, Julia Bullard, Elizabeth Gibson and 
Patsy Easterling. William and Mary Marine had three 
sons, Jonathan, John P. and William, and three daughters. 



272 History of Marlboro County. 



Bede, Hannah and Mary. Jonathan married Mary Bright, 
and was the father of the venerable Rev. Andrew Adams, 
a local preacher in the M. E.* church who married Miss 
Margaret Smith. Andrew Adams had several sisters who 
have married and left many respectable representatives 
among the Fletchers, Gibsons, and others. John P. 
married Julia Newton, sister of Rev. Cornelius Newton, 
and daughter of Younger Newton, Sr. Their son, Jackson, 
also married a Newton, Miss Elizabeth. The daughters 
of John P. married Newtons, Pates, etc. There are none 
of the Adams of this branch living except a grandson, 
Archie Adams and his family. The only surviving child 
of John P. is Mrs. Ann Pate, widow of Travis Pate, de- 
ceased, and mother of John A. Pate. William (called 
"Branch Billie") of Adamsville, married Sallie Newton 
and Sallie Fletcher, and Jonathan and Eb. are his sons. 
His daughters married among their neighbors and kinfolk, 
Robertson married Miss Betsey Fletcher and lived 
near Boykin church, of which church he was a consistent 
member. His son lives at the old homestead. Shock- 
ley married Miss Martha Fletcher, who left several chil- 
dren living in North Carolina. Shockley belongs to the 
ministry of the M. E. church. Jephtha also married a 
Fletcher, Miss Annie, making four brothers who went to 
the same house to get wives. Jephtha's children are found 
jn the communities of Gibson Station and McColl. 
Wyatt Adams married Miss Nancy Leggett and lived in 
Robeson County, North Carolina. The daughters of 
William Adams, Sr., have descendants in Marlboro and 
Richmond counties. The descendants of Shockley 
Adams, son of the first Jonathan, are found among the 
Malloys and Mclntyres, of Richmond County, North Car- 
olina. John Adams, son of Jonathan, and brother to Wil- 
liam and Shockley just mentioned, has descendants in 
Marlboro. His children were Welcome, Mrs. W. K. 
Breeden and Mrs. Bethea, mother of B. F. and Welcome 
A. Moore. 



History of Marlboro County. 273 

Robert Peele came from Wayne County, North Caro- 
lina, with Joshua Fletcher about I817. He married Mary, 
the daughter of William Adams. This couple had six- 
teen children, and now they are so numerous one of the 
family remarked that it would be impossible to count 
them. They are thrifty, industrious people and have 
much force of character, and, being of Irish extraction, 
they have their share of wit and humor, as well as intellect. 
They live in upper Marlboro and lower Richmond. 
The Adams were formerly Quakers but now are mostly 
Methodists. 



XXXVI. 

Educational Matters. 

Our forefathers began to take an interest in educational 
matters at an early date. It is fair to presume that school- 
houses and churches went up simultaneously, and that 
soon after they had erected their rude log dwelling-places^ 
log churches, and log school-houses were built. It is sig- 
nificant that the school-house was found near by a church. 
At Brownsville, Parnassus, Salem, Hebron, Smyrna, Pine 
Grove, Boykin, Beaverdam, and other churches, school- 
houses are seen. It shows that education and religion go 
hand in hand, and our forefathers recognized the fact. 
They also knew that the erection of churches and school- 
houses would have the effect to bring into their locality 
other settlers of good character. The lively bidding of 
towns and cities for the location and erection of educa- 
tional institutions in their midst shows that the same idea 
is entertained to-day. The building of school-houses in 
Bennettsville antedated the churches. On December 12^ 
1830, an Academical Society was organized and the fol- 
lowing signed the constitution governing it: John Mc- 
CoUum, Nathan B. Thomas, Joshua David, Hartwell Ayer, 
John McQueen, Jas. E. David, C. W. Dudley, Campbell 
Stubbs, Jas. C. Thomas, Geo. Bristow, Wm. T. Ellerbe^ 
John H. David, Thomas Cook, E. L. Henegan, and several 
other. A board of trustees, consisting of John McCollum, 
John McQueen, C. W, Dudley, Nathan B. Thomas and 
E. W. Jones was elected, and they in turn elected as the 
first teacher of the Bennettsville Male Academy, A. C. Sin- 
clair, with John W. Covington, assistant. Sinclair was 
succeeded by C. W. Dudley, and after him, Duncan Mc- 
Laurin, C. Davy, and others. The first teachers for the 



History of Marlboro County, 275 

Female Academy were Miss Jane McKay, afterwards 
Mrs. John McCoUum, Miss Sarah Richards, Miss Simp- 
son, and others followed. 

The female academy stood on the lot of land across 
the street from the Methodist church, now occupied by 
W. S. Townsend. The land was originally owned by 
James Cook, the grandfather of Mesdames Breeden and 
Moore. The house was perhaps 100 feet in length,one-story 
high, and with folding doors, was divided into two rooms, 
and as occasion required, could be turned into one large 
room for public entertainments. The male academy was ad- 
jacent to the Baptist church, and where it stood is now seen 
the Bennettsville graded school building for white children 
of both sexes. The Academical Society owns the school 
property, and convenes biennially to elect a new board 
of trustees, who have general supervision of the school, 
and whose duty it is to elect the teachers. The buildings 
are aniple and well-arranged. The trustees have been 
fortunate in their selection of teachers, and the teachers 
have had the hearty encouragement and support of the 
patrons. Hence little or no friction arises, and large 
numbers of children attend. Additional room has re- 
cently been obtained by the purchase of the old Baptist 
church building, and with slight improvement, four or 
five hundred children may be accommodated. Messrs. 
Chase, Paisley, Thomson, Britton, Sheridan, Root, 
Graeser, Rast, Stackhouse, Wilcox, Brodie, and others 
have managed and taught the children. The school is 
now under the control ot Prof. Cork. 

The colored graded school has been managed by com- 
petent men like E. J. Sawyer, Cain, and others. They 
have been much hampered in their work on account of 
lack of room. But steps are being taken looking to the 
enlargement of accommodation. The large livery stable 
recently owned by Capt. P. L. Breeden has been pur- 
chased, and is being erected in West Bennettsville, where 



276 History of Marlboro County, 

the colored children, in their laudable and earnest desire 
for education, may be taught. 

In ante-bellum days the male academy in Bennettsville 
was in charge of good teachers. Such men as D. McD. 
McLeod, J. H. Hudson, R. H. McKinnon, E. H. Graham, 
Daniel White and Neill D. Johnson, Leary, and Anderson, 
endeavored to impart knowledge tq the boys. At the 
female academy the girls were taught by Mrs. Ann Cros- 
land, Mrs. C. A. Thornwell, Mrs. A. J. Johnson, Mrs. B. 
D. Townsend, Mrs. W. P. Emanuel, Mrs. J. B. Jennings 
and Mrs. B. D. McLeod. It must be understood by the 
young readers of this chapter, that these ladies all came 
to Bennettsville bearing t?/A^rnames, but decided to change 
them for the names here given. The list might be extended 
by mentioning Mrs. J. P. Campbell, Mrs. P. A. Hodges, 
Mrs. J. N. Weatherly, Mrs. W. P. Emanuel, Jr., and Mrs. 
R. A. Douglas. So that it is seen that a goodly number 
of female teachers who came to teach have become per- 
manent residents. Marlboro feels justly proud of the 
long list of competent educators who have done faithful 
work in her schoolrooms. But especial mention must be 
made of the services of Mrs. B. D. McLeod and Mr. and 
Mrs. John S. Moore, who are residents of the county. 
Mrs. B. D. McLeod taught before and after the war in 
Bennettsville. Later for quite a number of years she had 
a large, flourishing school at Blenheim, where many young 
ladies and youths were prepared to take high stands in 
the colleges of this and other States. She was subse- 
quently engaged in teaching near her home at the resi- 
dence of the late Dr. A. McLeod. It may truly be said 
that Mrs. McLeod's whole life in Marlboro has been de- 
voted to teaching and assisting in the rearing of her half 
brothers and nieces and nephews. A woman of high cul- 
ture, broad-minded and kind-hearted, the good she has 
done in Marlboro can never be estimated. 

Mr. and Mrs. Moore taught before, during and after 



History of Marlboro County, 277 

the war in Bennettsville, covering a longer period than 
ever did any other teachers in the town. After the war 
they taught for a number of years at Hebron. We sup- 
pose it is safe to say that no one teacher in Marlboro has 
left a stronger and more lasting influence on the minds 
and lives of so great a number of pupils as has Mrs. 
Moore. Her methods were gentle and so thorough that 
few passed from under her care without receiving a fine 
rudimentary education and many have become successful 
teachers who received no other advantages than such as 
the fine schools of Mr. and Mrs. John S. Moore furnished. 

In the country the schools have generally been well 
sustained. With men like Donald Matheson and W. R. 
Smith at Parnassus; L. M. Hamer and Harris Covington 
at Hebron; the Johnson brothers at Pine Grove, and 
others like them at other places, it is easy to understand 
why the schools in a former day prospered. And with 
conscientious, competent teachers in charge and a united 
support of the patrons, they are prospering still. While 
the youth of the county enjoy the advantages of good 
schools at home, yet large numbers are not satisfied to 
accept what they offer, but very properly seek schools of 
higher learning where a collegiate education may be 
obtained. The number of college graduates is constantly 
increasing, and while it is scarcely to be hoped that an- 
other Thornwell will ever be sent forth in the world, yet 
some obscure boy born on Marlboro soil may come to the 
front and even rival Dr. Thornwell. 

It is a laudable and praisworthy ambition to strive for 
a collegiate education, for such striving will place others 
besides Thornwell and Robt. Mclntyre in the college 
president's chair. Let the youth of Marlboro educate 
themselves, for as competition in all lines of human 
thought and action increases more and more will the 
educated mind hold sway. Some other Marlboro boy 
may follow John L. McLaurin into the IJ. S. Senate. 



2/8 tiistory of Marlboro County. 

The incentive and necessity .for a finished education is 
greater to-day than ever before. Because your country- 
men, C. S. McColl and D. D. McCoU, have succeeded in 
their lines of business and made handsome fortunes with- 
out the advantage of college training — youth of Marlboro^ 
do not undertake to do the same! Because Peter T» 
Smith could, with no college training, amass a snug for- 
tune on his farm — farmer boy, do not take for granted 
that you could do likewise! 



CHAPTER XXXVII. 

The Colored People. 

About sixty per cent, of Jthe population of Marlboro 
County is of the negro or African race, and their coming 
to this country was as slaves. This county had very few 
previous to the Revolutionary War, but, as the culture of 
rice and cotton increased and became the principal crops, 
the demand for negro labor increased. About 1830 a 
negro man would sell for say three or four hundred dol- 
lars; a young woman probably for less. But about the 
beginning of the war prices for similar slaves would be at 
least three times as much. This was, no doubt, largely 
owing to the growing demand for this labor for the new 
Western States, and the prohibition of further importa- 
tion to this country about the year 1820. The bring- 
ing of these people to this country as slaves, has proved 
a great blessing to their descendants, in giving them 
civilization and Christianity, and has also greatly 
blessed the South in giving to it the best labor in the 
world, adapted to its peculiarities as to climate and pro- 
ducts. The negroes of this county previous to and 
during the war were well cared for and protected 
by their owners, and seldom during those times was any- 
thing actually cleared from the result of the year's work 
upon the farm, further than was expended in the care, 
clothing, etc., of the whites and blacks upon the place. 
The main property in considering wealth was the number 
of slaves owned, and the principal idea in obtaining wealth 
in the South previous to the war was to take care of the 
negroes and let them multiply. During the war the ne- 
groes were entirely docile, doing the work of making the 
crops in the absence of their masters, and being faith- 
ful and obedient. 



28o History of Marlboro County, 

With the close of the war came the freedom of the 
negro as one of the results of the conflict, and it was 
seriously felt by the former masters that this was a 
calamity indeed, principally as they could not conceive 
of such a state of things as that a negro would work 
unless made to do so as a slave ; and also that the two 
races would not be able to remain together in any other 
relationship than as master and servant. Neither the 
masters nor slaves were prepared for the new situation, 
and, as was natural, both made mistakes. The new 
freedman could not fully realize that he was free unless 
he moved from his old home and confidently expected to 
be set up with '* forty acres and a mule." Then came 
reconstruction and the conferring of suffrage upon the 
colored people, which caused political aspirations. 
During that exciting and stormy period immediately fol- 
lowing reconstruction, to their credit it must be said that 
no outbreaking act of violence occurred in this county, 
as in some others. 

The conduct of the slaves of Marlboro during the war, 
when the able-bodied whites were at the front in the 
army, was commendable indeed. No instance during the 
whole four years is remembered where the blacks were 
other than faithful to the home and family. It is not too 
much to say that no other race of people under similar 
circumstances would have been so loyal and true. 

The present development of Marlboro is largely the 
result of negro labor. The colored people largely work 
as tenants and share-owners of crops, aqd any disagree- 
ment or litigation with their employers is very uncommon. 
The stores of the county are largely supported by the 
patronage of the colored people, and it is rare indeed 
that credit extended by a merchant to a colored farmer 
or tenant is not promptly paid in the early fall. 

Quite a goodly number of colored people in Marlboro 
own their own farms and know how to work them. The 



History of Marlboro County, 281 

following colored men own valuable farms and have 
excellent credit in their, respective communities : Alex. 
L. Ivy, Silas Easterling, C. C. McRae, George Pearson, 
Lewis Emanuel, Thomas Green, J. Evans Quick, January 
Johnson, Richard Reese, Richard Gibson, Rufus Tatum, 
Amos Tatum, Handford David, Noah Melloy, Edward 
Ware, G. W. Steel. Washington Bright, Robert McColl, 
Tony Lide, Moses McLeod, Benjamin F. Quick, Nich- 
olas KoUock, the Cook brothers, the McKay brothers, 
Moses Hodges, H. W. Hines, Henry Bradford and Dennis 
David. 

Among the colored population there are a few well-to- 
do farmers and business men. J. C. Allman has a large 
plantation, which he cultivates very successfully, making 
from 125 to 150 bales of cotton annually. Peter Banks, 
living near McColl, is another good farmer and has an ex- 
cellent plantation, which might, perhaps, sell for forty 
dollars per acre. He runs a four or five horse farm. 

E. J. Sawyer came to Bennettsville about twenty-five 
years ago. He has had good educational opportunities 
and has received thorough college training. He served 
as principal of the Colored Graded School for a number of 
years, and has also been engaged in mercantile and farm- 
ing pursuits. He has served two terms as postmaster at 
Bennettsville. He is a resident of the town, owning an 
attractive home, and numerous other town lots, together 
with valuable farms in the countr}''. His property is 
worth perhaps $20,000. 

The Pee Dee Educator is the name of a papA owned 
and edited by E. J. Sawyer, and is creditably supported 
by the colored people of the county. Its circulation is 
about two thousand, and with one exception is the oldest 
colored paper in the country, being in its seventh year. 

The churches of the colored people will compare favor- 
ably with those of other sections. At the town of McColl 
there is a small Presbyterian church. With this single 



282 History of Marlboro County, 

exception all the others are Baptist and Methodist. The 
colored Baptist church in town has a larger seating 
capacity than any other church in town. It is a substan- 
tial frame building, neatly painted and well furnished. 
The building is worth about $3,000, and was built chiefly 
through the contributions of the colored people through 
the efforts of the present pastor, Rev. F. W. Prince, who 
received his training at Benedict College, Columbia, South 
Carolina. The Methodists have a church in Bennettsville, 
known as "St. Michael's M. E. Church." For comfort, 
convenience, beauty and situation, it is all that could be 
desired by any congregation. This church is worth about 
$2,500. Both churches have comfortable parsonages at- 
tached. When we remember that so many, and such 
comfortable churches, have been erected through the con- 
tributions of the colored people chiefly, we are amazed 
at their liberality and religious zeal. As an illustration 
of this, Tony Lide, a few years ago, mortgaged his home 
and thirty acres of land, all he owned, in order to make 
th e purchase of on e of the parsonages spoken of above. Be- 
low we give the names of twenty of their country church- 
es, all of which are well-built frame structures, completed, 
painted and furnished, the average value of each being 
about $1,000 : Hopewell, Sarian, Spears, Clio M. E., Clio 
A. M. E. Z., Asbury, Pee Dee, Sardis, Macedonia, Saw 
Mill, Level Green, Smyrna, Pine Plains, Galilee, Wesley 
Chapel, Ebenezer, Cedar Fall, Shiloh, Goodwin Chapel, 
and Dyer's Hill. There are others of less value, but neat 
and comrortable. 

As a rule the colored people avail themselves of every 
opportunity for education, frequently keeping up private 
schools at their own expense when the limit for the pub- 
lic schqols has expired. Many parents by much sacri- 
fice send their sons and daughters to colleges. Benedict, 
Shaw and Claflin being usually patronized. More detail- 
ed allusion is made to the schools and school buildings 



History of Marlboro County. 283 

in the chapter on education. When we consider the rapid 
strides that have been made by the negro race along fi- 
nancial, social, religious and educational lines, we are 
amazed. Time nor space will admit of a more extended 
chapter in this work. Nor is any pen adequate to the task 
of bestowing the just meeds of praise upon them to which 
they are entitled, for having so successfully overcome ad- 
verse fortunes. Their progress and improvement as a 
race in the last thirty years has been without a parallel 
in the world's history, and their motto is, "Onward still, to 
yet better achievements." 



CHAPTER XXXVIII. 
1886. 

The following poem was found among the papers of J. 
A. W. Thomas at his death. He evidently wrote it for 
one of his e^randchildren. It may very appropriately ap- 
pear as a chapter on the eventful year 1886 : 

Another mile-post in the march of time, soon we shall have passed, 

And deeply marked the footprints its rapid tread has made ; 
Its entrance icy cold, 'mid winter 's storms and howling blast, 

The ground hard frozen oft, in sunshine and in shade. 
In vain we sought the hot-house in which to hide our rare and precious 
plants; 
Cold entered there, and hope and flowers both withered 'neath its 
frosted breath. 
The growing grain was killed by arctic winter 's blast. 

The anxious farmer hoped that summer 's heat would atone for winter 's 
death. 
Spring came and summer, but alas ; such mighty floods of rain. 

The earth was drenched, the lowland crops were drowned, 
O'errun with grass and weeds men toiled but toiled in vain; 
A scanty meager harvest was all the little gain. 

And then as August numbered out its last long weary day, 
While sons and daughters, worn and weary sought their evening rest, 

A new and startling voice was heard which seemed to say : 
Stand still, O child of clay, till Mother Earth shall find her rest. 
Sleep fled from mortal eyes. 

Strong men grew faint from fear. 
Brave women sent up piteous cries, 
^ And all were filled with awe. 

Strong buildings rocked, as solid earth upon her stable pillars shook; 

Fair city by the sea! almost destroyed, sent up her wail of woe, 
As scores of people only waked to meet death's cruel stroke. 

And full many. a time since that dread night of anxious fear 
The strange and solemn sound, unlike all else we ever' heard or felt 
before, 
Has come at intervals to remind the myriads far and near 
Of Power that shakes the earth, uplifts the isles and makes the ocean 
roar. 



History of Marlboro County, 285 

And now as chill December comes. 
And makes a three days' march upon her rapid way, 
For three successive days the fleecy snow descends 
To clothe the ground, adorn the leafless forest trees. 
And cause the bells of cheer and joy to ring. 
One day or less of snow has often come before, 
But three successive days in this fair southern clime 
Is quite a new event to old and young. 

Therefore, my dear child, we say without fear 

"1886, an eventful, earthquake year." 



20 



CHAPTER XXXIX. 
Down to the Twentieth Century. 

"Love thou thy land with love far brought 
From out the storied Past, and used 
Within the Present; but transfused 
To future time, by power of thought." 

From many evident causes the author has in a very 
desultory manner covered over a space of one hundred 
and seventy-six years in the history of Marlboro. In these 
pages we have been carried back to primitive forests 
whose solitude was disturbed only by the twittering of 
birds and the hunting songs of the red men, whose rights 
there were none to dispute. At the coming of the white 
man we have seen the dusky Indian fleeing farther and 
yet farther into the wild woods, until he disappeared for- 
ever. 

We have seen the struggle for subsistence of the early 
settlers of this section of South Carolina. Later, their 
growing discontent at the hardships and tyrannies im- 
posed upon the feeble colonists by the mother country 
We have learned that our forefathers of the Pee Dee sec- 
tion bore their share of taxation; gave of their meager 
subsistence; took up their guns and fought and died for 
the independence that was bequeathed to their posterity, 
as the result of the Revolutionary War. We have seen 
under what almost insurmountable difficulties the infant re- 
public was born. Had the straggling population been 
unanimous for a colonial government it would have still 
been difficult. But a portion of the population were 
loyal to British rule, and conscientiously opposed all 
measures looking towards the establishment of American 
government, and later were engaged in predatory hostili- 



History of Marlboro County. 287 

ties against what they honestly believed rebellion in the 
colonists. The early struggles of the infant republic 
were serious and discouraging. But true and tried men 
stood at the helm. Numbers of them bore our names. 
Many sons and daughters of Marlboro to-day may j-ustly 
be proud of the part their ancestry took in establishing 
peace and prosperity in this fair land. 

In the march of years we find Marlboro grown to be a 
fine, flourishing district. Prosperity and civilization had 
rewarded the industry of those sturdy sons of the soil, 
our forefathers of a later generation. Again we find 
Marlboro's sons buckling on the sword in defense of prin- 
ciples as dear to them as were those of their Revolution- 
ary sires. Bidding adieu to homes of luxury, and loved 
ones, they endured for years the hardships and priva- 
tions of war. The noble women of the South became not 
only the bread-winners for their families, but by their de- 
votion and assistance food and clothing were supplied to 
the armies, to a large extent. The mothers and daugh- 
ters of the South with their lily hands toiled and spun; 
spun and sung; prayed arid waited. Waited for the hus- 
bands and sons who never came home; who had fought 
and lost — lost not only life and property, but principles 
and institutions that had been bequeathed from sire to 
son. Institutions and principles so interwoven with their 
industrial and political life, that the result of the Civil 
War left our State and county in almost as impoverished 
a condition as were our forefathers after their struggle for 
liberty. Among the many disasters of war one of the 
hardest was that our county had been invaded by the 
enemy. Traditions of the future will tell many a sad 
story of experiences and scenes enacted during Sher- 
man's raid. Hidden spoons and trinkets, buried demi- 
johns, and incised feather-beds may figure in these re- 
citals. But these legends rightly belong' to those who 
were the participants in those fearful times, and through 



288 History of Marlboro County, 

them to their descendants. So, as a fair historian, we will 
not trespass on family matters. We have never ceased to 
wonder, however, if that little pest and destroyer known 
as the Sherman bug was really lett behind as an 
ever-present reminder of Sherman's raid. If so, by 
what process of incubation were the bugs hatched 
the year after the raid? If these are not actual facts, 
would it not be fair to the distinguished Sherman family 
to trace the pedigree of the yellow bug to the name of 
some other destroyer. As remembered at this late day, 
there may have been some amusing and ridiculous inci- 
dents connected with the terrors of Sherman's raid. Yet 
the realities and distress were pathetic in the extreme. 
In many cases, a bed of smouldering coals was all that 
was left of once happy homes. In other families there was 
not food enough left for the next meal, and everywhere 
there was desolation and devastation. But bread for the 
hungry children had to be won in some way. Sadly 
and slowly our stricken and impoverished people rallied 
their energies. Hope and Faith lifted them out of the 
depths of Despair; crushed and kneeling in the dust of de- 
feat and humiliation, they implored the Ruler of Desti- 
nies for strength to again start the struggle for life and 
home. Turning their faces to a future that was uncer- 
tain of all but toil and tears they gathered up their scat- 
tered agricultural implements — it was all that was left — 
and went resolutely to work. Truly they started from 
the bottom. Former methods were useless to them now. 
Henceforth their efforts were a matter of experiment. 
Eking out what few provisions they had with a painful 
economy, and wearing their remnants of clothing they 
went cautiously on, a step at a time. Through the sad, 
strange days just after the war, through the uncertain, 
perilous times of reconstruction, the people of Marlboro 
passed quietly and peacefully. No acts of lawlessness or 
bloodshed stained the fair name of our county, as was the 



History of Marlboro County, 289 

case in some of the other counties. The men who had 
been brave enough to face the cannon's mouth in war were 
wise enough in defeat to courteously, if silently, pass 
the United States garrison of troops whose presence pro- 
claimed our county for awhile under military rule. 

Gradually our people grew stronger. Year by year the 
most successful methods of agriculture under the new 
system of labor have been discovered. New enterprises 
have been the outgrowth of the changed conditions. 
There are two distinct generations among us to-day. The 
older, who succeeded under the system in ante-bellum days 
and who gathered up the scattered threads and strove 
patiently and humbly to disentangle the web that war had 
left. The younger, who have been born in that New South 
where all men are free and equal, and in which the greatest 
success comes to him who strives the hardest. Both gen- 
erations, assisted by the freedman, have contributed their 
full share of work on that wonderful structure, the New 
South. Without fear of challenge we make the proud 
boast that Marlboro, in all the mutations of the past cen- 
tury, has kept pace with the most prosperous of her sister 
counties. Peace, contentment and plenty reign through- 
out our land. Fine crops of varied products are the re- 
ward of industry. The skillful, painstaking methods of 
the farmers, both colored and white, have brought the lands 
up to a high state of cultivation never dreamed of by our 
forefathers. Farms that produce more than one bale of cot- 
ton to the acre are not uncommon. And Marlboro stands 
to-day the proud champion of the world in the produc- 
tion of the greatest amount of corn to the acre. 

As we ride over these fine level fields that so easily 
yield a support to all who work, and see the hundreds of 
elegant homes, and notice the improved machinery and 
commodious farm buildings, we wonder at the strides that 
have been made in prosperity in the last thirty years. 
Yet some are heard to wish that the fortunes of war had 



290 History of Marlboro County, 

been otherwise. Indeed, the passing away of the blot of 
slavery is felt to be not only the gfandest moral act ever 
performed by a nation, but it has proven a blessing to all 
and none the less to those who felt most injured at the 
time. The habits of industry and the strength gained by 
individual effort have led to greater prosperity as to indi- 
viduals and as to the country than could ever have been 
hoped for under the old system. Marlboro's sons and 
daughters review the events of the past century with ten- 
der, chastened emotions, but none the less with gratitude, 
for the years so fraught with trials and sorrow brought 
many blessings. 

But true it is that our faces are turned cheerfully and 
hopefully to the light that precedes the dawn of the twen- 
tieth century. Our fond prayer is that the generations 
who will make the history of the twentieth century may 
make as much of their improved opportunities as their 
forefathers did of their limited ones. But let them be 
urged here to ever more look back reverently at the trials, 
sorrows and struggles of those who cut out and smoothed 
the pathway for them to tread. 

' 'Gently and without grief the old shall glide 
Into the new ; the eternal flow of things 
Like a bright river of the fields of heaven 
Shall journey onward in perpetual peace." 

Thomas Memorial Baptist Church. 

The foundations of this building were laid about one 
year ago, and many read the name through a mist of tears. 
Every brick that has gone into that stately pile has been 
a tribute of love for him whose memory it perpetuates. 
They have builded wisely. Solid walls have been reared 
that tell of the strength with which he stood for right. 
Beautiful arches suggest the gentleness that made even 
little children love him. The tall graceful spire that 



History of Marlboro County. 291 

crowns this magnificent edifice will forages to come, point 
the weary, careworn sinner to a haven of rest. The o!d 
bell in the tower for more than thirty years called the peo- 
ple of Marlboro to the old church to listen to the counsels 
and receive the benedictions of one who loved them as a 
father. During the ministrations of almost fifty years, 
he had rejoiced with friends on nuptial occasions; he had 
helped to soothe their bed in sickness and had wept with 
them when their hearts were stricken. The years came 
and went, the summers bringing more weariness to his 
lagging footsteps and the winters more frost to his hon- 
ored head. Yet his loving hands and aching heart found 
ever more and more work among the flock he loved as a 
tender shepherd. At last there came a long midsummer 
day when his work wearied him past mortal endurance. 
It was a Sabbath, but his rest came not till nightfall. 

" He knelt, all his service complete, 

His duties accomplished, and then 
Finished his orisons sweet 

With a trustful and joyous ' Amen ! ' 
And softly, when slumber was deep. 

Unwarned by a shadow before. 
From a halcyon pillow of sleep 

He went to the thitherward shore. 
Without a farewell or a tear, 

A sob or a flutter of breath. 
Unharmed by the phantom of fear. 

He glided through the darkness of death." 

The old bell, whose Sabbath morning peals had been 
sweetest music to his ear, called the people of Marlboro 
together once more. But in solemn tones it tolled a 
requiem over the loved and honored father, J. A. W. 
Thomas. 

The first Sunday in August, 1897, ^^^ the first anni- 
versary of the day on which " God's finger touched him 
and he slept." On that day the old bell rang in a 



292 History of Marlboro County. 

new, magnificent edifice and the *' Thomas Memorial Bap- 
tist Church" was dedicated to the worship of God 
with appropriate ceremonies. Rev. Lansing Burrows, D. 
D., of Augusta, Ga., preached the dedicatory sermon. 
Many ministers, life-long friends of him so honored, as- 
sisted the pastor. Rev. Rufus Ford, in the services. They 
wove a memorial chaplet to crown this grand monu- 
ment that the people of Marlboro have erected to the 
memory of J. A. W. Thomas. This stately monument 
will proclaim to unborn generations the respect and de- 
votion of Marlboro's people to their friend and fellow 
citizen. If he left no memory which will "grow 
greener with years, and blossom through the flight of 
ages," yet would his feeble effort at leaving the History 
of Marlboro to future generations prove his devotion to 
his friends and neighbors. 

Sad was it that before his pen could complete the work 
in his own better style, Death, all too soon, wrote on the 
pages of his perfect life j / - 



FINIS. 



.,5m 



\ 



/'* " ' 



.W ' 



i' . '^ ^ 






/? 






\ 'V. 



,r^ u . )>.*'/ "v^ 



/ * '> ^ 



;•-/'•/ 



?''-• 






f :: ■ ■■ 






-' ^s 



> - 




^mK> 







\i^ 






f 

c 



^^ 



■< 


i* 


r' 


>' 


> 


* 


^' 


^ 


^f 


^ 


^r 


>. 


W 


* 


>' 


-*" 


■-'^' 


it 


Jr- 


,=»|^ • 


-^ 


4 


>- 


^ 


>. 


.k*: 


^' 


** 


- '^- - 


^V 


-*^ 


-*' 


.*4 


' J*" 


M 




" -.>;' 


^^ 


"^ 


♦ 


>*- 


*c 


J^ 


^ 


^ 


^ 


M 


A 


iJr 


■^ 


-<*' i 


A- 


-^ir 


-jt 


^ 


-#' 


^ 


^" ' 


< 


^ 


A 


^ 


-** 


J^ 


-^ 


_ -^'^ 


>% 


^ ^4 


i# 


/< 


■^" 


^ 


^* 


< 


"^ 


A 


<' 


jt- 


;* 


^ 


> 


^ 


^ 


-^^ 


.^ 


>r 


^^ 


\A 


-^ 


.* 


_^" 


^ 


^ 


J/^ 


^ 


>' 


^^ 


^ 


'^ 


^ 


# 


'^:,^ ; 


^ 


^ 


^' 


vT 


4r 


1^ 


/*' 


•V 


)i- 


^f 


-^ 


."-»*>• 


■^ 


^ 


#- 


^■ 


-'V 


* 


>»^ 


> 


iK 


^ - 


^ 


# 


-,,a»- 


^ 


^ 


-^ 


,# 


,4^-'" 


\¥ 


' "*"'- 


. -^^ 


*' 


'«^ 


-r 


ic 


;- 


*• 


4 


^* 


i' 


it 


* 


-1^ 


-^ 


■^r 


k 


*'-'- 


- A 


-■•*^ 


< 


-r 


r 


^ 


>^ 


Jfr 


^ 


,JK 


^-it 


•^ 


^-' 


*' 


r- 


\^' " 


>^ 


M 


.^- ; 


^ 


. ■¥ 


;^ 


^ 


4^ 


> 


-^ 


^ 


,^ 


.^' 


"^ 


- ^^ 


>^ 


> 


A- 


> 


.> 1 


-* 


' ^ 


^ 


> 


Sl^ 


• « 


,^ 


^^' 


j*r 


y: 


^^ 


^ 


JC 


> 


4 


t 


-■;^- 


> 


^ 


^ 


A 


< 


>t 


;m 


^ 


-< 


k 


^ 


, -^ 


^ 


^ 


-«^ 


"--^ 


: ^- 


.J* 


J< 


A- - 


/^ 


A 


^ 


-^' 


^ 


ar' 


Jf - 


iir 


^ 


-*<!' 


,>r 


-^ 


-v^^:. 


1 


>^ 


^ 


^'. 


•^ . 


^ 


* 


^ 


^ 


^ 


^ ' 


v^r 


^ 


' '^ 


-^ 


.-J<i 


;■*■ 


Z,,-^' 


4' 


'J^ 


*" 


* 


.'-'^ 


4r 


#r 


r 


*r 


^ 


,?k*' " 


#- 


pi<" 


4=- 


-\^- " 


'^"'*^- 


■-^ i 


-^ 


- '^ ' 


- :^'. • 


^< 


^- 


^ 


* 


;i^- 


,:^ 


5*- 


-'^ 


.#- 


■ ■^-, 


> 


" -f :-: 


*: 


' ■'* 


^f 


^ . 


^" 


*^- 


^ 


4 


^ 


;:.^' 


^^^ 


,.a<" 


^ 


>r. 


■ i- 


. )f\ 


-.;#':^ 


4 


1 


^' 


^ 


- ,*^ 


,.*r": 


-"#-- 


■f(^ 


;> 


'^ 


.*• 


^ 


-^r-' 


:^^' - 


,*^. 


¥ 


,.^-' 


,-;A, 


1 


> 


: :^ . 


W 


' ,^ 


#'' 


..^ 


^ 


.3K 


.■^^ 


/^ . 


,^: 


'"^- 


^-/^' - 


#:-'- 


'-::^'\ 


- >'- 


,^- 


^ 


' -#' ' 


. -J" 


-;#"- 


:-* ' 


"*■ 


-^^ 


Mf 


' -:-^\\ 


- '^^'. 


' ^-^• 


■ ^ 


' ^'- 


>^': 


'-^Mr. 


,•*■ 


1 
1 


> 


:^ 


- -* 


/*f 


^ 


'^'' 


":"^" 


?^ 


4 


' :k 


,A- 


4 


:^ 


'.^-^ 


- "^■ 


_^"4-; 


" 1 


'^ 


^ 


'-*^" 


-/■^ 


#- 


■ '"^'\ 


:# 


^ 


*^ 


."^ 


'^ 


r 


, ^"' 


" ..^ 


' r 


---;;^" 


1 


-i^ 


■"/-^^ 


■^ 


^ 


; #^ 


' ;4 


;:^- 


#: 


i- 


-^ 


^-:% ' 


-,*-'" 


-:/*- . 


"--.#- 


'':P- 


^ 


■.:>-. 1 


'^•'' 


^^: 


'M 


-.;*:- 


#" 


_,,^-;\ 


-■^'■"^ 


':#*:-': 


-A" 


'^■■: 




':#'" 




"■ --M' 


:M -: 


;^>^:? 


;^- ! 


-** 


^ 


M" 


:.-;f';: 


.,#■ 


;# 


-■;-^'-: 


:^> 


M- 


!:#■ 




-*- 


"^#- 


-4r' 


.-^' 


;^,-: 


:^^..i 










#" 

/^ 


v^'-- 




";^: 


v#- 


^:i^^ 


% 


M 


; ^ ' 


^: 


M 


* 


■S^i^J 






XX 001 Zm 027 









#:,^^ 4^-^ 






*'■ 






^*^;.y^,;i<|ri'^:*p;-. 



*' 





















;# ;* ''^-^ 



4 






^w ■-'^' 









:y;^ ;:%\':i«:-;;|,=-^ 



■*•• 



arik 



T